4.4 out of 5

"We booked a basic room, but upon arrival asked if we could upgrade to an ocean view room. We were pleased with the room with a gorgeous view for only ... " More

By a verified traveler on Fri 10 Mar 2017

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

A family-friendly stay in Cancun awaits you at Hotel NYX Cancun. Within just a 10-minute stroll, you'll find La Isla Shopping Mall and Yamil Lu'um Archaeological Zone. Highlights at this beachfront resort include 2 restaurants, 2 outdoor swimming pools, and 2 bars/lounges.

All 163 rooms feature plasma TVs with cable channels, and you can enjoy free WiFi, coffee/tea makers, and ceiling fans. Minibars, safes, and hair dryers are also available.

The family restaurant, Deck, is open for brunch, lunch, and dinner. For a drink, you can stop by the resort's own poolside bar. Spend the day at the beach where you'll find sun loungers, and enjoy the onsite spa tub and kids' swimming pool. Additionally, you'll find free WiFi in public areas and spa services. There's also free self parking, along with the convenience of car rentals on site.

Attractions within a 10-minute drive of this 3-star Avenida Kukulkan resort include El Rey Ruins and Delfines Beach.

Basic Room, 1 Queen Bed

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
$127 per night

Standard Room

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Junior Suite

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Master Suite

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Hotel NYX Cancun ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.4 out of 5 4.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5

Happy with Hotel experience.

We booked a basic room, but upon arrival asked if we could upgrade to an ocean view room. We were pleased with the room with a gorgeous view for only $30 dollars more. The staff was very helpful and personable. Especially Eric. We ate a nice dinner at hotel restaurant and enjoyed the hotel salsa band very much. Thank you for a great end to our vacation!

Posted by , from Detroit, Michigan on Mar 10, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Mar 17, 2017 by Thank you

Dear guest Many thanks for sharing your kind feedback and taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. We are so happy to read that we exceed your expectations. We are glad that you appreciated our service and attentive staff. We will definitely share your kind words with the rest of the staff. Thank you so much for your comments. See you soon in your next holidays. Best regards Hotel NYX Cancun

1 out of 5

Worst hotel ever!!!!!!

Staff was extremely rude and unwelcoming especially Rocio. The guys in the white suit make you feel like you stole something. Asked for a roller bed they said yes and it never got to the room. The rooms were not clean or in good conditions. Sheets not clean. Smelled so bad. The dehumidifier had to be emptied out like 6 times a day or it would turn off and the whole room would sweat. And when I say sweat it mean sauna; slippery floors, wet towels and clothes. (Tours usually last all day so most days we walked into a wet room)The shower flooded. We had such a bad first impression/day we ended up only using the rooms to sleep. Did not use the amenities or the beach out back. To be able to eat or drink at the hotel (not inclusive) you HAVE to charge to the room or open like a prepaid card. No cash accepted. We left the pool towels in the room and they gave my husband the option of going back to get them himself or paying for them. It's their towels their rooms, couldn't they have gotten them themselves. We were on our way to the airport and had to delay because we had to go get our towels. Hotel ruined our vacation. You get what you pay for. Spend the extra 50 and go somewhere else.

Posted by , from Dallas, TX on Aug 10, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 17, 2016 by NYX HOTEL CANCUN

Dear Guest, first of all we would like to thank you for your comments and for taking the time to let us know your disappointment , your comments are highly appreciated since they help us to improve our areas of opportunity. We are very concerned by what sounds like a disappointing visit at our hotel, we would like to apologize for all the inconveniences during your stay with us. Our commitment to provide the best service for that reason we are verifying the details mentioned, in order to meet their needs and fulfill your expectations. We will share them with the persons involved in order to prevent these situations happen again. Many thanks for your valuable feedback. Cordially NYX HOTEL CANCUN

3 out of 5
Overall it was a good experience. I found the hotel staff to be very professional and courteous. You get breakfast included with your room. The options for breakfast was pretty good. Only issue I had was with housekeeping. When they cleaned the room they didn't change the best sheets, they just fixed the sheets there we on the bed. Maybe this isn't a regular occurrence but this was my experience. The location is great since there is a bus stop right in front of the hotel and taxis are is to get from the hotel. NYX is a 5-7min ride to all the clubs/bars/restaurant area.

