"Had a great time here. The beach was right outside of the building we stayed in. It was beautiful. The food was ok. It was better to eat at the bu ... " More

By a verified traveler on Sun 29 Jul 2018

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

4-star beachfront resort with 3 outdoor pools

On the beach

You'll find White Sands Golf Course and Cortecito Beach within 2 miles (3 km) of this resort. Aromas Museum and Los Corales Beach are also within 3 miles (5 km).


This all-inclusive resort features a full-service spa, a nightclub, and a marina. Relax with sun loungers and enjoy a refreshing drink at one of the 2 beach bars. Enjoy the 3 outdoor pools and get free self parking.

Sofa beds, WiFi

Featuring conveniences like sofa beds and refrigerators, the 860 guestrooms also offer balconies and TVs with satellite channels. WiFi, minibars, and room service are also available.

Superior Room - 2 Adults

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
$173 per night

Superior Room - 3 Adults

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Superior Room Royal Level - 2 Adults & 1 Child

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Superior Room - 2 adults & 1 Child

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Superior Room Oceanfront - 3 Adults & 1 Child

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Junior Suite Oceanfront - 2 adults

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Occidental Punta Cana - All Inclusive Resort ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.4 out of 5 3.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 3.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Occidental Punta Cana - All Inclusive Resort

Everyone (12)
2 out of 5
Initially we were pleasantly surprised as they went ahead and made restaurant reservations for us, so we did not waste any time in that process. Surroundings are well kept and clean , until you get to room which in general was very nice except in my opinion not cleaned well enough!!! dusty and hairs in the bathroom as well as the bed (disgusting) called for an ashtray never received it, spent two hours waiting for someone to provide the bar at the main pool for Dewars (they had run out), never arrived. Walked up to the Bar located at the lobby requesting Dewars for the bar at the pool and a really helpful stewardess was actually providing service until the bartender came along thought that the way she was solving the issue was wrong so he snapped at her and me in front of everyone seated at the bar (so disrespectful and unprofessional to say the least) In general customer service, cleanliness in certain areas of the pool as i kept grabbing plastic cups out of the pool as well as housekeeping is an issue. Outdated beauty parlor, but employees made you feel relaxed and happy (Spa staff was excellent) . Will never visit this resort again.

Posted by on Dec 11, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Dec 13, 2018 by ScarlettA

Dear Saribelle, Thank you for sharing feedback with us. We are, needless to say, saddened to hear that you weren’t fully pleased by our holiday offering. We are sorry that you have such a negative perception of our hotel and that we were unable to change your mind about our services prior to your departure. We would like you to know that we make every effort to provide each of our guests with an excellent holiday experience and meet their expectations, so we apologize for failing to do so in your case. I have forwarded all of your comments to the general management for review for review, in order to avoid similar difficulties for our future guests. We truly hope that you reconsider staying with us in the future, so we have the opportunity to surpass your expectations on a future visit. It was our pleasure to serve you. Best regards, Scarlett Acosta Social Media Manager Occidental Punta Cana

5 out of 5

Posted by on Oct 28, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Oct 29, 2018 by ScarlettA

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to rate your recent experience at the Occidental Punta Cana with us. We are glad that in general we were able to have satisfied your expectations. We are thrilled that you were pleased with our holiday offering. That said, we are constantly refreshing and renewing our services and facilities to ensure that our guest want to return year after year. Once again, we thank you for choosing to stay at the Occidental Punta Cana. We are definitely looking forward to host you on your next visit to the Dominican Republic. We guarantee your next visit will be far better than your last. It was our pleasure to serve you. Cordial regards, Scarlett Acosta Social Media Manager Occidental Punta Cana

1 out of 5


Worst resort I've ever stayed in Punta Cana. Staff did not speak or understand ENGLISH. Room was leaking water from the ceiling and roaches. Hair was all over the floor and sheets. Bartenders does not understand ENGLISH. Gave wrong order of drinks. Timeshare reps will harass you everyday. Food was bland and not too much variety. Almost the same every day.

