Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Enter dates to see availability

"Everything was great, except we didn’t get our 2 queen beds. " More

By a verified traveler on Mon 22 Jul 2019

Select your room to view prices

Standard Room

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max
$159* Per night/room Sep 1 - Sep 2

Oceanfront Room

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Ocean View Room

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Hotel Description

Beachfront hotel near Kaanapali Beach

On the beach

You'll find Kaanapali Beach and Black Rock within a 15-minute walk of this Lahaina hotel. Also, May's Beach is within half a mile (1 km) and Whalers Village is within 2 miles (3 km).

3 outdoor pools

3 outdoor pools, a spa tub, and a fitness center are all featured at this smoke-free hotel. Relax with beach cabanas, sun loungers, and beach umbrellas. Families will appreciate the onsite laundry facilities and supervised childcare.

Free WiFi, lanais

Featuring conveniences like refrigerators and coffee/tea makers, the 56 guestrooms also offer free WiFi and flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Lanais, room service, and hair dryers are also available.

Kaanapali Ocean Inn ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.5 out of 5 3.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Kaanapali Ocean Inn

Everyone (16) Couples (1) Family (2) Other (1)
1 out of 5
It is in a great location. Rooms need a total updating/makeover Roof tile in main lobby need to be removed, visible signs of damage.

Posted by on Jan 5, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jan 7, 2020 by CSD

Aloha We are very sorry you experienced what you did. We are in the process of updating the hotel and appreciate your comments.

5 out of 5
Everything was great, except we didn’t get our 2 queen beds.

Posted by on Jul 22, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 23, 2019 by Zareena - Customer Satisfaction Team

Mahalo for your feedback! We are sorry that we were not able to accommodate your bedding request on this trip. Bedding is subject to availability when you arrive. We do our best to honor all requests but are sometimes unable. We hope to see you again in the future!

4 out of 5

Posted by on Jul 18, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 18, 2019 by Zareena - Customer Satisfaction Team

Mahalo for your feedback!

2 out of 5
The hotel was right on the ocean which is a plus because we spent most of our time on the beach. The hotel itself was horrible. The fact that it was run down doesn’t bother me as much as the fact that it was infested with sugar ants, we found dead cockroaches in our room, and the walls are so thin that you might as well be sharing a room with people next door to you. Our kids had the room next to us and ended up having to move because their room started smelling like the sewage was backing up. Gigantic bees (or bee like insects) have made the outside railings their home. You can watch them fly in and out of holes they have made in the banisters which makes you wonder just how sturdy they really are if they are hollowed out by these bugs. The staff were friendly and accommodating but I wouldn’t stay here again.

Posted by on Jun 26, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 26, 2019 by Zareena - Customer Satisfaction Team

Mahalo for your feedback! We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do our best to spray regularly for bugs and provide a clean and comfortable stay, but at times one or two may slip by. We will address these issues with our leadership team. We apologize for any inconveniences and hope that we have the chance in the future to provide a better stay.

4 out of 5
I was not happy that I had booked a king size bed and when I arrived they didn't have one for me. After complaining they upgraded us to a kingsize.

Posted by on May 10, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

May 13, 2019 by Zareena - Customer Satisfaction Team

Mahalo for sharing your feedback! We are very sorry that we were not able to fulfill your king bed request at first. Bedding is based on request at the Inn, meaning the room can come with either a king bed or two doubles. We do our best to fulfill all requests, but sometimes we do not have the availability to do so. We are happy that we were able to find a happy solution for your stay. We hope that you had a beautiful time staying with us and will keep us in mind in the future!

1 out of 5
Disgusting mold and mildew smell as soon as we opened door to room, not renovated. Bugs crawling all over bathroom sink. We had them move our room, 2nd room did not smell but still full of bugs. Front desk manager refused to refund room because we booked through travelocity, and did not even care about the condition of the rooms or our complaints. He did not offer anything to compensate us for our bad experience. We will never stay here again.

Posted by on Dec 7, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Dec 10, 2018 by Zareena - Customer Satisfaction Tean

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry that you had a negative experience with us. We are an older property, but we keep all rooms clean and comfortable for our guests. We apologize that your room was not up to our usual standards. We spray for bugs regularly, but some can slip by. Unfortunately we cannot offer refunds when a guest books through a third party because we do not collect your payment, the third party collects payment. We will share your feedback with our team.

5 out of 5
Absolutely the best time ever I would def stay here again! Had a ocean front room and it was perfection!! Maui is Beautiful!

