"Hotel is decent. Staff friendly. I found it strange that you had to ask for all utensils, bedding, dishes etc. Usually, the room is stocked and ready ... " More

By a verified traveler on Sat 31 Dec 2016

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

Hotel near Santa Clara University in San Jose

Near the airport

You'll find San Jose Municipal Golf and Silicon Valley University within 3 miles (5 km) of this hotel. California's Great America and Santa Clara University are also within 6 miles (10 km).

Free perks

This hotel features an outdoor pool and a fitness center. Enjoy the spa tub and free perks like on-the-go breakfast and free self parking. Free parking, free WiFi in public areas, and express check-out are also offered.

Free WiFi, kitchens

The 138 guestrooms feature well-equipped kitchens with refrigerators, stovetops, and microwaves, as well as flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Other amenities include free WiFi, coffee/tea makers, and free local calls. Housekeeping is available on request.

Deluxe Studio, 1 Queen Bed with Sofa bed, Non Smoking

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max
$90 per night

Deluxe Studio, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed, Non Smoking

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Deluxe Studio, 1 Queen Bed with Sofa bed, Accessible, Non Smoking

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Deluxe Studio, Multiple Beds, Non Smoking

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Extended Stay America San Jose - Airport ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.5 out of 5 3.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 2.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Extended Stay America San Jose - Airport

Everyone (4)
2 out of 5
Toilet leaking. Missing remote for TV (very important). Climate control not working. No complimentary shampoo. No ice machine.

Posted by on Apr 20, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Apr 22, 2017 by General Manager

Thank you for your candid comments. We apologize for the maintenance issues you encountered in your room and for the inconvenience it caused. I have shared your feedback with the respective team to address the problems you mentioned. I would also like to inform you that, we have a full-size refrigerator in the kitchen of all our suites which includes ice trays for your convenience, so we do not have ice machines on our property. Also, that our long-term guests often bring their own bath amenities, so we keep shampoo and other toiletries at the front desk and it's always complimentary. We are sorry if our desk staff did not communicate this to you during check-in. We hope you give us another opportunity to serve you better in the future. Sincerely, General Manager

2 out of 5

Understaffed, Overwhelmed

Pros: Location
Cons: Service, staffing level, security
The sign at the front of the parking lot, "Hiring Now", was a harbinger of what awaited us. This hotel looked fine on the outside, but upon entering, we immediately saw signs of neglect: the trash can just inside the entrance was overflowing, and there was only one attendant at the counter to process incoming guests. This clerk could barely type - the single-digit variety - so guests had to wait extra long to be taken care of. We had to walk past debris in the hallway as we went to our room, as though no one had cleaned the area all day. The room itself was clean, and the temperature control worked well, but the kitchen had no plates, drinking glasses, silverware - a placard advised that this was done deliberately so each guest could "customize" their kitchen, presumably by contacting the same lone desk attendant we had met upon checking in. The next day, we saw more trash, and even dirty laundry, lying in our hallway. Later that same day we found that our room key card no longer worked. The staff seemed overwhelmed, and security was lacking. The location is convenient to the San Jose International airport, but this hotel needs help before it's ready to properly take care of its guests.

Posted by , from Colorado on Feb 2, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
1 out of 5

Worst hotel stay

Pros: not much
Cons: Need more inventory. Need to manage their room inventory better to accommodate paid reservations.
Location: location is great as it is near the airport
We had reserved a room with 2 beds but when we got there the desk clerk said that they had only a queen bed and a sofa bed. Otherwise we had to go to another hotel and get our refund from Travelocity. So we took the room as we were tired and didn't want to drive around looking for another hotel. We were told that there were not extra bedding or blankets but to return to the front desk to pick up the linens in an hour as they were being washed. Upon entering the room we noted that the queen bed was not even made. Unsure whether the bed sheets were even cleaned! During our wait for the laundry there were male guests yelling in the hallway. Then someone entered our room with presumably a key card. Fortunately the bolt was on the door and the person couldn't gain entry. We mentioned the entry to the front desk she explained that it was the manager trying to close out the room next door. Lastly when we picked up our linens we also requested pillows as there were not enough in the room, there were no more to be had as they ran out! While we were waiting for our linens they were working with a customer who had a paid reservation but they had no room for him.

Posted by , from honolulu on Jan 26, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
3 out of 5

Close to airport makes it an easy pick.

Hotel is decent. Staff friendly. I found it strange that you had to ask for all utensils, bedding, dishes etc. Usually, the room is stocked and ready to use.

Posted by on Dec 31, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5

I actually felt like I wanted to spend another night

Pros: Free Internet, Quiet, gym
Very comfortable, fully equipped... my room was like the ideal studio apartment for a single person...

Posted by , from los gatos, CA on Nov 22, 2012

Was this review helpful to you?
2 out of 5

Nothing special about this hotel, just a room in a big box.

Although the ESD was easy enough to get to it wasn't all that great. The Front staff didn't talk with you unless you stood at the counter and waited for them. the room had ants in it. All in all ESD have not done anything to impress me.

Posted by on Oct 10, 2011

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5

This hotel made me feel like home

Pros: next to san jose airports
I really enjoyed my stay here. The place is clean and I absolutely love the free breakfast!! Room is clean and staff is friendly. Would recommend to friends.

