Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Enter dates to see availability

"It was a very nice hotel right on the beach and boardwalk! It was clean and the staff was great.It is a older hotel with all the charm that I loved.Th ... " More

By a verified traveler on Tue 10 Sep 2019

Hotel Description

Beachfront motel near Oceano Dunes State Vehicular Recreation Area

On the beach

A stay at this Downtown motel places you within half a mile (1 km) of Pismo Beach Pier and 2 miles (3 km) of Monarch Butterfly Grove. North Beach Campground and Price Anniversary House are also within 2 miles (3 km).

Terrace

This motel doesn't skimp on freebies - guests receive free WiFi and free self parking. A terrace, a garden, and a picnic area are also on offer.

Free WiFi, comfy beds

The 21 guestrooms feature comforts like pillowtop beds and premium bedding, while refrigerators and coffee/tea makers offer the conveniences of home. TVs come with cable channels, and other amenities include free WiFi and ceiling fans. Housekeeping is available on request.

Suite, 2 Bedrooms

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds, Accessible

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Standard Room, 1 King Bed

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Oceanfront Suite, 1 Queen Bed with Sofabed

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Dolphin Cove Motel ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.4 out of 5 3.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Dolphin Cove Motel

Everyone (7) Couples (1) Family (4)
1 out of 5
First of all I didn’t like that I was getting calls from when I was going to check it, and way overpriced for a small room and the ceiling fan sounded like if it was going to come off the roof.

Posted by , from Dinuba on Oct 18, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Oct 19, 2020 by Kris

Thank you for your recent stay. Our staff works hard to maintain the health and safety of the property while servicing our guests. We take extreme precautions to make sure our rooms and guests are secure during these times. We hope to see you again soon.

5 out of 5

Posted by on Mar 2, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Mar 2, 2020 by Kris

Thank you for your stay. We appreciate your business. Hope to see you soon

5 out of 5
It was a very nice hotel right on the beach and boardwalk! It was clean and the staff was great.It is a older hotel with all the charm that I loved.The price was good and we even had a bedroom suite! I would definitely stay there again!

Posted by on Sep 10, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Sep 10, 2019 by kris

Thank you for your recent stay. We hope to see you again soon

5 out of 5
this hotel was smack in the middle of everything I needed for my weekend and was clean they accommodated a few special requests I had and made my stay great. The staff was always there when needed and were always smiling and helpful. I will definitely be back when I am in the area.

Posted by on Aug 20, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 21, 2019 by kris

Thank you for your recent stay. We hope to see you again soon

2 out of 5
It was the smallest room I have ever stayed in. Felt squashed. Also the shower was extremely small so could hardly clean my body. ( and I am thin). Great location and staff were helpful.

Posted by on May 3, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

May 4, 2019 by Kris

Thank you for your recent stay. Please try our upgraded King rooms or Suites in the future. I'm sure you will find those to your liking. We hope to see you again soon.

1 out of 5
Upon check in we noticed that all the king size beds that were available were on the second floor. We can't do stairs and Mike the guy working the desk wanted to put us in a room with two smaller beds for the same price as the king bed. When we refused to stay he charged us anyway. This was not ADA compliant!

Posted by on Feb 4, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
2 out of 5
Very poor customer service. Prior to arrival the front desk agent called about 5 times within the 5 hours prior to our arrival to make sure we were coming. Once would have sufficed as I was at work and traveling after I was off. Upon arrival he tried to get us to upgrade to a nicer room for extra money. Eventually he took no for an answer. To top it off, I left my earring on the side table by accident. He nicely called the next day to let me know and said he could send it to me. I said to please ship it in a plain envelope since it's tiny, inexpensive and would only cost 47 cents. I received it today with a charge of $10.30 to my credit card?? No it's not a lot of money in the long run but I am very frustrated that his customer service is so poor that he will not spend 47 cents to mail me a tiny piece of jewelry as I asked. The charges you ask? $5.00 service fee, $3.95 shipping, $1.00 box fee??, $.25 materials fee?? REALLY?????? Besides the poor customer service, the room was nice enough. Very small but great location and seemed fairly clean. Will be staying elsewhere next trip.

Posted by , from Santa Barbara on Jan 11, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jan 17, 2019 by Kris

Thank you for your email. I'm sorry to hear that you did not like your experience at the hotel. We call ahead of time to check upon your arrival time so that we are here to greet you on time. We are sorry about the confusion about your earrings. We tried to help you out as much as we could. We hope you consider staying with us again in the future.

5 out of 5
Amazing time spent here for my anniversary. Clean room nice staff good parking. I had requested to get a room on the upper level and facing the ocean. The view was so beautiful. Thats exactly what i got. I loved everything about my stay here. From now on will make every stay in pismo at this motel.

Posted by on Dec 15, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Dec 18, 2018 by kris

Thank you for your recent stay. We hope to see you again soon

4 out of 5

Great Pismo experience!

