Ratings based on 1,640 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Cecile from Pennsylvania

Fabulously Fun Weekend

Posted Nov 5, 2015 on Hotels
Wonderful weekend stay. Lovely clean room with a very comfortable bed. All the staff, friendly & helpful. Enjoyed being in a historic hotel a few minutes walk to Union Station, tour buses & museums. Good food & fun at the Irish Pub in the hotel. Attended a marvelous production of Unexplored Interior by Jay O. Sanders at the Atlas Performing Arts Center on H st. NE. The museums & memorials breathtaking. Washington DC is great city to visit & the Phoenix Park Hotel made for a perfect weekend away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Thomas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 4, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Danielle from Charlotte

Great location, good value for the price

Posted Nov 3, 2015 on Hotels
Overall the stay was good. The hotel staff was very friendly. The location is excellent- right near Union Station so easy access to transportation and restaurants, also walking distance to a lot of great tourist spots. The room was noisy though. I heard sounds all night like someone was doing laundry and/or running a lot of water. Additionally, the sounds from outside easily reached even the top floors of the hotel. The room was mostly clean, however, someone had stuffed pretzels inside one of the chairs and housekeeping did not clean it out, even after I called to make a specific request. Overall, it was a good value for the price, but realize that this is an old hotel and not for those looking for the clean, sleek appearance and modern amenities that one would find in a new hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Washington DC

Clean, quaint and cozy Room

Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Expedia
Our overall stay was very enjoyable. I give this hotel overall rating 4.5 star. The staff were very warm and accommodating. The room was very clean and charming with a twist of a modern touch. The bathroom was small but also clean. The hotel restaurant was clean and fresh with friendly service and great food. We especially love the fact that location is walking distance from the 30th street union train station. Which was very accommodating for us as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from York, PA

Close to Everything/Great Irish Vibe

Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: The overall Irishness of the hotel look was cool. We enjoyed the look of the hotel.
Cons: Parking. Even just giving guests a discount for using the parking garage would be better than nothing.
Location: The location is very convenient to the capital building, monuments, and all of the National museums.
We loved staying in a hotel that was so close to everything. The Irish vibe was lovely. The room was a lot smaller than what we expected and the bathroom wall had some damage caused by water. The staff was very nice. However, it would have been nice to know ahead of time that the parking situation was not ideal. There is no parking area designated for the hotel, you have to park in a garage around the corner that is owned by some other building. Otherwise you have to pay an outrageous amount to have valet parking from the hotel. It would be nice to at least get a discounted price for the garage since we were staying in the hotel. The Dubliner was a great pub connected to the hotel. We loved the food and the fact that there was live music every night was awesome. The price per night was a little high for the room size but the overall vacation was a success and I would definitely stay in DC again.
1 out of 5
by A traveler from new york city

Worst place I have ever stayed!!

Posted Oct 26, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: NOTHING!
Cons: Every thing!
Location: The location is good because it is near, Union Station, wish is where the tour buses are.
I was given a room the size of a bathroom. Fortunately,upon my request they changed the room for a larger one. However, in one of the corners of this room there was a piece trash that remained there during my stay! Wish told me the room wasn't being cleaned. Also, there was only one elevator runing, as a result, there was a 10 to 5 min. wait. Breakfast was a nightmare and very expenive, I have never felt so ripped off! STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

A wonderful experience

Posted Oct 22, 2015 on Expedia
Location: It is just down from the Capital and all the things in the Mall are walking distance.
I do not think this is a 3.5 star stay, I think it is a 5+ star stay. It is more than wonderful. The location cannot be beat; the room was comfortable and lovely. I cannot say enough for the bed. The hotels that advertise their comfortable bed should take lessons. The bed was so great that I was awake for 30 min. and did not want to move because I can't remember the last time I felt so cozy and rested. The hotel restaurant is and always has been delicious and fun. There is a waiter named Joseph who added a great deal to an already marvelous experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from az

Nice hotel, walking distance to the capitol.

Posted Oct 19, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: Great location
Cons: Rooms are small but comfortable. Staff was generally pleasant, but a couple were surly.
Location: Lots of restaurants and shopping at Union station 1 block away. Easy walk to the Capitol.
Very close to the capitol and to Union Station. Easy walking distance to monuments and capitol, and the amazing Smithsonian museums. Great restaurants nearby. Bike rentals available for $8/day outside of the hotel.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Patrick from Mountainside, NJ

Not worth the money they charge!

Posted Oct 17, 2015 on Hotels
Disappointed. Although it is a great location because it's close to DC attractions and Union Station this hotel is very old and outdated. I was unable to get a room with two double beds as they were all booked up so we had a King bed. I bought an air mattress because there were four of us and there was barely enough room to put in on the floor! There was very little room between the bed and dresser also. The service was good at front desk and employees were very nice. One elevator was out of service so there was only one working and was very small. At least I got some cardio work in walking up and down the stairs!! Overall not worth the ridiculous room rate we were charged!!