Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Enter dates to see availability

"The staff were fantastic and prompt for being understaffed. " More

By a verified traveler on Sun 08 Jan 2017

Hotel Description

Hotel near San Jose Museum of Art in San Jose

In San Jose

Your stay at this North San Jose hotel places you within 3 miles (5 km) of San Jose Museum of Art and The Tech Interactive. SAP Center at San Jose and San Jose State University are also within 3 miles (5 km).

Free perks

This hotel doesn't skimp on freebies - guests receive free on-the-go breakfast, free WiFi, and free self parking. Business travelers can take advantage of the express check-out. Laundry facilities are provided for your convenience.

Free WiFi, kitchens

The 152 guestrooms feature well-equipped kitchens with refrigerators, stovetops, and microwaves, as well as flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Other amenities include free WiFi, coffee/tea makers, and phones. Housekeeping is available on request.

Studio, 1 Queen Bed, Non Smoking

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
$100* Per night/room Nov 1 - Nov 2

Deluxe Studio, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed, Non Smoking

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Studio, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Studio, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Extended Stay America San Jose - Downtown ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
2.8 out of 5 3.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 3.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 2.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Extended Stay America San Jose - Downtown

Everyone (11) Business (2) Family (1)
1 out of 5
It’s run down need mayor TLC Rooms are old carpet stains floor in bathroom was dirty with stains lighting in hallway was dimmed to low windows are old you can hear people talking on the parking lot at 3am

Posted by on Sep 2, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Sep 2, 2019 by Hotel Management

Thank you for being our guest and providing your feedback. We apologize that our facility fell short of your expectations and have shared your comments with our team as we work on updating and refreshing our hotel. We appreciate your comments and hope you will choose us the next time you are in the area. Sincerely, Hotel Management

2 out of 5

Posted by on Apr 13, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Apr 14, 2019 by Hotel Management

Thank you for being our guest. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay, and we apologize for failing to live up to your expectations. We hope you will return so that we can have an opportunity to provide you with a better experience. Sincerely, Hotel Management

5 out of 5

Posted by on Apr 1, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Apr 11, 2019 by Hotel Management

Thank you for your fantastic rating! We're pleased you stayed at Extended Stay America and even more pleased you were completely satisfied. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon! Sincerely, Hotel Management

3 out of 5
Definitely a budget hotel. Rather disappointed the word “Downtown” is in the name, was about 20 minutes on the lightrail downtown. Typical budget hotel, some odd stains and smells but was fine for a weekend where we were only at the hotel to sleep.

Posted by , from Phoenix on Oct 30, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Oct 31, 2018 by Hotel Management

Rose, please accept our apologies for any problems you experienced while our guest. We thank you for bringing the particulars to our attention so know to focus on these areas. We hope you will come back for another stay so we may serve you better. Sincerely, Hotel Management

5 out of 5

Outstanding Service

Pros: I was told by a friend year ago and have been coming wever since
Cons: More help needed
The staff were fantastic and prompt for being understaffed.

Posted by , from San Jose,CA on Jan 8, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jan 10, 2017 by General Manager

Our entire team here at Extended Stay America - San Jose - Downtown would like to thank you for the positive comments and for being our guest again. We especially appreciate your kind remarks about our staff. We make every effort to provide the level of service you expect and deserve. Your compliments will be shared with the team, and we look forward to your next visit! Sincerely, General Manager

1 out of 5

Terrible experience

Pros: location
Cons: everything
Staff was rude, rooms not ready on time, could not get kitchen supplies or eve a pillow. Renovations started in midedle of stay without any notice - 8am noise started - really bad experience.

Posted by on Nov 23, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Nov 25, 2016 by General Manager

Thank you for sharing your feedback. While we regret to learn there were aspects of your stay less favorable and service unlike what we are known for, we apologize for the negative impact this had to your overall stay. We will certainly address your concerns with our management team. Thank you, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon! General Manager

1 out of 5

Extended Stay America

When I arrived I was told my King size non smoking room was unavailable and was given a Queen size smoking room instead. The room was poor quality and the bathroom door had a hole in it that had not been repaired.

Posted by , from San Jose, CA on Aug 10, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

by General Manager

We do wish your recent stay with us had been more impressive. Thank you for sharing the areas where you feel more of our attention is needed. We value feedback such as this to continuously improve for our guests. We hope the remainder of your trip was enjoyable and thank you for taking a moment to post your review. General Manager

2 out of 5

Overprice and Underperform.

To start the hotel didn't get my reservation right and gave me a one bed when a two bed was reserved. Once in the trash was overflowing and the smell was overwhelming. Bad service and bad response to request. My room was cleaned and the ac didn't work. Do not book this hotel.