Posted by , from Passaic Park on Aug 20, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 26, 2018 by Alvaro Fontenla, General Manager

Dear Marc, Thank you for choosing us as your holiday destination and for sharing your comment. We are saddened to read that our holiday offering didn't meet your expectations. It is very dissapointing for us to know we were not able to make you join the great list of guests that leave with an excellent holiday memory. We truly apologize for the perceived lack of service, we guarantee that we will look into the issues you may have faced and correct them as soon as possible. That said, we truly hope that you consider visiting us again in the future so we have the opportunity to offer you an unforgettable holiday experience. It was our pleasure to serve you. Best regards,

4 out of 5

Easy access to the beach

Had a great time here. The beach was right outside of the building we stayed in. It was beautiful. The food was ok. It was better to eat at the buffet than the restaurants. It would be good to know the language as most of the staff did not speak English, not even a little. The hotel meets expectations if you plan on sightseeing more than sleeping. Don't forget to turn in your orange beach towels when you check out. That is how they check you out. Overall I would stay here again. Remember that you are in a different country when you visit these hotels. So what you expect at home and what you get here are more than likely very different.

Posted by , from TX on Jul 29, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 30, 2018 by Alvaro Fontenla, General Manager

Dear Gayla, Thank you for rating your experience at Occidental Punta Cana. There is nothing more important to us than meeting our guests' expectation and we are glad to have done so in your case. Once again, we thank you for your preference. It was our pleasure to serve you. Regards,

1 out of 5
Pros: Pretty resort.
Cons: Service was not good.
Check in took approximately 1 hour because staff took turns coming out fromt and staring at the line of guests waiting to check in. I could tell that they were laughing and talking about different guests. After a minute they would walk to the back again. I was approached by 2 resort staff wanting me to go to a meeting. I was being strongly questioned about who I was traveling with, marital status, etc. Since I did not want them to know that I was traveling alone, I said that I had family there. I did not go to the meeting so one of the men, knocked on my door and called the phone in my room. I did not give them my room number. This was creepy. Later as I was waiting to check out, one of these men told me that he knew that I was traveling alone. Not cool to have staff harassing and questioning on personal things. I was given two towel and a hand towel in my room. No washcloths so I used the hand towel to take off my make up. I used one towel as a rug since there was not one. Both of these were on the floor, thinking they would supply me with new clean towels. Both were picked up from the floor and hung up, no clean towels left even though you could see the makeup and dirt on the towel. The resort is beautiful. Staff left a lot to be desired. I would not suggest that females traveling alone stay there because of the male staff members following, questioning and harassing the females.

Posted by , from Texas on May 25, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 3, 2018 by Luz Salcé, Guest Service Manager

Dear Linda, Thank you for rating your experience with us. Needless to say, it is disappointing to know that you might have experienced this issues, most of all because our staff members know how important is for us the security and well-being of our guests. Negative comments, however, are a good way to identify the areas in which we need to improve. I have forwarded your review so our management, along with the security department can address these matter directly. It was our pleasure to serve you. Sincerely,

5 out of 5

Good location nice beach

Did not like having some many locals trying to sell stuff at the beach

Posted by on May 9, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

May 12, 2018 by Luz Salcé, Guest Service Manager

Dear valued guest, Thank you so much for taking a moment of your time for sharing your recent experience with us. We are thrilled to have provided you with a five stars holiday experience. Rest assured that we will take the appropriate actions regarding the mentioned area of improvement. Once again, we appreciate you choosing us as your vacation destination. Nothing would please us more than to welcome you back. Sincerely,

3 out of 5
The beach and ocean were beautiful, the hotel and rooms were great. The people who work there are not friendly, they do not even smile at you! Forget saying hi to anyone you will not get a response. It seems like they have a very unhappy work force. Even after a week , they did not acknowledge us. Don’t get me wrong there were a few but the majority would not smile. The house keeping staff was slow, we returned from the beach to get ready for dinner at 6:00, and our room still wasn’t cleaned. Towels seemed at a shortage, and forget about wash clothes.also getting coffee and creamer for your room, you would have to track down someone.