Posted by , from Washington, D.C on Jul 31, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

by NYX HOTEL CANCUN

Dear Guest First of all we would like to thank you for your comments and for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us, your comments are highly appreciated since they help us to improve our areas of opportunity. We are so happy to read that you spent a great time with us. We hope that you will return again very soon. Many thanks for your valuable feedback. Cordially NYX HOTEL CANCUN

3 out of 5

nice hotel with a nice beach

Nice hotel , great location , beach was really nice hotel included free breakfast & wifi . Overall had a good experience ! Would visit again

Posted by , from Houston Tx on Jun 16, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 21, 2016 by NYX HOTEL CANCUN

Dear Guest, thank you so much for sharing your experience, your comments are highly appreciated, it brings us great satisfaction to know that you enjoyed great moments with us. We hope that you will return again very soon. Cordially NYX HOTEL CANCUN

4 out of 5

Huge pool

We had a great time here. The water is rocky in most spots, but the actual beach is deep and beautiful. The humongous pool fills all your swimming needs. My only problem with the place was the walk from the room to the beach was a little long if you ended up doing it more than twice in a day, as we stayed way up by the lobby. Clean modern facilities and good food. Mexican folk/game night was fun with our kids.

Posted by , from Milwaukee, Wi on Dec 11, 2015

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Dec 15, 2015 by General manager.

Dear guest, thank you very much for choosing NYX Hotel Cancun as your host and for share a brief review of your recent stay with us. We are glad to know that you and your family spent a great time here and enjoyed of our service and facilities, please know we work hard day by day to get better and your opinions are very helpful for our opportunity areas. Hope we can have the honor to host you again and create more memorables moments.

5 out of 5

Everything was Perfect

Pros: the fact that when we had a question it was answered quickly and friendly
Cons: if any changes, maybe the a little bit better quality beds and pillows. and maybe a door for the toilet, instead of curtain.
Location: was centrally located and right on the beach.
We had originally booked a regular room, but when we got to the hotel after a long long flight, we were upgraded to a master suite. Everything was perfect. Staff was very helpful and so friendly, could not of asked for a better stay. room was clean, food was great, pools and hotel were clean.

Posted by on Aug 24, 2015

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Sep 23, 2015 by The management team.

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at NYX HOTEL CANCUN, we appreciate you mentioning the aspects that you did enjoy and that made your stay more comfortable. Hope we can hos you in your next holidays. Cordially

1 out of 5

Stay Away! - Unprofessional Staff!!!

Pros: but that he told us NO, and that he would not give us a new room. We had to track the other receptionist down in order to get us another room.
Cons: Not something we wanted to do or should be doing on our vacation. To make matters whenever we called the front desk for clean towels or hand soap
Location: they said they would send someone up but NO one would ever show. Horrible service! Horrible staff! I will never stay again or recommend this hotel.
I would like to begin by saying, I travel multiple times a year and have stayed in multiple Hotels. This is by far the WORST hotel I have ever stayed in. Where do i begin. The room we were initially given was not at all acceptable, 1. There were construction workers working outside of our bathroom, and from the window (no curtains) they are able to see clearly in our room, which made me feel very uncomfortable. When we approached the receptionist to request a room change, he immediately said No, that is was impossible for us to change rooms. As the day went on we found that the following amenities were not in working condition in our room, safety deposit box, the television and cable, and the Wi-Fi, even worse the construction workers were outside of our bathroom the entire time, which again, as a woman, made me feel very uncomfortable. We at that point were feed up and approached the receptionist once more demanding that our room be changed. He continued to tell us that it was impossible to have our room changed and there was nothing he could do. This to us being an unacceptable response, approached another receptionist who said that he will get us a new room but to give him until the next day to do so, so we did just that. The following morning, we packed up all our belongings for our room change. We then went to the receptionist area to drop off our bags for our new room, the first receptionist we spoke to was there he began to tell us that hedoesn't know who we spoke with

Posted by on Apr 29, 2015

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jan 22, 2016 by NYX HOTEL CANCUN

Dear guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us, know that it is thanks to feedbacks like yours that we are able to improve every aspect you described due to we identify our opportunity areas, know that we will take seriously into consideration your comments in order to make your stay and our future guests pleasant. We truly sorry if we did not met your expectations during your stay. Best regards, Jorge Barrios, General Director.

