Ratings based on 5,537 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
by A traveler

Tiny rooms

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Unless youbget a suite these rooms a tiny and for a party of two i wouldn't recommend it. I moved to a suite and they are more c9mfortable. Friendly staff and good service.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Columbus, OH

Super Location

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: The location.
Cons: The rooms are so small.
Location: Within walking distance of Gaslight Quarter
The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Let me use their printer to print my airline boarding pass. Hailed a cab when none was available.
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Los Angeles

Big dissapointment!

Posted Jul 22, 2016
First, after driving 3 rounds around the hotel I had to call to find out where the parking was. Only Valet for just $36 per night. A truly rip off. I was checking in and I was about to offer some money to the person at front desk to smile or be a little more friendly. The size of the room was literally a hole. For almost $200 a night plus tax and valet...and you get a hole! Of course, I was offered to upgrade the room for another $30 dollar. An armoire instead of a real closet, only one trash basket in the whole room. The carpet was dirty and it looks ready to be change. This is my first time writing a negative comment, but I feel obligated to let people know That this hotel is far to be a "boutique" hotel nor a value. If you feel castrofobic, just n consider it.
4 out of 5
by A traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 26, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Sun Valley, CA

Nice hotel close to Gaslamp nightlife

Posted Jun 26, 2016 on Expedia
My husband and I stayed at the Sofia Hotel in mid June for a mini honeymoon, from the moment we arrived we had an amazing experience. The valet service was very fast, at check in the concierge asked why we were there are she upgraded our room to a suite. We were on the 7th floor in the Orchid Suite, for just the two of us we had plenty of room. We had a living room with a tv, mini fridge and microwave, bathroom tub had a jacuzzi, and the bedroom also had a tv with a Queen sized bed. The room was clean and we had no complaints, we would definitely go back to the Sofia Hotel.
4 out of 5
by Sean from Boston

Posted Jun 25, 2016 on Hotels
Had a great stay, close to everything. Right in the gas lamp district, bars, restaurants and the waterfront. Hotel was clean and the room was very nice
4 out of 5
by A traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2016 on Expedia
Easy access to many downtown areas. No room service Nice staff. Better if you don't have a car because parking is expensive
2 out of 5
by Debra L from Fairfield, NJ

Pre-historic A/C

Posted Jun 25, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is historic; fine. For it's air conditioner to also be historic is untenable. Regardless of what I set it at, it turned off at night causing the room to rise to baking temps. Each hour as I was awakened with the heat, I'd get up and turn the temp back down. Then after the 7th time of awakening, I realized that I only needed to wave my leg in the air, and apparently the 'sensor' that someone was indeed in the room ATTEMPTING to sleep, awakened and, viola, the A/C turned back on. Really??? Never again.
4 out of 5
by A traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Near but not IN main areas of downtown

Posted Jun 25, 2016 on Expedia
Small room and very small bathroom! My 6'5" husband had a hard time with the tiny bathroom and toilet. Mattress was not the newest as we both rolled towards the center a bit. Otherwise comfortable, lots of amenities (microwave, fridge, coffeemaker) crammed into a small space. Liked that it was easily walkable to all the downtown attractions.
4 out of 5
by A traveler

Close quarters

Posted Jun 24, 2016 on Expedia
The hotel is very nice, but the rooms are very small. you have about a foot and a half between the beds and the furniture. The rooms are nice just very cramped for four of us. I had my 3 kids with me and it was a little rough being that close all the time. Parking is another problem. you have to park in Valet so you can come and go, but if you just want to get something out of your car you have to ask. The parking lot next to them is the same $36 price but no in and out privilege. I would have rather parked there, but a man from the hotel came by and told me I wasn't supposed to. I needed to go to the valet. He was very pushy about it. Other than him everyone was very polite and helpful. I wouldn't stay here again just because of those two things, but if you don't have kids with you it's a perfect hotel. Everything is walking distance and the beaches are close.