Posted by , from Michigan on May 3, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

May 3, 2018 by Luz Salcé, Guest Service Manager

Dear Cla, We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking a moment of your time to share your experience with us. We are pleased to know that in most regards we were able to satisfy your expectations and that, in general, our staff was able to positively contribute to the outcome of your stay. That said, we strive to offer nothing less than a five-star quality of service for each and every single one of our guests, so we will be forwarding your complaints for our general management to take any necessary actions to avoid future similar inconveniences. Once again, we express our appreciation to you for having chosen to stay with us. Hopefully you will reconsider staying with us, in order to change the wrong perception you took from us. It was truly a pleasure to serve you. Sincerely,

4 out of 5

Relaxing Getaway!

Cons: Buffet food could be warmer. Food over all 6 out of 10.
Location: Beachfront was about 70 yards from hotel room to waters edge. Palm trees, beach chairs, volleyball, soccer nets, and beach bars.
Had a great time! Clean room, clean pools, clean beach at Occidental Punta Cana. Room with ocean view was excellent. Decent buffet 3 times a day. Upgrades, VIP treatment, available. Make sure you know which level you are booking for and whats included before confirming. We chose First Club which came with all the perks and better food. Scheduled daily/nightly, activities for those interested. Restaurants with better food on premises to be booked in advance. If you decide to go on an excursion off the resort plan on being gone the whole day even if you book a half day. Also be ready for poor planning and organization concerning return trips to the hotel, at least with the SCAPE excursion. When it was time to return no one knew which bus was taking them back as it wasnt the same as the ride in. We waited 40 mins until we were able to indiviually ask 1 person for information. Thats my only complaint. I'm planning on going back to the same resort next year. The beach and water were incredible.

Posted by , from NYC on Apr 7, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Apr 11, 2018 by Luz Salcé, Guest Service Manager

Dear Leon, We appreciate the time taken to rate your stay with us at Occidental Punta Cana and for choosing us as your holiday destination. It is an honor for us to learn that you had such a pleasant stay and completely value your preference for our resort. We will be delighted to host you again. Best regards,

5 out of 5

Worth the money

We were very happy with our vacation and are considering returning again next year.

Posted by on Mar 12, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Mar 12, 2018 by Luz Salcé, Guest Service Manager.

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. There is nothing more important to us than meeting our guests' expectation. We are glad to seemingly have done so in your case. We guarantee that on your future visit to the Occidental Punta Cana we will not only meet, but surpass your expectations. Once again, we thank you for your preference. It was our pleasure to meet you. Sincerely, Luz Salcé Guest Service Manager

4 out of 5

Honeymoon trip

Pros: The buildings and grounds were very clean and well maintained. The food was great with a variety every day. Great variety of bars and drinks!
Cons: We did not care for the sales pitch to join their vacation club. The maid service was usually later in the day, so we needed to plan ahead.
Location: Hotel was a short shuttle ride from airport. Off premises activities were easy to book like the Adventure Boogie through the hotel concierge.
We took our honeymoon here and it was fabulous. Great beach, warm temps, lots of sun. Great pools and nice swim up bar. Food was very tasty with good variety every day in the buffets. Specialty restaurants were great, but limited gluten-free menu items. Bartenders were easy to talk to and would make whatever you wanted. Every night there's a new show in the outdoor theater, some shows were better than others, but its all included in the price. This place is a great value and worth the cost, without the top end prices.

Posted by , from Green Bay, WI on Feb 14, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Feb 14, 2018 by Luz Salcé, Guest Service Manager

Dear Jeff, Thank you for sharing your experience with us and for giving us the opportunity to host you. There is nothing more important to us than to provide each and every guest with an excellent holiday experience, which is why we are thrilled to hear that you were satisfied. Please know, we have also taken into consideration your constructive comments and have forwarded them to the management. It was our pleasure to serve you. Best regards,

About the Occidental Punta Cana - All Inclusive Resort

Location España Avenue, Bávaro, Punta Cana, La Altagracia 23301

All-inclusive Details

This resort is all-inclusive. Onsite food and beverages are included in the room price (some restrictions may apply).