1 out of 5

my night mare has come true

Pros: The only good thing about this was the public relations guy Mario, he was so pleasant and helpful, he should be running the place. The beach was good
Cons: EVERYTHNG from top to bottom.
Location: we ate at many of the resturants like Lorenzillos, Limencello, La Mondona, Italianis, La Dolce Vita in town, all were very good as usual.
we have been going to Cancun for over 30 years and have stayed at many hotels, and have owned a time share there for 25 until the lease was up last year, so this year we decided to go to another hotel. This is one of those stories where the pictures tell one story and infact it is something else. The room (basic) which we didnt expect the Ritz, but really, NO table, NO chair, NO bureau to put your clothes in, NO radio to use for an alarm, NO blanket, just a thin piece of material they call a blanket, which created a problem as the a/c had NO control, no matter what you did it was freezing. The bathroom should have been condemed, it had mold in the tracks of the shower door the window in the bathroom was so dirty I dont believe it was cleaned since they opened up. The floor was so stained with god knows what, and the bed, there is NO words for, both my husband and I are suffering from back problems that will take us to a doctor. But the worst thing was the garbage that was outside the "window" of our room. Apparently that was the dumping spot, not even put into bags it was a real disgrace and the smell was horrific. When we would come into the room from being out the smell was over powering, we had to spend good money on air fresheners. I understand we got the "basic" room but honestly a homeless person would have refused the room. We were offered a "better" room, but it was at an enourmous amount of $. The food was the worst! Travelocity dont use this hotel!!!

Posted by , from Philadelphia, Pa. on Sep 7, 2014

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

May 2, 2015 by The Management Team

Hola Kathry We want to thank you for the interest shown in NYX Hotel Cancun, however, we're sorry to read that your experience was not up to your expectations. We're truly sorry you expected "more" from the furniture in our basic rooms, however, we do provide the info as on what is inside the room in our website, and travelocity, all you had to do was giving it a quick read to know what to expect in this matter. If you needed extra blankets, all it would have taken you was a call to our front desk and extra blankets would have been provided, and about the trash you mention, we're extremely curious, since our trash deposits are actually quite isolated and away from the rooms, and, by local laws, all our trash has to be bagged or else it does not get collected, and, our trahs deposits do have a door and are fully closed. We're sorry to read that you were not in a position to afford a different category, however, we're very honest and very clear as on what we offer in our website, or though every travel agency that we work with. We're sorry you missed to read most of our info. However, we do hope that you would reconsider us as your place to stay next time you visit the area, it would be an honor for us to be your hosts again. Best regards!

2 out of 5

Rough

I was very disappointed in my stay this year.. This was our fourth year. I was married there and couldn't have asked for a better place... We loved it. But this year whatever new management they have got is not looking at the best interest of the people staying they are looking at the dollar amount they can make. It wasn't like this before. The staff are not as friendly, the food has changed, the bed was horrible and we had to call 4 times for it to be fixed and still was not fixed, the room had no water, the jacuzzi was brown water when we filled it, ants all over, turn down service has changed from previous years and they wanted to down grade us instead of upgrade us with all the problems we had. Mind you we paid for an upgrade when we arrived. It was the worst trip. 

Posted by , from Ny on Sep 14, 2013

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jan 22, 2016 by NYX HOTEL CANCUN

Dear guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us, know that it is thanks to feedbacks like yours that we are able to improve every aspect you described due to we identify our opportunity areas, know that we will take seriously into consideration your comments in order to make your stay and our future guests pleasant. We truly sorry if we did not met your expectations during your stay. Best regards, Jorge Barrios, General Director.

5 out of 5

THE BEST!!!!

This is a very NICE hotel!!! I have stayed at a couple of other hotels in Cancun and this is the best!!!

