"I traveled alone and I in this place I feel safe 24/7. I run in the beach by myself, I walk at late hour at night sit and look at the start and the be ... " More

By a verified traveler on Thu 03 Aug 2017

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

An all-inclusive stay in Puerto Plata awaits you at Iberostar Costa Dorada All Inclusive. You'll be 3 km (1.8 mi) from Playa Dorada and 2.1 km (1.3 mi) from Lorilar Ranch. Highlights at this beachfront resort include 5 restaurants, 2 poolside bars, and a full-service spa.

All 516 rooms feature flat-screen TVs with satellite channels, and you can enjoy free WiFi, balconies, and in-room childcare. Nice touches include bathrobes, slippers, and free toiletries. Free minibar items, coffee/tea makers, and free bottled water are also available.

A day of pampering at Spa Sensations can include massages, body wraps, and facials along with access to the spa tub and steam room. The buffet restaurant, El Mercado, serves international cuisine and is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. With 6 bars/lounges and a beach bar to choose from, you can enjoy a drink at the resort. Spend the day at the beach where you'll find sun loungers, and enjoy the onsite outdoor swimming pool and nightclub. Other amenities include free WiFi in public areas, a fitness center, and an outdoor tennis court. There's also the convenience of free self parking.

Attractions within a 30-minute drive of this 4-star Puerto Plata resort include Fort San Felipe and Ocean World Adventure Park.

Iberostar Costa Dorada All Inclusive ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.9 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.5 out of 5.0
4 out of 5

Great family place

I traveled alone and I in this place I feel safe 24/7. I run in the beach by myself, I walk at late hour at night sit and look at the start and the beautiful pool and feel at ease and peaceful. The food is fine and always available. They have a lot to choose from- do reservation or just bufet style. The personal is excellent, attentive, smiley and helpful at all time. They also have shows every night and live music which is my favorite... I have been here several times and I definitely will come back!.

Posted by , from nyc on Aug 3, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5


Good. The food was exelent.The shows were good.The staff was excellent

Posted by on Jul 13, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5

Nice hotel, food is great!

Pros: The food is one of the reasons why we keep coming back to this hotel.
Cons: An additional restaurant, and better security by the pool. Our towels were taken twice on this trip!
We are return customers to this hotel. We love the food,and the staff Frank the waiter is awesome! This year we noticed the hotel was not as clean as prior years. When checking into our room (which was ready when we arrived at 2:00pm) there was hair in the tub and sink and in the bed! The pool area was not kept up with at all this year. Pool was very dirty and pool deck was dirty every day. We understand the amount of people in the pool day after day and the build up of lotions and sunscreen, However, it rained the entire 5 days so the pool was not crowded at all! In addition, the pool needs to be scraped and painted this year for sure! My husband and I have been to many hotels in the DR, we were married at the Melia in Punta Cana, but the food is much better here the any of the other hotels!

Posted by , from NY on Apr 22, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5

Enjoyable Stay

Pros: I liked everything about the.
Cons: If I could improve the weather I would :)
My husband and myself had a great time. The weather wasn't 100% nice and the water was cold for the most part, but we made the most of it. All staff is great and room always clean when it was cleaned. Front desk great changing our room same day to be in the same building with our friends. I would chose to be in building 7 closer to everything. the staff in the spa was great (great massage too). Again, everyone was great and positive.

Posted by , from Long Island, NY on Jan 31, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
2 out of 5

Room was damp. Felt moldy. Staff friendly.

Shows mediocre. Food fine at buffetSushi restaurant awful.

