Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Enter dates to see availability

"The room was clean and cozy. However,the staff were very bland. They showed little to no emotion,not friendly by any means. I had worked 60+ hours tha ... " More

By a verified traveler on Mon 29 Oct 2018

Hotel Description

3-star beach resort near Lake Erie, connected to the convention center

On lake

Within a 15-minute walk of the resort, you'll find Lake Erie and Sheldon Marsh State Nature Preserve. Sports Force Parks at Cedar Point Sports Center and Sandusky Mall are also within 6 miles (10 km).

Golf course, outdoor pool

This smoke-free resort features a golf course, a marina, and 2 restaurants. Traveling on business? Take advantage of the 12 conference rooms, business center, and airport shuttle. Enjoy the outdoor pool and perks like free self parking and free WiFi.

Free Internet, flat-screen TVs

The 236 guestrooms offer free WiFi and free wired Internet, room service, and flat-screen TVs. Coffee/tea makers, free international calls, and free local calls are also available.


Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Sawmill Creek by Cedar Point Resorts ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
2.7 out of 5 2.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 3.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Sawmill Creek by Cedar Point Resorts

Everyone (5) Couples (1) Family (1)
1 out of 5
Checked in on Thursday night a little before 10 pm. The indoor pool area was suppose to be open untili 11, this was closed. The saloon was suppose to be open later, this was closed. We got to the "king suite" and there wasn't even a microwave or small fridge. The next evening, went to used the "hot tub" as listed. The water was the same temperture as the pool. I went up to the front desk to find out when the temperture would be getting turned up. Was informed that it was not a hot tub, it is a "whirlpool". The same evening (Friday night), the saloon was suppose to be open until 1:30 am (Saturday morning). My husband and I arrived to the saloon doors at midnight and the doors were closed and lights were all off. There was nothing satisfying about our stay, we did not stay for the third night that we were supposed to. The "private beach" that you would think would be right by the hotel, is a 20-30 minute walk from the hotel and is shared with the marina/ neighborhood that is inbetween the beach andn hotel. I will NEVER stay there again, nor would I ever recommend anyone to go there.

Posted by on Sep 10, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
3 out of 5

Posted by on Aug 27, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
1 out of 5
We had to get a new key everytime we went back to the room. Curtains wouldn't close, stains everywhere. For a $200 hotel room this was NOT worth it.

Posted by on Aug 18, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
3 out of 5
The room was clean and cozy. However,the staff were very bland. They showed little to no emotion,not friendly by any means. I had worked 60+ hours that week and wanted nothing more than to relax in the hot tub. I was unable to do so due to the fact that it was filled with kids playing with beach balls and jumping from the wall to the hot tub and the pool,over and over. I was there for over an hour patiently waiting but finally gave up and returned to my room. There was also not a single parent of the kids in sight. That would be my only complaint about my visit.

Posted by , from Ohio on Oct 29, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Nov 1, 2018 by Guest Services

Thank you for your feedback. I will get with all managers in our weekly meeting and make sure that everyone is aware of the how the staff was coming off this past weekend. I apologize that you weren't able to truly relax while you were here and we do hope you give us another change!

1 out of 5

Pictures look great, but dont waste your money !!

$800 for a 3 night stay at Sawmill Creek was a total RIP off! Not to mention the horrible service and over priced food we had at the horrible restaurant. We went there to celebrate 30 years of marriage and did not have a good celebration because of our stay here. The hotel is way out dated. Has not been updated since 1990, I mean nothing updated. One outlet at the desk, no outlets for cell phone charging or laptops. They say they have WIFI, but it is bare minimum, 2 bars. The bed was very uncomfortable,we woke up with horrible back pain. Taking a a shower you are ankle deep in your own filth and everyone's else's. Tub is sticky upon entrance,then gets greasy slimy with hot water...dont dare take a bath. Curtains just was not worth the 230 we paid a night ! I tried to get out of our reservation after the first night, but because we booked with travelocity we would be penalized for the whole stay, whether we are there or not. Which I believe, they reserve the horrible rooms for online bookers. The staff absolutely hates being there and it shows, very rude and unwelcoming. I could go on and on of how terrible this place was, but I think you get it by now. Dont do it! Red roof is better than this place.....YUCK X 10!!

