Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

"Small bathroom and no fridge, but overall a decent place to stay. " More

By a verified traveler on Sun 27 Oct 2019

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

Hotel near North Shore Scenic Railroad in Duluth

Heart of Duluth

A stay at this Downtown Duluth hotel places you within half a mile (1 km) of North Shore Scenic Railroad and 2 miles (3 km) of Duluth Entertainment Convention Center. Bayfront Festival Park and Aerial Lift Bridge are also within 2 miles (3 km).

Business services

This hotel doesn't skimp on freebies - guests receive free WiFi and free self parking. Business travelers can take advantage of the business center. Express check-out, laundry facilities, and free newspapers are also on offer.

Free WiFi, flat-screen TVs

The 45 guestrooms have flat-screen TVs with cable channels and offer free WiFi and coffee/tea makers. Free local calls, hair dryers, and ironing boards are also available.

Standard Room, 1 King Bed

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Standard Room, 2 Double Beds

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Standard Room, 1 Double Bed

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

The Downtown Duluth Inn ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.1 out of 5 3.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 3.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for The Downtown Duluth Inn

Everyone (24) Business (1) Couples (8) Family (4)
1 out of 5
Upon check in we learned that TRAVELOCITY is FALSELY ADVERTISING rooms that this hotel does not have. I booked this rooms 6 weeks prior and instead i got there and they told me they dont have a king bed room, only rooms with 2 double beds. Then we found out that the hotel is CLOSED sunday-thursday when I booked it friday to tuesday. They kept us locked out of the building with no access to our room and we had to be let in by staff each time we came back to thw hotel- one time waiting up yo an HOUR in the DARK at 9pm before we got let in. They gave us no discount on the room change and service was not good. I am so disappointed that Travelocity misrepresented this hotel or I would have never booked there, and being a small crappy hotel anyways they wouldnt do ANYTHING to make the situation better. The only thing that was remotely okay were 2 staffers at the hotel who were nice and friendly. Some engagement weekend. Fix it, Travelocity.

Posted by on Oct 2, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Nov 8, 2020 by Ken

I am sorry we were not able to provide you with a great experience during your stay. I would like to offer my sincere apologies. We have since fixed the issue with the doors being locked to guests. We will continue to work hard to fix the issues you experienced.

2 out of 5
rate stayed the same,moved to different hotel due to fact downtown is not open on Sundays,ypou should have known that.If not for cellphone call on the way there would not have known till we got there.

Posted by on Sep 14, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
1 out of 5
First thing we found was the tv remote didn’t work, tried calling and no answer. Called again later no answer. I walked to the front desk and nobody was there? Then I got into bed and I felt like I was at someone’s old cabin up north. Not just a sagging bed but it was like 6” difference from the sides to the middle of the bed. I didn’t sleep more than an hour that night!

Posted by on Feb 3, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5
Small bathroom and no fridge, but overall a decent place to stay.

Posted by on Oct 27, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Oct 31, 2019 by Christina

We would like to say thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.

3 out of 5
The room was clean enough, although there were still some clothes and food left in the drawers/fridge from a previous guest? The wifi was very weak, as was the heat, but otherwise I had no problems and the staff was very accommodating to our super early check in.

Posted by on Oct 15, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Oct 17, 2019 by cl

We really appreciate your taking the time to share your disappointment with your recent stay.  I want to personally apologize that the room and WiFi did not meet your expectations.

2 out of 5
On arrival the computer was down, couldn’t check in or cancel. Clerk told me that even if I cancelled I was going to be charged a cancellation fee. Hope not.

Posted by on Sep 26, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5
cheap, comfortable motel that was in downtown which was convenient.

Posted by on Sep 9, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Sep 26, 2019 by clindgren

Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!