Posted by on Nov 30, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5

Nice hotel close to the beach, the food is excelle

Pros: The show The food
Cons: The guest participation in they event
Location: I visited the teleferico it was a complete adventure
The show was great, the family were very happy the complete facilities was excellent

Posted by , from new york on Jul 18, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
2 out of 5


Pros: Nothing
Cons: A lot of things! bottle water, beach chairs, drinks, shows, deserts, electricity outlets, dining reservation kiosk, beds, cleaner beach, etc, etc...
Location: Los charcos de Damajagua and the VIP Paradise Island tours
The beach is not nice at all, full of seaweed, garbage at the end when you walk along the shore. I was looking forward to the piña coladas, but couldn't drink even one, they were too sweet and had a nasty taste at the end. Couldn't charge my iPad because the outlets in the room are not compatible, how in the world at this age with people using technology everywhere, they don't have outlets you can use. Restaurant reservations are hard to get, either very early or very late and you have to talk to a person to do it. You can't do it yourself in a kiosk. They really need to upgrade their technology specially for the price they charge. Staff are not that nice, and don't seem to care to make your stay comfortable. No bottle water, if you want bottle water you have to request it at the front desk and then they will send it to your room. So if you are by the pool or by the bar, no way to get bottle water. The food is OK. I was so disappointed with the Japanese restaurant, even though everything looked fresh and delicious, the cook used too much soy sauce and the food was way too salty, you couldn't savor the seafood, meat, etc because everything was so salty. Most of the deserts are too sweet and the coffee was horrible; too strong, like espressos. I was able to drink two cups because I brought my own coffee. The shows are OK, mostly audience driven, nothing surprising. The beach chairs smell and are always wet because they use a thick padding. Over all very disappointing stay.

Posted by , from New York, NY on Dec 1, 2015

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Dec 4, 2015 by Quality Manager

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback on Travelocity following your recent stay at IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada. We are deeply disappointed to read your comments which in no way reflect the usual enjoyable and relaxing IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada. The way you describe your stay is far distant to our standards of service and facility. As a matter of fact, we want to extend our most sincere apologies for all the hassles you have experienced whilst in our care. We do not want to rain wet mentioning every detail of your feedback, however, you can assure that all your concerns have been addressed with utmost attention to our management team who are striving to take the corrective actions in order to avoid this to happen again. Your comments are so important since with them we are able to come with better ideas that will help us with our consistently efforts of improvements. Finally, we do hope that you can be able to give us another try so you can witness our improvements. Warm regards, Quality Manager DR

4 out of 5

Don't go alone!

Pros: The people working there are awesome, the servers and the StarMarket. Some of the food. The Japanese style and Brazil style restaurants were great.
Cons: The buffet food, big time! Don't freeze lobster for more than 3 months and serve it expecting it to be Kosher. The water and bug issues. Beach.
Location: Rum factory tour. casino. nightclub. Fishing(not so great). Cigars, ask Nelson.
The resort is good for couples and family. Not much for singles. The room was good despite some amigos(ants). Housekeeping got the bug killer for those. The last day of my stay it rained hard. It rained on and off afew times during the week but not like this. There was already a stain on the ceiling. I knew why when the hard rain came. As for the location, the room was great. Looking over the beach. A few tress but you can still see the water. Hear the waves at night was nice. The people were great and helpful. The food less than what I expected. Some of the food was great, some not so much. The specialty restaurants El Rodizio and the Japanese place are great. El Hacienda was not. No Fajitas! Had a seafood lunch on the beach and the lobster was aweful. Like it was frozen for more than 3 months. it was mush. A casino next door was good. Not enough variety of games. A few slots, Texas, 3 and 5 card poker, Roulette, and Blackjack. The club next door doesn't get started until after midnight. Too many women only want money. The people who work there are great. ***I ate at a restaurant called Le Petite Francois. It is a French cuisine, very small place. Tucked in the corner 1 minute drive down the road. Short walk. Fabulous food. I am sorry I ate there late in the week. I would have eaten there everyday. Hard to find and the people at the hotel didn't know of it. My taxi driver who took me on a tour was friendly and helpful. Nelson Minner. He knows where Francois is.

Posted by , from New Jersey, USA on Nov 25, 2015

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Nov 28, 2015 by Quality Manager DR

Dear guest, Thank you for staying with us. We are happy to read that overall you enjoyed you holidays. For us is very importanto to accomplish our guest's expectations and try to satisfy their needs while they are in our care. Morover, thanks for express us your disagreements, we have shared with the management who will strive to enhance the service. Once again, thanks and we hop eto serve you again. Regards, Quality Manager DR

1 out of 5

Worse hotel stay.

