Ratings based on 14 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Charlotte, NC

Perfect location, cozy and great value

Posted Jul 18, 2016
I would stay here again, for sure. Great location within walking distance to many DC attractions. Staff was friendly and room was clean.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Virginia

Surprise charges and not well kept

Posted Dec 30, 2015
Staff was not very helpful, room not well maintained. Not a great experience overall. However it is a great location. We chose Topaz due to $95 rate online, but there were additional charges. $45 for overnight parking, and other hotel fees and taxes that ended in a $70 bill the next morning. Would not stay again or recommend to a friend, but an okay experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Harrisburg, PA

Luke warm shower

Posted Dec 22, 2015
Pros: Appreciate hotels that are not "cookie cutter" and have their own unique charm.
Cons: Parking for one night was $53.00 (with tax). Thought that was pretty high.
Location: Location was perfect for using the Metro and had numerous options for restaurants and bars.
Hotel was charming and front desk staff awesome! Room clean and comfortable, however no hot water in morning....luke warm to cool shower experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

22nd birthday

Posted Nov 22, 2015
Stayed here with my boyfriend and girlfriends. Invited a bunch of friends over for birthday shots before heading out to DuPont! Staff disnt give me any issues. Staff was great rooms and lobby were really nice. Could have really used more pillows but it's my own fault for not asking for them! I would definitely stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Dallas, TX

Great Location! Good place for a night's sleep.

Posted Nov 14, 2015
Pros: Central location and funky rooms. Charming street with a few historical buildings.
Cons: Common areas and dining.
Location: Starting with Iron Gate right across the street lots of eating and drinking places within a short distance. A few blocks to Metro.
Good rooms with good amenities. The common areas look tired and could use a cleanup and an update. Within easy walking of restaurants, shopping, and transportation around DC(Metro). Reasonable breakfast, but items such as coffee run out and could be replenished more frequently so one does not have to wait. Friendly for pets as all Kimptons.
5 out of 5
by LaLasPeople from Florida, USA

The entire staff was extremely helpful and friendly

Posted Oct 11, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet, very clean, very helpful friendly staff
Cons: can't think of anything!
My husband and I came to Washington, DC for a medical appt. The Topaz Hotel and all of its staff went out of their way to help my husband with his walker and to make sure that he was comfortable and able to get to his destination. The room itself was a terrific find! Very clean, spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was small but there was an adjacent dressing room complete with full length mirror and dressing table with mirror, and with plenty of room to stow our luggage and his walker, as well as various other bags. We would definitely return to this hotel!!
5 out of 5
by BillyRayintheGA

Comfortable stay - I will return

Posted Nov 21, 2011
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet
Cons: no coffee maker in the room.
Although I was only here less than 12 hours, I was very comfortable and felt welcome.
4 out of 5
by sabas from Portland, OR, USA

Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Posted Nov 15, 2011
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet
Cons: Poor breakfast
This is a great place to stay and is in a good location. The rooms are nice and fairly spaciuos for a hotel in a large city.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Always Enjoyable

Posted Apr 22, 2010
We stay here every time we come to DC. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and pleasantly decorated. The location is terrific...close to the Metro and a major thoroughfare, but on a very quiet street. In fact, the entire hotel is also quiet, which is great. I can't imagine who would be sad enough to eat in a hotel restaurant in a city filled with good restaurants just outside the front door (unless it was Citronelle), so giving a hotel 1 star based on that seems extremely silly. We've never had problems with the service, but we ask very little out of hotel staff besides the basics. Valet service, housekeeping, etc have always been fine, people at the front desk are always nice.
4 out of 5
by A traveler

Topaz Hotel

Posted Jul 25, 2008
It was a relaxing experience, staff was friendly and helpful. They welcomed you back every time you left the building..Rooms were roomy and tastefully decorated..Extra clean. Good location and not far from metro.