Gratuities and taxes
Gratuities and taxes are included.

Food and beverages

  • All buffet and à la carte meals, snacks, and local beverages included
  • In-room minibar (non-alcoholic beverages included)

Activities and facilities/equipment
All non-motorized water sports, land activities, and use of recreational facilities and equipment are included.

Water activities

  • Kayaking
  • Snorkeling
  • Windsurfing

Land activities
  • Fitness facilities
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

  • Aerobics
  • Dancing
  • Language
  • Water fitness

Kids' club

  • Supervised activities for children between 4 and 12 years old


  • Onsite entertainment and activities
  • Access to onsite clubs
  • Onsite live performances
  • Theme parties

Not included

  • Golf green fees
  • Use of golf cart
  • Use of golf equipment
  • Motorized water sports
  • Sailboats
  • Scuba-diving certification
  • Scuba-diving excursions
  • Snorkeling excursions
  • Premium and/or non-domestic beverages
  • Childcare
  • Laundry/dry cleaning services
  • Spa/beauty facilities and services
  • Wireless Internet access
  • Activities and services offered by independent operators
  • Offsite tours
  • Transportation to offsite activities

  • Kayaking included
  • Access to onsite clubs included
  • Windsurfing included
  • Taxes included
  • Buffet and à la carte dining
  • Premium/non-domestic beverages not included
  • Fitness facilities included
  • Tennis included
  • Wireless Internet access not included
  • Water fitness classes/lessons included
  • Volleyball included
  • Laundry/dry cleaning services not included
  • Soccer (football) included
  • Childcare not included
  • Scuba diving excursions not included
  • Snorkeling excursions not included
  • Scuba diving certification not included
  • Motorized water sports not included
  • Golf green fees not included
  • Use of golf equipment not included
  • Use of golf cart not included
  • Spa/beauty facilities and services not included
  • Activities/services from independent operators not included
  • Transportation to offsite activities not included
  • Offsite tours not included
  • Sailboats not included
  • Aerobics classes/lessons included
  • Dancing classes/lessons included
  • Onsite entertainment and activities included
  • Language classes/lessons included
  • Local beverages and soft drinks only
  • Gratuities included
  • All food and beverages included
  • Surcharge for premium or imported alcoholic beverages
  • Minibar (only non-alcoholic beverages included)
  • All non-motorized water sports included
  • Onsite live performances included
  • All land activities, and recreational facilities and equipment included
  • Theme parties included
  • Snorkeling included

Property Features

Occidental Punta Cana - All Inclusive Resort is an all-inclusive resort. Room rates include meals and beverages at onsite restaurants and bars. Other items and amenities, including taxes and gratuities, and access to recreational activities and entertainment may also be included. Additional charges may apply for meals at some restaurants, special dinners and dishes, certain beverages, and other amenities. As a guest of Occidental Punta Cana - All Inclusive Resort, you'll find a full-service spa, a marina, and 3 outdoor swimming pools. There are 11 restaurants on site, along with a grocery/convenience store. For a drink, you can stop by one of the onsite bars, including 2 beach bars and 10 bars/lounges. A free manager's reception is offered daily. WiFi is available in public spaces for a fee. Business amenities include a business center and a meeting room. Event space at this resort measures 5920 square feet (550 square meters) and includes a conference center. A children's pool, a nightclub, and a fitness center are also featured at the eco-friendly Occidental Punta Cana - All Inclusive Resort. Limited free parking is available on a first-come, first-served basis. Smoking is allowed in designated areas at this 4-star Punta Cana resort.

