Enter dates to see availability

"Booked through Travelocity, requested king room, none were available. So that was disappointing. Check in took a very long time, the front desk pe ... " More

By a verified traveler on Wed 10 Jan 2018

Hotel Description

Beachfront hotel near Kaanapali Beach

On the beach

Within 2 miles (3 km) of this well-placed hotel, you'll find Whalers Village and Kaanapali Beach. Also, May's Beach is within half a mile (1 km) and Black Rock is within 2 miles (3 km).

3 outdoor pools

This smoke-free hotel features 3 outdoor pools, 11 outdoor tennis courts, and a restaurant. Relax with beach cabanas, sun loungers, and beach umbrellas. Families will appreciate the onsite laundry facilities and supervised childcare.

Free WiFi, lanais

Featuring conveniences like refrigerators and coffee/tea makers, the 56 guestrooms also offer free WiFi and flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Lanais, room service, and hair dryers are also available.

Kaanapali Standard

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max
$150* Per night/room Aug 28 - Aug 29

Kaanpali Oceanfront

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Kaanapali Ocean View

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Kaanapali Ocean Inn ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.6 out of 5 3.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Kaanapali Ocean Inn

Everyone (15) Couples (1) Family (2) Other (1)
5 out of 5
Everything was great, except we didn’t get our 2 queen beds.

Posted by on Jul 22, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 23, 2019 by Zareena - Customer Satisfaction Team

Mahalo for your feedback! We are sorry that we were not able to accommodate your bedding request on this trip. Bedding is subject to availability when you arrive. We do our best to honor all requests but are sometimes unable. We hope to see you again in the future!

4 out of 5

Posted by on Jul 18, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 18, 2019 by Zareena - Customer Satisfaction Team

Mahalo for your feedback!

2 out of 5
The hotel was right on the ocean which is a plus because we spent most of our time on the beach. The hotel itself was horrible. The fact that it was run down doesn’t bother me as much as the fact that it was infested with sugar ants, we found dead cockroaches in our room, and the walls are so thin that you might as well be sharing a room with people next door to you. Our kids had the room next to us and ended up having to move because their room started smelling like the sewage was backing up. Gigantic bees (or bee like insects) have made the outside railings their home. You can watch them fly in and out of holes they have made in the banisters which makes you wonder just how sturdy they really are if they are hollowed out by these bugs. The staff were friendly and accommodating but I wouldn’t stay here again.

Posted by on Jun 26, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 26, 2019 by Zareena - Customer Satisfaction Team

Mahalo for your feedback! We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do our best to spray regularly for bugs and provide a clean and comfortable stay, but at times one or two may slip by. We will address these issues with our leadership team. We apologize for any inconveniences and hope that we have the chance in the future to provide a better stay.

4 out of 5
I was not happy that I had booked a king size bed and when I arrived they didn't have one for me. After complaining they upgraded us to a kingsize.

Posted by on May 10, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

May 13, 2019 by Zareena - Customer Satisfaction Team

Mahalo for sharing your feedback! We are very sorry that we were not able to fulfill your king bed request at first. Bedding is based on request at the Inn, meaning the room can come with either a king bed or two doubles. We do our best to fulfill all requests, but sometimes we do not have the availability to do so. We are happy that we were able to find a happy solution for your stay. We hope that you had a beautiful time staying with us and will keep us in mind in the future!

1 out of 5
Disgusting mold and mildew smell as soon as we opened door to room, not renovated. Bugs crawling all over bathroom sink. We had them move our room, 2nd room did not smell but still full of bugs. Front desk manager refused to refund room because we booked through travelocity, and did not even care about the condition of the rooms or our complaints. He did not offer anything to compensate us for our bad experience. We will never stay here again.

Posted by on Dec 7, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Dec 10, 2018 by Zareena - Customer Satisfaction Tean

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry that you had a negative experience with us. We are an older property, but we keep all rooms clean and comfortable for our guests. We apologize that your room was not up to our usual standards. We spray for bugs regularly, but some can slip by. Unfortunately we cannot offer refunds when a guest books through a third party because we do not collect your payment, the third party collects payment. We will share your feedback with our team.

5 out of 5
Absolutely the best time ever I would def stay here again! Had a ocean front room and it was perfection!! Maui is Beautiful!

Posted by , from California on Oct 28, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Oct 30, 2018 by Tara

Aloha Thank you for your review of our Inn. We love that you had the best time here with us and we would love to welcome you again. Mahalo

5 out of 5
Great value! The hotel was just what we needed for the night.

Posted by on Sep 23, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Sep 25, 2018 by Tara

Aloha Thank you for your five star rating. Mahalo

3 out of 5
Great view. Should warn guest of location to the Luau Show. Spacious room with nice beds. Bath needs updating and cleaning!! Counters, mirrors, shower, floors and refrigerator were filthy dirty! Then the ceiling in the shower came crashing down because of a water leak in the ac condensation tank. The building needs to be renovated!!!’ Should have a small microwave too. Daily cleaning and dirty towel replacement very sketchy. The old rooms are not cheap. Don’t feel that a $60 parking credit was enough compensation for a $2300 4 night charge. Won’t do that again.

Posted by on May 19, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

May 21, 2018 by Jenny - Customer Care Team

Aloha, We thank you for your feedback concerning your stay. We are extremely sorry to hear about your negative experience with had with us. We even more sorry to have disappointed you. We do try to maintain the highest standards of service but clearly that is not what happened here. We are addressing your concerns with our improvement team as we strive for happy guests. Mahalo!

