"Had to ask for extra towels at check in. Asked for a specific level oe area of hotel and got the worst located room. Was told they were booked solid ... " More

By a verified traveler on Mon 05 Mar 2018

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

Motel near St. Louis Zoo in St. Louis

In St. Louis

You'll find St. Louis Zoo and Missouri Botanical Gardens and Arboretum within 2 miles (3 km) of this St. Louis motel. St. Louis Art Museum and Cathedral Basilica of St. Louis are also within 3 miles (5 km).

Round-the-clock service

This motel doesn't skimp on freebies - guests receive free WiFi and free self parking. Staff at the 24-hour front desk can provide around-the-clock assistance.

Free WiFi, LCD TVs

The 110 guestrooms have LCD TVs with cable channels and offer free WiFi and coffee/tea makers. Free local calls, laptop-compatible safes, and desks are also available.

Room, 2 Double Beds, Non Smoking

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max
$56 per night

Superior Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Deluxe Room, 2 Double Beds, Non Smoking

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Red Roof Inn PLUS+ St Louis - Forest Park/ Hampton Ave  ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.1 out of 5 3.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 3.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Red Roof Inn PLUS+ St Louis - Forest Park/ Hampton Ave 

Everyone (16) Business (1)
2 out of 5
The room was cold when we arrived (65F according to the thermostat) and took several hours to warm up, I am assuming some type of radiant heat (couldn't find a heat source). The front door did not close tight and I couldn't decide if the lock actually worked or not. The room was very noisy, could hear the toilet flush next door, people going in and our and banging their door, we could hear them walking on the gravel outside the door. Interstate is very noisy and kept me awake. The sink, toilet, tub and bedding was clean. The floor was dirty, the room needed dusted and wiped down. We had a non smoking room that smelled fine, and we did not notice any pet hair or any bugs of any kind. There was a small 1 cup coffee maker that worked nice and actually made decent tasting coffee. The sink is really tall, kids won't be able to reach it, the bathroom door is 2 ft wide and the room is VERY small. The exhaust fan comes on w the light so sucks the heat out of the room and leaves you cold. If you stay here in the winter, bring a small space heater for the room. Staff was nice, check in fast. There are a couple of nice mexican restaurants down Hampton and also a Target, McD's and Hardy's Wendys, Walgreens ect close by. I will not stay at this place again. Pay the extra few dollars and stay somewhere more quiet and cleaner w heat!

Posted by , from MO on Nov 13, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
3 out of 5

Worth it for a 1 nighter

Had to ask for extra towels at check in. Asked for a specific level oe area of hotel and got the worst located room. Was told they were booked solid at 730pm upon chevk- in and after a night on the town returning at 3am it was easy to see that 15 rooms were not occupied as the curtains were open like ay are prr io being used. Verified with staff and yes they were not booked solid like I was told! The 1 king special suite or whatever it was call was very well appointed and looked very modern. Need To be able to use your cell phone to play content nor Just as a remote

Posted by on Mar 5, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Apr 16, 2018 by Dawn

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am glad that you found our room accommodations to be comfortable. On the other hand, it is regrettable that the overall level of service you have received did not live up to your expectations. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may have had during your stay. Let us assure you that we want nothing more than to ensure your satisfaction up until you leave our hotel so we truly appreciate that you have shared your feedback with us. I am confident that our team will continue to do their best to improve in order to accommodate you better in the future if you give us the chance. We often have a lot of cancellations, and a lot of last minute walk-ins, therefore, we can be sold out at one point, and have rooms available 10 minutes later. I do apologize for the confusion.

4 out of 5
Overall nice place to relax and rest easy, without having to worry about any riff raff going on around the area

Posted by on Feb 12, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5

Motel

The Red Roof Inn Plus in St. Louis is 3-story motel with parking directly outside. It has no amenities of a hotel such as a lobby, restaurant, gift shop or pool. It's located immediately adjacent to I-44 and has just what a motorist would expect if he needed to pull off of the road for the night. It was very clean, however, and the television and WiFi worked perfectly. I would only recommend it to you if your stay was limited to one night. Otherwise there are several other hotels in the area with similar price points that offer far more comforts.