  • 860 guestrooms or units
  • 3 levels
  • 17 buildings
  • 11 dining venues
  • 2 bars on the beach
  • 10 bars or lounges
  • 5920 sq ft of conference space
  • 550 sq m of conference space
  • Built in 2000
  • Nightclub
  • Bar by the pool
  • Swim-up bar
  • Manager's reception (free)
  • Kid's club (free)
  • Supervised kid's activities (free)
  • Childcare (surcharge)
  • Beach lounge chairs
  • Towels for the beach
  • Poolside lounge chairs
  • Conference center
  • Business facilities
  • Coffee in lobby
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Express check-in
  • Express check-out
  • Staff is multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Wedding services available
  • Game room or arcade
  • Pool or billiards table
  • Convenience store
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Gift shop
  • Beauty salon
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • Television in lobby
  • ATM
  • Onsite shopping
  • Elevator
  • Smoking in designated areas

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Number of outdoor pools - 3
  • Children's pool
  • Supervised childcare/activities (free)
  • Outdoor tennis courts - 2
  • Children's club (free)
  • Grocery/convenience store
  • Laundry facilities
  • Babysitting or childcare (surcharge)
  • In-room childcare (surcharge)
  • Arcade/game room
  • Playground on site
  • Sofa bed
  • Refrigerator
  • Free cribs/infant beds


Available in all rooms: WiFi (surcharge)

Available in some public areas: WiFi (surcharge)


Free self parking , Parking (limited spaces) , Free parking nearby


  • Airport: Punta Cana (PUJ-Punta Cana Intl.) (23 km / 14.3 mi)
  • Property shuttles: Casino shuttle
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Occidental Punta Cana - All Inclusive Resort offers 860 air-conditioned accommodations with minibars and safes. Rooms open to balconies. Beds feature premium bedding. Televisions come with premium satellite channels. Refrigerators and coffee/tea makers are provided. Bathrooms include showers, complimentary toiletries, and hair dryers. This Punta Cana resort provides wireless Internet access for a surcharge. Business-friendly amenities include desks and phones. Additionally, rooms include complimentary bottled water and irons/ironing boards. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • Private balcony
  • Pull-out sofa bed
  • Minibar
  • In-room dining (limited hours)
  • Television
  • Satellite channels
  • Premium channels
  • Refrigerator
  • Coffee maker
  • Luxury bedding
  • Shower
  • Cribs (free)
  • Rollaway beds (free)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Childcare in room (surcharge)
  • Hair dryer
  • Safe
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes
  • Air conditioning
  • Ceiling fan
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Connecting rooms available

Food & Drink

The resort hosts a free manager's reception daily.

El Alcázar - Overlooking the pool, this restaurant serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Guests can enjoy drinks at the bar.

Las Reses  - This restaurant serves dinner only.

La Hacienda  - This restaurant specializes in Mexican cuisine and serves dinner only.

Via Veneto  - This restaurant specializes in Italian cuisine and serves dinner only.

Caracolas  - This restaurant specializes in seafood and serves dinner only.

Room service (during limited hours) is available.

Nearby Activities

Occidental Punta Cana offers a wide range of water sports and activities.

Water sports are part of the main attractions of Playa El Cortesito. Guests can enjoy windsurfing, snorkeling, kayaking, boogie boarding, as well as many other activities.

The hotel has 2 tennis courts, a basketball court, beach soccer, volleyball, dance classes, as well as a complete gym perfect for exercising on vacation.

The recreational activities listed below are available either on site or near the hotel; fees may apply.

  • Snorkeling on site
  • Golfing nearby
  • Surfing/boogie boarding on site
  • Tennis lessons on site
  • Beach volleyball on site
  • Kayaking on site
  • Windsurfing on site
  • Parasailing on site
  • Yoga classes/instruction on site
  • Playground on site
  • Fitness classes on site
  • Sailing on site
  • Basketball on site
  • Scuba diving on site

Spa Services

  • Deep tissue massage
  • Sauna in spa
  • Outdoor treatment areas
  • Couples treatment rooms
  • Massages on beach
  • Manicures and pedicures
  • Body treatments
  • Facial treatments
  • Aromatherapy treatments
  • Hydrotherapy treatments
  • Massages


If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please note them at check-out when you book your room.

  • Accessible bathroom
  • Roll-in shower
  • In-room accessibility