Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Enter dates to see availability

4.5 out of 5

"This place was great. Very clean. Very relaxed. I will stay here everytime I go to Cape May. I wouldnt change a thing. " More

By a verified traveler on Tue 21 Jul 2020

Hotel Description

3.5-star beach hotel with outdoor pool

Steps from the beach

Within a 5-minute walk of the hotel, you'll find Poverty Beach and Cape May Beach. Nature Center of Cape May and Cape May Convention Hall are also within 2 miles (3 km).

Business services

This hotel features a restaurant, an outdoor pool, and a bar/lounge. Traveling on business? Take advantage of the free WiFi in public areas and onsite conference space. Enjoy the fitness center and perks like free self parking.

Free WiFi, kitchenettes

The 141 guestrooms feature well-equipped kitchenettes with refrigerators and microwaves, as well as free WiFi and flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Balconies or patios, sitting areas, and coffee/tea makers are also available.

Deluxe Room, Ocean View (Junior)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Deluxe Room (Panoramic View)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Deluxe Room, Ocean View

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Deluxe Room (Side Ocean View)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Room, 1 King Bed, Ocean View (Direct Ocean View 1 King 344 sf.ft.)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Premium Room (Side Ocean View One King 444 sf.ft.)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

La Mer Beachfront Resort ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.5 out of 5 4.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for La Mer Beachfront Resort

Everyone (10) Couples (2) Family (5)
4 out of 5

Posted by on Sep 13, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Sep 19, 2020 by Manager

Thank you for the positive feedback!

5 out of 5
This place was great. Very clean. Very relaxed. I will stay here everytime I go to Cape May. I wouldnt change a thing.

Posted by , from Mertztown, PA on Jul 21, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 21, 2020 by Manager

Thank you for the perfect 5 review! We are over the moon to read you wouldn't change a thing.

4 out of 5
Lovely property conveniently located across from the beach, with an onsite restaurant and a pool. The cabanas are awesome and it's nice to be able to get food delivery to the beach. That being said, I don't think enough precautions are being taken with regard to COVID. The masks the front desk staff wore don't fit properly so they don't cover the nose and mouth. Saw a lot of staff not wearing masks properly and most wait staff at the restaurant taking their masks on and off while waiting on tables, thereby cross contaminating everything. Proper COVID prevention techniques should be taught to all staff and adhered to in order to ensure guests' safety. The entertainment in the outside area of the restaurant by the pool went on for too long. We were subjected to 3.5 hours of bad music that only got worse as the time went on. There was no avoiding it anywhere on the property. For the price we paid for direct ocean front, our room was a disappointment. A 2nd floor room in the middle of the building with a large bush blocking most of the view should not be the same charge as a direct access ocean front on a higher level or on the front ends of the building.There was really no ocean view at all; just the pool and the restaurant with a large overgrown tree. Best to call the hotel to get specific details on the rooms before booking the high priced room only to be disappointed upon arrival.

Posted by , from Salem, MA on Jul 20, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 21, 2020 by Manager

Thank you so much for the in-depth review. As for your feedback, we will be certain to share your insights with our team in regards to your experience. Again, thank you!

1 out of 5
Last year in September this place was wonderful. This June... not the same experience at all! Found a bed bug in my bed, had smokers on every balcony surrounding ours, walls were so thin you can hear neighbors having sex which prevented us from getting any sleep at night, and the fire alarm set off by a guest who tampered with the smoke detector in his room resulting in the entire hotel being evacuated made this the worst hotel stay of my life. The hotel’s response to all of these problems: they’re going to send me a $100 gift certificate to use at my next stay. Will never go back.

Posted by on Jun 28, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 9, 2020 by Owner

As a family-owned business for over 50 years, we simply cannot respond with a cookie cutter “sorry you were unhappy with your stay” response here because this review is defamatory, peppered with outright lies and you are trying to vilify us for not giving you a full refund. First of all, you are REPEAT customer. In fact, you wrote in your review you had a lovely stay last June. So why come back to "thin walls" if this was the case during your initial stay? We take pride in our ever-expanding Resort and have not cut corners when it comes to construction— we do not have thin walls. This is untrue. Why return if such was the case during your first stay with us? Why return is you touted us as "wonderful" last June. Sounds suspect to us. As for the incendiary language that you found bed bugs in your bed — this is outright fraud. There is NO report of bed bugs during your stay. Zero. Zilch. Nada. We take extreme preventative measures and would have shut down an entire wing should bed bugs be found in any guest room. This is a complete fable to scare potential customers from booking in the future. Plain and simple. Now, to address your complaint about smoking on balconies — again, false. We have designated smoking areas on the ground level and you were not located any where near them. La Mer is a non-smoking hotel and guests who smoke in rooms or on balconies are charged accordingly for doing so. This is another misstatement to deter potential customers from reserving with us. As for the fire alarm being set off, this is indeed accurate. And we apologize for this event. It is unfortunate and inconvenient, however, it is something we have no control over. We are thankful it was a false alarm, and that a real-life emergency did not occur. Although we sympathize with your frustration over the interruption, we do not agree with your demands of a full refund. We kindly offered you $100 toward a future stay. You, in return to our gesture, told us you would point-blank, write a negative review here, if we did not issue you a full refund. THIS IS CALLED EXTORTION and we cannot support this bad behavior. And the readers and businesses here need to know that. A little background for you: We are a family run business for over 50 years and struggling during Covid like the rest of the World. These are aberrant times and what the world needs more right now is positivity, patience and kindness. Please take down this defamatory review ASAP as it is riddled with lies, horrible stories and mistruths. Thank you.