Posted by , from California on Oct 28, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Oct 30, 2018 by Tara

Aloha Thank you for your review of our Inn. We love that you had the best time here with us and we would love to welcome you again. Mahalo

5 out of 5
Great value! The hotel was just what we needed for the night.

Posted by on Sep 23, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Sep 25, 2018 by Tara

Aloha Thank you for your five star rating. Mahalo

3 out of 5
Great view. Should warn guest of location to the Luau Show. Spacious room with nice beds. Bath needs updating and cleaning!! Counters, mirrors, shower, floors and refrigerator were filthy dirty! Then the ceiling in the shower came crashing down because of a water leak in the ac condensation tank. The building needs to be renovated!!!’ Should have a small microwave too. Daily cleaning and dirty towel replacement very sketchy. The old rooms are not cheap. Don’t feel that a $60 parking credit was enough compensation for a $2300 4 night charge. Won’t do that again.

Posted by on May 19, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

May 21, 2018 by Jenny - Customer Care Team

Aloha, We thank you for your feedback concerning your stay. We are extremely sorry to hear about your negative experience with had with us. We even more sorry to have disappointed you. We do try to maintain the highest standards of service but clearly that is not what happened here. We are addressing your concerns with our improvement team as we strive for happy guests. Mahalo!

4 out of 5

Comfortable with a nice view

Pros: Room & beach were both very nice
Cons: Customer service
Location: It is located at a resort with a wonderful beach/ pool area. Close to shopping and restaurants.
Booked through Travelocity, requested king room, none were available. So that was disappointing. Check in took a very long time, the front desk person didn't seem to know what she was doing, couldn't find my reservation for over 10 minutes. She never asked my name only for id & she was searching under my first name instead of last, with my id in her hand! The room was very comfortable, clean and nice bathroom. We booked lower end but still had a wonderful view from the lanai. Beach/pool area was very nice. Bartender at outside bar was great! Inside bar, not so much, I was there for about 15 minutes but was never acknowledged by either bartender. They were busy, but both walked by me several times without so much as an "I'll be right with you." A third bartender, Eric, served me almost right away when he got there.

Posted by , from PA on Jan 10, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?

About the Kaanapali Ocean Inn

Location 2780-A Kekaa Dr, Lahaina, HI 96761

Renovations + Closures

This property is closed from March 24 2020 to August 31 2020 (dates subject to change).

Property Features

Sit back and relax on the beach with cabanas (surcharge), umbrellas, and sun loungers. Bring your whole family to Kaanapali Ocean Inn for summer fun including 3 outdoor swimming pools, surfing/boogie boarding, and snorkeling. Along with a restaurant, there's a coffee shop/café on site. You can enjoy a drink at one of the bars, which include 2 bars/lounges and a poolside bar. A computer station is on site and WiFi is free in public spaces. This beach hotel also offers a spa tub, a fitness center, and a garden. Parking is available for a fee. This Lahaina hotel is smoke free.

  • 56 guestrooms or units
  • 2 levels
  • 2 bars or lounges
  • Dining venue
  • Bar by the pool
  • Coffee shop
  • Childcare (surcharge)
  • Cabanas on the beach (surcharge)
  • Beach lounge chairs
  • Towels for the beach
  • Umbrellas for the beach
  • Business facilities
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Express check-out
  • Staff is multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front-desk safe
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Wedding services available
  • Convenience store
  • Garden
  • Gift shop
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • ATM
  • Onsite shopping
  • Bellhop
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Number of outdoor pools - 3
  • Free WiFi
  • Grocery/convenience store
  • Laundry facilities
  • Babysitting or childcare (surcharge)
  • Refrigerator
  • Free cribs/infant beds

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Self parking (surcharge) , Valet parking (surcharge)

Transport

  • Airport: Kahului, HI Airport (OGG) (45.2 km / 28.1 mi)
  • Train station: Lahaina Sugar Cane Train Station (6.2 km / 3.9 mi)
  • Parking: Valet parking and self parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

Kaanapali Ocean Inn offers 56 air-conditioned accommodations with safes and coffee/tea makers. Rooms open to lanais. Flat-screen televisions come with cable channels and pay movies. Bathrooms include showers, complimentary toiletries, and hair dryers. This Lahaina hotel provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • Private lanai
  • In-room dining (limited hours)
  • Flat-screen television
  • Cable channels
  • Movies for purchase
  • Refrigerator
  • Coffee maker
  • Shower
  • Cribs (free)
  • Rollaway beds (free)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Hair dryer
  • Safe
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Air conditioning
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Connecting rooms available

Food & Drink

Kaanapali Ocean Inn has a restaurant serving breakfast only.

