Ratings based on 5,751 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
by A traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 9, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A traveler

The Sofia

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was very nice with a friendly and helpful staff. This is a boutique hotel which translates to cute and small. The hotel is centrally located near the Amtrak station and public transportation.
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Honolulu, HI

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Expedia
Location: San Diego Zoo, Gaslamp District, Waterfront area.
Great hotel! Close to the Gaslamp district and within walking distance of the pier. Nice restaurant and bar in the hotel and a Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf right out the front door. The room was stylish but the hotel still retained a historic feel. Check in and check out were quick and the staff was very polite. Enzo even gave me a map to help me navigate the city.
4 out of 5
by A traveler from New York and London

Central hotel close to Gas Light District

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: Central. Modernly & stylishly decorated.
Cons: Better mattresses on the sofa bed or even a new sofa bed!
Location: Gas Light and sea village
The hotel was absolutely fine. It is stylishly and modernly decorate. Down-point 1) The staff seemed totally unconcerned. They never looked up or said hello when we passed the reception desk although the blonde Valet guy was super polite and helpful. Down point 2)The worst thing was that our kids were on the sofa bed and could feel the springs through the thin mattress. At first I thought they were just being fussy but when I tried it myself I was shocked at how bad it was. I had to fold up the bed cover and place it under their sheet to try and give them some comfort. We genuinely didn't have time to complain about it as we were too busy having fun, leaving the hotel early and back late seeing friends and we only had 2 nights so we just lumped it (no pun intended). We mainly chose the hotel on a whim because it's our daughter's name and because I had failed to get recommendations for areas to stay in until after I panicked and booked - after which friends suggested staying in La Jolla but by then it was too late to change.
3 out of 5
by A traveler

Nice place little space

Posted Sep 7, 2016 on Expedia
Staff is wonderful, fast and very polite, the room was SMALL, the price was decent, what I didn't like was been charged 38 dlls for valet parking when there is no self parking
4 out of 5
by A traveler from Dallas, Tx

Posted Sep 7, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel has character. Very convenient to anything downtown. We walked everywhere. Great location. My only complaint was the shower clogged on the second day of stay. It didn't unclog overnight. Not good when you need to take a shower in the morning.
3 out of 5
by A traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 7, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A traveler

not good not bad

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
There doesn't have free parking, parking fee is expensive.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Houston, TX

Nice hotel walking distance to Horton Plaza Mall

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Expedia
Location: Location is great honestly. It's close to the airport, walking distance to the Westfield Horton Plaza, and Gaslamp Quarter.
I enjoyed staying at The Sofia Hotel. The hotel has this New York style to it. The staff was very friendly and professional, very nice people. The room was small and cute although the view wasn't great (it was a parking lot). I wouldn't suggest more than 2 people staying in a queen size bedroom since the room is small. Cute bathroom, everything was clean. Nice soft towels. The shower stall had no door just a glass window to it which caused the water to fall all over the floor. The location of the hotel is great honestly. It's close to everything in San Diego (most importantly it's close to the airport). We spent a lot of time shopping at the Westfield Horton Plaza because that's how close it is. There is a Coffee Bean on the first floor, a Chipotle across the street and other restaurants. We walked to the Gaslamp Quarter but not sure if anyone can walk to it wearing heels. Overall, I would stay here again and would recommend anyone staying here.