Posted by , from Ohio on Jul 16, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 20, 2018 by Mgt

We appreciate you sending us this feedback. From everyone at Sawmill Creek Resort, we would like to apologize for dropping the ball in many areas. We will take this feedback seriously and try to resolve all these issues. I will be reaching out to you within 24 hours to discuss what we would like to do in order to right our wrong. Thank you!

4 out of 5
It was a very relaxing stay. We enjoyed our room, the jetted pool and both the indoor and outdoor pool.

Posted by on Jul 11, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 13, 2016 by Guest Services

Thank you so much for your feedback! We hope to have you again soon!

3 out of 5

Good but not great

Pros: Room was nice, clean and comfy.
Cons: The rollaway for our daughter was absolutely the worst. Like laying directly on springs. Booked room for 3 and still had to pay extra for rollaway??
Location: Cedar point.
Front desk staff attitudinal. The younger gal was very nice. The older gal, not so much. No wireless internet in rooms?? Booked room that was supposed to be for 3...2 adults and child but still paid 15 dollars extra plus tax on a very uncomfortable rollaway.

Posted by , from ohio on Aug 9, 2015

Was this review helpful to you?
1 out of 5

take a clothspin to plug your nose!

Cons: Nothing close, No free Internet, Poor breakfast
The hall ways and atrium area had a terrible sewer/gas smell the 3 days we were there. Employees just brushed it off saying they would look into it. Finally one room attendent told me nothing could be done about the smell...they always have the problem.!! Certainly not going to deal with that again (had headaches and food started tasting like the smell). Room was average, but wallpaper was peeled off wall in spots?? there are better places in the vicinity, Kalarhari, Great Wolf...Cedar Point itself. We will not return

Posted by , from Michigan on Jun 3, 2012

Was this review helpful to you?
3 out of 5

Eggs for $*.00??

My friend and I visited the resort for a weekend stay but decided not to go out to a restaurant each day and purchased carry-outs for lunch. But we soon discovered that the pricey resort does not provide microwaves nor can you rent a microwave. NOT GOOD!! We reserved the room with the breakfast package on the morning that we were leaving. We ordered from the resort’s menu and shortly after our breakfasts were delivered to our table. However, my friend’s eggs were too soft and requested that the eggs be re-cooked. When I received the credit card statement I discovered that I was charged an additional $ *.00 for two eggs. POOR CUSTOMER SERVICES!!

Posted by on Mar 8, 2010

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5

Sawmill Creek Resort

Nice hotel, very clean. Good location - close to Cedar Point, but away from the city area of Sandusky. Wish we could have stayed more than one night.

Posted by on Sep 6, 2007

Was this review helpful to you?

About the Sawmill Creek by Cedar Point Resorts

Location 400 Sawmill Creek Dr., Huron, OH 44839

Renovations + Closures

This property will be closed from 01 November 2019 to 03 July 2020 for renovations and will resume operation once the renovation is complete (completion date subject to change).

This property is closed from 1 November 2019 to 3 July 2020 (dates subject to change).


Property Features

Sawmill Creek by Cedar Point Resorts offers its guests a golf course, a marina, and an outdoor tennis court. There are 2 restaurants on site. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. WiFi and wired Internet are free in public spaces. There's an onsite business center. There are 12 meeting rooms available. An outdoor pool, an indoor pool, and a spa tub are also featured at the business-friendly Sawmill Creek by Cedar Point Resorts . An airport shuttle during limited hours is available for a fee. Self parking is free. This 3-star Huron resort is smoke free.

