Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Enter dates to see availability

4.7 out of 5

"The staff was super friendly and the hotel was beautiful. The breakfast was delicious and it’s an easy walk to Meeting and King Streets. " More

By a verified traveler on Thu 01 Jul 2021

Hotel Description

3-star hotel perfect for exploring Charleston

Heart of Charleston

Within a 10-minute walk of this Charleston Historic District hotel, you'll find St. Mary's Roman Catholic Church and Port of Charleston Cruise Terminal. Charleston City Market and Charleston Gaillard Center are also within half a mile (1 km).

Free breakfast

This hotel features a 24-hour fitness center and a rooftop terrace. Traveling on business? Take advantage of the 24-hour business center and free WiFi in public areas. Relax with a drink at the bar/lounge and enjoy the free continental breakfast each morning.

Free WiFi, refrigerators

The individually furnished guestrooms offer free WiFi and free newspapers. Other amenities include sitting areas, refrigerators, and flat-screen TVs with cable channels.

Studio (East Bay)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
$212* Per night/room Sep 21 - Sep 22

Luxury Double Room

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Junior Room

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Ansonborough Inn ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.7 out of 5 4.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 5.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 5.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 5.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 5.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Ansonborough Inn

Everyone (10) Couples (8) Family (7)
5 out of 5
The staff was super friendly and the hotel was beautiful. The breakfast was delicious and it’s an easy walk to Meeting and King Streets.

Posted by on Jul 1, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
1 out of 5
The staff at the hotel is unwelcoming, unfriendly, condescending and hateful. I was on a trip with my elderly mother who had been looking forward for years to showing me Charleston, a place she had fond memories of. The disdain and scorn we were treated with my the staff definitely put a damper on our stay. As we left, even my mother said "Those are some unpleasant people". They go out of their way to make you feel unwanted - they talk over you and answer your questions before you finish asking (just to let you know they've heard this question a million times), they smirk and condescend when you ask for a restaurant recommendation, they went out of their way to be so rude, and I still don't understand why. We weren't rude to them at all. My mother is diabetic and has to have diet soda, she likes diet 7up so I went to the grocery next door to get it for her. She wanted a cocktail so I tried to explain to the front desk what she needed, but they just talked over me. I could tell they were very bothered by my request and the gentleman who worked the front desk smirked at me and looked directly into my eyes as he poured the entire contents of a small bottle of vodka into her glass as I was trying to explain to him that she could just have a little bit. It was a horrid, horrid experience. If you want to feel welcomed in Charleston, do not stay at this hotel. The hotel is clean, and the amenities are fine. It has a nice rooftop deck, but you will not be treated well.

Posted by on May 15, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

May 17, 2021 by AnsonboroughInn

I am beyond shocked to read this review. I am so sorry that you experienced anything less than stellar customer service and am so disappointed that I didn't hear about this while you were here and have a chance to help in some way. I hope that you realize that what experienced is not at all typical of our customer service and there is no excuse for what you are telling me about. I know that I personally interacted with you at least once, when you asked if there was Diet 7-up in the bar and then you asked if Harris Teeter carried it, to which I said Yes. I hope that our interaction did not in any way contribute to your poor experience. When you came back, we got your lemon sliced by the Wine & Cheese attendant and Jonathan poured the drink and we placed your remaining lemons in the fridge for safekeeping. I cannot say how sorry I am that all the interactions with my staff left you lacking. I would be happy to speak with you personally if you would like to discuss this further. Again, my sincerest apologies to you and your mother. Carrie Huston, manager

5 out of 5
Liked everything. Property is unique. All the rooms are different. Wine and Cheese at 5:00 was nice and inviting. Breakfast in complimentary and was very good. I will stay there again.

Posted by on May 2, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
The building, decor and ambience are very cool. Rooms are clean, wine and cheese hour and breakfast delightful and every single staff member was friendly, helpful and so welcoming. Highly recommend this neat hotel!

Posted by on Apr 4, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
The whole place was unique, and we loved the history about it. The staff was very welcoming, and the high ceilings and beautiful exposed beams and bricks were beautiful! Liked the availability of tea and coffee all day, and the rooftop area was wonderful! Our executive suite was awesome! Thanks!