1 out of 5
Half of the lamps didn’t work; poor lighting; small shower stall; could hear conversations from other rooms; noisy parking lot-seems people party all night!!; weeds growing in entry; bad pillows

Posted by on Aug 26, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Sep 26, 2019 by clindgren

We are so sorry you were not happy with your stay with us. We did check into the issues you experienced and the lamps are controlled by a switch on the wall. So sorry this was not taken care of while you were staying with us. As for the noise we are sorry you did not get the rest that you needed. Vacations are for rest and we are sorry you didn't get this.

3 out of 5
Service and staff helpful Good location to bayharbor

Posted by on Aug 17, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Sep 26, 2019 by clindgren

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are sorry you were not happy with your stay and we will look into the issues you experienced.

1 out of 5
Filthy smelly disgusting. Stained smelly mattress.

Posted by on Aug 2, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Sep 26, 2019 by cl

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are sorry you were not happy with your stay and we will look into the issues you experienced.

About the The Downtown Duluth Inn

Location 131 W 2nd St, Duluth, MN 55802

Property Features

WiFi is free in public spaces. You'll find a business center on site. The business-friendly The Downtown Duluth Inn also features complimentary newspapers in the lobby, laundry facilities, and express check-out. Self parking is free. This Duluth hotel is smoke free.

  • 45 guestrooms or units
  • 2 levels
  • Business facilities
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Express check-out
  • Front-desk safe
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Free WiFi
  • Laundry facilities

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi , High-speed internet access

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi , Internet access in public areas - high speed

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

The Downtown Duluth Inn offers 45 air-conditioned accommodations with coffee/tea makers and hair dryers. Flat-screen televisions come with cable channels. Rooms have partially open bathrooms. Bathrooms include shower/tub combinations. Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and phones; free local calls are provided (restrictions may apply). Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • Bathrooms are partially open
  • Flat-screen television
  • Cable channels
  • Coffee maker
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Local calls (free)
  • Hair dryer
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Air conditioning

Nearby Activities

The recreational activities listed below are available either on site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Downhill skiing nearby
  • Cross-country skiing nearby

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.

  • Wheelchair accessible path of travel
  • Accessible bathroom
  • Wheelchair accessible parking
  • In-room accessibility
  • Wheelchair-accessible van parking
  • Wheelchair accessible (may have limitations)

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 2:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18

Special check-in instructions:

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card may be required at check-in for incidental charges

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges; special requests cannot be guaranteed

This property accepts credit cards; cash is not accepted

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A credit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

This property is managed by a professional host. The provision of housing is linked to their trade, business, or profession. This property accepts Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Discover, Diners Club, JCB International, and Carte Blanche. Cash is not accepted. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place. Disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F. Social distancing measures are in place; staff at the property wear personal protective equipment; a shield is in place between staff and guests in main contact areas; guests are provided with hand sanitizer. Contactless check-in and contactless check-out are available. This property affirms that it adheres to the cleaning and disinfection practices of SafeStay (AHLA - USA).

  • Bed sheets and towels are washed at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F
  • Commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Contactless check-out is available
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Staff wears personal protective equipment
  • Property follows sanitization practices of SafeStay (AHLA - USA)
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • Shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitizer
  • Staffed front desk
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Contactless check-in is available
  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No cribs (infant beds) available
  • No elevators
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Individually-wrapped food options are not available

Hotel Names

  • Best Western Downtown
  • Best Western Downtown Duluth
  • The Downtown Duluth Inn Hotel
  • Best Western Downtown Motel Duluth
  • Downtown Duluth Motel
  • Best Western Downtown Hotel Duluth
  • The Downtown Duluth Inn Duluth
  • The Downtown Duluth Inn Hotel Duluth
url importing http://www.travelocity.com/Duluth-Hotels-The-Downtown-Duluth-Inn.h23290-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Duluth-Hotels-The-Downtown-Duluth-Inn.h23290-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.travelocity.com/Duluth-Hotels-The-Downtown-Duluth-Inn.h23290-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&

Frequently Asked Questions

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.