Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

"It was a great location. Close to everything we wanted to do. The staff was great. The bed was not very comfortable. It could’ve used a new mattress ... " More

By a verified traveler on Tue 22 Oct 2019

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

3-star golf hotel near Gander Gallery

Heart of Manchester Center

Within a 15-minute walk of the hotel, you'll find Gander Gallery and Manchester Designer Outlets. Orvis Fly Fishing and American Museum of Fly Fishing are also within 2 miles (3 km).

9-hole golf course

This smoke-free hotel features a golf course, 2 outdoor tennis courts, and a restaurant. Enjoy the indoor pool and free perks like on-the-go breakfast and free self parking. You'll appreciate the gym, bar/lounge, and free newspapers.

Free WiFi, patios

The 50 individually decorated guestrooms offer free WiFi and patios. Other amenities include sitting areas, coffee/tea makers, and flat-screen TVs with cable channels.

Standard Room, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed, Non Smoking

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max
$123* Per night/room Dec 8 - Dec 9

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Accessible, Non Smoking

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Standard Room, 2 Double Beds, Non Smoking

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Suite, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Suite, 1 King Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

The Palmer House Resort, Ascend Hotel Collection ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.9 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for The Palmer House Resort, Ascend Hotel Collection

Everyone (5) Couples (2) Family (1)
1 out of 5
For this I paid $400?!?: Check in time was 3 pm. We arrived a little before 4 pm and were told the room was not ready. They said they would text me when it was. We went driving around the Vermont countryside for another hour which would have been fabulous except it was pouring rain. We finally just went back to the room at 5 pm and found it was "ready" (having never been texted). The room was very musty smelling. The toilet had fecal stains and the sides of the bowl were covered in black mold (I have pictures). After fixing the malfunctioning toilet handle myself I managed to flush away the fecal stains, but not the mold. The bath enclosure had mold along all the seams and grime on the walls and floor of the tub. (I have pictures) The only way to get even spotty wifi was to stand next to the window in the furthest corner of the room. There was no clock in the room (seemingly common hotels recently) but there were no bedside tables on which to put one's phone if you wanted to use it as a clock. So, in the middle of the night, when I woke up and wanted to see the time, I had to crawl over my wife (the beds are pushed up against the wall on one side) to go across the room to check my phone. The coffee maker in the room was broken and the coffee at the buffet was barely above room temp. The cheap curtains didn't cover the windows. The picture looks like this elegant Victorian house but most of the property is just a motel. House itself had nothing original left in it.

Posted by , from NORWICH on Aug 29, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Sep 16, 2021 by jackie

Our apologies that you did not have the stay we like all our guests to have. The items you mentioned will be addressed with the staff

4 out of 5
It was a great location. Close to everything we wanted to do. The staff was great. The bed was not very comfortable. It could’ve used a new mattress.

Posted by on Oct 22, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Nov 10, 2019 by Thank you for taking the time to review our proper

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We're always working on updating the rooms and premises and hope you stay with us again in the future.

5 out of 5
The Palmer was as good as always. Very convenient to everything wanted to do in that area.

Posted by on Jul 4, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 1, 2019 by Palmer House

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

5 out of 5

Posted by on May 25, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 3, 2019 by Alan

Thank you for taking time to write a review of our property. We are glad you had a great time and we look forward to welcoming you again

5 out of 5
Very clea. I loved the par three golf course and the fishing. The staff was excellent. Nothing bad to report.

Posted by on May 15, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 3, 2019 by Alan

Thank you for taking time to write a review of our property. We are glad you had time to enjoy our golf and fishing. We look forward to welcoming you again

5 out of 5
Very warm and attractive accommodations, staff was exceedingly helpful and friendly, overall stay was exceptional

Posted by on Feb 6, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Feb 12, 2019 by Palmer House

Thank you for your kind review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to welcoming you back again..

1 out of 5

NEVER STAY HERE

We were booked for 2 nights but could only stay one due to a family emergency. Travelocity contacted the hotel for us kindly asking we be not charged for the second night. They were rudely told, "If it was a true emergency we would cancel both nights!". When we got to the hotel I wrote a letter to the manager explaining that we were driving from Maine to Pennsylvania and that my 64 y/o husband with back problems could not be in the car for a 15 hour trip. My concerns were NEVER ADDRESSED ! We left at 4:00 am to get home and were charged for the next night that we were not there. I guess this facility is so hard up for money that human compassion means nothing. My advice, Sleep on a park bench don't stay here!

