Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

"Staff was very friendly And great location to downtown " More

By a verified traveler on Sat 02 Apr 2022

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

Hotel near College of Charleston in Charleston

Heart of Charleston

With a stay at this Downtown Charleston hotel, you'll be well placed to visit Medical University of South Carolina and Charleston City Marina, both within half a mile (1 km). College of Charleston and Charleston City Market are also within 2 miles (3 km).

Free breakfast

This hotel features a gym and a seasonal outdoor pool. Traveling on business? Take advantage of the business center and free WiFi in public areas. Enjoy the free continental breakfast each morning.

Free WiFi, refrigerators

Featuring conveniences like refrigerators and microwaves, the 129 guestrooms also offer free WiFi and flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Other amenities include coffee/tea makers, free long-distance calls, and free local calls.

Standard Room, 2 Double Beds, Non Smoking

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max
$150* Per night/room Jun 14 - Jun 15

Room, 1 Queen Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Standard Room, Multiple Beds, Non Smoking

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 6 Max

Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.9 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston

Everyone (11) Couples (8) Family (5)
5 out of 5
Too many pillows.

Posted by on Apr 4, 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Apr 7, 2022 by JohnnieB'

Please come stay agin. Please, let the Front Desk know ar time of Reservation to remove some of the Pillows. We can place them on your closet shelf, in case they are needed during the stay. Thank you Chris!!

5 out of 5
Staff was very friendly And great location to downtown

Posted by , from Westland on Apr 2, 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Apr 7, 2022 by JohnnieB'

Thank you for being with us Pamela. We hope you will come stay again soon.

5 out of 5
Close to MUSC where scheduled for treatment. Entrance difficult to find but hotel quiet and comfortable. Lack of restaurant facilities difficult since there are few restaurants in area.

Posted by on Nov 20, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Nov 22, 2021 by JohnnieB'

Our apologies for your difficulty finding our Hotel Entrance. We hope your Treatment went well and you give us another opportunity upon your return, Thank You!!

5 out of 5
a bit congested area.

Posted by on Nov 13, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Nov 15, 2021 by JohnnieB'

I'm sorry you felt Crowded. Please give us another opportunity, to make it Right!!

4 out of 5

Posted by on Sep 23, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5
I like the easy access to the beach unfortunately my room view was to a construction of a pier which I was advised in advance. However didn’t take all the ocean view away. Staff was great and rooms were well kept and up to date. I will recommend this hotel.

Posted by on Jul 28, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
3 out of 5
Facility was nice. Pool refreshing. Literally right next to the medical campus. Convenient to several bus lines which allowed me to go without a car to visit downtown. Stayed 10 days. They just started serving a full breakfast again when I was leaving. Only challenge was getting my room serviced which was frustrating at times.

Posted by on Jun 22, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 21, 2021 by GSM

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I’m sorry to hear you had a frustrating experience, but I really appreciate you bringing this issue to my attention. We apologize for the lack of service. The housekeeping has recently changed in order to provided limited services daily to all guests. I hope on your next trip to Charleston, you will give us an opportunity to better serve you. Sincerely, Imani Brown Guest Service Manager

4 out of 5
Nice place

Posted by on Jun 13, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 21, 2021 by GSM

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am very pleased to hear that your stay was pleasant. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely, Imani Brown Guest Service Manager

4 out of 5
Great central location. Friendly staff. Rooms were neat and well attended.

Posted by , from Gastonia, NC on Feb 22, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Feb 24, 2020 by Holly W

Greetings JP, We want to thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay here at our hotel. We have received your amazing score of 4 and we want to thank you!! We want you to know that we value your feedback. Your review brought us great joy knowing our central location was great for your stay. We will make sure that we continue to make our guest needs and expectations our top priority!! We look forward to seeing you soon. Kind regards, Holly Wright Guest Service Manager

5 out of 5
Location is great....close to downtown. Our room had one significant issue (heat wasn't working on a VERY cold night). Went down and talked to the clerk who IMMEDIATELY moved us to another room (with working heat!). The rooms have been updated and are quite comfortable. Parking is by valet only and there is a charge for parking which is a little disappointing. Breakfast buffet has everything you expect from a buffet. I will return to this hotel anytime I need a place in Charleston.

Posted by , from Myrtle Beach on Dec 6, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Dec 6, 2019 by Holly W

Greetings Deb, We want to thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay here at our hotel. We have read your review,you have made us very proud of our staff for making sure that they handle your room issue in a timely manner. We want our guest to come and visit us and be able to enjoy their accommodations and amenities we provide them. On behalf of our entire staff we want to apologize for the issues you had with your room and parking. When we decided to get help with our parking service we had our guest best interest at heart. We want you to know that we value your feedback and want to thank you for an awesome score of 5!! We will make sure that we continue to strive to create the ultimate guest experience for our future guest and you. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. kind regards, Holly Wright Guest Service Manager

About the Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston

Location 144 Bee St, Charleston, SC 29401-5701

Renovations + Closures

Due to COVID-19, this property’s food and beverage options may be limited.

Property Features

Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston offers its guests a fitness center and a seasonal outdoor pool. A computer station is on site and WiFi is free in public spaces. You'll find a business center on site. Free breakfast is served daily. A terrace, tour/ticket assistance, and coffee/tea in a common area are also featured at the business-friendly Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston. This Charleston hotel is smoke free.