5 out of 5
We had an awesome stay at La Mer! The room was big, clean and spacious. You can hear the ocean from your balcony! The beach is a quick walk and they give you beach tags. The beach is beautiful! The Pier House resturant on site is delicious! There are pretty hydrangeas all over the property. Highly recommend!!!

Posted by , from new york on Jun 25, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 25, 2020 by Manager

We are so happy to hear you has an AWESOME stay with us! We are over the moon to read you found your room as big, clean and spacious, too. Thank you for highly recommend us as well.

5 out of 5
Away from nightlife; quiet. We may have been able to hear the ocean better if we'd paid for a full ocean-view. Small balcony was big enough for two to sit, read, write, eat. Very clean and well-run; very friendly staff everywhere in the facility (in NJ!). Easy parking. Felt very safe.

Posted by on Oct 5, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Oct 7, 2019 by Manager

Thank you so very much for the glowing review! We are pleased to read you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

4 out of 5

Posted by on Aug 19, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 20, 2019 by Manager

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us and we hope to see you again soon.

4 out of 5

Posted by on Aug 11, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 24, 2019 by Manager

Thank you for the feedback! We hope to see you again.

4 out of 5
The room was excellent. It was huge and had great views. There were no amenities on site other than a vending machine and the gym was restricted to 18 and over, which is a bummer on a rainy day. I see no reason that a younger athlete cannot use the facilities- especially with supervision.

Posted by on Apr 29, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Apr 30, 2019 by Angel

Hi Kevin! Thank you for your review! I will bring your suggestion to our management team regarding the gym. We're glad you enjoyed your room and hope you will visit us again soon.

5 out of 5
Easy checkin. Very clean. Great location. Best hotel bed I've slepy on this week.

Posted by , from WA on Apr 29, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Apr 29, 2019 by Angel

Thank you for the 5 Star review. We hope you'll vacation with us again soon.

About the La Mer Beachfront Resort

Location 1317 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204

Property Features

La Mer Beachfront Resort offers its guests an outdoor pool and a fitness center. There's a restaurant on site. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. WiFi is free in public spaces. Event space at this hotel measures 1500 square feet (139 square meters) and includes conference space. A terrace, tour/ticket assistance, and a vending machine are also featured at the business-friendly La Mer Beachfront Resort. Free self parking is available. This 3.5-star Cape May hotel is smoke free.

  • 141 guestrooms or units
  • 1500 sq ft of conference space
  • 139 sq m of conference space
  • Dining venue
  • Bar or lounge
  • Poolside lounge chairs
  • Umbrellas for the pool
  • Conference space
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Convenience store
  • Terrace
  • ATM
  • Elevator
  • No smoking on site
  • Water dispenser

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Outdoor pool
  • Free WiFi
  • Kitchenette
  • Grocery/convenience store
  • Laundry facilities
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Airport: Atlantic City Intl. Airport (ACY) (68.9 km / 42.8 mi)
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

La Mer Beachfront Resort offers 141 air-conditioned accommodations with safes and coffee/tea makers. Rooms open to balconies or patios. Accommodations offer separate sitting areas. Flat-screen televisions come with cable channels. Accommodations at this 3.5-star hotel have kitchenettes with refrigerators, microwaves, and cookware/dishes/utensils. Bathrooms include complimentary toiletries and hair dryers. Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and phones; free local calls are provided (restrictions may apply). Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • In-room kitchenette
  • Private balcony or patio
  • Sitting area
  • Flat-screen television
  • Cable channels
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Coffee maker
  • Kitchenware
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Local calls (free)
  • Hair dryer
  • Safe
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Air conditioning
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Connecting rooms available

Food & Drink

Pier House Restaurant - Onsite restaurant. Guests can enjoy drinks at the bar.

Nearby Activities

Recreational amenities at the hotel include an outdoor pool and a fitness center.

The recreational activities listed below are available either on site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Bicycle rentals nearby
  • Golfing nearby
  • Boat tours nearby
  • Parasailing nearby
  • Kayaking nearby

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please note them in the special requests field on the booking page after selecting your room.

  • Accessible bathroom
  • Roll-in shower
  • Wheelchair accessible parking
  • In-room accessibility
  • Assistive listening devices available
  • Braille or raised signage
  • Wheelchair accessible (may have limitations)

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 4:00 PM
  • Check-in time ends at anytime
  • Minimum check-in age is: 21

Special check-in instructions:

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card, or cash deposit may be required at check-in for incidental charges

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges; special requests cannot be guaranteed

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place.Disinfectant is used to clean the property.Social distancing measures are in place; staff at the property wear personal protective equipment; guests are provided with hand sanitizer.

  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Staff wears personal protective equipment
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • Protective clothing is not available to guests
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitizer
  • Staffed front desk
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • No gap period between guest stays

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Late check-out is available for a fee (subject to availability, amount varies)

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • La Mer Beachfront
  • La Mer Beachfront Cape May
  • La Mer Beachfront Inn
  • La Mer Beachfront Inn Cape May
  • Hotel La Mer Beachfront
  • La Mer Beachfront Hotel Cape May
  • Mer Beachfront Inn Cape May
  • Mer Beachfront Inn
  • Mer Beachfront Cape May
  • Mer Beachfront
  • Hotel La Mer Beachfront
  • La Mer Beachfront Resort Hotel
  • La Mer Beachfront Resort Cape May
  • La Mer Beachfront Resort Hotel Cape May

You should know

  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.
url importing http://www.travelocity.com/Cape-May---Wildwood-Hotels-La-Mer-Beachfront-Resort.h5070623-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Cape-May---Wildwood-Hotels-La-Mer-Beachfront-Resort.h5070623-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.travelocity.com/Cape-May---Wildwood-Hotels-La-Mer-Beachfront-Resort.h5070623-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&

Frequently Asked Questions

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.