Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Enter dates to see availability

4.1 out of 5

"Visit was very pleasant. Staff was welcoming. Furniture, carpet and appliances could stand to be updated but overall had a nice time " More

By a verified traveler on Mon 07 Sep 2020

Hotel Description

Eco-friendly aparthotel near JT's Grommet Island Park

Oceanside stay

Within a 10-minute walk of this Northeast Virginia Beach aparthotel, you'll find JT's Grommet Island Park and Atlantic Wildfowl Heritage Museum. Virginia Aquarium and Marine Science Center and Ocean Breeze Waterpark are also within 3 miles (5 km).

2 outdoor pools

2 outdoor pools, 2 spa tubs, and a fitness center are all featured at this smoke-free aparthotel. Guests will appreciate free perks like free self parking and WiFi in public areas. A business center, a terrace, and a lobby fireplace are also on offer.

Free WiFi, microwaves

Featuring conveniences like microwaves and coffee/tea makers, the 124 apartments also offer free WiFi and TVs with cable channels. Free long-distance calls, free local calls, and hair dryers are also available.

Studio

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

1 Bedroom

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

2 Bedroom

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 6 Max

Turtle Cay by Diamond Resorts ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.1 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Turtle Cay by Diamond Resorts

Everyone (8) Couples (1) Family (5)
4 out of 5
Visit was very pleasant. Staff was welcoming. Furniture, carpet and appliances could stand to be updated but overall had a nice time

Posted by , from Chesapeake on Sep 7, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Sep 7, 2020 by Joan

Thank you for completing our survey and giving us your feedback. We appreciate your comments. We are happy that you had a pleasant visit found the staff welcoming! Please let us know when you are coming back and what we can do to ensure that you continue to have great stays with us. Looking forward to welcoming you back home to Turtle Cay. Best regards, Joan

2 out of 5
The design of the building places the bedrooms toward the street side rather than the courtyard. The noise from crazy parties and street racing make it nearly impossible to sleep. The property is overpriced and ill maintained. Bathroom door won't close due to hinge repair using round head instead of flathead screws. Bedroom door sticks due to faulty latch, creating a egress hazard. If the place caught on fire you would die trying to get through bedroom door to an exit. Front sign vandalized and broken - which is an indication of the level of crazy people on the street at night. Lots of broken and poorly repaired tile and lots of marks and damaged to the walls. WiFi was completely useless and yet you get charged $15 a day for it. Not a safe or comfortable place to stay.

Posted by , from Charlottesville VA on Jun 29, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 30, 2020 by Joan

Chris, Thank you for completing our survey and giving us your feedback. I do apologize that your experience was not we would have loved you to have. I do wish I had gotten an opportunity to address while you were here. I am further looking into your stay with us. Please let us know when you are coming back and we will do everything we can to ensure your stay is great. Again Thank you for the feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you back home to Turtle Cay. Best regards, Joan

3 out of 5
I didn't like having to pay to park. I have stayed with you guys before and never had to pay to park.

Posted by on Dec 2, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Dec 5, 2019 by Joan

Thank you for taking time out and responding to our survey. We do provide free parking for 1 vehicle per reservation. Unfortunately we have to charge for additional vehicles as we are paying year round for the additional parking place we have provided for that purpose. We do apologize that this might have caused your vacation not to be perfect. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to ensure your next visit is great with us. Best regards, Joan

5 out of 5

Posted by on Jun 21, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 21, 2019 by Joan

Thank you for your response to our survey! We are happy you had a great stay with us. Please let us know when you are coming back and what we can do to ensure that you continue to have a great stay with us Regards Joan

4 out of 5
This place has a very nice pool area with overlooking room balconies. Tub/shower was very slow to drain.

Posted by on Jun 14, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 18, 2019 by Joan

Thank you taking the time to complete our survey and giving for your feedback. I am happy you loved our pools. I do hope you reported your slow draining tub and it was addressed. We do apologize that you had that experience but hope it was corrected as soon as reported Please let us know when you are returning to Turtle Cay. We would love to welcome you back home and will do all we can to ensure you do have a great stay. Best regards, Joan

4 out of 5

Posted by on Mar 17, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Apr 1, 2019 by Joan

Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us. We are so happy you had a great stay. Let us know when you are coming back and what we can do to ensure you continue to enjoy your stay with us Best regards,

3 out of 5

a place to crash

Pros: Location, close to marina
Cons: Security
Location: Off-season, many places closed. Spent our time on the boat, fishing.
Booked 2 studios for a fishing trip. "Studio" might be a stretch. Tiny refrigerator, no stove, only microwave, but did have a full size coffee pot. Pretty much a standard hotel room, but the price was right. One of our vehicles was broken into our last night there, in the guest parking area.

Posted by , from Finksburg, MD on Nov 27, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Nov 30, 2017 by Crystal Dickey

Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!