  • 129 guestrooms or units
  • 7 levels
  • Continental breakfast (free)
  • Business facilities
  • Coffee in lobby
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Express check-in
  • Express check-out
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front-desk safe
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Terrace
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • Television in lobby
  • Elevator
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Free WiFi
  • Laundry facilities
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Parking (limited spaces)

Room Amenities

Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston offers 129 air-conditioned accommodations with coffee/tea makers and hair dryers. Flat-screen televisions come with premium cable channels. Refrigerators and microwaves are provided. Bathrooms include shower/tub combinations and complimentary toiletries. This Charleston hotel provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and phones; local and long-distance calls are complimentary (restrictions may apply). Additionally, rooms include irons/ironing boards and blackout drapes/curtains. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • Flat-screen television
  • Cable channels
  • Premium channels
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Coffee maker
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Rollaway beds (surcharge)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Long distance calls (free)
  • Local calls (free)
  • Hair dryer
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes
  • Climate control (heating)
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Connecting rooms available
  • Wheelchair accessible

Food & Drink

Guests are served free continental breakfast daily.

Nearby Activities

Recreational amenities at the hotel include a fitness center and a seasonal outdoor pool.

  • Golfing nearby
  • Health or beauty spa nearby

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.

  • Wheelchair accessible path of travel
  • Accessible bathroom
  • Wheelchair accessible parking
  • In-room accessibility

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3:00 PM
  • Check-in time ends at midnight
  • Minimum check-in age is: 21

Special check-in instructions:

To make arrangements for check-in please contact the property at least 24 hours before arrival using the information on the booking confirmation. Guests must contact the property in advance for check-in instructions. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

To arrange for check-in, guests must contact the property at least 24 hours prior to arrival using the information on the booking confirmation. Guests must contact the property in advance for check-in information. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Children stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for USD 10.0 per night.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed, but service animals are welcome

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card, or cash deposit may be required at check-in for incidental charges

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges; special requests cannot be guaranteed

This property accepts credit cards; cash is not accepted

Only bookings from non-local guests are accepted; guests whose residence is within 50 mi (80 km) of the property will not be allowed to check in

Safety features at this property include a carbon monoxide detector and a smoke detector

Please note that cultural norms and guest policies may differ by country and by property; the policies listed are provided by the property

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

This property is managed by a professional host. The provision of housing is linked to their trade, business, or profession. This property accepts Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Discover, Diners Club, and Carte Blanche. Cash is not accepted. Only bookings from non-local guests are accepted. Guests whose residence is within 50 mi (80 km) of the property will not be allowed to check in. For guests' safety, the property includes a carbon monoxide detector and a smoke detector in each accommodation. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place. Disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F. Personal protective equipment, including masks and gloves, will be available to guests. Social distancing measures are in place; staff at the property wear personal protective equipment; a shield is in place between staff and guests in main contact areas; periodic temperature checks are conducted on staff; temperature checks are available to guests; guests are provided with hand sanitizer; masks are required in public areas. Contactless check-out is available. Individually-wrapped food options are available for breakfast. Each guestroom is kept vacant for a minimum of 24 hours between bookings. This property affirms that it follows the cleaning and disinfection practices of Commitment to Clean (Choice).

  • Service animals are allowed
  • Service animals are exempt from fees/restrictions
  • Staff temperature checks are conducted regularly
  • Masks are compulsory at the property
  • Temperature checks are available to guests
  • Bed sheets and towels are washed at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F
  • Commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Contactless check-out is available
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Staff wears personal protective equipment
  • Protective clothing is available to guests
  • Masks are available to guests
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • Gloves are available to guests
  • Shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitizer
  • Property does not follow sanitization practices of any association
  • Staffed front desk
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • No cribs (infant beds) available
  • Property follows a brand or regulatory agency's sanitization guidelines Commitment to Clean (Choice)
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Individually-wrapped food options are available
  • Individually-wrapped food options are available for breakfast
  • Gap period enforced between guest stays - 24 hours

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Destination fee: USD 2.00 per accommodation, per night
  • Resort fee: USD 15 per accommodation, per stay

The resort fee includes:

  • Shuttle service
  • Concierge service
  • Parking
  • Laundry facilities
  • Housekeeping
  • Additional inclusions

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Rollaway bed fee: USD 10.0 per night

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Charleston Comfort Inn
  • Comfort Inn Charleston
  • Comfort Inn Hotel Charleston
  • Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston Hotel
  • Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston
  • Comfort Inn Charleston Hotel Charleston
  • Comfort Inn Charleston Sc
  • Comfort Charleston Charleston
  • Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston Hotel
  • Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston Charleston
  • Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston Hotel Charleston

You should know

  • The seasonal pool will open in June and close in August.
  • Registered guests are the only ones allowed to be in guestrooms.
  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.
url importing http://www.travelocity.com/Charleston-Hotels-Comfort-Inn-Downtown-Charleston.h24922-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Charleston-Hotels-Comfort-Inn-Downtown-Charleston.h24922-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.travelocity.com/Charleston-Hotels-Comfort-Inn-Downtown-Charleston.h24922-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&

Frequently Asked Questions

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.