Ratings based on 23 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Me.

Thanksgiving in DC

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Traveling to a large city alone, during a major holiday was upsetting. The staff, the accommodations and location made my trip memorable, a real joy and I enjoyed every minute of it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from NC

Amazing view

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Friendly & helpful staff, clean room with comfortable bed TINY bathroom
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Columbus, Ohio

Very clean, cozy boutique hotel

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Pros: The hotel itself was excellent - very good size rooms, staff was helpful in directing us to nearby restaurants, cold water in the entry, wine hour.
Cons: At check-in we found they did not have available the room types we had reserved (2 months earlier) as we booked via Travelocity and not direct.
Location: 2 blocks from the Metro, many varieties of restaurants within easy walking distance.
The hotel was in a great location, just a few blocks away from the Metro, with wonderful restaurants within easy walking distance. The hotel was very clean and modern - very quiet and the balcony was a great feature to see the people and sights on the tree-lined street. We did not get the room types we had reserved for the first night, but the supervisor on duty waived the parking fee for our trouble, and promptly moved us to the room type we needed for the remaining 3 nights. I would definitely go back but apparently booking through Travelocity does not guarantee they have the room type available - they should either find a way for Travelocity to see their available rooms, or no longer market themselves via Travelocity.
1 out of 5
by A traveler

Awful do not go to this hotel

Posted May 18, 2016
The photo on your site was not like the hotel room. This was an old apt. bldg disguised as a hotel. The bathroom toilet against the tun which was full of rust, wouldn't use it. Rock hard bed, noisy never slept. Awful experience will never return or recommend. Also $45 to park. I would appreciate a refund. Thank you, Penny Greene
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from ncy

Hot Water

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: Modern comfortable room. Lots of natural light.
Cons: Check with guest to see if all is ok, a procedure if guest leaves something behind in room after leaving. They said call the lost and found.
Location: Dupont circle area was great.
Inconsistent hot water temp, very very slow to get hot. This was both days of our stay. The staff was nice but when I left my sport coat there It took way too many called to get it straightened out. I would try the other kimpton hotels to see if they're any better this was ok but was hoping for a tad more service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Location: Loved the hotel's restaurant, Firefly--great breakfast. Nice, easy walk up to Dupont Circle!
Loved the hotel's restaurant, Firefly--great breakfast. Nice, easy walk up to Dupont Circle!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from long beach, ca

DuPont Circle stay

Posted Oct 9, 2015
I considered giving a poor review when I saw my room on the second floor with all the HVAC equipment office my window and having given me an ADA room, but the staff and everything else was great. Very comfy bed. Huge room. The restaurant is convenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Dallas

Hotel Madera was a wonderful place to stay in DC.

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Pros: I liked that there was flavored water and granola in the lobby. I liked the umbrella that was in the room. I liked the ability to use the bicycles.
Location: The location was Dupont Circle in DC. There were a lot of restaurants and shops nearby. There was also a metro station within blocks of the hotel.
Hotel Madera was a very nice hotel. The hotel staff was very helpful and accomodating. The room was very clean and comfortable. It was so nice to have the flavored water in the lobby and the granola that you could help yourself to whenever you wanted. Also it was so nice to be able to use the bicycles to get around the area. We used them to ride to the National Cathedral. I would definitely stay here again if I got the chance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Nice hotel, close to Dupont Circle

Posted May 25, 2015
The bed was very comfortable. The hotel had nice features like fruit-infused water in the lobby, a yoga mat and plush robes in the room. The staff was very helpful, giving us up-to-date information on public transit options. The "free Internet" isn't - it's included in the mandatory "Destination fee" of $17.18/night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by RonV from San Jose, CA

OK room, very good service

Posted Jun 14, 2013
The room is large enough, with a balcony over a busy street. It very close to Dupont Circle, many restaurants and the Metro station. The room did not have a Microwave nor refrigerator, did have nice flat-screen TV and safe. Wifi is free only if you sign-up as member. We signed-up though we are not likely to travel to DC in the future. Staff was very helpful and immediately helped us with any request. They offered to help us with a Taxi and to give us umbrellas when we were surprised by rain and did not want to go back to the room. The on-premises restaurant looks 'hip' with adventurous menu and is semi-expensive. I did not like the fact cancellation for a full refund was not possible and they charged the full stay in advance.