"Had a great time here. The beach was right outside of the building we stayed in. It was beautiful. The food was ok. It was better to eat at the bu ... " More

By a verified traveler on Sun 29 Jul 2018

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

4-star beach property near Arena Gorda Beach

In Punta Cana

You'll find Cortecito Beach and Iberostar Golf Course close to this Punta Cana property. Also nearby are Arena Gorda Beach and Los Corales Beach.

All-inclusive

A casino and a restaurant are featured at this all-inclusive property. Traveling on business? Take advantage of the business center and WiFi in public areas. Make the most of the outdoor pool and fitness center, and relax with drinks at one of the 2 beach bars.

Luxe linens, WiFi

Guestrooms offer WiFi, premium bedding, and phones.

Superior Room - 2 Adults

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
$200 per night

Superior Room - 3 Adults

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Superior Room Royal Level - 2 Adults & 1 Child

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Superior Room - 2 adults & 1 Child

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Superior Room Oceanfront - 3 Adults & 1 Child

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Junior Suite Oceanfront - 2 adults

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Occidental Punta Cana - All Inclusive Resort ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.5 out of 5 3.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 3.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Occidental Punta Cana - All Inclusive Resort

Everyone (15) Couples (1)
4 out of 5
The vacation was wonderful just what I needed. The food however all tasted the same unfortunately.

Posted by on Feb 10, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Feb 12, 2019 by ScarlettA

Dear Guest, Thank you for rating the quality of your stay with us. Needless to say, we are happy to hear that we were able to meet most of your expectations. We have also taken int into consideration your comments regarding the quality of our food selection. We truly hope to host you again in the future we can have the opportunity to surpass your expectations. It was our pleasure to serve you. Cordial regards, Scarlett Acosta Social Media Manager Occidental Punta Cana

3 out of 5
Nice Hotel, excellent location, english is limited, 60% unfriendly Russians,Food is not great.

Posted by on Jan 20, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jan 22, 2019 by ScarlettA

Dear Joyce, We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking a moment of your time to share your experience at the Occidental Punta Cana. Reviews such as your do not only help other travellers when choosing their next vacation, but also help us determine the areas in which we need to improve. We are pleased to know that in some regards, like our facilities satisfied your expectations. Please accept our apologies for being unable to offer you an entirley excellent stay. Our goal is to always provide each and every one of our guests an excellent holiday experience. We hope ameliorate any difficulties our guests may currently have and prevent similar situations in the future, which is why we have shared your comment with the management of the hotel. Once again, I would like to thank you for choosing us as your holiday destination. We hope you consider returning in the future, we know we will not only to meet your expectations this time, but surpass them. It was our sincerest pleasure to serve you. Cordial regards, Scarlett Acosta Social Media Manager Occidental Punta Cana

5 out of 5
We got really nice room.Upgraded to first club and then had better drinks. Very nice resort!

Posted by on Jan 4, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jan 5, 2019 by Fernanda Gil, Guest Service Assistant

Dear Guest, Greetings from the Occidental Punta Cana! Thank you for your feedback. We truly appreciate the stellar rating you’ve shared with us. We are happy to know that the quality of our hotel met your expectations. There is nothing more important to us than to offer our guests a superior holiday experience. It would be a joy to be your host in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back. It was sincerely a pleasure to serve you. Cordial regards, Fernanda Gil Guest Service Assistant Occidental Punta Cana

3 out of 5

Posted by on Dec 30, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Dec 30, 2018 by Fernanda Gil, Guest Service Assistant

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing feedback with us. We are, needless to say, saddened to hear that you weren’t fully pleased by our holiday offering. We would like you to know that we make every effort to provide each of our guests with an excellent holiday experience and meet their expectations, so we apologize for failing to do so in your case. We truly hope that you reconsider staying with us in the future, so we have the opportunity to surpass your expectations on a future visit. It was our pleasure to serve you. Best regards, Fernanda Gil, Guest Service Assistant, Occidental Punta Cana

2 out of 5
Initially we were pleasantly surprised as they went ahead and made restaurant reservations for us, so we did not waste any time in that process. Surroundings are well kept and clean , until you get to room which in general was very nice except in my opinion not cleaned well enough!!! dusty and hairs in the bathroom as well as the bed (disgusting) called for an ashtray never received it, spent two hours waiting for someone to provide the bar at the main pool for Dewars (they had run out), never arrived. Walked up to the Bar located at the lobby requesting Dewars for the bar at the pool and a really helpful stewardess was actually providing service until the bartender came along thought that the way she was solving the issue was wrong so he snapped at her and me in front of everyone seated at the bar (so disrespectful and unprofessional to say the least) In general customer service, cleanliness in certain areas of the pool as i kept grabbing plastic cups out of the pool as well as housekeeping is an issue. Outdated beauty parlor, but employees made you feel relaxed and happy (Spa staff was excellent) . Will never visit this resort again.