Pros: The staff were friendly
Cons: Less mosquitos.
Location: It was on the beach.
Booked 1 king bed per person. Total of 3 adults and was placed in one room with two full size bed and one small single bed. We felt crammed in the small room. I have heard of hotel pricing based on double occupancy instead I received triple occupancy at full pricing. Originally we were told we booked in a one room king size bed and when I questioned the accommodation the hotel could only give us one room with two full size bed and one single bed. The room was not large enough for 3 adults. My 27 year old daughter should have gotten her own room and I would not have mind sharing one room with my mother. There was a lizard in the room and mosquitos especially in the bathroom. When we requested bottle water we were given 3 sixteen ounce water bottle per day and when we asked for more we were told we were given 3 bottles already. Unbelievable 3 adults and the youngest was 27 years old and they expected us to do ok with 1 water bottle per day. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

Posted by , from Florida on Oct 25, 2015

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Oct 27, 2015 by Quality Manager DR

Dear guest, We are extremely sorry to read that we failed trying to fulfill your expectations; we are more than mortified to read about your uncomfortable experience. Rest assured that your feedback has been addressed to the management and they will strive to avoid this happen again. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. Sincerely, Quality Manager DR

5 out of 5

Nice hotel, excellent

Excellent place to relaxing, Food Excellent Nice Pool

Posted by on Jul 6, 2015

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 21, 2015 by Quality Manager

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your input, we are looking forward to your next visit. Best Regards, Quality Manager

About the Iberostar Costa Dorada All Inclusive

Location Carretera Luperon Km 2.5, Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata 57000

All-inclusive Details

This resort is all-inclusive. Onsite food and beverages are included in the room price (some restrictions may apply).

Gratuities and taxes
Gratuities and taxes are included.

Food and beverages

  • All buffet and à la carte meals, snacks, and beverages included
  • In-room minibar (all beverages included)

Activities and facilities/equipment
Water activities

  • Kayaking

Land activities
  • Fitness facilities

  • Aerobics

Kids' club

  • Supervised activities for children between 4 and 12 years old


  • Onsite entertainment and activities
  • Access to onsite clubs

Not included

  • Motorized water sports
  • Laundry/dry cleaning services
  • Spa/beauty facilities and services

Property Features

Iberostar Costa Dorada All Inclusive is an all-inclusive resort. Room rates include meals and beverages at onsite restaurants and bars. Other items and amenities, including taxes and gratuities, and access to recreational activities and entertainment may also be included. Additional charges may apply for meals at some restaurants, special dinners and dishes, certain beverages, and other amenities. Spend the day at the beach and work on your tan with sun loungers (chaise longues) or relax in the shade with umbrellas. At Iberostar Costa Dorada All Inclusive, pamper yourself with a treatment at the full-service spa or have fun in the sun with activities like scuba diving and kayaking. There are 5 restaurants on site, along with a snack bar/deli. For a drink, you can stop by one of the onsite bars, including 2 poolside bars and 6 bars/lounges. Public spaces have free WiFi. This all-inclusive resort also offers a complimentary children's club, an outdoor pool, and a children's pool. Free self parking is available.

  • 516 guestrooms or units
  • 3 levels
  • 9 buildings
  • 5 dining venues
  • 2 bars by the pool
  • 6 bars or lounges
  • 6 conference rooms
  • Built in 1999
  • Nightclub
  • Bar on the beach
  • Swim-up bar
  • Deli
  • Kid's club (free)
  • Supervised kid's activities (free)
  • Childcare (surcharge)
  • Beach lounge chairs
  • Umbrellas for the beach
  • Umbrellas for the pool
  • Conference center
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Staff is multilingual
  • Concierge
  • Wedding services available
  • Pool or billiards table
  • Garden
  • Beauty salon
  • ATM
  • Onsite shopping

