Ratings based on 3,466 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
1 out of 5
by A traveler

The staff couldn't have been more unhelpful.

Posted Dec 21, 2015
We ran into a problem a week before we arrived (totally out of our control)...the staff was unwilling to be helpful or flexible in resolving the issue. I will never book a hotel room there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Love Chicago Hotel, Downtown

Posted Dec 5, 2015
we had a very short stay 4 nights but we would have loved to stay longer. the bed very comfortable and the location is perfect.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A traveler

Nice hotel in great location

Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Hotels
Really liked the staff at this hotel and the room (and overall) décor. The weirdest thing to me was that for two queen (or smaller) beds, there was only one reading lamp. I've never seen that before. Normally, you'd get four lamps for a potential four people. Lighting is one of my top priorities in a hotel room. Also, they had to bring a fridge to our room for our leftovers. I got a special rate, so I guess they gave me a "special" deal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2016 by Hotel Chicago, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate all your feedback and will take your lamp suggestion under careful consideration. We couldn’t agree with you more when it comes to lighting in a room. Please know that receiving a special rate does not at all affect room selection or quality of service. We are looking forward to some exciting improvements in the near future, and we hope you come back to The Hotel Chicago to enjoy them!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2016 by Hotel Chicago, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and with your fellow travelers. We appreciate all your feedback and will take your lamp suggestion under careful consideration. We couldn’t agree with you more when it comes to lighting in a room. We are looking forward to some exciting improvements, and we hope you come back to The Hotel Chicago to enjoy them!
3 out of 5
by A traveler

Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Expedia
Hotel is slightly overrated but was not extremely disappointing like staying at a Days Inn besides from being downgraded to double queen from booking King room at check-in, the view was average at best - no river view nor Lake Michigan so would definitely come back to the City and give another hotel a chance to impress the customer!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2015 by The Hotel Chicago , Hotel Management
We are so sorry to hear that you were not fully satisfied with your overall stay with us at the Hotel Chicago, and we would like to apologize for not fully exceeding your expectations. It is truly disappointing to know that we failed to impress you and that you were not provided with the room you had requested. Please know that your feedback has been shared with our management team for their review. We make it our top priority to provide our guests with an outstanding and memorable experience, and we would love another chance to succeed in providing this for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Milwaukee WI

Right near just about everywhere

Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: Location, and the upscale boutique flavor.
Location: One block north of the Chicago River, right behind the Marina City building (the "corncobs"). Good restaurants are with five blocks any direction.
I booked this hotel because it was immediately north of the Loop, and steps away from many restaurants. The lobby décor is pleasantly upscale, and the rooms are of good size. I really enjoyed the plush bed, and the large-screen TV was a great amenity. There's even a reasonably-priced convenience store accessible from the hotel in Marina City next door: 2-liter of pop for half the cost of a can of pop from the mini-bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Expedia
Wonderful location, great stay. Elevators and hallways need remodeling other than that it was wonderful. Will definitely come back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Dekalb, IL

Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Expedia
Cons: Check the window shades for stains.
Location: Plenty of stuff near by. Right next to the House of Blues and a nice walk to the Mag Mile.
Hotel was very nice. The bed was very soft, almost too soft for us. But you can't make every back happy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Much better than the old SAX hotel

Posted Nov 7, 2015 on Expedia
When I choose a hotel for business I'm looking for convenient location, good eats in walking distance, a good bed and a great shower. This hotel checks all those boxes and I can recommend this hotel to anyone.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jose from PANAMA

ESTADIA EN EL CHCAGO DOWNTOWN HOTEL

Posted Nov 6, 2015 on Hotels
ATENCION EXELENTE. EL HOTEL SE NOTA QUE ES VIEJO. LAS HABITACIONES NADA ESPECIAL, SOLO PARA DORMIR.... SI REGRESO A CHICAGO BUSCARIA OTRAS OPCIONES.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2016 by Hotel Chicago, Hotel Management
Aunque estamos decepcionados al saber que nuestra habitación no estaba a sus normas o la nuestra, estamos agradecidos de que hemos sido capaces de hacer algunos otros aspectos de su estancia agradable. Gracias de nuevo por su colaboración y esperamos que considerar su estancia con nosotros.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Maren Berge

Perfekt beliggenhet og et helt herlig hotell

Posted Nov 5, 2015 on Hotels
Beliggenheten er helt perfekt, superhyggelig personale, store og rene rom og bad, stilig interiør, rolig som om man skulle bo på landet. Svært dyr mat på roomservice hvis man skulle ønske å benytte seg av det. Dyr WiFi, men gratis i lobbyen. Hyggelig og livlig bar i lobbyen men god service!