Enter dates to see availability

"Nice hotel across the street from the beach. Free breakfast,but the eating space is too small. " More

By a verified traveler on Mon 20 Aug 2018

Hotel Description

Hotel near Wright Brothers National Memorial in Kill Devil Hills

Close to the beach

Within 3 miles (5 km) of this Kill Devil Hills hotel, you'll find Wright Brothers National Memorial and Avalon Fishing Pier. Jockey's Ridge State Park is within 6 miles (10 km) and Nags Head Golf Links is within 9 miles (15 km).

Free perks

This hotel doesn't skimp on freebies - guests receive free continental breakfast, free WiFi, and free self parking. Business travelers can take advantage of the business center. Enjoy the outdoor pool and conveniences like a 24-hour front desk and free newspapers.

Free Internet, comfy beds

Featuring conveniences like refrigerators and microwaves, the 97 guestrooms offer free WiFi and free wired Internet, as well as TVs with cable channels. Pillowtop beds, coffee/tea makers, and free newspapers are also available.

Room, 2 Double Beds, Non Smoking (No Pets, Street View)

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max
$140 per night

Room, 1 King Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking (No Pets, Pool View)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking, Partial Ocean View (No Pets)

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking, Partial Ocean View (No Pets)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking, Pool View (No Pets)

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Suite, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking (No Pets)

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 6 Max

Travelodge by Wyndham Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.4 out of 5 3.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Travelodge by Wyndham Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills

Everyone (12) Couples (1) Family (2)
3 out of 5
Room service doesn’t vacuum or refill tp during the stay. Booked a handicap bathroom accessible room according to my booking confirmation, it was not! Hotel said I didn’t book that way but I got email saying I did. Had to take sponge bath and hop to toilet for 3 days! No other hotels had accessible room available or I would of relocated properties. It’s up to management if I get any refund? I booked through Travelocity they should stand behind my handicap accessible bathroom booking too!

Posted by on Jul 16, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
The bathroom could use a facelift but besides that was great!!! Would use Travelodge in kill devil hills again great time

Posted by on Jul 16, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
2 out of 5
It was across the road from the beach, but close public access to it. I knew the room was non smoking, but did not know beforehand that the balcony was non smoking as well. Yes, I do know smoking is bad for you, but really hanging out right at the front doors smoking must be great for everyone (sarcasm). Had I pulled up and saw all those people at the doors smoking like we later did I would have cancelled our stay, Also, the filter in AC unit was not clean and someone’s sock was still left in our room from a previous visitor.

Posted by on Jul 4, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 10, 2019 by Guest Services Manager

We are sorry you were upset about not being allowed to smoke in your room or the balcony. We do have designated places to smoke and the front door is not one of them. I am sure if our staff noticed this they would have asked them to move. We have done this many times. When you smoke on the balcony the smoke can blow over to other guest balconies as well as if the slider is not closed it can blow back into the room and the hall. It is our goal for all of our guest to enjoy their stay. That is why we designate places to smoke so that other guest are not uncomfortable. Our AC filters are cleaned at check out. We maintain a very clean property. I am sorry that the smoking rules made your stay unenjoyable but we do hope that you will give us another try. There are 2 designated smoking rooms at the property. These are away from other guest and are outside. Feel free to look for smoking under the room description should you have the opportunity to visit again. We do try to satisfy all of our guest smokers and non-smokers alike.

3 out of 5

Posted by on Mar 24, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Apr 12, 2019 by Hotel Guest Services Manager

Thank you!

1 out of 5
Not handicaped assessable.Wife could not get in bed a d bathroom.

Posted by on Mar 11, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Mar 21, 2019 by Hotel Guest Services Manager

The room you booked was not a handicap room. Our handicap rooms are clearly noted as handicap friendly on all websites including the third party booking agencies. The beds in all of our rooms are the same height so getting in and out of the bed should not have been an issue even in a wheel chair as far as the height is concerned. Anytime a guest books with a third party or online we always encourage guest to contact the property directly with any special request or special needs that you may have told the booking agency you needed to make certain that you have actually reserved the room type for your specific needs. We have a limited number of handicap rooms so making certain at booking that you are getting this room type is very important. Since we were not involved with your reservation until you arrived we could not be aware of your needs without you contacting us. Had you have contacted us we could have confirmed that you had the wrong room type and we would have had you contact your booking agent to re-book the correct room type if available. We did our best although we were sold out of handicap rooms on your day of arrival to meet your needs as you request we gave you a ground floor room and even upgraded you to a king room for extra mobility verses the non-handicap room with two smaller beds you had reserved. I can not stress enough how important it is to verify what type of room you have reserved with the property once you have made the reservation to make certain your needs are met. The property is innocent of any wrong doing in this situation and we feel terrible that you did not book the correct room type. Again, we strongly encourage you if you are booking online or with a third party booking site/agent in the future to please contact the property after booking to make sure the room you reserved meets your specific needs.

