Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Enter dates to see availability

4.2 out of 5

"Loved the historic appeal. Like a step back in time. " More

By a verified traveler on Sat 08 May 2021

Hotel Description

3-star hotel perfect for exploring Americus

City center stay

A stay at this hotel places you within half a mile (1 km) of Global Village & Discovery Center and 6 miles (10 km) of Statue of Charles Lindbergh. Georgia Visitor Information Center - Plains and Andersonville National Historic Site are within 12 miles (20 km).

Business services

This hotel features a restaurant, a fitness center, and a bar/lounge. Traveling on business? Take advantage of the 24-hour business center and free WiFi in public areas. Free self parking, a terrace, and a lobby fireplace are also offered.

Free Internet, comfy beds

The 53 individually decorated guestrooms offer free WiFi and free wired Internet, as well as comfy beds. Other amenities include iPod docks, refrigerators, and LCD TVs with satellite channels.

Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed, Non Smoking, Refrigerator & Microwave

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
$90* Per night/room Jun 14 - Jun 15

Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed, Accessible, Bathtub

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Standard Room, 2 Double Beds, Non Smoking, Refrigerator & Microwave

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Suite, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking, Refrigerator & Microwave

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Presidential Suite, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking, Refrigerator & Microwave

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Best Western Plus Windsor Hotel ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.2 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 5.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 5.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Best Western Plus Windsor Hotel

Everyone (5) Couples (2) Family (2)
5 out of 5
Loved the historic appeal. Like a step back in time.

Posted by on May 8, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

May 9, 2021 by Divya Patel

Dear Anonymous, Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. Sincerely, Divya Patel Manager

4 out of 5

Posted by on Sep 26, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5

Posted by on Jul 20, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
This 1890’s eclectic hotel was a great experience. The staff was awesome, the room was great, everything was clean, neat, full of amenities. The dining room is super. They have a pub with a balcony and a view of the downtown streets. It was a great stay.

Posted by on Jun 30, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
My son and I stayed here while visiting the Andersonville Prison Historical Site. We thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere of this restored Victorian hotel. It has all the modern amenities amidst the elegant charm of a bygone age. The staff in both hotel and restaurant were very friendly and helpful. We did have to climb four steps after getting off the elevator on the third floor. This was not a problem for us, bit of steps are a barrier for you, you should request a room that doesn’t require this. We would definitely stay here again if we are in the area.

Posted by on Apr 14, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5

Excellent hotel and service

Pros: Attentive staff, excellent facility, well-maintained, preserved history
Cons: Make ghosts more accessible ;)
Location: I visited Andersonville National Park and Cemetery. Also I enjoyed the food and live music at "1800" Mexican restaurant.
I had heard great things about Windsor Best Western Americus. They were all true. I was helped by the attentive and polite staff and the room was perfect. A major banquet event was scheduled for the second night of my stay and the staff alerted me to the revised schedule in advance via phone especially to let me know the hotel restaurant would not be available. This is what makes a guest feel taken care of. My only disappointment was that I was not able to see a ghost. I understand the legend is that the hotel has witnessed some "sightings."

Posted by , from Tallahassee FL on Nov 14, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
2 out of 5

brick wall

Pros: The feel of a bygone time.
Cons: not sure.
Location: I did not see anything.
After reading other coments I called and asked if my room would be looking at a brick wall, reply was no, however when I went to my room there was the brick wall. Then I checked with front desk and was told sorry.

Posted by , from sc on Aug 22, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Oct 18, 2016 by Vic P.-General Mngr.

Dear pat, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed by your view . Unfortunately , we cannot guarantee a specific view due to different room types and locations . I will find out who told you otherwise. However , for any future bookings be sure to add your specific requests and we will do our absolute best to accommodate them. We hope that you give us another opportunity in the future to better accommodate you . Best Regards, Vic Patel General Manager

3 out of 5

Room not ready

Pros: Character and location.
Cons: Get the rooms cleaned on time and ready by check-in.
Room was not ready until 50 minutes after the 3:00 check-in. I've stayed here before and arrived early and was told I had to wait until 3:00 check-in - understood. This being my second trip I timed my arrival for 3:00 and was in need of obtaining my room - comfort, shower and get dressed for meeting. Staff blamed it on people checking out late. I was promised a 20% discount on the room but upon checking out a different desk person simply dismissed it by saying I had already paid Expedia. Nice hotel but put a damper on my arrival and my departure. The restaurant had good food and pleasant staff but the waiter was very inexperienced. Tipped him 20% anyway.

Posted by , from Tallahassee on May 9, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5

Beautifully restored, historic property-- a gem!

My friends and I left Atlanta for a weekend to Americus to visit Andersonville and Plains-- we arrived in Americus and didn't want to leave! The Windsor is an amazing example of what happens when people who have a love of buildings and history put their attention, time, effort, and money to a real prize of a building. From the architecture to the restored details, original features, and meticulously recreated fabrics, this hotel is a must-see-and -stay for anyone even CLOSE to Americus. On top of the beauty of the property, the management is stellar-- from the front desk to the owner, who is a gentleman and wants your stay to be a great experience. There is a great bar on the second floor, a balcony outside the bar with rockers so that you can sip and overlook the main street, and a yummy bakery, Richelle's, adjoining the lobby for sweets and ice cream. The price for such a stay is CHEAP--- this kind of historical property and service is priceless. I am so glad we stayed!

Posted by , from Atlanta, GA on Jun 3, 2013

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5

A beautifully restored hotel updated with modern conveniences.