Very nice accommodations right on the beach! Older motel, has been remodeled and updated. Family type feeling-you can leave your room door open for the breeze and beach weather. No a/c, but the ceiling fan kept it cool at night. Close to restaurants and entertainment, we didn't use our car during the 3 day stay.

Posted by , from socal on Jul 20, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 22, 2017 by kris

Thank you for your recent stay. We hope to see you again soon

4 out of 5

Excellent location

Very nice and helpful staff. Rooms were in decent repair and bathroom fixtures were new. Clean, and tell bed was comfortable. If you're used to "finer" rooms this may not be for you. It is dated and some of the repairs were poorly done (ripped screens, poor painting). But right on the beach!

Posted by on Oct 3, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Oct 13, 2016 by kris

Thank you for your recent stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Property Features

Dolphin Cove Motel offers its guests a terrace, barbecue grills, and a garden. Public spaces have free WiFi. Self parking is free. This Pismo Beach motel is smoke free.

  • 21 guestrooms or units
  • Built in 1938
  • Front desk (limited hours)
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • BBQ grill(s)
  • Outdoor picnic space
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Free WiFi
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave (on request)

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Airport: San Luis Obispo County Regional Airport (SBP) (14.1 km / 8.7 mi)
  • Train station: Grover Beach Station (2.8 km / 1.7 mi)
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Dolphin Cove Motel offers 21 accommodations with coffee/tea makers and complimentary toiletries. Pillowtop beds feature premium bedding. Televisions come with premium cable channels. Bathrooms include showers. Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wireless Internet access. Additionally, rooms include ceiling fans and blackout drapes/curtains. Microwaves and hair dryers can be requested. Housekeeping is provided on request.

  • Pillowtop beds
  • Television
  • Cable channels
  • Premium channels
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave available
  • Coffee maker
  • Luxury bedding
  • Shower
  • Housekeeping (on request)
  • Hair dryer available
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Blackout drapes
  • Ceiling fan
  • Ensuite bathroom

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.

  • Accessible bathroom
  • Roll-in shower
  • Wheelchair accessible parking
  • In-room accessibility
  • Assistive listening devices available
  • Wheelchair-accessible van parking
  • Upper floors accessible by stairs only
  • Well-lit path to entrance
  • Wheelchair-accessible registration desk
  • Stair-free path to entrance
  • Wheelchair accessible (may have limitations)

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 4:00 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 9:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18

Special check-in instructions:

The front desk is open daily from 8:00 AM - 10:00 PM. This property doesn't offer after-hours check-in. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival. An adult age 18 or older must assume all liability for the booking.

The front desk at this property is open daily from 8:00 AM - 10:00 PM.
This property doesn't offer after-hours check-in. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival. An adult age 18 or older must assume all liability for the booking.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for USD 25 per stay.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed, but service animals are welcome

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card, or cash deposit may be required at check-in for incidental charges

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges; special requests cannot be guaranteed

The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for incidentals must be the primary name on the guestroom reservation

This property accepts credit cards, debit cards, and cash

Safety features at this property include a carbon monoxide detector, a smoke detector, and a security system

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for incidentals must be the primary name on the guestroom reservation. This property accepts credit cards, debit cards, and cash. For guests' safety, the property includes a carbon monoxide detector, a smoke detector, and a security system in each accommodation. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place.Disinfectant is used to clean the property.Social distancing measures are in place; staff at the property wear personal protective equipment; a shield is in place between staff and guests in main contact areas; guests are provided with hand sanitizer.Contactless check-in and contactless check-out are available.Each guestroom is kept vacant for a minimum of 24 hours between bookings.

  • Service animals are allowed
  • Service animals are exempt from fees/restrictions
  • Staff temperature checks are not conducted regularly
  • Temperature checks are not available to guests
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Contactless check-out is available
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Staff wears personal protective equipment
  • Security system
  • Protective clothing is not available to guests
  • Shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitizer
  • Property does not follow sanitization practices of any association
  • Staffed front desk
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Contactless check-in is available
  • No cribs (infant beds) available
  • No elevators
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Individually-wrapped food options are not available
  • Debit cards
  • gap period enforced between guest stays 24 hours

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Rollaway bed fee: USD 25 per stay

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Dolphin Cove Motel Pismo Beach
  • Dolphin Cove Motel
  • Dolphin Cove Pismo Beach
  • Dolphin Cove Hotel Pismo Beach
  • Dolphin Cove Motel Motel
  • Dolphin Cove Motel Pismo Beach
  • Dolphin Cove Motel Motel Pismo Beach
url importing http://www.travelocity.com/San-Luis-Obispo-Hotels-Dolphin-Cove-Motel.h9400798-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /San-Luis-Obispo-Hotels-Dolphin-Cove-Motel.h9400798-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.travelocity.com/San-Luis-Obispo-Hotels-Dolphin-Cove-Motel.h9400798-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&

Frequently Asked Questions

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.