2 out of 5
Location was good . Looks to be a run down hotel. Strong smell of cigarette smoke inside the room , though it's said to be non smoking . Breakfast was not great . Overall not worth what I paid on this room.

Posted by , from Durham,NC on Nov 5, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Nov 8, 2018 by Guest Services Manager

It is always appreciated when a guest takes the time to review our hotel. Whether that is a review with a positive vibe (which is 98% of the time) or one with complaints (which is rarely ever)...it allows us to make improvements if necessary and allows perspective guests to see what a truly great hotel this is. We keep excellent records at the front desk whenever there are any issues with a guest-that way in the event we need to respond to a negative review we can do so with an informed as well as factual answer. That said I welcome the opportunity to reply to your review and comments..... I have looked over my log book multiple times and can not find a guest complaint about a smoke smell in a non smoking room. I wish you had brought any issues you had to our attention, our housekeeping staff is very good at reporting any issues with any rooms to our front desk and we do charge guest for smoking in our rooms. If at anytime any guest has any issues we have staff 24 hours 7 days a week all year long. We can not remedy any situations if we do not know about them.

2 out of 5
I stayed for 3 nights in a pet friendly room. The only plus was the room was on the 1st floor so we had easy exit and entry to take the dogs out. The room was extremely small, making it hard for 2 people and 2 pets to move around. The furnishings were very shabby. The toilet in the bathroom moved when it was sat on and the floor seemed wet all the time. The pictures on the website are very deceiving but even at $157 per night I could live with that for 3 nights. The biggest problem was a large electrical box sitting a bit higher than the sidewalk on a concrete slab right next to the sidewalk that leads to the rear parking lot. The first night there, my husband and I were talking while walking to the car and I tripped on the concrete slab that sat about 2 inches above the sidewalk. I thought I had broken both wrists and injured my right knee. A front desk clerk had to help my husband get me to my feet. The next day we were sitting in the side yard in the hotel's resin chairs with our dogs on their leashes. When I moved to get out of the chair, a leg broke on it, throwing me to the ground on my already injured wrists and knee. Upon check out I told the clerk about this and she said she would advise the manager about these problem areas. There was no concern voiced over my physical condition nor any apology given. I will never stay there again and wouldn't advise any of my family or friends to either.

Posted by , from VA on Oct 2, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Oct 6, 2018 by Hotel Guest Services Manager

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, while 98% of our reviews are positive we welcome all reviews. We keep an excellent log book of any complaints or issues a guest might have while visiting us. The electrical box you speak of has been in the same spot since the hotel was built. It sits to the side of the sidewalk in the grass, we have never had any issues with it jumping out in front of other guest. I believe you stated you were not looking where you were going and talking to your husband when you checked out. As far as the chairs in the back, it seems you sat in the chair with your dogs pulling on the leash as you stated and had no issue until you tried to get out the chair. Thank you for letting us know at check out that it broke with you so we could get it thrown away. I am also so surprised that you said I showed no concern for your scraped hand that you showed me, I in fact asked if you were ok and shared in my thankfulness that nothing was broken. We did get to speak with a nice gentleman after you checked out which I assume was your husband who waited and was a little embarrassed to come back in the lobby after I had dealt with the situation. I again hope your small scrap is healing nicely. Thank you Travelodge Guest Services Manager

4 out of 5

Nagshead hotel.

Nice hotel across the street from the beach. Free breakfast,but the eating space is too small.

Posted by on Aug 20, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 22, 2018 by Hotel Guest Services Manager

We appreciate you taking time out of your busy schedule to write us a review and let us know how we are doing. The beach is directly across from the hotel,which is a short walk and with a crosswalk and also available parking. Our breakfast area provides table and chairs, we also provide additional seating at our pool and also for our guest convenience each room has a breakfast tray and table and chairs. We hope the next time you are in the area we will get to serve you again. Thank you Travelodge Guest Services manager

5 out of 5
Ok clean and near activities . .......... ...........

Posted by on Jun 25, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 2, 2018 by Travelodge

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we do hope that if you have the opportunity to visit us again that you will be sure to book with us. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. We look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Guest Services Manager

5 out of 5

Great Beach Hotel

Pros: The location and friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: The air conditioning system could be upgraded: it was a bit noisy and almost constantly running to keep the room at 72 degrees at night.
Location: 100 yards from the beach and many good restaurants. There are also recreational facilities for children within easy driving distance.
Our stay in Kill Devil Hills was two fold-to visit other American family members vacationing here and to show an English family member the Outer Banks and its great seafood. The hotel was ideally located for our purpose.