Posted by on Mar 11, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
Close proximity to dining, shopping and attractions

Posted by , from Cape Cod on Feb 27, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5

Posted by on Feb 7, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5

Posted by on Dec 23, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
The hotel is in a great location to the market area, Meeting street and King street. Good location to walk the city. Hotel and staff were great. Good breakfast in the morning and wine social at 5 pm.

Posted by on Oct 13, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5

Posted by on Oct 12, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?

Property Features

You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. Free breakfast is served daily, and guests can also enjoy a free manager's reception. A computer station is on site and WiFi is free in public spaces. A 24-hour business center and a meeting room are available. A 24-hour fitness center, a rooftop terrace, and coffee/tea in a common area are also featured at the business-friendly Ansonborough Inn. For a fee, parking is available. This 3-star Charleston hotel is smoke free.

  • 45 guestrooms or units
  • Continental breakfast (free)
  • Bar or lounge
  • Manager's reception (free)
  • Terrace on the roof
  • Business center (24 hours)
  • 1 conference room
  • Coffee in lobby
  • Dry cleaning
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Concierge
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • Elevator
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Free WiFi
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Self parking (surcharge)

Transport

  • Parking: Self parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

Ansonborough Inn offers 45 air-conditioned accommodations with complimentary newspapers and coffee/tea makers. These individually furnished accommodations have separate sitting areas. Flat-screen televisions come with cable channels. Refrigerators and microwaves are provided. Bathrooms include showers, complimentary toiletries, and hair dryers. Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and phones; free local calls are provided (restrictions may apply). Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • Sitting area
  • Flat-screen television
  • Cable channels
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Coffee maker
  • Shower
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Newspapers (free)
  • Local calls (free)
  • Hair dryer
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Air conditioning
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Unique furnishings
  • Connecting rooms available

Food & Drink

Guests are served free continental breakfast daily from 7 AM to 10 AM. The hotel hosts a free manager's reception on select days.

Nearby Activities

Recreational amenities at the hotel include a 24-hour fitness center.

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.

  • Accessible bathroom
  • Wheelchair accessible (may have limitations)
  • In-room accessibility

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3 PM
  • Check-in time ends at midnight
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18

Special check-in instructions:

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by noon

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Children stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card, or cash deposit may be required at check-in for incidental charges

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges; special requests cannot be guaranteed

This property accepts Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Discover, debit cards, and cash

Safety features at this property include a carbon monoxide detector, a fire extinguisher, a smoke detector, a security system, and a first aid kit

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

This property accepts Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Discover, debit cards, and cash. For guests' safety, the property includes a carbon monoxide detector, a fire extinguisher, a smoke detector, a security system, and a first aid kit in each accommodation. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place. Disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F. Social distancing measures are in place; staff at the property wear personal protective equipment; a shield is in place between staff and guests in main contact areas; periodic temperature checks are conducted on staff; temperature checks are available to guests; guests are provided with hand sanitizer. Contactless check-in and contactless check-out are available. Individually-wrapped food options are available for breakfast. Each guestroom is kept vacant for a minimum of 48 hours between bookings.

  • Staff temperature checks are conducted regularly
  • Temperature checks are available to guests
  • Bed sheets and towels are washed at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F
  • Commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Contactless check-out is available
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Staff wears personal protective equipment
  • Security system
  • Protective clothing is not available to guests
  • Shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitizer
  • Property does not follow sanitization practices of any association
  • Staffed front desk
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Contactless check-in is available
  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Individually-wrapped food options are available
  • Individually-wrapped food options are available for breakfast
  • Debit cards
  • Gap period enforced between guest stays - 48 hours

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Self parking fee: USD 20 per night (in/out privileges)

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Ansonborough
  • Ansonborough Charleston
  • Ansonborough Inn
  • Ansonborough Inn Charleston
  • Ansonborough Hotel Charleston
  • Ansonborough Inn Hotel
  • Ansonborough Inn Charleston
  • Ansonborough Inn Hotel Charleston

You should know

  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.
url importing http://www.travelocity.com/Charleston-Hotels-Ansonborough-Inn.h914563-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Charleston-Hotels-Ansonborough-Inn.h914563-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.travelocity.com/Charleston-Hotels-Ansonborough-Inn.h914563-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&

Frequently Asked Questions

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.