Posted by , from pittsburgh pa on Jul 23, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 30, 2018 by Alan

Hi Karen, I apologize for not receiving your letter. I am investigating who you spoke to as this is not the norm for this property. We pride ourselves on taking great care of our guests and actually had a similar instance this weekend and we gladly took care of the guests. I will contact travelocity to find out who they spoke with and counsel them appropriately.

4 out of 5
The hotel grounds are beautiful. The staff is friendly and helpful. It is located in the heart of Manchester just a few minutes walk to the restaurants and shops. I would certainly recommend it to a friend.

Posted by on Jul 15, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 17, 2018 by Alan

Thank you for taking time to write a nice review of our property. We look forward to welcoming you again

5 out of 5
Great facilities. tons of amenities, rooms are big and spacious, very comfortable. A lot of bang for your buck. Staff was very friendly and hospitable they made you feel very welcome.

Posted by on May 19, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

May 30, 2018 by Alan

Thank you for taking time to write such a nice review of our property. We feel that we are the best value in town. We look forward to welcoming you again

About the The Palmer House Resort, Ascend Hotel Collection

Location 5383 Main St, Manchester Center, VT 05255

Renovations + Closures

The following facilities are closed seasonally each year. They will be closed from October 6 to May 27:

  • One of the swimming pools
  • Spa tub

Due to COVID-19, this property’s food and beverage options may be limited.

Property Features

The Palmer House Resort, Ascend Hotel Collection offers its guests a golf course, outdoor tennis courts, and an indoor pool. There's a restaurant on site. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. Free breakfast is served daily. WiFi is free in public spaces. A seasonal outdoor pool, a spa tub, and a fitness center are also featured at The Palmer House Resort, Ascend Hotel Collection. Self parking is free. This 3-star Manchester Center hotel is smoke free.

  • 50 guestrooms or units
  • 2 levels
  • To-go breakfast (free)
  • Dining venue
  • Poolside lounge chairs
  • Umbrellas for the pool
  • Front desk (limited hours)
  • Express check-out
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Wedding services available
  • Game room or arcade
  • Garden
  • BBQ grill(s)
  • Outdoor picnic space
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • Fireplace in lobby
  • No smoking on site
  • Bar or lounge

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Number of indoor pools - 1
  • Free WiFi
  • Outdoor tennis courts - 2
  • Arcade/game room
  • Free cribs/infant beds

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking , Free RV, bus, truck parking

Transport

  • Parking: Free self parking and RV/bus/truck parking

Room Amenities

The Palmer House Resort, Ascend Hotel Collection offers 50 accommodations, which are accessible via exterior corridors and feature coffee/tea makers and designer toiletries. Rooms open to patios. These individually decorated accommodations have separate sitting areas. A pillow menu is available. 36-inch flat-screen televisions come with premium cable channels. Bathrooms include bathtubs or showers, complimentary toiletries, and hair dryers. Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include phones along with free local calls (restrictions may apply). Additionally, rooms include irons/ironing boards and ceiling fans. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • Private patio
  • Sitting area
  • Flat-screen television
  • Cable channels
  • Premium channels
  • Coffee maker
  • Pillow options
  • Bathtub or shower
  • Cribs (free)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Local calls (free)
  • Hair dryer
  • Designer toiletries
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Blackout drapes
  • Exterior corridor access
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Ceiling fan
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Unique decor
  • Connecting rooms available
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Wardrobe or closet

Food & Drink

Guests are served free on-the-go breakfast on weekdays from 8:00 AM to 10:00 AM and on weekends from 8:00 AM to 11:00 AM.

Clove + Maple - This restaurant specializes in American cuisine and serves breakfast and dinner. Guests can enjoy drinks at the bar.

Nearby Activities

Guests can play rounds at the 9-hole golf course and enjoy other recreation facilities including 2 outdoor tennis courts. An indoor pool, a seasonal outdoor pool, and a spa tub are on site. Other recreational amenities include a fitness center.

