Ratings based on 2,749 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
by A traveler from St Petersburg Florida

Great Location --- but I will find another hotel

Posted Sep 10, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel room left much to be disired... they may have given me a less desirable room to accomodate my wish to check in early. Although all rooms were supposed to have safes. there was no safe in the room. they brought one up but it was unattached and anyone could have walked off with it. The coffee machine was missing the part that holds the coffee and the air conditioning was not working and required maintenance to do some work. I should have have waited and gotten a better room but was tired after flying all night. and last, the hotel charges $12 for internet if we book through a service and not directly through them! The internet service is not good, and many servers blocked me citing unusual traffic on the service I was using. I did not like this policy, and booking through them means you pay at least $45 more each day. It is a disregard for their guests and I will not return there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay. While we are sorry to hear you did not enjoy the hotel as much as we would have you liked you to, we trust you had let Guest Services aware of any concerns you may have had during your stay so we can redress it immediately. The last thing we want is for you to not have the best experience, which is why we accommodate all the requests we possibly can, including the early check in. We certainly hope you give us another chance so we can prove to you just how awesome your stay with us can be.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Great hotel

Posted Sep 10, 2016 on Hotels
A nice hotel, great room and serviceminded staff. Safe neighborhood.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for choosing to stay at the Beacon Hotel. We're so glad you've enjoyed the hotel and the neighborhood. We look forward to welcoming you back!
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Montreal

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
I didn't take the wi-fi option, it was not too expensive, but I liked that they give me the choice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comment! We hope you had an enjoyable stay with us. An alternative to in-room WiFi is our complimentary business center which is open 24/7. We hope to welcome you back to Washington soon!
4 out of 5
by A traveler from Monroe Township, NJ

Small Rooms, but VERY NICE Place

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel with friendly, dedicated staff. Not a family place. Would be great for a corporate/business traveler. Had a cool roof top bar and trendy restaurant off the lobby. Room and bathroom are VERY small. No privacy in the bathroom if others are in the room! Overall, we got a great price, the location is awesome (4 or 5 blocks from White House and within walking distance to restaurants/stores) and they have a great staff. Parking was more expensive than local garage around the corner. Valet is a MUST, but their garage can't hold bigger cars/pick-ups.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your comment! We're delighted to hear that you had a truly pleasant experience staying with us. We're glad you were able to enjoy our SkyBar during your visit. We do have some smaller, more economical rooms, but our Junior Suites and Executive rooms are larger than most other rooms - worth checking out if you are planning a family trip! We'd like to thank you once more for your awesome review and for choosing to stay with us and sincerely hope to welcome you back soon!
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Sweden

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review! We hope you had a truly enjoyable stay and experience with us - we hope to welcome you back soon!
4 out of 5
by A traveler from Toronto

Great location

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Expedia
Stayed for four nights. The only downside is that at this day and age they charge extra 12 bucks per day for wifi... Come on people!!!! Luckily plenty of free wifi spots in the city.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2016 by Beacon Hotel WDC, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comment! We hope you had a comfortable stay with us. We're sorry to hear about your disappointment with the WiFi charges. We would like to share that we have a complimentary business center in our Terrace level where you can use our computers free of charge. We are also very competitively priced for WiFi charges in our area. Once again we'd like to thank you for your comment and for staying with us. We would love to welcome you back to Washington and hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Stroudsburg, PA

Perfect location

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Expedia
Restaurants, nightlife and metro all within walking distance. Perfect location. Hotel staff was amazing. Spacious, clean and comfortable room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2016 by Beacon Hotel WDC, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your comment! We're delighted to hear about your wonderful stay and experience. We hope you were able to enjoy the sights and our neighborhood and wish to welcome you back soon! Thanks again!
3 out of 5
by A traveler

Posted Sep 7, 2016 on Expedia
staff seemed stuffy not to friendly and room was 78 when I arrived after a filter replaced it was on an off all 4 days
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by Beacon Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at the Beacon Hotel. We are so sorry you did not feel the staff with friendly, we will certainly address this with the team. We trust you had let Guest Services aware of your concerns so we could have sent our Engineers to redress it immediately. We certainly hope to see you again.
1 out of 5
by A traveler from Atlanta, Ga.

Hidden Charges

Posted Sep 7, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: Close to center.
Cons: Hidden Charges. Show and tell them honestly up front.
Too many add on Charges......example $41 per night parking then add on $8 for taxes. $12 for Internet in room, $12 for Internet in lobby, $12 for Internet in Cafe. Would not have book if I had know of all hidden charges. No frig in rooms, very loud at night, very little noise insulation. Heard people walking in halls, neighbors on each side. Totally disappointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2016 by Beacon Hotel WDC, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comment. We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. We would like to point out that our WiFi and parking charges are noted on Expedia's website and our own to avoid any possible confusion. Also, we have refrigerators in all of our Jr. Suite rooms. Again, we are sad to hear you were disappointed with your stay and hope that we can impress you, should you decide to stay with us again if you are in town. Thank you and we hope to see you soon!
4 out of 5
by A traveler

Posted Sep 7, 2016 on Hotels
Bad service
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We hope you had an enjoyable stay. We will share your comment with our staff and hope that you have a more enjoyable experience if you stay with us again. We look forward to seeing you soon!