Ratings based on 34 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Yucaipa, CA

Would not book again...

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: Clean room?
Cons: Hotel store open later, vending machines on the floors as well as ice machines. Have a better restaurant/buffet or lower the price.
Location: It's San Diego Gaslamp...you are in the heart of everything! Great night life in gaslamp, great day activities by the harbor. Great weather!
We figured the Westin was a good choice for a hotel. Mind you my husband and I have stayed at a ton of different hotels from the Holiday Inn Express to the Aria in Vegas. So we know hotels. Here is my review: 1. Upon arriving we were told the parking over night for the hotel was $48. Most expensive parking I have ever paid. 2. When the hotel clerk took my card for Incidentals she never said they were putting a $100 hold on my card! So okay, that would pay for our two nights of parking. But then day two, they put a second $100 hold on my card. Well, because they charged the $48 for the first night, it was too close to spending the first $100 so they had to hold an additional $100! Ridiculous! And the woman I spoke to about this was extremely rude! 3. There's an ice bucket in the room...no place to get ice? At least not on our floor and no map to tell us where there might be ice. So we asked where the vending machine was to get a cold water or soda...they don't have one! And the only convenience store they had was closed for the night. It was 7pm! My husband had to walk to the CVS to get us drinks. We put them in the fridge and the fridge wasn't even cold. 4. This morning I didn't want to walk anywhere for breakfast so I thought we would try the Piniminzi buffet. DON'T GET THE BUFFET! It was $23.95 per person for eggs, bacon, sausage and microwaved pancakes! Not even an omelet bar! $51.61! 5. I told the clerk my issues...gave me whopping $20 credit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Fl

Better than expected

Posted Mar 10, 2017
This hotel is clean, staff if friendly. It's close to everything that you can need. Plenty of nice restaurants : Indian, Thai, Italian, American. Pharmacy , theHorton Mall is at 3 mins walking distance. Very conveniente Location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Indiana

HIDDEN COSTS WILL GET YOU

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: The beds were comfortable and no noisy guests to keep us up at night.
Cons: I did not care for the hidden costs. Also, the pool and sauna were very small.
Location: On the same block is a nice mall to peruse. It is nice to walk around the Gaslamp area just to see sites. There were more bars than anything.
The hotel and staff were nice. However, the $46.00 per night to park your car was outrageous. It would have been nice to be informed ahead of time. Then an additional $20.00/night in order to have access to wi-fi. when making reservations this information should be given as it does make a difference when comparing prices.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

close to many things downtown San Diego

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Pros: pool, area and walkability
Cons: parking
Location: Downtown is close to the Bay, Balboa Park, Museums, Seaport Villiage, restaurants, shopping, theater, cruise ships, Maritime ship museums, baseball
Lovely hotel close to many things downtown San Diego. Small heated and protected outside pool with room for sun bathing, snacks and small bar. The only dissapontment was no self parking. The parking fee was a bit much on top of the already hefty room price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Lancaster ca

Close to just about everything

Posted Jun 30, 2016
I had forgotten to pack my bag of toiletries and phone charger, everything was close and reasonable prices The conceige was the bomb, he directed me to places, quoted prices for nearby entertainment. Hope to return in 3 months
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Very nice stay

Posted Jan 12, 2016
I do like the green option. The staff was very helpful. I would stay there again. It is a great location . We were allowed to check in early.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Tucson

Nice hotel in Gaslamp district

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Really nice room etc. the only issue we had is with guests using the outdoor patio on the 4th floor. They were loud-extremely loud, we did complain an they eventually quieted down.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Grand Junction, CO

Nice hotel by the Gaslamp District

Posted Sep 16, 2015
Pros: I like where it was located
Cons: I would have liked to have seen nicer carpet in the room. There were a few spots on the carpet.
Location: The location to Gaslamp District, marina and Seaport Village was great!! Easy walk.
It was a very nice and friendly place to stay. We got moved up to the "preferred room" floor when we checked in. Our room was nice and clean. We walked to the Gaslamp District and to the marina as well as Seaport Village. Easy walk. I don't think you will regret staying there! All of the staff and the concierge's were so helpful and friendly!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Perfectly located hotel!

Posted Aug 26, 2015
If you like the convenience of having access to food, shopping, and transportation, then I highly recommend the Westin at the Gaslamp Quarter. The hotel is adjacent to the Western Horton Plaza and is within walking distance of many places to eat. It's the perfect spot to explore San Diego at your leisure. I would highly recommend it and would stay there again if and when return to San Diego.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Nice Hotel close to the Gaslamp District

Posted Aug 9, 2015
Very nice hotel with extremely helpful staff. Hotel located downtown next to the Gaslamp District. Fun just walking around the area and lots of good restaurants to choose from.