Posted by , from Statesville, NC on Jun 24, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 27, 2017 by Travelodge Hotel

Thank you for taking the time to write such an wonderful review of your recent stay. I am so glad we could be a part of this family reunion and that you enjoyed the hotel. Sincerely yours, D.Lorditch Guest Relations Manager

About the Travelodge by Wyndham Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills

Location 804 North Virginia Dare Trail, NC 12, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948

Property Features

A computer station is on site and WiFi is free in public spaces. You'll find a business center on site. Free breakfast is available daily. An outdoor pool, tour/ticket assistance, and coffee/tea in a common area are also featured at the business-friendly Travelodge by Wyndham Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills. Free self parking is available. You'll have access to the indoor pool, outdoor pool, and health club at a partner property. Smoking is allowed in designated areas at this Kill Devil Hills hotel.

  • 1 building
  • 97 guestrooms or units
  • 4 levels
  • Continental breakfast (free)
  • Poolside lounge chairs
  • Umbrellas for the pool
  • Business facilities
  • Coffee in lobby
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • Television in lobby
  • Elevator
  • Smoking in designated areas

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family Property
  • Outdoor pool
  • Free WiFi
  • Miniature golf on site
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave


Available in all rooms: Free WiFi , Free wired Internet

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi


Free self parking , Free RV, bus, truck parking


  • Airport: Norfolk, VA (ORF-Norfolk Intl.) (131.2 km / 81.5 mi)
  • Parking: Free self parking and RV/bus/truck parking

Room Amenities

Travelodge by Wyndham Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills offers 97 air-conditioned accommodations with safes and complimentary newspapers. Beds feature pillowtop mattresses. Premium cable television is provided. Refrigerators, microwaves, and coffee/tea makers are provided. Bathrooms include shower/tub combinations, complimentary toiletries, and hair dryers. Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wired and wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and phones. Additionally, rooms include irons/ironing boards and blackout drapes/curtains. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • Pillowtop beds
  • Television
  • Cable channels
  • Premium channels
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Coffee maker
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Newspapers (free)
  • Hair dryer
  • Safe
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes
  • Air conditioning
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Connecting rooms available

Food & Drink

Guests are served free continental breakfast daily.

Nearby Activities

Recreational amenities at the hotel include an outdoor pool.

The recreational activities listed below are available either on site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Fishing on site
  • Golf driving range on site
  • Water skiing nearby
  • Miniature golf on site
  • Snorkeling nearby
  • Parasailing nearby
  • Helicopter/airplane tours on site
  • Surfing/boogie boarding nearby
  • Motor boating on site
  • Windsurfing nearby
  • Rafting nearby
  • Bicycle rentals nearby
  • Rowing or canoeing on site
  • Boat tours nearby
  • Kayaking nearby
  • Personal motorized watercraft on site
  • Sailing nearby
  • Scuba diving nearby


If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please note them at check-out when you book your room.

  • Accessible bathroom
  • In-room accessibility

Hotel Policies


  • Check-in time starts at 4 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is 21

Special check-in instructions:

Please note: The "Pet-Friendly" room rate includes pet fees for 1 pet. Fees apply for additional pets. For more details, contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.


  • Check-out by 10 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Up to 3 children stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.


  • Pets are welcome
  • Certain rooms only, restrictions apply
  • You can request a pet-friendly room by reaching out to the property at the number on the booking confirmation


Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card, or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed. Please note that cultural norms and guest policies may differ by country and by property. The policies listed are provided by the property.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

  • No rollaway/extra beds available


Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Early check-in fee: USD 30.00 (subject to availability)
  • Late check-out fee: USD 30.00 (subject to availability)

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Nags Head Beach Hotel
  • Nags Head Travelodge
  • Travelodge Nags Head Beach
  • Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel
  • Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel Kill Devil Hills
  • Travelodge Nags Head Beach Kill Devil Hills
  • Kill Devil Hills Travel Lodge
  • Kill Devil Hills Travelodge
  • Travel Lodge Kill Devil Hills
  • Travelodge Kill Devil Hills
  • Travelodge Outer Banks
  • Travelodge Wyndham Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills Hotel
  • Travelodge Wyndham Outer Banks/Kill Hotel
  • Travelodge Wyndham Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
  • Travelodge Wyndham Outer Banks/Kill

You should know

  • The seasonal pool will open in May and close in October.
  • Pool access available from 8:30 AM to 10 PM.
  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.
  • Pets are welcome in certain rooms only; other restrictions apply. To make arrangements for your pet, contact the property directly at the number on your booking confirmation.
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.