Pros: Quiet, comfortable beds, a feeling of continuity with the past, beautiful decor
We stayed there for the historical aspects, and were delighted by the comfort and convenience. President and Mrs. Carter can be very proud of the best hotel in the city nearest their home.

Posted by , from Boise, ID on Nov 24, 2012

Was this review helpful to you?

About the Best Western Plus Windsor Hotel

Location 125 W Lamar St, Americus, GA 31709

Renovations + Closures

The following facilities or services will be unavailable from September 9 2020 to June 1 2021 (dates subject to change):

  • Dining venue(s)

Due to COVID-19, this property’s food and beverage options may be limited.

Property Features

There's a restaurant on site. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. You'll find a 24-hour business center on site. Public spaces have free WiFi. Event space at this hotel measures 5000 square feet (465 square meters) and includes conference space. A fitness center, a terrace, and multilingual staff are also featured at the business-friendly Best Western Plus Windsor Hotel. Free self parking is available. This 3-star Americus hotel is smoke free.

  • 53 guestrooms or units
  • 5000 sq ft of conference space
  • 465 sq m of conference space
  • Built in 1892
  • Dining venue
  • Bar or lounge
  • Business center (24 hours)
  • Conference space
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Dry cleaning
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Express check-in
  • Express check-out
  • Staff is multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Concierge
  • Wedding services available
  • Terrace
  • Gift shop
  • Beauty salon
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • Fireplace in lobby
  • Onsite shopping
  • Elevator
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Free WiFi
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi , Free wired Internet

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Airport: Albany, GA (ABY-Southwest Georgia Regional) (65.9 km / 40.9 mi)
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Best Western Plus Windsor Hotel offers 53 accommodations with iPod docking stations and coffee/tea makers. Each accommodation is individually furnished and decorated. Pillowtop beds feature down comforters and premium bedding. Refrigerators and microwaves are provided. Bathrooms include shower/tub combinations, designer toiletries, and hair dryers. Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wired and wireless Internet access. 43-inch LCD televisions come with premium satellite channels. Additionally, rooms include irons/ironing boards and ceiling fans. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • Pillowtop beds
  • IPod dock
  • In-room dining (limited hours)
  • LCD television
  • Satellite channels
  • Premium channels
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Coffee maker
  • Luxury bedding
  • Down blanket
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Cribs (surcharge)
  • Rollaway beds (surcharge)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Hair dryer
  • Designer toiletries
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Ceiling fan
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Unique furnishings
  • Unique decor
  • Connecting rooms available

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy cooked-to-order breakfast on weekdays from 6:00 AM to 9:30 AM and on weekends from 6:00 AM to 10:30 AM.

Best Western Plus Windsor Hotel has a restaurant serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

Room service (during limited hours) is available.

Nearby Activities

Recreational amenities at the hotel include a fitness center.

  • Golfing nearby

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.

  • Wheelchair accessible path of travel
  • Accessible bathroom
  • Wheelchair accessible parking
  • Wheelchairs available on site
  • In-room accessibility
  • Wheelchair-accessible path to elevator
  • Well-lit path to entrance
  • Wheelchair accessible (may have limitations)

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 3 PM

Special check-in instructions:

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Due to COVID-19, this property's food and beverage options may be limited pursuant to local regulations.

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for USD 10.0 per night.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are available for USD 10.0 per night.

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed, but service animals are welcome

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card, or cash deposit may be required at check-in for incidental charges

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges; special requests cannot be guaranteed

This property accepts credit cards; cash is not accepted

This property reserves the right to pre-authorize the guest's credit card prior to arrival.

Please note that cultural norms and guest policies may differ by country and by property; the policies listed are provided by the property

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

This property accepts credit cards. Cash is not accepted. This property reserves the right to pre-authorize the guest's credit card prior to arrival. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place. Disinfectant is used to clean the property and commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays. Social distancing measures are in place; staff at the property wear personal protective equipment; guests are provided with hand sanitizer; masks are required in public areas. This property affirms that it follows the cleaning and disinfection practices of We Care Clean (Best Western). This property affirms that it adheres to the cleaning and disinfection practices of SafeStay (AHLA - USA).

  • Service animals are allowed
  • Service animals are exempt from fees/restrictions
  • Credit card pre-authorization
  • Masks are compulsory at the property
  • Commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Staff wears personal protective equipment
  • Property follows sanitization practices of SafeStay (AHLA - USA)
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitizer
  • Staffed front desk
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Property follows a brand or regulatory agency's sanitization guidelines We Care Clean (Best Western)
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Individually-wrapped food options are available for breakfast

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Fee for cooked-to-order breakfast: USD 13.00 for adults and USD 13.00 for children (approximately)
  • Crib (infant bed) fee: USD 10.0 per night
  • Rollaway bed fee: USD 10.0 per night

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Best Western Hotel Windsor
  • Windsor Hotel Americus
  • Best Western Plus Windsor Americus
  • Best Western Plus Windsor Hotel
  • Best Western Plus Windsor Hotel Americus
  • Best Western Windsor
  • Best Western Windsor Hotel
  • Windsor Best Western
  • Windsor Hotel
  • Plus Windsor Hotel Americus
  • Best Western Plus Windsor Hotel Hotel
  • Best Western Plus Windsor Hotel Americus
  • Best Western Plus Windsor Hotel Hotel Americus

You should know

  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.
url importing http://www.travelocity.com/Albany-Hotels-Best-Western-Plus-Windsor-Hotel.h1201789-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Albany-Hotels-Best-Western-Plus-Windsor-Hotel.h1201789-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.travelocity.com/Albany-Hotels-Best-Western-Plus-Windsor-Hotel.h1201789-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&

Frequently Asked Questions

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.