Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

"Upon entry into yhe room there was a mold smell. The bath tub was still dirty. You for sute get what you pay for. " More

By a verified traveler on Sat 28 Aug 2021

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

Enjoy the free WiFi at this Independence motel

In Independence

Stay at this Independence motel and you'll be within 2 miles (3 km) of Midwest Genealogy Center and 6 miles (10 km) of Arrowhead Stadium. National Frontier Trails Museum and Independence Square are also within 6 miles (10 km).

Free perks

This motel doesn't skimp on freebies - guests receive free on-the-go breakfast, free WiFi, and free self parking. Business travelers can take advantage of the business center. Enjoy the seasonal outdoor pool and conveniences like a 24-hour front desk and laundry facilities.

Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max
$59* Per night/room Oct 12 - Oct 13

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Standard Room, 1 King Bed

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Room, Accessible

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Suite, 1 King Bed, Hot Tub

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Super 8 by Wyndham Independence Kansas City ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.2 out of 5 3.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Super 8 by Wyndham Independence Kansas City

Everyone (9) Couples (2) Family (4)
1 out of 5
The halls stunk of stale smoke. We needed extra pillows to sleep but they didn’t have any. People smoked in the hallway. Cold water in sink was just a drip. Bathroom door was so warped it didn’t close. Air conditioning took a hour to cool the room and it was very loud. The coffee creamers were all dented and sticky and they had no wipes to clean your hands off.

Posted by on Aug 14, 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 15, 2022 by Manager

Hello Susan, I sincerely apologize for your experience; this is not the impression we want to leave our valued guests with. Thank you for bringing to our attention the smoke odor in your room, with your feedback we can deep clean and return the freshness of our accommodations. We are sorry there was not a solution during your stay, please bring this matter to our attention in real-time so we may address it promptly for you. We hope you will give us another chance to provide you with a superior experience the next time your travels bring you back to the area.

3 out of 5
Upon entry into yhe room there was a mold smell. The bath tub was still dirty. You for sute get what you pay for.

Posted by on Aug 28, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 30, 2021 by Manager

Thank you for sharing your experience, and I am deeply sorry for the inconveniences that you encountered during your stay. We are continuously improving upon our services and accommodations while addressing our policies and procedures for minimizing and attending to these situations. We appreciate the feedback and will use it to address our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.

4 out of 5
Older property but clean and good value for the price

Posted by on Aug 10, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 10, 2021 by Manager

Your feedback is very welcome as it helps us to continuously grow and evolve. Thank you for sharing your honest comments pertaining to our price and your insights regarding our property. Your voice is so important to us and we hope you'll return so that we may have the opportunity to provide you with a five star experience.

1 out of 5
I will never stay at this location again. I decided to stay an extra night because I drove 10 hours to see Garth. After I got back to the hotel, I asked the guy at the front desk to have housekeeping not knock on my door the next morning that I was sleeping in. I watched him write it on the paper. The next morning the maid WOKE ME UP! I told her I was staying another night. She had the audacity to tell me I needed to go pay. I was FURIOUS!! Got ready and left. Stopped by the front desk to let the person that checked me in for another night know what happened. She refunded half my stay for that night. She took up for the maid. SOMEONE needs to go in there and LITERALLY do some house cleaning. Who runs the hotel? Housekeeping or the fromt desk. I travel A LOT and have NEVER experienced this!!! Upper management needs to go in there ASAP

Posted by on Aug 9, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 20, 2021 by Manager

Thank you for sharing your experience, and I am deeply sorry for the inconveniences that you encountered during your stay. The fact that we have failed to meet your full expectations is disappointing and we are determined to work even harder towards ensuring that each guest enjoys a great experience. I hope you will find your expectations to be far surpassed if you ever return to the area, we would like to invite you back for another stay.

3 out of 5
the room was fairly clean, but hasn't been maintained very well. bathroom was very small. tub/shower was not in good shape. we were on the first floor but the first floor is partially underground, so the window is at foot level outside. curtains don't close completely, so people outside can easily see inside. not very private.

Posted by on Jun 9, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 10, 2021 by Manager

I am terribly sorry to hear of your disappointment with our hotel. It is disheartening to learn that you did not enjoy your stay and that the room was not properly and thoroughly cleaned and maintained according to the high standards of our housekeeping and maintenance staff. Thank you so much for taking the time to share and to give us the opportunity to address this error and make things right.