  • 236 guestrooms or units
  • 4 buildings
  • 2 dining venues
  • Bar or lounge
  • Business facilities
  • Conference space
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Express check-out
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front-desk safe
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Wedding services available
  • Outdoor picnic space
  • Gift shop
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • Fireplace in lobby
  • ATM
  • Onsite shopping
  • Elevator
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Outdoor pool
  • Indoor pool
  • Free WiFi
  • Outdoor tennis court
  • Laundry facilities
  • Sofa bed
  • Refrigerator (on request)
  • Free cribs/infant beds


Available in all rooms: Free WiFi , Free wired Internet

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi , Free wired Internet


Free self parking


  • Airport: Cleveland, OH (CLE-Hopkins Intl.) (75.5 km / 46.9 mi)
  • Property shuttles: Airport shuttle
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Sawmill Creek by Cedar Point Resorts offers 236 accommodations with safes and coffee/tea makers. Flat-screen televisions are featured in guestrooms. Rooms have partially open bathrooms. Bathrooms include shower/tub combinations, bathrobes, complimentary toiletries, and hair dryers. This Huron resort provides complimentary wired and wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include phones; local and international calls are complimentary (restrictions may apply). Refrigerators and hypo-allergenic bedding can be requested. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • Bathrooms are partially open
  • In-room dining (limited hours)
  • Flat-screen television
  • Refrigerator available
  • Coffee maker
  • Hypo-allergenic bedding
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • International calls (free)
  • Local calls (free)
  • Hair dryer
  • Safe
  • Bathrobes
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Connecting rooms available

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy cooked-to-order breakfast daily from 6:30 AM to 9:00 AM.

Sawmill Creek by Cedar Point Resorts has 2 restaurants on site.

Room service (during limited hours) is available.

Nearby Activities

An indoor pool, an outdoor pool, and a spa tub are on site. Other recreational amenities include a golf course, an outdoor tennis court, and a fitness center.

The recreational activities listed below are available either on site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Water skiing nearby
  • Jet skiing nearby
  • Golfing on site
  • Parasailing nearby
  • Basketball on site
  • Hiking/biking trails on site
  • Bicycle rentals on site
  • Volleyball on site
  • Fishing nearby
  • Kayaking nearby
  • Windsurfing nearby
  • Sailing nearby


If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please note them in the special requests field on the booking page after selecting your room.

  • Wheelchair accessible path of travel
  • Accessible bathroom
  • Roll-in shower
  • Wheelchair accessible parking
  • In-room accessibility

Hotel Policies


  • Check-in time ends at midnight
  • Check-in time starts at 4 PM

Special check-in instructions:

Airport shuttle service is available during limited hours. Fees may apply. Contact the property in advance to make arrangements.

Airport transportation is offered during limited hours. Fees may apply. Please make arrangements in advance by contacting the property.


  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for USD 15.0 per day.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed


Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card, or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No cribs (infant beds) available
  • Debit cards not accepted


Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Breakfast fee: between USD 7.95 and USD 13.95 for adults, USD 5.95 and USD 11.95 for children (approximately)
  • Rollaway bed fee: USD 15.0 per day

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Sawmill Creek
  • Sawmill Creek Huron
  • Sawmill Creek Resort
  • Sawmill Creek Resort Huron
  • Sawmill Resort
  • Huron Sawmill Resort
  • Sawmill Creek Hotel Huron
  • Sawmill Creek Resort Huron, Ohio
  • Sawmill Creek Resort Huron
  • Huron Sawmill Resort
  • Sawmill Creek Resort
  • Sawmill Creek by Cedar Point Resorts Huron
  • Sawmill Creek by Cedar Point Resorts Resort
  • Sawmill Creek by Cedar Point Resorts Resort Huron

You should know

  • Sawmill Creek by Cedar Point Resorts offers transfers from the airport (fees may apply). Please contact the property at the number on the booking confirmation with your arrival details prior to travel.
  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.
url importing
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.