Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Enter dates to see availability

"Great central location. Friendly staff. Rooms were neat and well attended. " More

By a verified traveler on Sat 22 Feb 2020

Hotel Description

Hotel near College of Charleston in Charleston

Heart of Charleston

A stay at this Downtown Charleston hotel places you within half a mile (1 km) of Medical University of South Carolina and 2 miles (3 km) of College of Charleston. Charleston City Market and Charleston Music Hall are also within 2 miles (3 km).

Free breakfast

This hotel features a fitness center and a seasonal outdoor pool. Guests will appreciate free perks like buffet breakfast and WiFi in public areas. Valet parking, a business center, and express check-in are also offered.

Free WiFi, refrigerators

Featuring conveniences like refrigerators and microwaves, the 129 guestrooms also offer free WiFi and flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Other amenities include coffee/tea makers, free long-distance calls, and free local calls.

Room, 1 Queen Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
$93* Per night/room Mar 1 - Mar 2

Standard Room, 2 Double Beds, Non Smoking

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Standard Room, Multiple Beds, Non Smoking

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 6 Max

Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.6 out of 5 3.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston

Everyone (16) Couples (5) Family (3)
4 out of 5
Great central location. Friendly staff. Rooms were neat and well attended.

Posted by , from Gastonia, NC on Feb 22, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
Location is great....close to downtown. Our room had one significant issue (heat wasn't working on a VERY cold night). Went down and talked to the clerk who IMMEDIATELY moved us to another room (with working heat!). The rooms have been updated and are quite comfortable. Parking is by valet only and there is a charge for parking which is a little disappointing. Breakfast buffet has everything you expect from a buffet. I will return to this hotel anytime I need a place in Charleston.

Posted by , from Myrtle Beach on Dec 6, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Dec 6, 2019 by Holly W

Greetings Deb, We want to thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay here at our hotel. We have read your review,you have made us very proud of our staff for making sure that they handle your room issue in a timely manner. We want our guest to come and visit us and be able to enjoy their accommodations and amenities we provide them. On behalf of our entire staff we want to apologize for the issues you had with your room and parking. When we decided to get help with our parking service we had our guest best interest at heart. We want you to know that we value your feedback and want to thank you for an awesome score of 5!! We will make sure that we continue to strive to create the ultimate guest experience for our future guest and you. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. kind regards, Holly Wright Guest Service Manager

5 out of 5

Posted by on Nov 8, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Nov 10, 2019 by Holly W

Greetings, We want to thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay here at our hotel. We want you to know that we have received your excellent score of all 5s!! We want you to know that we value your feedback. We will make sure that we keep the momentum going in making sure that our guest scores and reviews remain our top priority!! We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Holly Wright Guest Service Manager

2 out of 5
Did not know that we had to valet the car in the parking lot and one of the valet people was quite rude to us and some employees were kind of creepy to us as well.

Posted by on Oct 15, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Oct 18, 2019 by Holly W

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Sincerely, Holly Wright Guest Service Manager

3 out of 5
Need to let people know they are in the "medical district" not close to sights, need to drive everywhere.

Posted by on Oct 9, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Oct 9, 2019 by s

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

4 out of 5
Staff was very helpful during check in. Very clean and comfortable.

Posted by on Aug 17, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 19, 2019 by Holly W

Greetings, We want to thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay here with us. We want you to know that we have read your review and are so delighted to read that you enjoyed your accommodations and amenities we provide our guest. We are so proud of our staff for making sure that you were provided friendly and helpful service. We want our guest to feel at home while staying here with us. We want you to know that we value your feedback and want to thank you for an awesome score of 4!! We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!! Kind regards, Holly Wright Guest Service Manager

2 out of 5
The conditions of this hotel was terrible. Our first room smell horribly, a combination of mold and sewage , we notify the front desk and they gave us another room same floor but at the end of the hallway, once inside our room the smell was not that much better, every time you open the room door to the hallway the smell of mold and sewage was overwhelming. The staff was very friendly and accommodating but the condition of this hotel was unacceptable for the price we paid.

Posted by on Aug 5, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 5, 2019 by Holly W.

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Sincerely, Halakia Wright Guest Service Manager

2 out of 5
Its dirty and old. The pictures looks like a nee facility. It is old and dirty. Rugs in rooms are not clean. Bathroom had some mold. Rundown facilty. The price lowered is a lye. How can travalocity fall for thst. Shame on you !