3 out of 5

Timeshare

Because this is a timeshare most if not all other guests are owners. The whole property is very beautiful. All of the staff is very polite and good at their job. They have onsite, indoor parking with elevators that take you right to your floor. The room they gave us was a handicap room, I felt like I was taking a room from a handicap person. Walls are very thin, you can hear people talking from the next room. Because there was a handicap shower, the water flows out into the bathroom. We had to build a towel dam to keep the water in there. The towel exchange program does not happen everyday, you are supposed to wash and dry your own. Problem is we did not have a washer or dryer. We had to call everyday and ask for towels, and explain why we needed them. The balcony had no light so we could not sit out there at night and read. All said and done it is a beautiful resort and I would return there, just not in room 117A

Posted by , from Manalapan, NJ on Jul 23, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 26, 2017 by Joan

Hello Vinny, Thank you for the feedback on your stay with us at Turtle Cay. I do appreciate the time and thoughtfulness that was placed in the review. The issues were noted and we will take immediate steps to address them. While the property does not do daily service I do understand that the room you stayed in is a definite exception with no washer and dryer. I will certainly ensure that we address. Hopefully you will return to enjoy an even better vacation. Please let us know when you are coming back and we will definitely try to make you stay better. Again thank you for your feedback and looking forward to welcoming you home to Turtle Cay

1 out of 5

Look ok in the internet, But what a disappointme.

No elevator access, they where under construction & my 2 rooms where next to it. Can't get clean towels till the 5th night . No housekeeping for the $$$ that I paid. The buildings needs a screaming WASH ME!! the hallway floor are disgusting. You have to clean up your own room & take your garbage out your self . A bit ichy when sitting in the couch. Their add says please to say yes!!! But for 8 out 10 questions where NO!!! I'm back home & still waiting for management To call me & see if they lo move me from this rooms. I wish a mi could upload the loud noises from the construction that we recorded from inside the rooms . So could not enjoy a good morning sleep.

Posted by , from bay shore ny on Jul 8, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 12, 2017 by Joan

Thank you for your feedback. I do apologize that your experience at Turtle Cay was so negative. I know we have the construction which does hamper some of the experiences and creates excessive dust. It is sad that your stay was so negatively affected. The negative responses that you received is not the norm for the staff and UI am using this letter to reaffirm with them the importance of ensuring that every interaction with every gust must be a positive one. Even at this late stage I would love to make a difference and hope that Turtle Cay can redeem itself in your eyes. Again we appreciate the feedback and if there is anything we can do we would love to. Our goal is to create memories and not to ruin vacations. Hopefully we can welcome you again to Mystic Dunes, Best regards, Joan

5 out of 5

Great hotel!

Pros: The room, the pools, the value.
Cons: Honestly nothing.
Location: It's across the street from the beach, 600 block of Atlantic. There's a pizza shop, a breakfast restaurant, and several stores nearby.
After looking at the pictures and the rate, I thought it was too good to be true, but it really was just like in the picture. The room was great, we had a one bedroom king suite, so we have two bathrooms (one didn't have a shower or tub, but it was huge), a washer/dryer, a full kitchen with stove, fridge, dishwasher, garbage disposal, blender, toaster,utensils, etc, a whirlpool tub, etc. I had seen some complaints about a lack of housekeeping but we didn't mind at all. They brought us fresh towels quickly when we called, and I put our trash out by the can outside. The staff was very friendly and the room was perfect. The best thing about the hotel though has to be the pools. My kids wanted to stay in the pools for most of the trip. We had a few friends over and we just hung out in the pool. We are already making plans to return next year.

Posted by , from York, PA on Jun 26, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 29, 2017 by Joan Waite Bulgin

Hi Tony, Thank you so much for your comments. We are happy you enjoyed Turtle Cay and will definitely share your feedback with the team here. We are glad you will be coming back. Please let us know when so that we can prepare for your visit. We would love to Welcome You Home to Turtle Cay Resort. Best regards, Joan, General Manager

About the Turtle Cay by Diamond Resorts

Location 600 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451

Renovations + Closures

The following facilities or services will be unavailable from June 19 2020 to December 31 2020 (dates subject to change):

  • Spa tub

The property will be renovating from October 19 2020 to March 30 2021 (completion date subject to change). The following areas are affected:

  • Swimming pool

Renovation work will only be conducted during business hours on weekdays. Every effort will be made to minimize noise and disturbance.

Property Features

Turtle Cay by Diamond Resorts offers its guests 2 outdoor swimming pools, 2 spa tubs, and a fitness center. Public spaces have free WiFi. You'll find a business center on site. A terrace, tour/ticket assistance, and a picnic area are also featured at the eco-friendly Turtle Cay by Diamond Resorts. Limited free parking is available on a first-come, first-served basis. You'll have access to the indoor pool, outdoor pool, and health club at a partner property. This Virginia Beach aparthotel is smoke free.

  • 124 guestrooms or units
  • 3 levels
  • Poolside lounge chairs
  • Business facilities
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Express check-out
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Terrace
  • Outdoor picnic space
  • Fireplace in lobby
  • Television in lobby
  • ATM
  • Elevator
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Number of outdoor pools - 2
  • Free WiFi
  • Laundry facilities
  • Microwave

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking , Parking (limited spaces)

Transport

  • Airport: Norfolk Intl. Airport (ORF) (30.1 km / 18.7 mi)
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Turtle Cay by Diamond Resorts offers 124 accommodations, which are accessible via exterior corridors and feature safes and coffee/tea makers. Televisions come with premium cable channels. Bathrooms include complimentary toiletries and hair dryers. This Virginia Beach aparthotel provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include phones; local and long-distance calls are complimentary (restrictions may apply). Additionally, rooms include irons/ironing boards and blackout drapes/curtains.