4 out of 5
It was great of The Parking lot side rooms are way too much light coming in to sleep at night the backside of the hotel is OK

Posted by on Jun 15, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 15, 2020 by Manager

Thank you for your valuable opinion regarding our parking. We appreciate you for sharing your feedback as we continue to improve conveniences of our hotel for all of our guests.

1 out of 5
The upstairs was so loud all night they did nothing when i called twice

Posted by , from Kc mo on Mar 14, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Mar 14, 2020 by Manager

Thank you so much for sharing your review and giving us an honest look at the guest experience in our hotel. Our primary goal is to provide all guests with an enjoyable experience and it is troubling to know that you faced such a usual experience. Please know that we do request that noisy guests quiet down in the evening hours to allow other guests to enjoy a peaceful night's sleep. We take this quite seriously and have shared your feedback with management so that appropriate steps can be taken. Thank you again for taking the time for sharing this experience and for your valuable business. Hope that you'll consider staying again with us

2 out of 5
After I paid for the room and posted a $100 deposit, I was informed that the motel did not have hot water due to a gas line repair in Progress. The desk clerk said it was to be finished in 4 or 5 houe rs. Come the morning, there was still no hot water. The main reason for the stay was to be refreshed after a hot and humid day. We made sure the room was clean as we left. When I informed the clerk that we had vacated the room, I was mad that the clerk did not offer a discounted rate for our room. Never again.

Posted by on Sep 13, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Sep 20, 2019 by Manager

Your comments are important to us as we continuously seek ways to improve upon the guest experience in our hotel. We thank you for the feedback regarding our rate and your comments about our room. I hope that we will impress you with exemplary service during future visits.

2 out of 5
No elevator, everything is up or down flights of stairs. We booked 2 queen beds. Both sagged. By the next morning, we all had bad backs and stiffness. The idea of a hotel is to get a nights rest to travel the next morning. When the beds are bad, the whole point of the hotel goes down the drain. We could have slept in the car and had the same results. Hotel building is old. Had to lean into the door to lock it. Bathroom door wouldn't close at all.

Posted by on Aug 22, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Sep 20, 2019 by Manager

We appreciate the comments, especially with regards to your opinion of our elevator. Your voice is very valuable to us and we hope you will return on your next travels.

5 out of 5
100 $ deposit don’t like at all not fair need to stop

Posted by on May 26, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?

About the Super 8 by Wyndham Independence Kansas City

Location 4032 S Lynn Court Dr, Independence, MO 64055

Property Features

A computer station is on site and WiFi is free in public spaces. You'll find a business center on site. Free breakfast is available daily. A seasonal outdoor pool, a vending machine, and coffee/tea in a common area are also featured at the business-friendly Super 8 by Wyndham Independence Kansas City. Self parking is free. This Independence motel is smoke free.

  • 1 building
  • 78 guestrooms or units
  • 3 levels
  • To-go breakfast (free)
  • Business facilities
  • Coffee in lobby
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Express check-in
  • Express check-out
  • Television in lobby
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Free WiFi
  • Laundry facilities
  • Refrigerator
  • Free cribs/infant beds

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking , Free RV, bus, truck parking

Transport

  • Train station: Independence Station (6.2 km / 3.8 mi)
  • Parking: Free self parking and RV/bus/truck parking

Room Amenities

Super 8 by Wyndham Independence Kansas City offers 78 accommodations with safes and coffee/tea makers. Televisions come with premium satellite channels. Bathrooms include shower/tub combinations, complimentary toiletries, and hair dryers. This Independence motel provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks along with free local calls (restrictions may apply). Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • Television
  • Satellite channels
  • Premium channels
  • Refrigerator
  • Coffee maker
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Cribs (free)
  • Rollaway beds (surcharge)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Local calls (free)
  • Hair dryer
  • Safe
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Connecting rooms available

Food & Drink

Guests are served free on-the-go breakfast daily from 6:00 AM to 9:00 AM.

Nearby Activities

Recreational amenities at the motel include a seasonal outdoor pool.

The recreational activities listed below are available either on site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Water skiing nearby
  • Jet skiing nearby
  • Golfing nearby
  • Sailing nearby

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.

