Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Enter dates to see availability

"Felt like it was dated and the room was in bad condition. Also didn’t like how dirty the halls were along with the fact that there was no AC in them. " More

By a verified traveler on Sat 18 Aug 2018

Hotel Description

3.5-star beach resort near Williams Bay Beach

Near the slopes

Within 6 miles (10 km) of this resort, you'll find Williams Bay Beach and Black Point Estate. Also within 9 miles (15 km) are Big Foot Beach State Park and Riviera Beach.

Poolside dining

This smoke-free resort features a full-service spa, a nightclub, and a marina. There's fun for all ages with a children's pool and an arcade/game room, and families will appreciate the onsite laundry facilities. Enjoy the 2 outdoor pools and perks like free valet parking and a free area shuttle.

Free Internet, flat-screen TVs

Featuring conveniences like refrigerators and microwaves, the 334 guestrooms offer free WiFi and free wired Internet, as well as balconies or patios. Flat-screen TVs, room service, and premium bedding are also available.

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Resort View

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max
$109* Per night/room Nov 3 - Nov 4

Room, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed, Pool View

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Room, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed, Harbor View

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Room, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed, Resort View

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Pool View

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Harbor View

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Abbey Resort and Avani Spa ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.7 out of 5 3.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Abbey Resort and Avani Spa

Everyone (11) Couples (3) Family (2)
5 out of 5
Was able to sit outside our room - with it raining. Everyone from the check-in to the restaurant were wonderful.

Posted by on Sep 30, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Oct 7, 2019 by Rebecca R.

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I hope we see you again!

3 out of 5
Loved the amenities. Pool was awesome and grounds were beautiful. But the room was terrible. It looked like someone came in to fix the beds and left. The bathroom had mold in it and baby powder and stickers on the floor. It was obvious it hadn’t been cleaned. The carpeting was also dirty. The room hadn’t been dusted either. The only clean part of the room was the bedding. The only reason we didn’t ask to switch was because by the time we were actually spending time in the room, it was too late.

Posted by , from Chicago on Aug 19, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 21, 2019 by Rebecca R.

Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you were able to enjoy the amenities that The Abbey has to offer. I am sorry to read about the issue you had with housekeeping. I will be sure to share your comments with management so that we can make sure this doesn't happen again.

1 out of 5
Update to add: on our RECEIPT and before we left they said we’d be refunded for our last night but needed to contact third party booking. I received an email from Travelocity stating that the Abbey had denied my request for a refund even though I was told and have a receipt to prove I would not be charged for the last night. My husband also left his ring, was notified, but we’ve called MULTIPLE times to get it shipped back and no one has answered or called us back. From the very beginning our trip to the Abbey Resort was bad. We got to our first room and the room was very outdated and had trash in the garbage still, used coffee grounds in the coffee machine, and no cups or coffee. They offered to have us change rooms. That’s fine. Second room smelt like someone had peed on the carpet. Finally, the third room was clean after we had to walk literally BLOCKS from room to room with our 4 month old and all our luggage. The next day we called twice to have our sheets changed. We went down to the pool and I left a note for the housekeeper to change the sheets with a dollar bill on the note (I didn’t have any more lesser bills or would have left more). I left a $20 bill on the nightstand underneath a bottle of water and a plastic bag thinking it wouldn’t be touched. Came back not even 15 minutes later because pool was too busy. Only the bed was made, trash hadn’t been taken out, no new towels or coffee. AND my $20 bill was gone. Worst hotel experience ever.

Posted by on Jul 20, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 23, 2019 by Rebecca R.

Jordyn, we really appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We strive to provide excellent customer service to every guest, but I am sorry to hear we fell short during your recent stay. I have already shared your comments with our team in an effort to make as many improvements as possible. We did find your husband's wedding ring and our front desk supervisor called to arrange its return. In addition, our reservations manager did approve your credit for the final night on 7/20. If there is anything we can do to earn you back as our guest, please don't hesitate to reach out.

5 out of 5

Posted by on Jun 20, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 24, 2019 by Rebecca R.

Thanks for the perfect score!

4 out of 5

Posted by on Jun 4, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 5, 2019 by Rebecca R.

Thank you for taking the time to rate us.

3 out of 5
We stayed in 2 different rooms, one was a king, the other had 2 queen beds. The king room is more functional with a sofa to sit on while watching tv. There is no comfortable place to sit in the queen rooms. Property is showing a bit a wear and needs an update, and the walls a quite thin and noisy. Some of the staff is excellent (Ed in 240 was great), and other staff is rude and obnoxious (valet & hostess in 240 restaurant).

