Enter dates to see availability

"Great location. Motel is average. The hotel staff are extremely friendly and helpful. " More

By a verified traveler on Thu 22 Mar 2018

Hotel Description

Motel near Charleston City Market in Charleston

Heart of Charleston

A stay at this Charleston Historic District motel places you steps from Charleston City Market and within a 10-minute walk of Port of Charleston Cruise Terminal. Waterfront Park and Charleston Waterfront Park are also within half a mile (1 km).

Dining, outdoor pool

This motel features a restaurant, an outdoor pool, and a bar/lounge. WiFi in public areas is free. Self parking, a computer station, and luggage storage are also offered.

Free WiFi, refrigerators

Featuring conveniences like refrigerators and microwaves, the 123 guestrooms also offer free WiFi and TVs with cable channels. Other amenities include coffee/tea makers, free local calls, and hair dryers.

Double Room, 1 Double Bed, Accessible

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
$97 per night

Double Room

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Room, 2 Double Beds, Non Smoking (Pet Friendly)

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Room, 1 Double Bed, Non Smoking (Pet Friendly)

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Double Room, 2 Double Beds

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking (Pet Friendly)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Days Inn by Wyndham Charleston Historic District ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.2 out of 5 3.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Days Inn by Wyndham Charleston Historic District

Everyone (26) Couples (3) Family (3)
3 out of 5
Great location. Mediocre everything else. Key didn’t work when first checked in. Had to switch rooms. Other than that it was ok.

Posted by on Jul 16, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 17, 2019 by Noah Bradley - Front Desk Supervisor

We're sorry for the trouble you experienced during your stay. We will work hard to try and fix the issue with the door locks. Thank you for staying with us!

3 out of 5
The property is old but ok. Upon checking in we were told that there was a $17a day parking fee which was never mentioned anywhere in the Travelocity website or the website when we checked the hotel. It was compounded by DAYS INN policy that we still pay $17 for the day you check in and $17 for the following day. $34 for an overnight stay.

Posted by on Jun 19, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 25, 2019 by Hotel Manager

We charge $17 per the number of nights of your reservation. If you were charged $34, then you had a 2 night reservation or 2 cars on a 1 night reservation. The parking charge is noted on Travelocity at the bottom of the page and one is directed there when they click on Policies at the top of the page. It is noted under the Parking section where it read Parking (surcharge) and the actual charge is noted in the Fees section. It is also noted on the Days Inn website on the landing page under the Comfortable Accommodations section where is reads Parking for a Daily Fee. However, if you stayed only 1 night and had only 1 car, then please reach out to me so I can research your reservation since this review was posted anonymously. Thank you for staying with us.

5 out of 5
The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was wonderful! The location of this motel is as good as it gets. Central to everything and affordable- there are many other hotels in this area - but high end hotels at 4 times the price. With all the Charlestown attractions outside - why spend the bulk of your vacation money on your lodging!

Posted by on Jun 16, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 25, 2019 by Hotel Manager

Thank you for staying with us at the Days Inn Charleston. We certainly appreciate your positive feedback about our location and will be reading your review at our weekly meeting. We look forward to having you back with us the next time travel takes you to the Charleston area.

3 out of 5
Location was the best thing about this property. You are paying for the location. It is located downtown close to all the best attractions. We arrived the Saturday before Memorial Day. Check in was 4:00PM but room wasn't ready until 5:00PM. Furnishings where up to date but bathroom is tiny and needs update.

Posted by on Jun 2, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 5, 2019 by Hotel Manager

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate you choosing us for your accommodations while visiting Charleston. We apologize you weren't able to check in until 5 pm on your arrival date. Our check-in starts at 4; we try our best to accommodate every guest including the ones checking out who request a late checkout.

5 out of 5

Posted by on May 17, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

May 20, 2019 by Hotel Manager

Thank you for staying with us. It looks like you enjoyed your time in Charleston while staying with us.

1 out of 5
We were scheduled to arrive on a Wed, however we left hours after we planned, making it impossible to arrive that day. I called the hotel to let them know that we wouldn't be there till Thurs. When we arrived on Thurs, we were informed our room had been given away and they were fully booked. After traveling for a full 24 hours, we had no where to stay. To make it worse, we were told we wouldn't be charged, however we were charged the full amount. Even though we paid extra for the insurance we still paid over $700 for a hotel we never stepped foot in. I would never use Travelocity or Days Inn again.

Posted by on May 16, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

May 20, 2019 by Hotel Manager

I apologize you are unhappy. I understand your disappointment when you arrived the day after your booked arrival date to find there was not a room for you. Our records show when you arrived, you were asked if you called to let us know you would arrive a day late, and you replied no. We, also, explained the standard practice of cancelling the remaining nights of a reservation if the guest doesn't arrive as scheduled and doesn't inform us they will arrive later in the original reservation. Also, we only charged for the 1st night in compliance with our cancellation policy. We instructed you to contact Travelocity to receive your refund since you did not pay us directly and we refunded Travelocity for the remaining nights of your stay for which they paid. I am happy to help in any way I can to get the refund of the remaining nights. Please let me know if I can be of any assistance.