  • Upper floors accessible by stairs only
  • Wheelchair accessible (may have limitations)
  • Wheelchair accessible path of travel
  • Accessible bathroom
  • Wheelchair accessible parking
  • In-room accessibility
  • Assistive listening devices available
  • Wheelchair-accessible van parking
  • Braille or raised signage
  • Wheelchair-accessible registration desk
  • Wheelchair-accessible pool
  • Wheelchair-accessible meeting spaces/business center

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3:00 PM
  • Check-in time ends at anytime
  • Minimum check-in age is: 21

Special check-in instructions:

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Children 17 years old and younger stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for USD 8.0 per day.
  • Free cribs (infant beds)!

Pet Policy

  • Pets: USD 10 per pet, per night, plus a one-time cleaning fee of USD 50
  • Maximum 2 per room (weight limit: 50 lbs)
  • Pets cannot be left unattended
  • Certain rooms only, restrictions apply
  • You can request a pet-friendly room by reaching out to the property at the number on the booking confirmation
  • Service animals are exempt from fees

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card, or cash deposit may be required at check-in for incidental charges

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges; special requests cannot be guaranteed

This property accepts credit cards

Be prepared: check the latest COVID-19 travel requirements and measures in place for this destination before you travel.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

This property is managed by a professional host. The provision of housing is linked to their trade, business, or profession. This property accepts Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Discover, and Diners Club. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place. Disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F. Personal protective equipment, including masks and gloves, will be available to guests. Social distancing measures are in place; staff at the property wear personal protective equipment; a shield is in place between staff and guests in main contact areas; periodic temperature checks are conducted on staff; temperature checks are available to guests; guests are provided with hand sanitizer; cashless payment methods are available for all transactions; contactless room service is available; masks are required in public areas for unvaccinated guests. Contactless check-out is available. Individually-wrapped food options are available for breakfast. This property affirms that it follows the cleaning and disinfection practices of Count on Us (Wyndham). This property affirms that it adheres to the cleaning and disinfection practices of Ecolab (3rd party expert - Global).

  • Service animals are allowed
  • Service animals are exempt from fees/restrictions
  • Cashless transactions are available
  • Staff temperature checks are conducted regularly
  • Temperature checks are available to guests
  • Bed sheets and towels are washed at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F
  • Contactless food service / room service is available
  • Pets cannot be left unattended
  • Commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Contactless check-out is available
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property follows sanitization practices of Ecolab (3rd party expert - Global)
  • Pets allowed in specific rooms only
  • Staff wears personal protective equipment
  • Protective clothing is available to guests
  • Masks are available to guests
  • Mobile key entry is not available
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • Gloves are available to guests
  • Shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitizer
  • Staffed front desk
  • Children stay free - maximum age 17
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Contactless check-in is not available
  • Property follows a brand or regulatory agency's sanitization guidelines Count on Us (Wyndham)
  • No elevators
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Individually-wrapped food options are available
  • Children stay free
  • Individually-wrapped food options are available for breakfast
  • Masks are compulsory at the property for guests without full COVID-19 vaccination
  • No gap period between guest stays

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Cash deposit: USD 100.00 per stay

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Pet fee: USD 10 per pet, per night plus USD 50 one-time cleaning fee
  • Service animals are exempt from fees
  • Rollaway bed fee: USD 8.0 per day

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Super 8 Independence Kansas City
  • Super 8 Kansas City Motel Independence
  • Super 8 Independence Kansas City Motel
  • Super 8 Wyndham Independence Kansas City Motel
  • Super 8 Wyndham Independence Kansas City
  • Super 8 Independence
  • Independence Super 8
  • Independence Super Eight
  • Super 8 Inpennce Kansas City
  • Super 8 by Wyndham Independence Kansas City Motel
  • Super 8 by Wyndham Independence Kansas City Independence
  • Super 8 by Wyndham Independence Kansas City Motel Independence

You should know

  • The seasonal pool will open in May and close in August.
  • Children 17 years old and younger stay free in the same room as the parent or guardian when using existing bedding.
  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.
  • Pets are welcome in certain rooms only; other restrictions apply (please see the Fees section for related charges). To make arrangements for your pet, contact the property directly at the number on your booking confirmation.
url importing http://www.travelocity.com/Kansas-City-Hotels-Super-8-by-Wyndham-Independence-Kansas-City.h459612-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Kansas-City-Hotels-Super-8-by-Wyndham-Independence-Kansas-City.h459612-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.travelocity.com/Kansas-City-Hotels-Super-8-by-Wyndham-Independence-Kansas-City.h459612-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&

Frequently Asked Questions

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.