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family Property
  • Free WiFi
  • Children's pool
  • Supervised childcare/activities (free)
  • Outdoor tennis court
  • Children's club (free)
  • Snack bar/deli
  • Laundry facilities
  • Babysitting or childcare (surcharge)
  • In-room childcare (surcharge)
  • Playground on site
  • Free cribs/infant beds


Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi


Free self parking


  • Airport: Puerto Plata (POP-Gregorio Luperon Intl.) (15.3 km / 9.5 mi)
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Iberostar Costa Dorada All Inclusive offers 516 air-conditioned accommodations, which are accessible via exterior corridors and feature free minibar items and safes. Rooms open to balconies. 32-inch flat-screen televisions come with satellite channels. Bathrooms include shower/tub combinations, bathrobes, slippers, and complimentary toiletries. This Puerto Plata resort provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Additionally, rooms include complimentary bottled water and coffee/tea makers. A nightly turndown service is provided and housekeeping is offered daily.

  • Private balcony
  • Stocked minibar (free)
  • Flat-screen television
  • Satellite channels
  • Coffee maker
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Cribs (free)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Nightly turndown service
  • Childcare in room (surcharge)
  • Hair dryer
  • Safe
  • Bathrobes
  • Slippers
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Exterior corridor access
  • Air conditioning
  • Ceiling fan
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Connecting rooms available
  • Wheelchair accessible

Food & Drink

El Mercado - This buffet restaurant specializes in international cuisine and serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Open daily.

Sakura - This theme restaurant specializes in Japanese cuisine and serves dinner only. Reservations are required.

La Hacienda - This restaurant specializes in Mexican cuisine and serves dinner only. Reservations are required.

El Rodizio - This restaurant specializes in Brazilian cuisine and serves dinner only. Reservations are required.

Nearby Activities

A health club is featured at the hotel. In addition to an outdoor pool, other recreational amenities include a sauna, a fitness facility, a pool, and tennis courts. The recreational activities listed below are available either on site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Playground on site
  • Fitness classes on site
  • Basketball on site
  • Scuba diving on site
  • Beach volleyball on site
  • Kayaking on site
  • Yoga classes/instruction on site

Spa Services

  • Spa tub in spa
  • Steam room in spa
  • Manicures and pedicures
  • Body wraps
  • Body treatments
  • Facial treatments
  • Aromatherapy treatments
  • Massages


If you need to make special requests for accessibility needs, please note them at check-out when booking your stay.

  • Roll-in shower
  • In-room accessibility

Hotel Policies


  • Check-in time starts at 3 PM


  • Check-out by noon

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Free cribs (infant beds)!


  • No pets allowed


Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed.

  • No rollaway/extra beds available



The charges below are included in your overall room price:

  • New Year's Eve gala dinner fee
  • Christmas Eve gala dinner fee

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property, but they may vary based on length of stay or the room booked.

Optional extras

Hotel Names

  • Costa Dorada
  • Costa Dorada All Inclusive
  • Costa Dorada Iberostar
  • Dorada Costa
  • Iberostar Costa
  • Iberostar Costa Dorada
  • Iberostar Costa Dorada All Inclusive
  • Iberostar Costa Dorada All Inclusive Puerto Plata
  • Iberostar Costa Dorada Puerto Plata
  • Iberostar Dorada
  • Costa Dorado
  • Iberostar Costa Dorada Dominican Republic
  • Iberostar Costa Dorada Hotel
  • Iberostar Costa Dorado
  • Iberostar Hotel Costa Dorada
  • Iberostar Hotel Puerto Plata
  • Iberostar Puerto Plata
  • Puerto Plata Iberostar

You should know

  • Pool access available from 7 AM to 7 PM.
  • Reservations are needed for massage services and spa treatments. For reservations, contact the resort before arrival using the contact information on the booking confirmation.
  • For stays on 24 December, the total price shown includes a charge for a mandatory Christmas Eve gala dinner.
  • For stays on 31 December, the total price shown includes a charge for a mandatory New Year's Eve gala dinner.
  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.

Awards & Affiliations

Green / Sustainable Property
This property participates in Green Key (nogle), a program that measures the property's impact on one or more of the following: environment, community, cultural-heritage, the local economy.