Posted by , from Indiana on Jul 9, 2013

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jan 22, 2016 by NYX HOTEL CANCUN

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. Cordially Jorge Barrios General Director

All-inclusive Details

All-inclusive room rates at Hotel NYX Cancun are available. These rates are higher because they include onsite food and beverages in the room rate (some restrictions may apply).

Property Features

Some rates at Hotel NYX Cancun are all-inclusive. These rates include onsite meals and beverages, and may include taxes and gratuities. Additional charges may apply for meals at some restaurants, special dinners and dishes, certain beverages, and other amenities. Enjoy the umbrellas and sun loungers for a relaxing day at the beach. Bring your whole family to Hotel NYX Cancun for summer fun including 2 outdoor swimming pools and a children's pool. There are 2 restaurants on site, along with a grocery/convenience store. You can enjoy a drink at one of the bars, which include 2 bars/lounges and a poolside bar. A computer station is on site and WiFi is free in public spaces. Limited free parking is available on a first-come, first-served basis. Smoking is allowed in designated areas at this 3-star Cancun resort.

  • 163 guestrooms or units
  • 5 levels
  • 9 buildings
  • 2 dining venues
  • 2 bars or lounges
  • 1055 sq ft of conference space
  • 98 sq m of conference space
  • Bar by the pool
  • Childcare (surcharge)
  • Beach lounge chairs
  • Towels for the beach
  • Umbrellas for the beach
  • 1 conference room
  • Dry cleaning
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Wedding services available
  • Pool or billiards table
  • Convenience store
  • Gift shop
  • Computer for guest use
  • ATM
  • Onsite shopping
  • Bellhop
  • Elevator
  • Smoking in designated areas

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Number of outdoor pools - 2
  • Free WiFi
  • Children's pool
  • Grocery/convenience store
  • Babysitting or childcare (surcharge)
  • Babysitting or childcare

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking , Parking (limited spaces)

Transport

  • Airport: Cancun, Quintana Roo (CUN-Cancun Intl.) (20.5 km / 12.7 mi)
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Hotel NYX Cancun offers 163 air-conditioned accommodations with minibars and safes. Plasma televisions come with cable channels. Bathrooms include complimentary toiletries and hair dryers. This Cancun resort provides complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access. Additionally, rooms include coffee/tea makers and irons/ironing boards. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • Minibar
  • Plasma television
  • Cable channels
  • Coffee maker
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Hair dryer
  • Safe
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Blackout drapes
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Ceiling fan
  • Ensuite bathroom

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy buffet breakfast daily from 7 AM to 11 AM.

Deck - This beachfront family restaurant serves brunch, lunch, and dinner. Guests can order drinks at the bar and enjoy alfresco dining (weather permitting). Open daily.

Bellavista - This restaurant serves breakfast only. Open daily.

Room service (during limited hours) is available.

Nearby Activities

Parasailing (including rides for 2), personal watercraft, and banana-boat rides can be booked on the beach (surcharges).

Cancun offers 2 18-hole golf courses: Cancun Golf Club at Pok-Ta-Pok, 2.8 miles (4.5 kilometers) away; and Hilton Cancun Golf Club, 4 miles (6.5 kilometers) away.

The recreational activities listed below are available either on site or near the Hotel NYX Cancun; fees may apply.

  • Snorkeling nearby
  • Sailing nearby
  • Scuba diving nearby
  • Water skiing nearby
  • Personal motorized watercraft on site

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time ends at midnight
  • Check-in time starts at 3 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is 18

Check-out

  • Check-out by noon

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! One child 5 years old or younger stays free when using existing bedding.

Pets

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card are required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed.

  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No cribs (infant beds) available

Hotel Names

  • Cancun Hotel NYX
  • Hotel NYX Cancun
  • Hotel NYX Cancun Hotel
  • NYX Cancun Hotel
  • NYX Hotel
  • Hotel NYX
  • Avalon Grand Cancun Hotel Cancun
  • Avalon Grand Resort
  • Avalon Resort Cancun
  • Cancun Avalon Grand Hotel
  • NYX Cancun

You should know

  • One child 5 years old or younger stays free in the same room as the parent or guardian when using existing bedding.