Posted by on Apr 12, 2011

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5

Good basic extended stay facility

The front desk is supposedly staffed from 7 am to 11 pm, but the mornings often found it unstaffed until well past 7 am. Of course, they do have staff available on-call when the front desk is closed, but it's not the same thing. The free breakfast is, as expected, somewhat limited in the number of offerings, but reasonably good - except that they seem to make all their scrambled eggs at once. It is open from 6 am, but by 7 am the eggs are so overcooked that they are green. Other than that, a nice basic hotel with nice, basic studio apartment-like rooms. Good small kitcken with refrigerator, microwave, electric stove, dishwasher (free detergent), a few pots, plates, bowls, flatware, etc. There are a few food service establishments within walking distance (Dennys, McDonalds, etc.), but the kitchem made that an option rather than a necessity. Supermarket 2 miles away and a convenience store a block away. Light rail local transit, Valley Transportation Authority (VTA), also a block away. Loks like good service, although I did not have a chance to use it Not luxurious, but convenient and well kept up. I would stay again if I was visiting the area for a week or more.

Posted by on Mar 27, 2011

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5

Extended Stay Deluxe San Jose-Downtown

Completely fine. Because it was so cheap I expected to get just a basic room, but it was actually a studio suite with kitchen, sitting area, TV, bed, & bathroom. Everything was clean & the staff were friendly & helpful. The room had a faint whiff of Lysol to it, which was less than ideal but not a huge problem. Internet costs extra ($* per stay) which was annoying since at most hotels it's free.

Posted by on Oct 8, 2010

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5

Great Place

Friendly staff, nice room, but the bed was very firm, hard to sleep in. Would stay again though depending on price.

Posted by on Jun 29, 2010

Was this review helpful to you?

About the Extended Stay America San Jose - Airport

Location 55 E Brokaw Rd, San Jose, CA 95112

Property Features

Extended Stay America San Jose - Airport offers its guests an outdoor pool, a spa tub, and a fitness center. Public spaces have free WiFi. Free breakfast is available daily. Extended Stay America San Jose - Airport also features barbecue grills, coffee/tea in a common area, and laundry facilities. Self parking is free. You'll have access to the health club at a partner property. This San Jose hotel is smoke free.

  • 138 guestrooms or units
  • 4 levels
  • Built in 1997
  • To-go breakfast (free)
  • Poolside lounge chairs
  • Coffee in lobby
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Express check-out
  • Storage area for luggage
  • BBQ grill(s)
  • Television in lobby
  • Elevator
  • No smoking on site

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free long-term parking , Free self parking

Transport

  • Airport: San Jose, CA (SJC-Norman Y. Mineta San Jose Intl.) (2.1 km / 1.3 mi)
  • Train station: San Jose College Park Station (5.1 km / 3.2 mi)
  • Metro station: Karina Court Station (0.5 km / 0.3 mi)
  • Parking: Free self parking and extended parking

Room Amenities

Extended Stay America San Jose - Airport offers 138 air-conditioned accommodations with coffee/tea makers and irons/ironing boards. 32-inch flat-screen televisions come with premium cable channels. Kitchens offer refrigerators, stovetops, microwaves, and cookware/dishes/utensils. Bathrooms include shower/tub combinations and complimentary toiletries. Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and phones; free local calls are provided (restrictions may apply). Housekeeping is offered on request and hair dryers can be requested.

  • In-room kitchen
  • Flat-screen television
  • Cable channels
  • Premium channels
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Stove
  • Coffee maker
  • Kitchenware
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Housekeeping (on request)
  • Local calls (free)
  • Hair dryer available
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Air conditioning
  • Ensuite bathroom

Food & Drink

Guests are served free on-the-go breakfast daily from 6 AM to 9:30 AM.

Nearby Activities

An outdoor pool and a spa tub are on site. Other recreational amenities include a fitness center.

Children under 18 years old are not allowed in the swimming pool, fitness facility, or spa tub without adult supervision. Guests under 18 years old are not allowed in the swimming pool, fitness facility, or spa tub.

  • Golfing nearby

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please note them at check-out when you book your room.

  • Accessible bathroom
  • Roll-in shower
  • In-room accessibility

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3 PM
  • Check-in time ends at midnight

Special check-in instructions:

This property accepts credit cards only for all bookings where payment for the stay will be made on site instead of at the time of booking, and for all onsite purchases. Cash is not accepted. For more details, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Children 17 years old and younger stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.

Pets

  • Pets: USD 25 per pet, per day (maximum USD 150 per stay)
  • Maximum 2 per room
  • Restrictions apply
  • For more information, you can reach out to the property at the number on the booking confirmation

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed.

Please note that cultural norms and guest policies may differ by country and by property. The policies listed are provided by the property.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit or credit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No cribs (infant beds) available

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Pet fee: USD 25 per pet, per day (maximum USD 150 per stay)
  • Weekly housekeeping provided; additional cleaning fee: USD 10 per day

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Extended Stay America Hotel San Jose Airport
  • Extended Stay America San Jose Airport
  • Extended Stay America San Jose Airport Hotel

You should know

  • The seasonal pool will open in May and close in September.
  • Children 17 years old and younger stay free in the same room as the parent or guardian when using existing bedding.
  • To make arrangements to bring your pet, contact the property directly at the number on your booking confirmation (please see the Fees section for related charges).