4 out of 5

Comfortable with a nice view

Pros: Room & beach were both very nice
Cons: Customer service
Location: It is located at a resort with a wonderful beach/ pool area. Close to shopping and restaurants.
Booked through Travelocity, requested king room, none were available. So that was disappointing. Check in took a very long time, the front desk person didn't seem to know what she was doing, couldn't find my reservation for over 10 minutes. She never asked my name only for id & she was searching under my first name instead of last, with my id in her hand! The room was very comfortable, clean and nice bathroom. We booked lower end but still had a wonderful view from the lanai. Beach/pool area was very nice. Bartender at outside bar was great! Inside bar, not so much, I was there for about 15 minutes but was never acknowledged by either bartender. They were busy, but both walked by me several times without so much as an "I'll be right with you." A third bartender, Eric, served me almost right away when he got there.

Posted by , from PA on Jan 10, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5

Nice hotel, great service/room was right off of oc

Splendid, felt like home.. Pools and Beach Bar were great. All the activities you could want from renting Cabana’s to snorkeling gear.

Posted by , from Chicopee, MA on Dec 29, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?

About the Kaanapali Ocean Inn

Location 2780-A Kekaa Dr, Lahaina, HI 96761

Property Features

Sit back and relax on the beach with cabanas (surcharge), umbrellas, and sun loungers. Bring your whole family to Kaanapali Ocean Inn for summer fun including 3 outdoor swimming pools, an outdoor pool, and outdoor tennis courts. There's a restaurant on site, as well as a coffee shop/café. You can enjoy a drink at one of the bars, which include 2 bars/lounges, a poolside bar, and a bar/lounge. A computer station is on site and WiFi is free in public spaces. This beach hotel also offers a spa tub, a fitness center, and a garden. Parking is available for a fee. This Lahaina hotel is smoke free.

  • 56 guestrooms or units
  • 2 levels
  • 2 bars or lounges
  • Dining venue
  • Bar by the pool
  • Bar or lounge
  • Coffee shop
  • Childcare (surcharge)
  • Cabanas on the beach (surcharge)
  • Beach lounge chairs
  • Towels for the beach
  • Umbrellas for the beach
  • Business facilities
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Express check-out
  • Staff is multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front-desk safe
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Wedding services available
  • Convenience store
  • Garden
  • Gift shop
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • ATM
  • Onsite shopping
  • Bellhop
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Number of outdoor pools - 3
  • Outdoor pool
  • Free WiFi
  • Outdoor tennis courts - 11
  • Grocery/convenience store
  • Laundry facilities
  • Babysitting or childcare (surcharge)
  • Refrigerator
  • Free cribs/infant beds


Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi


Self parking (surcharge) , Valet parking (surcharge)


  • Airport: Kahului, HI (OGG) (44.4 km / 27.6 mi)
  • Train station: Lahaina Sugar Cane Train Kaanapali Landing Station (4.3 km / 2.7 mi)
  • Parking: Valet parking and self parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

Kaanapali Ocean Inn offers 56 air-conditioned accommodations with safes and coffee/tea makers. Rooms open to lanais. Flat-screen televisions come with cable channels and pay movies. Bathrooms include showers, complimentary toiletries, and hair dryers. Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wireless Internet access. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • Private lanai
  • In-room dining (limited hours)
  • Flat-screen television
  • Cable channels
  • Movies for purchase
  • Refrigerator
  • Coffee maker
  • Shower
  • Cribs (free)
  • Rollaway beds (free)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Hair dryer
  • Safe
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Air conditioning
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Connecting rooms available

Food & Drink

Kaanapali Ocean Inn has a restaurant serving breakfast only.

Room service (during limited hours) is available.

Nearby Activities

3 outdoor swimming pools are on site along with an outdoor pool. Other recreational amenities include outdoor tennis courts, a spa tub, and a fitness center.

The recreational activities listed below are available either on site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Snorkeling on site
  • Golfing nearby
  • Surfing/boogie boarding on site
  • Parasailing nearby
  • Mountain biking nearby
  • Tennis lessons on site
  • Kayaking on site
  • Ziplining nearby
  • Bicycle rentals nearby
  • Rowing or canoeing on site
  • Boat tours nearby
  • Segway rental/tour nearby
  • Hiking/biking trails nearby
  • Golf lessons available nearby
  • Sailing nearby
  • Scuba diving nearby
  • Scooter/moped rentals nearby


If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please note them at check-out when you book your room.

Hotel Policies


  • Check-in time ends at midnight
  • Check-in time starts at 4 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is 18

Special check-in instructions:

The Kaanapali Ocean Inn is located at the Royal Lahaina Resort, within the Kaanapali Resort, at 2780 Kekaa Drive. For additional assistance please call (808) 661-3611.


  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Children stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Free rollaway/extra beds!
  • Free cribs (infant beds)!


  • No pets allowed


Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card, or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed. Please note that cultural norms and guest policies may differ by country and by property. The policies listed are provided by the property.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

  • Tax ID - TA-130-995-4048-01


Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Self parking fee: USD 15 per day (in/out privileges)
  • Valet parking fee: USD 20 per day (in/out privileges)

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Kaanapali Inn
  • Kaanapali Ocean
  • Kaanapali Ocean Inn
  • The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Lahaina
  • Westin Ka Anapali Ocean Hotel
  • Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
  • Kaanapali Ocean Inn Lahaina
  • Kaanapali Ocean Lahaina
  • Kaanapali Ocean Lahaina
  • Kaanapali Ocean Inn Maui/Lahaina
  • Kaanapali Ocean Hotel Lahaina

You should know

  • Reservations are needed for golf tee times. For reservations, contact the hotel before arrival using the contact information on the booking confirmation.
  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.