The recreational activities listed below are available either on site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Snowboarding nearby
  • Fishing on site
  • Snowmobiling nearby
  • Mountain biking nearby
  • Snowshoeing nearby
  • Downhill skiing nearby
  • Health or beauty spa nearby
  • Cross-country skiing nearby
  • Ziplining nearby
  • Sledding nearby
  • Bicycle rentals nearby
  • Ski lessons available nearby
  • Ski equipment rental shops nearby
  • Hiking/biking trails nearby
  • Kayaking nearby

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.

  • Wheelchair-accessible public washroom
  • Wheelchair accessible parking
  • In-room accessibility
  • Wheelchair-accessible van parking
  • Upper floors accessible by stairs only
  • Well-lit path to entrance
  • Wheelchair-accessible registration desk
  • Stair-free path to entrance
  • Wheelchair-accessible pool
  • Wheelchair accessible (may have limitations)

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3 PM
  • Check-in time ends at anytime
  • Minimum check-in age is: 21

Special check-in instructions:

The front desk is open daily from 8 AM - 6:00 PM. If you are planning to arrive after 8 PM please contact the property in advance using the information on the booking confirmation. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

The front desk at this property is open daily from 8 AM - 6:00 PM.
Guests arriving after 8 PM must make advance arrangements by contacting the property using the information on the booking confirmation. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Up to 2 children stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for USD 20 per night.
  • Free cribs (infant beds)!

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed, but service animals are welcome

Policies

This property is managed by a professional host; the provision of housing is linked to their trade, business, or profession, within the meaning of article 155 of the French Tax Code

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card may be required at check-in for incidental charges

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges; special requests cannot be guaranteed

Guests must contact this property in advance to reserve onsite parking

This property accepts Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Discover, Diners Club, and debit cards; cash is not accepted

Safety features at this property include a carbon monoxide detector, a smoke detector, and window guards

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A credit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

This property is managed by a professional host. The provision of housing is linked to their trade, business, or profession, within the meaning of article 155 of the French Tax Code. Guests must contact this property in advance to reserve onsite parking. This property accepts Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Discover, Diners Club, and debit cards. Cash is not accepted. For guests' safety, the property includes a carbon monoxide detector, a smoke detector, and window guards in each accommodation. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place. Disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F. Personal protective equipment, including masks and gloves, will be available to guests. Social distancing measures are in place; staff at the property wear personal protective equipment; periodic temperature checks are conducted on staff. Contactless check-out is available.

  • Service animals are allowed
  • Service animals are exempt from fees/restrictions
  • Staff temperature checks are conducted regularly
  • Temperature checks are not available to guests
  • Bed sheets and towels are washed at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F
  • Commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Contactless check-out is available
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Staff wears personal protective equipment
  • Protective clothing is available to guests
  • Masks are available to guests
  • Gloves are available to guests
  • No shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Property does not follow sanitization practices of any association
  • Staffed front desk
  • Guests are not provided with hand sanitizer
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Contactless check-in is not available
  • No elevators
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Individually-wrapped food options are not available
  • Number of children who can stay free - 2
  • Debit cards
  • No gap period between guest stays

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Early check-in is available for a fee (subject to availability, amount varies)
  • Late check-out is available for a fee (subject to availability, amount varies)
  • Rollaway bed fee: USD 20 per night

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Palmer House Manchester Center
  • Palmer House Resort Motel
  • Palmer House Resort Motel Manchester Center
  • Palmer House Resort Manchester Center
  • Palmer House Resort
  • The Palmer House Resort, Ascend Hotel Collection Hotel

You should know

  • The seasonal pool will open in May and close in September.
  • Pool access available from 9 AM to 9 PM.
  • Registered guests are the only ones allowed to be in guestrooms.
  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.
  • Alcohol isn't served at The Palmer House Resort, Ascend Hotel Collection.
url importing http://www.travelocity.com/Manchester-Center-Hotels-The-Palmer-House-Resort,-Ascend-Hotel-Collection.h6028480-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Manchester-Center-Hotels-The-Palmer-House-Resort,-Ascend-Hotel-Collection.h6028480-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.travelocity.com/Manchester-Center-Hotels-The-Palmer-House-Resort,-Ascend-Hotel-Collection.h6028480-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&

Frequently Asked Questions

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.