5 out of 5
The staff is genuinely nice. The guest reception is a nice touch. Everything was great! The only negative is that when the onsite parking lot is full , you must park in the overflow parking garage across the street.

Posted by , from TX on May 3, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

May 3, 2019 by Hotel Manager

Thank you for the kudos to our team! We strive to have every guest feel welcomed. Glad you enjoyed the Welcome Reception; it's just another way we show our appreciation to our guests.

5 out of 5

Posted by on Apr 7, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Apr 8, 2019 by Hotel Manager

Thank you for staying with us. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay.

1 out of 5
Roaches, dirty bathtub, nasty smell. Would never stay there again.

Posted by on Apr 7, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Apr 8, 2019 by Hotel Manager

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry our guest rooms fell short of expectations. We have monthly extermination, however, the bugs you saw was an outdoor bug and they cannot be 100% prevented from entering our rooms due to the room doors opening to the outside. We appreciate your comments and will do all we can to ensure future visits are positive.

4 out of 5
Great location and good value! Located in middle of Historic District with many great restaurants nearby.

Posted by on Mar 18, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Mar 25, 2019 by Hotel Manager

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review. All reviews are shared at our weekly meeting – yours makes for a great way to start our day. We look forward to having you back with us the next time you are visiting Charleston.

About the Days Inn by Wyndham Charleston Historic District

Location 155 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29401-3127

Property Features

There's a restaurant on site. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. A computer station is on site and WiFi is free in public spaces. Days Inn by Wyndham Charleston Historic District also features an outdoor pool and complimentary use of a nearby fitness facility. Parking is available for a fee. This Charleston motel is smoke free.

  • 123 guestrooms or units
  • 2 levels
  • Dining venue
  • Bar or lounge
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Computer for guest use
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family Property
  • Outdoor pool
  • Free WiFi
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Free cribs/infant beds

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Self parking (surcharge)

Transport

  • Airport: Charleston, SC (CHS-Charleston Intl.) (20.4 km / 12.7 mi)
  • Parking: Self parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

Days Inn by Wyndham Charleston Historic District offers 123 air-conditioned accommodations, which are accessible via exterior corridors and feature safes and coffee/tea makers. Cable television is provided. Guests can make use of the in-room refrigerators and microwaves. Bathrooms include shower/tub combinations, complimentary toiletries, and hair dryers. This Charleston motel provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include phones along with free local calls (restrictions may apply). Additionally, rooms include irons/ironing boards and blackout drapes/curtains. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • Television
  • Cable channels
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Coffee maker
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Local calls (free)
  • Hair dryer
  • Safe
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Blackout drapes
  • Exterior corridor access
  • Air conditioning
  • Ensuite bathroom

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy cooked-to-order breakfast daily.

Toast - This restaurant specializes in American cuisine and serves breakfast, brunch, lunch, and dinner.

Nearby Activities

Recreational amenities at the motel include an outdoor pool.

The recreational activities listed below are available either on site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Bicycle rentals on site

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please note them at check-out when you book your room.

  • Accessible bathroom

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 4 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is 21

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Children stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.

Pets

  • Pets: USD 30 per pet (varies based on length of stay), plus a one-time cleaning fee of USD 100
  • Certain rooms only, restrictions apply
  • You can request a pet-friendly room by reaching out to the property at the number on the booking confirmation

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card, or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed. Please note that cultural norms and guest policies may differ by country and by property. The policies listed are provided by the property.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • Service animals exempt from fees/restrictions

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Destination fee: USD 2.00 per accommodation, per night

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property, but they may vary based on length of stay or the room booked.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Breakfast fee: between USD 5 and USD 15 per person (approximately)
  • Self parking fee: USD 17.00 per night
  • Pet fee: USD 30 per pet (varies based on length of stay) plus USD 100 one-time cleaning fee

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Days Inn District
  • Days Inn District Motel
  • Days Inn District Motel Historic
  • Days Inn Historic
  • Days Inn Historic District
  • Historic District
  • Charleston - Days Inn Historic District Hotel Charleston
  • Days Inn Charleston
  • Days Inn Historic District Motel
  • Days Inn Historic District Charleston
  • Days Inn Historic District Motel Charleston
  • Days Inn Wyndham Charleston Historic District Motel
  • Days Inn Wyndham Historic District Motel
  • Days Inn Wyndham Charleston Historic District
  • Days Inn Wyndham Historic District

You should know

  • Pets are welcome in certain rooms only; other restrictions apply (please see the Fees section for related charges). To make arrangements for your pet, contact the property directly at the number on your booking confirmation.
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.