Posted by , from Plainfield, us on Apr 8, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Apr 8, 2019 by Rebecca R.

Thank you for your feedback. We are currently in the midst of renovating and refreshing many of our public areas including the hallways and lobby. I hope we will see you again.

4 out of 5
I liked was the lobby, they had a nice fireplace and a cafe right next to it. They offered a little map with a list of activities and there was a little theater next to the indoor pool.

Posted by on Apr 7, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Apr 8, 2019 by Rebecca R.

Thanks for your feedback and rating!

4 out of 5

Posted by on Mar 18, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Apr 1, 2019 by Rebecca R.

Thank you for your rating.

5 out of 5

Posted by on Feb 18, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Apr 1, 2019 by Rebecca R.

Thank you!

4 out of 5

Posted by on Jan 31, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?

About the Abbey Resort and Avani Spa

Location 269 Fontana Boulevard, Fontana, WI 53125

Property Features

After a day on the slopes, enjoy a treatment at the full-service spa and a relaxing soak in one of the 2 spa tubs. This ski resort also offers 2 outdoor swimming pools. At the end of the day, order après-ski drinks at one of the resort's 2 bars/lounges or mingle with other revelers at the onsite nightclub. There are 2 restaurants on site, along with a coffee shop/café. A computer station is on site and WiFi is free in public spaces. This ski resort also offers an indoor pool, a children's pool, and a health club. Self parking and valet parking are free. This 3.5-star Fontana resort is smoke free.

  • 334 guestrooms or units
  • 2 levels
  • 7 buildings
  • 2 dining venues
  • 2 bars or lounges
  • 40000 sq ft of conference space
  • 3716 sq m of conference space
  • Nightclub
  • Bar by the pool
  • Coffee shop
  • Supervised kid's activities (surcharge)
  • Childcare (surcharge)
  • Poolside lounge chairs
  • Umbrellas for the pool
  • Conference center
  • Business facilities
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Express check-out
  • Staff is multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front-desk safe
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Wedding services available
  • Game room or arcade
  • Pool or billiards table
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Outdoor picnic space
  • Gift shop
  • Beauty salon
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • Fireplace in lobby
  • Television in lobby
  • ATM
  • Onsite shopping
  • Bellhop
  • Elevator
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Number of outdoor pools - 2
  • Indoor pool
  • Children's pool
  • Free WiFi
  • Free area shuttle
  • Laundry facilities
  • Babysitting or childcare (surcharge)
  • Arcade/game room
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi , Free wired Internet

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking , Free valet parking , RV, bus, truck parking

Transport

  • Airport: Milwaukee, WI (MKE-General Mitchell Intl.) (83.7 km / 52 mi)
  • Property shuttles: Free area shuttle within 10 mi and train station pick-up
  • Parking: Free valet parking and self parking

Room Amenities

Abbey Resort and Avani Spa offers 334 air-conditioned accommodations with safes and complimentary newspapers. Rooms open to balconies or patios. Beds feature premium bedding. Flat-screen televisions come with pay movies. Guests can make use of the in-room refrigerators, microwaves, and coffee/tea makers. Bathrooms include bathtubs or showers, complimentary toiletries, and hair dryers. This Fontana resort provides complimentary wired and wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and phones; free local calls are provided (restrictions may apply). Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • Private balcony or patio
  • In-room dining (limited hours)
  • Flat-screen television
  • Premium channels
  • Movies for purchase
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Coffee maker
  • Luxury bedding
  • Bathtub or shower
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Newspapers (free)
  • Local calls (free)
  • Hair dryer
  • Safe
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Connecting rooms available

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy full breakfast on weekdays from 7:00 AM to 11:00 AM and on weekends from 7:00 AM to noon.

240° West - This beachfront restaurant specializes in American cuisine and serves breakfast, brunch, and dinner. A children's menu is available.

The Waterfront - This beachfront restaurant specializes in American cuisine and serves lunch, dinner, and light fare. Guests can order drinks at the bar and enjoy alfresco dining (weather permitting). A children's menu is available. Happy hour is offered. Open daily.

Café Latte - This coffee shop specializes in American cuisine and serves light fare only. Open daily.

Bar West - This bar serves light fare only. Happy hour is offered. Open select days.

