Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Enter dates to see availability

"They always had fresh coffee in at the entrance and since I was taking classes early in the morning it was nice to grab a cup and go. " More

By a verified traveler on Fri 18 Jun 2021

Hotel Description

Spencer guestrooms with free WiFi

In Spencer

Within a 15-minute walk of the hotel, you'll find Spencer Municipal Golf Course and Riverview Park. Also, Clay County Fairgrounds is within 3 miles (5 km) and Spencer Golf and Country Club is within 6 miles (10 km).

Free perks

This hotel doesn't skimp on freebies - guests receive free on-the-go breakfast, free WiFi, and free self parking. Business travelers can take advantage of the 24-hour business center. There's an indoor pool on site, and a 24-hour front desk and a garden are also provided.

Free WiFi, microwaves

The individually decorated guestrooms offer free WiFi and free weekday newspapers. Flat-screen TVs come with cable channels, and other amenities include microwaves and premium bedding.

Room, 1 Queen Bed, Non Smoking (East Building)

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
$90* Per night/room Aug 1 - Aug 2

Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking (West Building)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking (East Building)

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Suite, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking (West Building)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Suite, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking (West Building)

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 5 Max

Room, 1 Queen Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking (West Building)

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Days Inn by Wyndham Hotel Spencer IA ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.8 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Days Inn by Wyndham Hotel Spencer IA

Everyone (2) Couples (1) Family (3)
5 out of 5
They always had fresh coffee in at the entrance and since I was taking classes early in the morning it was nice to grab a cup and go.

Posted by on Jun 18, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 19, 2021 by Front Desk

Thank you for taking the time to rate your stay with us . I will share your feedback with the rest of the stafff.

5 out of 5
Property was clean. Staff very customer oriented/easy check in. Room was great. Everything was good. Thanks

Posted by on Jan 4, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jan 29, 2020 by Chey Selzer

Thank you for taking the time to review us! Your feedback is always appreciated. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again in the future!

1 out of 5
Room 401 was very poor as the fan in bathroom kept turning on and off, the curtains would not close and the pillows on the beds were impossible to sleep on.

Posted by on Jul 7, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 17, 2019 by Hunter B

Thank you so much for the feedback! I want to give my sincerest apologies on your experience with us and please know I am addressing the issues and taking care of them!

2 out of 5

Disappointed

We have stayed here before but was very disappointed this time. Changed our room to pet friendly. No room service and key did not work each night.

Posted by on Jun 18, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 25, 2018 by Malisa V, General Manager, Days Inn Spencer

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am sorry your stay was not to your satisfaction. If you would contact me with your stay information, I will definitely investigate what happened with your stay. I am not completely sure what you mean by room service, if you mean food - no we do not have that. If you mean cleaning, the ONLY reason housekeepers would not provide service is if you have a Do Not Disturb on your door. We work very hard to honor our guests privacy. If this was not the case - again please contact me and I will investigate. As for the key issues, again, without your stay information I cannot give you a definitive answer - but unless they get demagnetized for some reason, they should work. Again my apologies, PLEASE feel free to get in touch with me personally and we will get things looked at and settled for you. Our guests are our number one priority, and we always want your stay to be a happy one!

3 out of 5

Nice staff smelly room!

The hotel doesn't have an elevator and we had someone with us who couldn't do stairs so they moved us to the other building on site that allows pets. The room smelled awful and we over paid based on the rates posted on the door.

Posted by , from S. on Jun 26, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5

Enjoyable Stay!

Pros: Free breakfast, Free Internet, Quiet
I really enjoyed staying at this hotel! The room was clean and comfortable - large area to spread out! Enjoyed the pool and the Hot Tub. Also enjoyed the breakfast and the kindness of the staff! Would definately stay again!

Posted by , from Sioux City, IA, USA on Jul 2, 2012

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5

Was very nice stay

Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants
Cons: Noisy
Nice hotel was just noisey very early in the morning. Was probably just the current crowd.

Posted by , from Florida, USA on Dec 8, 2011

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5

This hotel is heads above others

Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet, staff
I have been staying at this hotel while traveling for the past 6 months. I am always greeted with friendliness and accomodated for my preferences. I have never had a bad experience. On the off chance that housekeeping forgot to leave me decaf coffee for the room, the front desk was more than happy to provide my needs. The breakfast in the morning is sufficient with things like eggs and sausage, biscuits and gravey, and egg omlets. The coffee is always fresh, and above all, the hotel is clean.

Posted by , from Iowa on Nov 15, 2011

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5

Great Bed!

Travel here for work. The bed was great, better than mine at home. Motel is newest in town and is much better than most Days Inn's. Did not use the pool or hot tub but it looked good. It is the motel I will pick in Spencer.

Posted by on Jan 22, 2008

Was this review helpful to you?

About the Days Inn by Wyndham Hotel Spencer IA

Location 10 11th Street S.E., Spencer, IA 51301

Renovations + Closures

Due to COVID-19, this property’s food and beverage options may be limited.

