Ratings based on 3,216 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Memphis

Majestic Elegance

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Pros: Pools and access to the beach were excellent- really enjoyed sailing wind was too strong except for one day. The staff was wonderful,
Cons: I think you can change your web site to show the difference in the packages Club versus non-club.
Location: nothing to do outside the facility- we went to a shopping mall and could not get out of there fast enough
Upon arrival with another couple I found out that I did not book the same package and the hotel concierge arranged for me to upgrade the first price was additional $400 but we were not prepared to pay that so they suggested $250 and I had to give all cash and place in an envelope. Actually I fault Travelocity because I chose the plan that was available. The buffet had a good selection but reminded me of a cruise. I did get some type of bug bites not sure what they were. One night the mosquitos were bad and now with the ZITKA virus I would think they need to spray.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Upgrade

Posted Dec 25, 2015
Upgraded room and after paying found we were overlooking a construction site. We're unable to use the balcony from then on.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Excellent , fabulous can't wait to go back

Posted Nov 25, 2015
The service was the best we have ever had anywhere ! We can't wait to go back to the Majestic with our family and friends !! It was top notch we where treated like kings and queens ! By far the best vacation we have ever been on ! Thank you Majestic Elgance Club for a fantastic trip !!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from PA

Beautiful room, amazing customer service!

Posted Nov 7, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: The overall cleanliness, the 24 hr room service, food was great at the speciality restaurants-the buffets were okay, but we expect that for buffets.
Cons: The butler service, is not really what you expect. You use the concierge service more than anything.
Location: The drive felt long from the airport to the resort but we did shared transportation so they made a lot of stops.
It was my boyfriends and I first time here, we did the elegance club-definitely worth the extra money..we had so many extra perks and felt so special everywhere we went. The private elegance clubs were awesome, always so secluded and quiet. If you wanted entertainment you had to go to the main pool- we stayed for 7 days..shows were okay-they got better as the week went on. There was always activities or live music-always something to do. We did couples massages at the spa, it was a nice experience. We also got amazing pictures taken by their photo company, we were so pleased with them! We only left the resort once for an excursion-other than that there was no need to leave! There were 2 elegance sides of the beach and they were always empty as well, plenty of shaded covering. There was drink service on the beach and at the pool-they come right up to you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

nice resort

Posted Nov 6, 2015 on Expedia
Cons: the pool bar could of stay open longer then 6 pm
good time enjoy ours time there staff was great and were always friendly . I would come back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Posted Nov 6, 2015 on Expedia
The only we recommend is to have dollars change available for tips
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Hotel remodeling, need more events, better food

Posted Nov 5, 2015 on Expedia
Hotel is overall nice but still need some upgrading which they are working on, bigger ans better elevators, need more after hour events, need to work on there food and menu, food was not the greatest especially the meat and bread, there was not a whole to select from the room service menu or restaurant menus (it just looked like alot because it was written in 3 different languages, pool close too early, need more air condition areas throughout the resort (only a/c area are mainly in your suite/room). The employees there are very nice and entertaining! Fyi...Bring alot of $1 for tipping because it is hard to get change there unless you go to the casino which limits you on your change ($1 US dollars = @ 45 pesos to them). Also bring cash to pay for any excursions, massages, etc because the exchange rate is pretty high.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler

Posted Nov 5, 2015 on Expedia
Just got back from a 10 day stay at Majestic Elegance. It was our first time in the DR and we had a blast. The hotel staff were so pleasant and helpful. Daritiza was always there on the beach with a smile and a drink when we needed it. Juan Carlos was our butler and he made our stay very comfortable. Definitely get the club upgrade. Very worth it
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Texas

Constantly fell through the cracks.

Posted Nov 4, 2015 on Expedia
Got room w/2 beds when paid for King. Asked for extra towels and got extra robe. Ceiling leaked at light fixture water came up shower drain. Over charged for crappy photos in excursion. Was told getting 20 min horseback ride it was 10 min unless counting the mount and dismount time. Front desk doesn't give change. Had to fight for extra towels. Wasn't told dinner starts at 6:30 so showed up to early. Wasn't told where to find free activities.
1 out of 5
by A traveler from Delaware

Damp hotel room

Posted Nov 3, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Proper conditioning unit
Even though the hotel stuff was very nice the room was terrible. That is a reason for a very low rating. Once we entered the room we were surprised by the terrible smell, most likely mold or some kind of chemicals that were used to kill mold. The room was damp and in a very short time all our things were damp too. The paper was felt like slightly wet. The next day we requested room change and with certain hesitation from the receptionist we were relocated. To our surprise, the room did not smell. Well, it did after we turned conditioner on; when we moved in the balcony door was open and AC unit was off. Once we turned it on the stench was terrible. My wife did not want to move to yet another room since it most likely would be the same. Trying to make the best out of it we kept AC running only for the time to cool the room down and we kept the balcony door ajar. That did not help to reduce dampness. I think that AC unit did not exchange any air and was running closed circulation, meaning that the air from the room ran through cooling coil and was entering the room after that to be sucked again in. Also the moisture was not properly (if at all) collected and pumped out. That is why everything was damp to the touch.