Posted by on Jul 23, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 25, 2019 by Holly W

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Sincerely, Holly Wright Guest Service Manager

3 out of 5
The outlet in the bathroom would not hold in the electrical plug from hair appliances. There is no exhaust fan in the bathroom which probably contributed to the musty smell. The A.C. never cooled down...at 68 degrees it didn’t work and was hot in the room.

Posted by on Jul 9, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 9, 2019 by Holly W

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Sincerely, Halakia Wright Guest Service Manager

4 out of 5
it was very near the hospital, which unfortunately was the destination at that time, the parking was horrible

Posted by on May 5, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

May 8, 2019 by Holly W

Greetings, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Sincerely, Halakia Wright Guest Service Manager

About the Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston

Location 144 Bee St, Charleston, SC 29401-5701

Property Features

Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston offers its guests a fitness center and a seasonal outdoor pool. A computer station is on site and WiFi is free in public spaces. You'll find a business center on site. Free breakfast is served. Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston also features tour/ticket assistance, coffee/tea in a common area, and concierge services. Limited parking is available for a fee and is offered on a first-come, first-served basis. This Charleston hotel is smoke free.

  • 129 guestrooms or units
  • 7 levels
  • Buffet breakfast (free)
  • Business facilities
  • Coffee in lobby
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Express check-in
  • Express check-out
  • Front-desk safe
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • Television in lobby
  • Elevator
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Free WiFi
  • Laundry facilities
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Valet parking (surcharge) , Parking (limited spaces)

Transport

  • Airport: Charleston, SC (CHS-Charleston Intl.) (20 km / 12.4 mi)
  • Parking: Valet parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston offers 129 air-conditioned accommodations with coffee/tea makers and hair dryers. Flat-screen televisions come with premium cable channels. Refrigerators and microwaves are provided. Bathrooms include shower/tub combinations and complimentary toiletries. Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include phones; local and long-distance calls are complimentary (restrictions may apply). Additionally, rooms include irons/ironing boards and blackout drapes/curtains. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • Flat-screen television
  • Cable channels
  • Premium channels
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Coffee maker
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Rollaway beds (surcharge)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Long distance calls (free)
  • Local calls (free)
  • Hair dryer
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Blackout drapes
  • Climate control (heating)
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Connecting rooms available

Food & Drink

Guests are served free buffet breakfast.

Nearby Activities

Recreational amenities at the hotel include a fitness center and a seasonal outdoor pool.

  • Golfing nearby
  • Health or beauty spa nearby

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please note them in the special requests field on the booking page after selecting your room.

  • Wheelchair accessible path of travel
  • Accessible bathroom
  • Wheelchair accessible parking
  • In-room accessibility

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Minimum check-in age is: 21

Special check-in instructions:

To make arrangements for check-in please contact the property at least 24 hours before arrival using the information on the booking confirmation.

To arrange for check-in, guests must contact the property at least 24 hours prior to arrival using the information on the booking confirmation.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Children stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for USD 10.0 per night.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.

Pets

  • No pets allowed, but service animals are welcome

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card, or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed. Only bookings from non-local guests are accepted. Guests whose residence is within 50 mi (80 km) of the property will not be allowed to check in. Safety features at this property include a smoke detector. Please note that cultural norms and guest policies may differ by country and by property. The policies listed are provided by the property.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. Only bookings from non-local guests are accepted. Guests whose residence is within 50 mi (80 km) of the property will not be allowed to check in. For guests' safety, the property includes a smoke detector in each accommodation.

  • Only service animals are allowed
  • Service animals are exempt from fees/restrictions
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • No cribs (infant beds) available
  • 24-hour check-in

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Resort fee: USD 2.00 per accommodation, per night

The resort fee includes:

  • Breakfast
  • Pool access
  • Fitness center access
  • Nearby fitness center access
  • Business center/computer access
  • Internet access
  • Newspaper
  • In-room coffee
  • Valet parking
  • Housekeeping
  • WiFi access (may be limited)

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property, but they may vary based on length of stay or the room booked.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Valet parking fee: USD 10.00 per night
  • Rollaway bed fee: USD 10.0 per night

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Charleston Comfort Inn
  • Comfort Inn Charleston
  • Comfort Inn Hotel Charleston
  • Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston Hotel
  • Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston
  • Comfort Inn Charleston Hotel Charleston
  • Comfort Inn Charleston Sc
  • Comfort Charleston Charleston
  • Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston Hotel
  • Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston Charleston
  • Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston Hotel Charleston

You should know

  • The seasonal pool will open in June and close in August.
  • Registered guests are the only ones allowed to be in guestrooms.
  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.
url importing https://www.travelocity.com/Charleston-Hotels-Comfort-Inn-Downtown-Charleston.h24922-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.