Ratings based on 149 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from new york

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Hotel was new, clean, beautiful grounds, terrific beach and wonderful staff.
Cons: Dinners weren't good, brochure confusing for lunch dress code, reservations needed for empty restaurants. Front Staff sent us all over for checkout.
Location: Dune buggy excursion was a blast.
Majestic Colonial was overbooked - switched us to Majestic Mirage which was newer. First room had construction view - very noisy and workmen. I was upset so our butler Jorge Luis got us a 2 room suite with swim up pool, 2 bathrooms, Jacuzzi on balcony, bali bed. He also set up our dinner & spa reservations, one night he set up bubble bath with balloons and rose petals. He gave us shirts and hats. Our ac had a problem and he contacted maintenance which came right away and fixed. Jorge was always available to help and answer questions. The hostess Mariel remembered us from the first day, always greeting us by name and with a smile. The night maid Carmen was great and friendly. She made designs with towels and bedding. Went to the lobby to get change for tips. They sent us to one place which sent us to another and they told us to come back later. When I returned they said they had no change. When I got upset they gave me change. On check out, front bell hop sent us to the counter, which sent us to an office - why don't the bell hops at front desk know where to check out?? The front bell hop also tried sending us somewhere else to find out about our shuttle. When I insisted he look on his list he did and there was our name and info..... My husband is handicapped and being sent all over for simple requests seemed ridiculous. All in all it was a great week and we didn't let a few incidents ruin our wonderful time!
1 out of 5
by A traveler from Lancaster, NY

Worst vacation ever!!!!!!

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: The ocean view
Cons: The staff needs to stop stealing from the guests. The food was terrible. The room stunk. The AC hardly worked.
Location: We did a Jeep Safari, which included horseback riding, zip lining, a cigar factory and lunch. It was an excellent tour.
We arrived at the resort on February 18th. That evening before dinner we placed our cash, valuables and passports in our room safe. While we were at dinner maintenance and housekeeping entered our room to put two extra beds in the room and make them up. The next morning I went into the safe to retrieve some of the money only to find it missing. I immediately went to guest services to report the theft. An overworked young lady made me fill out a report before security could do anything about the theft. The lady from guest services and two "security" personnel accompanied to my room where they ripped apart my room looking for the missing money (as if I stole it from myself). The condescending security guard stated that if the safe was locked no one could have gotten in. An obvious lie since there is a key hole on the safe. $1100 USD taken right from our room safe and we were being called liars. Having all of our money stolen was the worst part of the trip but it overall is just a run down cesspool. The ocean view suite had a partially blocked view, the room stunk like mildew and the air conditioning barely worked. The food at the restaurant was not very good. The staff barely understood/spoke English. After the theft from our room we were upgraded to the Majestic Mirage. The Mirage is a nicer resort that the Colonial but mostly because it is newer. For what you get at the Colonial it should probably be about $25/night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Great for kids!

Posted Mar 3, 2017
We stayed with out two 9 month old twins and our 4 year old daughter. The staff were awesome with or daughter and the babies. They all loved the babies and made us feel very welcome. We are at the seafood and steakhouse and supreme buffet mostly because they were outside or buffet style for supreme making it easy. Lots of kids here making it great for family. Food was great. Lots of different options that change daily but also has staples for kids and picky eaters. The kids zone was the highlight of the trip. My daughter loved the splash playground. Spent most days there and the main pool. They also have nightly activities for the kids at the main stage before the show that were great. Overall it was a great resort for family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

nice hotel, good food. takes all day to get roomed

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: nice pool and beach access
Cons: clean rooms earlier in the morning. not 5 at night. bartenders are slow with getting drinks
Location: beach is nice. not much to see otherwise
enjoyed the vacation. Will not be returning to the resort however.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from League City, TX

Great Customer Service!

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Service was great, cleanliness, and hospitality.
Cons: I would have to say the language barrier sometimes but there's only so much you can do about that.
Location: Swimming with the dolphins, zip lining through the green mountains and also party boat with snorkeling and lunch!
My Husband and I are newlyweds and spent our honeymoon at this resort and I couldn't of been happier with our experience! The staff there are all about treating you like royalty, always greeting you with a smile and asking how they can help. The Resort butlers are quite amazing and are passionate about their work. We had Fransisco and he was the kindest man that took great care of us! We will definitely be back soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Boston, MA

Hotel Still New But With Great Management

Posted Feb 6, 2017
We arrived to the Majestic Colonial and were offered an upgrade to the Mirage. So we apprehensively took it and our apprehension came to fruition. There were a number of things about this brand new resort that were still being figured out. The lower level staff is clearly new and still being trained. So while there were a number of frustrations, we reminded ourselves we were on vacation and it was great!!!! The pools, the beach, our room, and the entertainment was just lovely. The food is getting there. We found a manager named Elena who was incredible in helping us with every single little issue we ran into!!!! She turned our vacation around!!!! If you are willing to be a little flexible, we loved our stay.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Chicago IL

Magestik Colonial Punta Cana

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Pros: Food
Cons: Stuff have to understand english, bartenders have to get better training, and stuff not showing that much different between VIP and regular people
Location: Beach, pool and ocean very nice!
We came back on 12/25/2016. The best thing in the hotel is food, specially in international buffet. Beach and ocean good like in all punta cana hotels. But there is a lot of things I did not like. Maybe in VIP aria it was better but we was staying in regular room and we sow several cucraches in the bathroom, carteons on the balcony was really really old dusty and had big holes all over. All time staying in that hotel I was dreaming about good drinks but not in the bar or restaurants sruff was understanding English and making only drinks they know which was very sweet with a lot of cheap alcohol. If you trying to ask them something different they do not understand or doing it very wrong with bad attitude! Most stuff doesn't speak any english or other languages even managers hardly understand if you asking something. Intartaytment team working very good no problem.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

it was a wonderful stay, everything was perfect

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Pros: location,staff,animation team, all employees, they work really hard to make our vacation wonderful
Cons: no complain, so far so good
Location: location perfect,
is was a wonderful stay, everything was perfect, location it was perfect , the beach clean,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Cleveland, Ohio

Very nice hotel and a great value.

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Family of five travelled for the first time to the Dominican Republic. We all loved the Majestic Colonial. Food was good (with room for improvement) the beach was very nice and the staff was amazing. Great vacation and a super value. Will be coming back as soon as possible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Connecticut

Worth every penny -

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Location: Too many to list and can be booked at hotel lobby
Could not find one thing I did not like. Great for adults and kids if needed. Shows even night and amazing service all around. The Entertainment team was amazing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2016 by Majestic Management Team , Hotel Management
Dear Chris, Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!