Room service (during limited hours) is available.

Nearby Activities

3 outdoor swimming pools are on site along with a spa tub. Other recreational amenities include a fitness center.

The recreational activities listed below are available either on site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Snorkeling on site
  • Golfing nearby
  • Surfing/boogie boarding on site
  • Parasailing nearby
  • Mountain biking nearby
  • Kayaking on site
  • Ziplining nearby
  • Bicycle rentals nearby
  • Rowing or canoeing on site
  • Boat tours nearby
  • Segway rental/tour nearby
  • Hiking/biking trails nearby
  • Golf lessons available nearby
  • Sailing nearby
  • Scuba diving nearby
  • Scooter/moped rentals nearby

Spa Services

  • Hot stone massage
  • Deep tissue massage
  • Prenatal massage
  • Number of treatment rooms 3
  • Outdoor treatment areas
  • Couples treatment rooms
  • Body treatments
  • Body scrubs
  • Facial treatments
  • Aromatherapy treatments
  • Massages

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please note them in the special requests field on the booking page after selecting your room.

  • Wheelchair accessible parking
  • Assistive listening devices available

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 4 PM
  • Check-in time ends at midnight
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18

Special check-in instructions:

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

The Kaanapali Ocean Inn is located at the Royal Lahaina Resort, within the Kaanapali Resort, at 2780 Kekaa Drive. For additional assistance please call (808) 661-3611.

Anyone traveling to Hawaii is required to self-quarantine for 14 days. Beginning September 1, travelers who have proof of a negative COVID-19 test taken within 72 hours of arrival are exempt.

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Up to 3 children 5 years old and younger stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Free rollaway/extra beds!
  • Free cribs (infant beds)!

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card, or cash deposit may be required at check-in for incidental charges

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges; special requests cannot be guaranteed

Tax ID - TA-130-995-4048-01

Safety features at this property include a smoke detector

This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place

Disinfectant is used to clean the property, and commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays

A shield is in place between staff and guests in main contact areas and guests are provided with hand sanitizer

Contactless check-in and contactless check-out are available

Individually-wrapped food options are available for breakfast, lunch, and dinner

Please note that cultural norms and guest policies may differ by country and by property; the policies listed are provided by the property

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. The tax ID number is TA-130-995-4048-01. For guests' safety, the property includes a smoke detector in each accommodation. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place.Disinfectant is used to clean the property, and commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays.A shield is in place between staff and guests in main contact areas and guests are provided with hand sanitizer.Contactless check-in and contactless check-out are available.Individually-wrapped food options are available for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

  • Commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Contactless check-out is available
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitizer
  • Staffed front desk
  • Contactless check-in is available
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Individually-wrapped food options are available
  • State tax ID - TA-130-995-4048-01
  • Individually-wrapped food options are available for breakfast
  • Individually-wrapped food options are available for lunch
  • Individually-wrapped food options are available for dinner
  • Debit cards
  • Number of children who can stay free - 3

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Self parking fee: USD 15 per day (in/out privileges)
  • Valet parking fee: USD 20 per day (in/out privileges)

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Kaanapali Inn
  • Kaanapali Ocean
  • Kaanapali Ocean Inn
  • The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Lahaina
  • Westin Ka Anapali Ocean Hotel
  • Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
  • Kaanapali Ocean Inn Lahaina
  • Kaanapali Ocean Lahaina
  • Kaanapali Ocean Lahaina
  • Kaanapali Ocean Inn Maui/Lahaina
  • Kaanapali Ocean Hotel Lahaina
  • Kaanapali Ocean Inn Hotel
  • Kaanapali Ocean Inn Lahaina
  • Kaanapali Ocean Inn Hotel Lahaina

You should know

  • Reservations are needed for golf tee times and massage services. For reservations, contact the hotel before arrival using the contact information on the booking confirmation.
  • Up to 3 children 5 years old and younger stay free in the same room as the parent or guardian when using existing bedding.
  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.
url importing http://www.travelocity.com/Lahaina-Hotels-Kaanapali-Ocean-Inn.h1579462-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Lahaina-Hotels-Kaanapali-Ocean-Inn.h1579462-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.travelocity.com/Lahaina-Hotels-Kaanapali-Ocean-Inn.h1579462-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&

Frequently Asked Questions

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.