Posted by on Dec 11, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Dec 13, 2018 by ScarlettA

Dear Saribelle, Thank you for sharing feedback with us. We are, needless to say, saddened to hear that you weren’t fully pleased by our holiday offering. We are sorry that you have such a negative perception of our hotel and that we were unable to change your mind about our services prior to your departure. We would like you to know that we make every effort to provide each of our guests with an excellent holiday experience and meet their expectations, so we apologize for failing to do so in your case. I have forwarded all of your comments to the general management for review for review, in order to avoid similar difficulties for our future guests. We truly hope that you reconsider staying with us in the future, so we have the opportunity to surpass your expectations on a future visit. It was our pleasure to serve you. Best regards, Scarlett Acosta Social Media Manager Occidental Punta Cana

5 out of 5

Posted by on Oct 28, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Oct 29, 2018 by ScarlettA

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to rate your recent experience at the Occidental Punta Cana with us. We are glad that in general we were able to have satisfied your expectations. We are thrilled that you were pleased with our holiday offering. That said, we are constantly refreshing and renewing our services and facilities to ensure that our guest want to return year after year. Once again, we thank you for choosing to stay at the Occidental Punta Cana. We are definitely looking forward to host you on your next visit to the Dominican Republic. We guarantee your next visit will be far better than your last. It was our pleasure to serve you. Cordial regards, Scarlett Acosta Social Media Manager Occidental Punta Cana

1 out of 5

DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY. RUN!!!

Worst resort I've ever stayed in Punta Cana. Staff did not speak or understand ENGLISH. Room was leaking water from the ceiling and roaches. Hair was all over the floor and sheets. Bartenders does not understand ENGLISH. Gave wrong order of drinks. Timeshare reps will harass you everyday. Food was bland and not too much variety. Almost the same every day.

Posted by , from Passaic Park on Aug 20, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 26, 2018 by Alvaro Fontenla, General Manager

Dear Marc, Thank you for choosing us as your holiday destination and for sharing your comment. We are saddened to read that our holiday offering didn't meet your expectations. It is very dissapointing for us to know we were not able to make you join the great list of guests that leave with an excellent holiday memory. We truly apologize for the perceived lack of service, we guarantee that we will look into the issues you may have faced and correct them as soon as possible. That said, we truly hope that you consider visiting us again in the future so we have the opportunity to offer you an unforgettable holiday experience. It was our pleasure to serve you. Best regards,

4 out of 5

Easy access to the beach

Had a great time here. The beach was right outside of the building we stayed in. It was beautiful. The food was ok. It was better to eat at the buffet than the restaurants. It would be good to know the language as most of the staff did not speak English, not even a little. The hotel meets expectations if you plan on sightseeing more than sleeping. Don't forget to turn in your orange beach towels when you check out. That is how they check you out. Overall I would stay here again. Remember that you are in a different country when you visit these hotels. So what you expect at home and what you get here are more than likely very different.

Posted by , from TX on Jul 29, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 30, 2018 by Alvaro Fontenla, General Manager

Dear Gayla, Thank you for rating your experience at Occidental Punta Cana. There is nothing more important to us than meeting our guests' expectation and we are glad to have done so in your case. Once again, we thank you for your preference. It was our pleasure to serve you. Regards,