Gazebo Grille - This poolside restaurant specializes in American cuisine and serves light fare only. Guests can enjoy alfresco dining (weather permitting). A children's menu is available. Open select days.

Room service (during limited hours) is available.

Nearby Activities

A marina, a health club, and complimentary bicycles are featured at the resort. 2 outdoor swimming pools and 2 spa tubs are on site along with an indoor pool. In addition to a seasonal outdoor pool, other recreational amenities include a sauna, a fitness center, and a children's pool.

The recreational activities listed below are available either on site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Free bicycles on site
  • Water skiing on site
  • Yoga classes/instruction on site
  • Boat tours nearby
  • Fitness classes on site
  • Kayaking nearby
  • Sailing nearby
  • Game viewing nearby
  • Snowboarding nearby
  • Fishing on site
  • Golfing nearby
  • Parasailing nearby
  • Hiking/biking trails on site
  • Snowmobiling nearby
  • Mountain biking nearby
  • Ice skating on site
  • Snowshoeing nearby
  • Skydiving nearby
  • Motor boating on site
  • Downhill skiing nearby
  • Windsurfing nearby
  • Cross-country skiing nearby
  • Ziplining nearby
  • Pilates classes on site
  • Sledding nearby
  • Snow tubing nearby
  • Ski lessons available nearby
  • Ski equipment rental shops nearby
  • Golf lessons available nearby
  • Personal motorized watercraft on site
  • Scooter/moped rentals nearby

Spa Services

Avani Spa has 17 treatment rooms including rooms for couples. Services include deep-tissue massages, hot stone massages, sports massages, and Swedish massages. A variety of treatment therapies are provided, including aromatherapy, hydrotherapy, and reflexology. The spa is equipped with a sauna, a spa tub, and a steam room.

Guests under 16 years old are not allowed in the spa.

  • Number of treatment rooms 17
  • Couples treatment rooms
  • Manicures and pedicures
  • Body wraps
  • Body treatments
  • Body scrubs
  • Facial treatments
  • Aromatherapy treatments
  • Thalassotherapy treatments
  • Hydrotherapy treatments
  • Hot stone massage
  • Deep tissue massage
  • Swedish massage
  • Sauna in spa
  • Prenatal massage
  • Spa tub in spa
  • Steam room in spa
  • Minimum age to access spa is 16
  • Reflexology
  • Sports massage
  • Detoxification wrap
  • Massages

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please note them at check-out when you book your room.

  • Wheelchair accessible path of travel
  • Accessible bathroom
  • Roll-in shower
  • Wheelchair accessible parking
  • In-room accessibility
  • Assistive listening devices available
  • Braille or raised signage

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 4 PM
  • Check-in time ends at midnight

Special check-in instructions:

If you are planning to arrive after midnight please contact the property in advance using the information on the booking confirmation.

Guests arriving after midnight must make advance arrangements by contacting the property using the information on the booking confirmation.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Up to 2 children stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.

Pets

  • No pets allowed, but service animals are welcome

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card are required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A credit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

  • Only service animals are allowed
  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No cribs (infant beds) available
  • Debit cards
  • Number of children who can stay free - 2

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Resort fee: USD 15.83 per accommodation, per night

The resort fee includes:

  • Fitness center access
  • Fitness/yoga classes
  • Children's club/arcade access
  • Shuttle service
  • Internet access
  • Newspaper
  • Faxes
  • Concierge/valet service
  • Valet parking
  • Parking
  • Additional inclusions

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property, but they may vary based on length of stay or the room booked.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Breakfast fee: between USD 14.95 and USD 27.95 per person (approximately)

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Abbey Avani Spa
  • Abbey Avani Spa Fontana
  • Abbey Resort & Avani Spa
  • Abbey Resort & Avani Spa Fontana
  • Resort Avani
  • Abbey Resort Avani Spa Fontana
  • Abbey And Avani Spa Fontana
  • Abbey Resort and Avani Spa Resort
  • Abbey Resort and Avani Spa Fontana
  • Abbey Resort and Avani Spa Resort Fontana

You should know

  • Abbey Resort and Avani Spa offers transfers from the train station. Please contact the property at the number on the booking confirmation 72 hours prior to arrival with your arrival details.
  • Reservations are needed for massage services and spa treatments. For reservations, contact the resort before arrival using the contact information on the booking confirmation.
  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.
url importing https://www.travelocity.com/Lake-Geneva-Hotels-Abbey-Resort-and-Avani-Spa.h40133-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.