  • Television
  • Cable channels
  • Premium channels
  • Microwave
  • Coffee maker
  • Long distance calls (free)
  • Local calls (free)
  • Hair dryer
  • Safe
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Blackout drapes
  • Exterior corridor access
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Connecting rooms available

Nearby Activities

2 outdoor swimming pools and 2 spa tubs are on site. Other recreational amenities include a fitness center.

The recreational activities listed below are available either on site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Bicycle rentals nearby
  • Ecotours nearby
  • Golfing nearby
  • Boat tours nearby
  • Parasailing nearby
  • Surfing/boogie boarding nearby
  • Hiking/biking trails nearby
  • Kayaking nearby
  • Sailing nearby
  • Ziplining nearby

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.

  • Accessible bathroom
  • Roll-in shower
  • In-room accessibility
  • Assistive listening devices available
  • Braille or raised signage
  • Well-lit path to entrance
  • Wheelchair accessible (may have limitations)

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 4 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 6 AM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 21

Special check-in instructions:

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival. For more details, please contact the property using the information on the booking confirmation.

This property does not offer daily housekeeping.

The credit card used to book the reservation must be presented by the cardholder at check-in along with matching photo identification.

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival. For more details, please contact the property using the information on the booking confirmation.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 10 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed, but service animals are welcome

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card may be required at check-in for incidental charges

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges; special requests cannot be guaranteed

The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for incidentals must be the primary name on the guestroom reservation

Please note that cultural norms and guest policies may differ by country and by property; the policies listed are provided by the property

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A credit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for incidentals must be the primary name on the guestroom reservation. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place.Disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F.Social distancing measures are in place; staff at the property wear personal protective equipment; a shield is in place between staff and guests in main contact areas; periodic temperature checks are conducted on staff; guests are provided with hand sanitizer.Contactless check-out is available.The property affirms that it adheres to the Intertek Cristal (3rd party expert - Global) sanitization guidelines; the Safe Travels (WTTC - Global) sanitization guidelines; the SafeStay (AHLA - USA) sanitization guidelines; the Sanitary Protocol (UNPLV - France) sanitization guidelines.

  • Service animals are allowed
  • Service animals are exempt from fees/restrictions
  • Staff temperature checks are conducted regularly
  • Temperature checks are not available to guests
  • Bed sheets and towels are washed at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F
  • Commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Contactless check-out is available
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property follows sanitization practices of Sanitary Protocol (UNPLV - France)
  • Staff wears personal protective equipment
  • Property follows sanitization practices of SafeHome (VRMA - USA)
  • Property follows sanitization practices of SafeStay (AHLA - USA)
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • Property follows sanitization practices of Intertek Cristal (3rd party expert - Global)
  • Protective clothing is not available to guests
  • Property follows sanitization practices of Safe Travels (WTTC - Global)
  • Shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitizer
  • Staffed front desk
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Contactless check-in is not available
  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No cribs (infant beds) available
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Deposit: USD 300 per accommodation, per stay
  • Resort fee: USD 17.04 per accommodation, per night

The resort fee includes:

  • Pool access
  • Phone calls

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property, but they may vary based on length of stay or the room booked.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Early check-in is available for a fee (subject to availability, amount varies)
  • Late check-out is available for a fee (subject to availability, amount varies)

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Turtle Cay
  • Turtle Cay Resort
  • Turtle Cay Resort Virginia Beach
  • Turtle Cay Virginia Beach
  • Turtle Cay Hotel Virginia Beach
  • Virginia Beach Turtle Cay
  • Turtle Cay Diamond Resorts Condo Virginia Beach
  • Turtle Cay Diamond Resorts Condo
  • Turtle Cay Diamond Resorts Virginia Beach
  • Turtle Cay Diamond Resorts
  • Turtle Cay by Diamond Resorts Aparthotel
  • Turtle Cay by Diamond Resorts Virginia Beach
  • Turtle Cay by Diamond Resorts Aparthotel Virginia Beach

You should know

  • Pool access available from 8 AM to 10 PM.
  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.

Awards & Affiliations

Green / Sustainable Property
This property participates in Green Hospitality Program, a program that measures the property's impact on one or more of the following: environment, community, cultural-heritage, the local economy.

url importing http://www.travelocity.com/Norfolk---Virginia-Beach-Hotels-Turtle-Cay-by-Diamond-Resorts.h800754-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Norfolk---Virginia-Beach-Hotels-Turtle-Cay-by-Diamond-Resorts.h800754-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.travelocity.com/Norfolk---Virginia-Beach-Hotels-Turtle-Cay-by-Diamond-Resorts.h800754-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&

Frequently Asked Questions

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.