1 out of 5
Pros: Pretty resort.
Cons: Service was not good.
Check in took approximately 1 hour because staff took turns coming out fromt and staring at the line of guests waiting to check in. I could tell that they were laughing and talking about different guests. After a minute they would walk to the back again. I was approached by 2 resort staff wanting me to go to a meeting. I was being strongly questioned about who I was traveling with, marital status, etc. Since I did not want them to know that I was traveling alone, I said that I had family there. I did not go to the meeting so one of the men, knocked on my door and called the phone in my room. I did not give them my room number. This was creepy. Later as I was waiting to check out, one of these men told me that he knew that I was traveling alone. Not cool to have staff harassing and questioning on personal things. I was given two towel and a hand towel in my room. No washcloths so I used the hand towel to take off my make up. I used one towel as a rug since there was not one. Both of these were on the floor, thinking they would supply me with new clean towels. Both were picked up from the floor and hung up, no clean towels left even though you could see the makeup and dirt on the towel. The resort is beautiful. Staff left a lot to be desired. I would not suggest that females traveling alone stay there because of the male staff members following, questioning and harassing the females.

Posted by , from Texas on May 25, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 3, 2018 by Luz Salcé, Guest Service Manager

Dear Linda, Thank you for rating your experience with us. Needless to say, it is disappointing to know that you might have experienced this issues, most of all because our staff members know how important is for us the security and well-being of our guests. Negative comments, however, are a good way to identify the areas in which we need to improve. I have forwarded your review so our management, along with the security department can address these matter directly. It was our pleasure to serve you. Sincerely,

5 out of 5

Good location nice beach

Did not like having some many locals trying to sell stuff at the beach

Posted by on May 9, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

May 12, 2018 by Luz Salcé, Guest Service Manager

Dear valued guest, Thank you so much for taking a moment of your time for sharing your recent experience with us. We are thrilled to have provided you with a five stars holiday experience. Rest assured that we will take the appropriate actions regarding the mentioned area of improvement. Once again, we appreciate you choosing us as your vacation destination. Nothing would please us more than to welcome you back. Sincerely,

About the Occidental Punta Cana - All Inclusive Resort

Location España Avenue, Bávaro, Punta Cana, La Altagracia 23301

All-inclusive Details

This property is all-inclusive. Onsite food and beverages are included in the room price (some restrictions may apply).

Gratuities and taxes
Gratuities and taxes are included.

Food and beverages

  • All buffet and à la carte meals, snacks, and local beverages included
  • In-room minibar (non-alcoholic beverages included)

Activities and facilities/equipment
All non-motorized water sports, land activities, and use of recreational facilities and equipment are included.

Water activities

  • Kayaking
  • Snorkeling
  • Windsurfing

Land activities
  • Fitness facilities
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Lessons/classes/games
  • Aerobics
  • Dancing
  • Language
  • Water fitness

Kids' club

  • Supervised activities for children between 4 and 12 years old

Entertainment

  • Onsite entertainment and activities
  • Access to onsite clubs
  • Onsite live performances
  • Theme parties

Not included

  • Golf green fees
  • Use of golf cart
  • Use of golf equipment
  • Motorized water sports
  • Sailboats
  • Scuba-diving certification
  • Scuba-diving excursions
  • Snorkeling excursions
  • Premium and/or non-domestic beverages
  • Childcare
  • Laundry/dry cleaning services
  • Spa/beauty facilities and services
  • Wireless Internet access
  • Activities and services offered by independent operators
  • Offsite tours
  • Transportation to offsite activities

  • Access to onsite clubs included
  • Kayaking included
  • Windsurfing included
  • Taxes included
  • Buffet and à la carte dining
  • Premium/non-domestic beverages not included
  • Fitness facilities included
  • Wireless Internet access not included
  • Water fitness classes/lessons included
  • Tennis included
  • Laundry/dry cleaning services not included
  • Volleyball included
  • Childcare not included
  • Soccer (football) included
  • Scuba diving excursions not included
  • Snorkeling excursions not included
  • Scuba diving certification not included
  • Motorized water sports not included
  • Golf green fees not included
  • Use of golf equipment not included
  • Use of golf cart not included
  • Spa/beauty facilities and services not included
  • Activities/services from independent operators not included
  • Transportation to offsite activities not included
  • Offsite tours not included
  • Sailboats not included
  • Aerobics classes/lessons included
  • Dancing classes/lessons included
  • Onsite entertainment and activities included
  • Language classes/lessons included
  • Local beverages and soft drinks only
  • Gratuities included
  • All food and beverages included
  • Surcharge for premium or imported alcoholic beverages
  • Minibar (only non-alcoholic beverages included)
  • Onsite live performances included
  • All non-motorized water sports included
  • Theme parties included
  • All land activities, and recreational facilities and equipment included
  • Snorkeling included