Property Features

WiFi is free in public spaces. You'll find a 24-hour business center on site. Free breakfast is available daily. An indoor pool, barbecue grills, and a garden are also featured at the business-friendly Days Inn by Wyndham Hotel Spencer IA. Self parking is free. This Spencer hotel is smoke free.

  • 76 guestrooms or units
  • 2 levels
  • 2 buildings
  • Built in 2007
  • To-go breakfast (free)
  • Business center (24 hours)
  • Coffee in lobby
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Garden
  • BBQ grill(s)
  • Outdoor picnic space
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Indoor pool
  • Free WiFi
  • Microwave

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking , RV, bus, truck parking

Transport

  • Airport: Fort Dodge, IA (FOD-Fort Dodge Regional) (144.6 km / 89.8 mi)
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Days Inn by Wyndham Hotel Spencer IA offers 76 air-conditioned accommodations with coffee/tea makers and complimentary weekday newspapers. Each accommodation is individually decorated. Beds feature premium bedding. Flat-screen televisions come with premium cable channels. Bathrooms include shower/tub combinations, complimentary toiletries, and hair dryers. Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks along with free local calls (restrictions may apply). Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • Flat-screen television
  • Cable channels
  • Premium channels
  • Microwave
  • Coffee maker
  • Luxury bedding
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Cribs (surcharge)
  • Rollaway beds (surcharge)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Weekday newspapers (free)
  • Local calls (free)
  • Hair dryer
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Air conditioning
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Unique decor
  • Connecting rooms available
  • Wheelchair accessible

Food & Drink

Guests are served free on-the-go breakfast daily from 5 AM to 10 AM.

Nearby Activities

Recreational amenities at the hotel include an indoor pool.

  • Golfing nearby

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.

  • Accessible bathroom
  • Roll-in shower
  • Wheelchair accessible parking
  • In-room accessibility
  • Braille or raised signage
  • Wheelchair-accessible registration desk
  • Wheelchair accessible (may have limitations)

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3:00 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 3:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18

Special check-in instructions:

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Masks are compulsory at the property for guests without full COVID-19 vaccination.

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for USD 10.00 per stay.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are available for USD 10.00 per stay.

Pet Policy

  • Pets: USD 10.00 per pet, per night
  • Service animals are exempt from fees

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card, or cash deposit may be required at check-in for incidental charges

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges; special requests cannot be guaranteed

This property accepts credit cards; cash is not accepted

Safety features at this property include a carbon monoxide detector, a fire extinguisher, a smoke detector, and a first aid kit

Please note that cultural norms and guest policies may differ by country and by property; the policies listed are provided by the property

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

This property accepts credit cards. Cash is not accepted. For guests' safety, the property includes a carbon monoxide detector, a fire extinguisher, a smoke detector, and a first aid kit in each accommodation. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place. Disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F. Personal protective equipment, including masks and gloves, will be available to guests. Social distancing measures are in place; staff at the property wear personal protective equipment; a shield is in place between staff and guests in main contact areas; guests are provided with hand sanitizer. Contactless check-in and contactless check-out are available. Individually-wrapped food options are available for breakfast. This property affirms that it follows the cleaning and disinfection practices of Count on Us (Wyndham).

  • Service animals are allowed
  • Service animals are exempt from fees/restrictions
  • Staff temperature checks are not conducted regularly
  • Temperature checks are not available to guests
  • Bed sheets and towels are washed at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F
  • Commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Contactless check-out is available
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Staff wears personal protective equipment
  • Protective clothing is available to guests
  • Masks are available to guests
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • Gloves are available to guests
  • Shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitizer
  • Property does not follow sanitization practices of any association
  • Staffed front desk
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Contactless check-in is available
  • Property follows a brand or regulatory agency's sanitization guidelines Count on Us (Wyndham)
  • No elevators
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Individually-wrapped food options are available
  • Individually-wrapped food options are available for breakfast
  • Masks are compulsory at the property for guests without full COVID-19 vaccination
  • No gap period between guest stays

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Pet fee: USD 10.00 per pet, per night
  • Service animals are exempt from fees
  • Crib (infant bed) fee: USD 10.00 per stay
  • Rollaway bed fee: USD 10.00 per stay

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Days Inn Hotel Spencer Ia
  • Days Inn Spencer Ia
  • Days Inn Wyndham Hotel Spencer IA
  • Days Inn Wyndham Spencer IA
  • Days Inn By Wyndham Spencer Ia
  • Days Inn by Wyndham Hotel Spencer IA Hotel
  • Days Inn by Wyndham Hotel Spencer IA Spencer
  • Days Inn by Wyndham Hotel Spencer IA Hotel Spencer

You should know

  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.
url importing http://www.travelocity.com/Spencer-Hotels-Days-Inn-by-Wyndham-Hotel-Spencer-IA.h874401-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Spencer-Hotels-Days-Inn-by-Wyndham-Hotel-Spencer-IA.h874401-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.travelocity.com/Spencer-Hotels-Days-Inn-by-Wyndham-Hotel-Spencer-IA.h874401-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&

Frequently Asked Questions

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.