Ratings based on 103 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
3 out of 5
by A traveler

Add Another $50/daily

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Staff, wifi, comfortable
Friendly staff, rooms comfortable, good wifi. There is practically no public parking available, so you are forced to pay $37.50/day to park at hotel. Add this to the "resort" fee and it's $50/day.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from South Jordan, Utah

Extra fees galore.

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: Clean rooms, comfortable beds, pools and slides for kids.
Cons: Exorbitant fees.
Location: Nothing immediately close by.
Extra fees essentially doubled the cost of our stay. We made a date change greater than 3 weeks prior to our stay and they assessed us a huge fee. Reservation date change fee (weekday stay made greater than 3 weeks prior to reservation) $400. Parking fees (3 night) $115. Resort fees (3 nights - despite arriving after all amenities closed the first night) $85. (Based on number of nights - not negotiable.) Kids turned on cartoons on T.V. - $13. (No lock out for on demand.) Other than the cost, the rooms were clean, the pools were nice, the fitness center had weights and equipment but nothing to wipe down equipment with. The valet and bell service were friendly and helpful. The concierge recommended an expensive restaurant when we asked for a low end family friendly place (didn't take that advice). Overall a nice place to stay, but we won't stay there again because of the extra fees. We could have stayed a little further from Mission Beach for cheaper and still enjoyed the experience.
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Chicago, IL

Not what you would expect at a Hyatt.

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: The staff was friendly, and the manager did refund my resort fees and one night of our stay.
Cons: Replace the outdated AC in the building, and clean the rooms well.
Location: Plenty to do at Mission Bay. We rented Kayaks and paddled around the bay. Plenty to do in San Diego.
We made a reservation online through Travelocity for the Hyatt Regency, Mission Bay, San Diego, CA. The picture showed a beautiful tall building by a great pool, with a view of the bay. What we got when we arrived was "Bay 2", an old dilapidated 2 story building on the other side of the pool. We called it the Hyatt slum. For about $300 per night (with resort fees) we got two queen beds, a room that smelled like mothballs/mildew, dusty, dirty carpet, mold growing in the grout of the tiles on the floor, walls, and sinks in the bathroom, and an AC unit that was ancient, extremely loud, and did nothing to remove moisture from the room. This was our final stop on a two week vacation around the Western United States. We had great hotel experiences for less money everywhere else we stayed, and all included a good breakfast. Not the case here. While there was a great outdoor pool with water slides, a pool-side bar, and friendly staff, the room left much to be desired. If you want to spend the day partying by the pool, spending a lot of cash on food and drinks, and just need a room to pass out in after you are drunk (the only way to fall asleep with the AC running), then this is the place for you. Otherwise, I would not recommend this place to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Posted May 31, 2016
Great place to stay! Clean great pool and beautiful grounds.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Waimea Nui, Hawaii

evaluation of the hotel

Posted May 11, 2016
Pros: Quick check in, very courteous.
Cons: We were looking for a place to eat. We checked in about 11:30pm after arriving at the airport, getting our luggage then our car.
Location: It was okay. Not too far from the airport and away from the city.
We arrived late in the evening to the hotel. The parking was kind of far away. The room was clean and served its purpose. We enjoyed the coffee in the morning.Overall room was OK.
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Yakima, Wa.

Terrible Staff!

Posted Feb 4, 2016
We arrived at 9:00 pm and were "upgraded" to a room with a view. Little to find out that the recent storm wiped out the water main and gas line. My wife and I woke up to cold water. Called front desk, and they said it'll be fixed in a couple hours. We went on with our day. Came back at 8:00 pm and still no hot water. Called front desk again. They said they tried calling us, for that we need to change hotels. Talked to a lady and she said since we booked through Travelocity they can not send us over to the other Hyatt. We got transferred to the Dana across the street. I did not pay for the Danas standards. It's a lesser hotel than we wanted. Front desk told us to keep calling throughout the next day to check on the water situation. We gave her out cell number to call us since we were not going to plan our day around them. Called again later in the afternoon, and still no progress. We checked out of the Dana and went home. Multiple guest from the Hyatt were sent to the Dana and we're not happy with it. Some even had to pay full costs for their stay. They had a younger gentleman named Anthony who felt bad about the situation and took off our parking fees and resort fees. His attitude was way beyond his fellow employees. Sad situation for the hotel, but terrible attitudes of the staff, and the unwillingness to help ruined my wife's birthday trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Alhambra

Relaxing weekend getaway!

Posted Jan 25, 2016
My boyfriend and I decided to get away for the weekend and I had stayed at previous Hyatt locations and I have always had a good experience and this one was no different. My boyfriend and I will definitely be coming back!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Port Huron, Mi

Review

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: It was clean and comfortable and the staff was polite to my wife.
Cons: See above.
Location: The location was good.and there was plenty to do.
For the money I paid, I was not totally pleased. to start off, they gave me the wrong room and I had to go down and straighten that out. Then I paid extra to have two bottles of water in my room every day and I still had to call down for it three different times. I also noticing that others were getting service at poolside but for some reason my wife and I were not. I was not totally satisfied. I would recommend it. However, with an asterisk.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Las Vegas

Hyatt

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Pros: view
Cons: lower the parking fee and resort fee. and in need of renovation to be considered 4 stars
Location: the location is secluded but close to downtown, beach area and attraction.
Nice view but the parking fee combined with the resort fee is ridiculous. so expect to pay about $58 per day on top of your hotel fee.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from California

Hyatt Mission Bay Suites could use a facelift

Posted Dec 27, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Updated
I expected more when I booked our stay at the Hyatt Regency Mission Bay. The suite was worn, drab and needed to be updated. The chairs on the outside porch where stained, old and worn and the decorations indoors were almost non-existent. Add to that all the extra fees such as parking, the resort fee, and taxes the trip ended up averaging $300 a night. I feel that the Travelocity fee that is advertised is just a teaser and then the customer is saddled with extra costs.