Property Features

Occidental Punta Cana - All Inclusive Resort is an all-inclusive property. Room rates include meals and beverages at onsite restaurants and bars. Other items and amenities, including taxes and gratuities, and access to recreational activities and entertainment may also be included. Additional charges may apply for meals at some restaurants, special dinners and dishes, certain beverages, and other amenities. Occidental Punta Cana - All Inclusive Resort offers its guests an outdoor pool and a fitness center. There's a restaurant on site. You can enjoy a drink at one of the bars, which include 2 beach bars and a swim-up bar. A free manager's reception is offered daily. WiFi is available in public spaces for a fee. Business amenities include a business center and a meeting room. A casino, gift shops/newsstands, and coffee/tea in a common area are also featured at the eco-friendly Occidental Punta Cana - All Inclusive Resort.

  • 3 levels
  • 17 buildings
  • 2 bars on the beach
  • Built in 2000
  • Casino
  • Dining venue
  • Swim-up bar
  • Manager's reception (free)
  • Towels for the beach
  • Poolside lounge chairs
  • Conference center
  • Business facilities
  • Coffee in lobby
  • Express check-in
  • Express check-out
  • Wedding services available
  • Gift shop
  • Beauty salon

Internet

Available in all rooms: WiFi (surcharge)

Available in some public areas: WiFi (surcharge)

Transport

  • Airport: Punta Cana (PUJ-Punta Cana Intl.)
  • Parking:

Room Amenities

Beds feature premium bedding. This Punta Cana property provides wireless Internet access for a surcharge.

  • Luxury bedding
  • Telephone

Food & Drink

The property hosts a free manager's reception daily.

El Alcázar - Overlooking the pool, this restaurant serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Guests can enjoy drinks at the bar.

Las Reses  - This restaurant serves dinner only.

La Hacienda  - This restaurant specializes in Mexican cuisine and serves dinner only.

Via Veneto  - This restaurant specializes in Italian cuisine and serves dinner only.

Caracolas  - This restaurant specializes in seafood and serves dinner only.

Nearby Activities

Recreational amenities at the property include an outdoor pool and a fitness center.

The recreational activities listed below are available either on site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Golfing nearby
  • Surfing/boogie boarding on site
  • Fitness classes on site
  • Sailing on site
  • Basketball on site
  • Tennis lessons on site
  • Beach volleyball on site
  • Kayaking on site
  • Windsurfing on site
  • Parasailing on site
  • Yoga classes/instruction on site

Spa Services

  • Deep tissue massage
  • Massages on beach

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 03:00 PM

Check-out

  • Check-out by 12:00 PM

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.

Pets

  • Pets and service animals are not allowed at Occidental Punta Cana - All Inclusive Resort

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed. Please note that cultural norms and guest policies may differ by country and by property. The policies listed are provided by the property.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit or credit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

  • No pets or service animals allowed

Fees

 

The charges below are included in your overall room price:

  • New Year's Eve gala dinner fee
  • Christmas Eve gala dinner fee
  • Resort fee

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property, but they may vary based on length of stay or the room booked.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Fee for in-room wireless Internet: USD 12 per day (rates may vary)

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Occidental Grand Punta Cana
  • Occidental Grand Punta Cana All Inclusive
  • Occidental Punta Cana Grand
  • Punta Cana Grand Occidental
  • Occidental Grand Punta Cana All Inclusive Resort
  • Occidental Punta Cana All Inclusive Resort
  • Occidental All Inclusive Resort
  • Occidental Punta Cana
  • Occidental Punta Cana All Inclusive
  • Occidental All Inclusive
  • Occidental Inclusive Resort

You should know

  • The total price shown includes a resort fee.
  • For stays on 24 December, the total price shown includes a charge for a mandatory Christmas Eve gala dinner.
  • For stays on 31 December, the total price shown includes a charge for a mandatory New Year's Eve gala dinner.
  • Pets and service animals are not allowed on site.

Awards & Affiliations

Green / Sustainable Property
This property participates in Green Globe, a program that measures the property's impact on one or more of the following: environment, community, cultural-heritage, the local economy.