Posted by on Jul 30, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

by General Manager

In our continuous effort to provide the best experience possible, the most important feedback comes from our guests. Thank you for sharing your feedback. Our goal is to welcome every guest to a clean, comfortable, well maintained suite, combined with excellent service. We apologize for the errors received from Travelocity regarding your reservation, and for the less than clean status of your suite. Your comments have initiated additional training for our team as we continuously improve. Thank you for being our guest, and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again. Sincerely, General Manager

2 out of 5
The clerk was no help......no ice machine......to bad you can't pay cash .....

Posted by on Jul 19, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 23, 2016 by General Manager

I am sorry to hear my staff was not able to resolve the problem you had with your suite and you were disappointed with your stay because our services and amenities were not what you expected. Amenities and services at an extended stay facility are a bit different from other hotels with which you might be more familiar, and I apologize if this was inconvenient for you. We hope you will come back to visit us again the next time your travels bring you this way. Sincerely, General Manager

4 out of 5

Good stay

Pros: the front desk was helpful
Cons: None
Location: Visit family
Good stay and comfortable hotel. Overall, good experience

Posted by on Jul 11, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 13, 2016 by General Manager

Thank you for selecting Extended Stay America- San Jose - Downtown for your visit and for sharing your comments. Our team was so pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay, found your suite comfortable and the staff friendly and professional. Thank you for being our guest, and we look forward to seeing you in the future! Sincerely, General Manager

About the Extended Stay America San Jose - Downtown

Location 1560 N 1st St, San Jose, CA 95112

Property Features

Free breakfast is available daily. Public spaces have free WiFi. The business-friendly Extended Stay America San Jose - Downtown also features coffee/tea in a common area, laundry facilities, and express check-out. Free self parking is available. This San Jose hotel is smoke free.

  • 152 guestrooms or units
  • 3 levels
  • Built in 1997
  • To-go breakfast (free)
  • Coffee in lobby
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (limited hours)
  • Express check-out
  • Elevator
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Free WiFi
  • Kitchen
  • Laundry facilities
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Airport: San Jose, CA (SJC-Norman Y. Mineta San Jose Intl.) (2.9 km / 1.8 mi)
  • Train station: San Jose College Park Station (3.9 km / 2.4 mi)
  • Metro station: Gish Station (0.5 km / 0.3 mi)
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Extended Stay America San Jose - Downtown offers 152 air-conditioned accommodations with coffee/tea makers and irons/ironing boards. 32-inch flat-screen televisions come with premium cable channels. Kitchens offer refrigerators, stovetops, microwaves, and cookware/dishes/utensils. Bathrooms include shower/tub combinations and complimentary toiletries. Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and phones. Housekeeping is offered on request and hair dryers can be requested.

  • In-room kitchen
  • Flat-screen television
  • Cable channels
  • Premium channels
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Stove
  • Coffee maker
  • Kitchenware
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Housekeeping (on request)
  • Hair dryer available
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Air conditioning
  • Ensuite bathroom

Food & Drink

Guests are served free on-the-go breakfast daily from 6:00 AM to 9:30 AM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 10 PM

Special check-in instructions:

This property doesn't offer after-hours check-in. Guests arriving late won't be able to check in until the next morning.

This property accepts credit cards only for all bookings where payment for the stay will be made on site instead of at the time of booking, and for all onsite purchases. Cash is not accepted. For more details, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.

This property doesn't offer after-hours check-in. Guests arriving after hours will have to wait until the next morning to check in.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Children stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.

Pets

  • Pets: USD 25 per pet, per day (maximum USD 150 per stay)
  • Maximum 2 per room
  • Restrictions apply
  • For more information, you can reach out to the property at the number on the booking confirmation

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card are required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed. Please note that cultural norms and guest policies may differ by country and by property. The policies listed are provided by the property.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A credit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No cribs (infant beds) available

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Pet fee: USD 25 per pet, per day (maximum USD 150 per stay)
  • Weekly housekeeping provided; additional cleaning fee: USD 10 per day

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Extended Stay America Aparthotel San Jose Downtown
  • Extended Stay America San Jose Downtown
  • Extended Stay America San Jose Downtown Aparthotel
  • Extended Stay America San Jose Downtown Hotel
  • Extend Stay America Jose
  • Extended Stay America Jose
  • Extended Stay America San Jose - Downtown Hotel
  • Extended Stay America San Jose - Downtown San Jose
  • Extended Stay America San Jose - Downtown Hotel San Jose

You should know

  • To make arrangements to bring your pet, contact the property directly at the number on your booking confirmation (please see the Fees section for related charges).
url importing https://www.travelocity.com/San-Jose-Hotels-Extended-Stay-America-San-Jose---Downtown.h118957-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.