Posted by on Jun 21, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
2 out of 5
Maid came and took my towels and didn't leave new ones or clean the room. Very odd experience at this hotel

Posted by on Jun 2, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
2 out of 5

oops

Pros: Large bed and hot water.
Cons: Phone number for shuttle service. Larger clear print on intinerary. eliminate advertising on itinerary.
Location: Took bus and train to Scottrade center for NCAA wrestling championships.
Plane was delay.I did not know how to contact shuttle. Hotel was unaware of shuttle. Spent $35 for taxi.

Posted by , from Buffalo NY on Mar 21, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5

Good Time

Location: Close to the zoo, art museum, gardens
Great location for the major parks and attractions. We were surprised by the lack of amenities: no working clock, no breakfast, no microwave/refrigerator(unless paid for).

Posted by , from Wiconsin on Oct 23, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
2 out of 5

Ok in a pinch

Better than sleeping on the street but not someplace to relax

Posted by on May 3, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5

Close to everything and a good place to sleep

It isn't a 5 star hotel by any means, but for what you pay, it is a good place to spend a night. It is clean and mostly quiet and we had nice, warm showers. Free wifi was pretty nice. There was a security officer outside as well. It would be nice to have a fridge or microwave or free breakfast but if you just need a nice spot to spend the night you don't need extras.

Posted by , from Springfield, MO on Apr 15, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
1 out of 5

Reeks of smoke! So gross!

Despite being billed as a non-smoking hotel, my room reeked of smoke. The odor was so strong, I had to go to the front desk and request to be moved. While the staff was friendly and accommodating, the odor was just too strong to stand (better in the second room than in the first, but still bad). I ended up checking out early and moved to another hotel. I am guessing that the hotel likely allowed smoking until recently and have not done the needed updates to completely eliminate the smell. Once I moved hotels, I had to have all the clothes in my luggage laundered because everything that had been in the room retained the smoky smell. It was disgusting.

Posted by on Jan 11, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?

About the Red Roof Inn PLUS+ St Louis - Forest Park/ Hampton Ave 

Location 5823 Wilson Avenue, St. Louis, MO 63110

Property Features

As a guest of Red Roof Inn PLUS+ St Louis - Forest Park/ Hampton Ave , you'll find coffee/tea in a common area and an elevator (lift). WiFi is free in public spaces. Free self parking is available. This St. Louis motel is smoke free.

  • 1 building
  • 110 guestrooms or units
  • 3 levels
  • Built in 1985
  • Coffee in lobby
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Elevator
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family Property
  • Free WiFi
  • Free cribs/infant beds

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Airport: St. Louis, MO (STL-Lambert-St. Louis Intl.) (22.9 km / 14.2 mi)
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Red Roof Inn PLUS+ St Louis - Forest Park/ Hampton Ave  offers 110 air-conditioned accommodations, which are accessible via exterior corridors and feature laptop-compatible safes and coffee/tea makers. LCD televisions come with premium cable channels and pay movies. Bathrooms include shower/tub combinations and complimentary toiletries. This St. Louis motel provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks along with free local calls (restrictions may apply). Irons/ironing boards and hair dryers can be requested. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • LCD television
  • Cable channels
  • Premium channels
  • Movies for purchase
  • Coffee maker
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Cribs (free)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Local calls (free)
  • Hair dryer available
  • Laptop safe
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Iron and ironing board available
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes
  • Exterior corridor access
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Ensuite bathroom

Nearby Activities

The recreational activities listed below are available either on site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Golfing nearby
  • Segway rental/tour nearby
  • Hiking/biking trails nearby
  • Golf lessons available nearby
  • Scooter/moped rentals nearby

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please note them at check-out when you book your room.

  • Accessible bathroom
  • Roll-in shower

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is 18

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Children 17 years old and younger stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Free cribs (infant beds)!

Pets

  • Pets are welcome and stay free
  • Maximum 1 per room (weight limit: 80 lb)

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed.

Please note that cultural norms and guest policies may differ by country and by property. The policies listed are provided by the property.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit or credit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • Pets allowed (no fees)

Hotel Names

  • Red Roof Plus St. Louis Forest Park Hampton Ave. Motel
  • Red Roof Plus Forest Park Hampton Ave. Motel
  • Red Roof Plus St. Louis Forest Park Hampton Ave.
  • Red Roof Plus Forest Park Hampton Ave.

You should know

  • Children 17 years old and younger stay free in the same room as the parent or guardian when using existing bedding.