Ratings based on 151 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from orange county, california

Beautiful historic hotel in Gaslamp

Posted Feb 20, 2017
This hotel has many pros and no cons. We loved staying here and plan to come again! First, you have to keep in mind that it's a historic hotel. The rooms aren't going to be huge. However, a room with a queen bed was more than adequate for two people. The hotel is beautifully decorated. They had free Girl Scout cookies in the lounge. They had free yoga lessons in a studio within the hotel. They gave free guided walking tours. Their attached restaurant was very good. The hotel service was very good; they were very polite and seemed to enjoy working there. The Sofia Hotel is located in Gaslamp and a $5 Uber ride from the main area/Gaslamp sign. Honestly, we could have walked to the main area if it wasn't raining. Definitely worth the amount of money paid and was a great experience!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Tiny rooms

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Unless youbget a suite these rooms a tiny and for a party of two i wouldn't recommend it. I moved to a suite and they are more c9mfortable. Friendly staff and good service.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Columbus, OH

Super Location

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: The location.
Cons: The rooms are so small.
Location: Within walking distance of Gaslight Quarter
The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Let me use their printer to print my airline boarding pass. Hailed a cab when none was available.
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Los Angeles

Big dissapointment!

Posted Jul 22, 2016
First, after driving 3 rounds around the hotel I had to call to find out where the parking was. Only Valet for just $36 per night. A truly rip off. I was checking in and I was about to offer some money to the person at front desk to smile or be a little more friendly. The size of the room was literally a hole. For almost $200 a night plus tax and valet...and you get a hole! Of course, I was offered to upgrade the room for another $30 dollar. An armoire instead of a real closet, only one trash basket in the whole room. The carpet was dirty and it looks ready to be change. This is my first time writing a negative comment, but I feel obligated to let people know That this hotel is far to be a "boutique" hotel nor a value. If you feel castrofobic, just n consider it.
4 out of 5
by A traveler

stayed here

Posted Jun 16, 2016
Pros: the people that work here
Cons: keep the bums away
Location: not as closr to things they told us
we stayed here the people were very nice but for the price the rooms were very small. when we booked it they told us they were in the gaslamp area but you really have to walk a long way. and it a long walk to the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from D.

Perfect for a quick get-a-way!

Posted May 21, 2016
My daughters and I loved the hotel! Clean room, great location and very friendly and helpful staff. The on-site restaurant, Currants, was excellent for breakfast. The only con was the size of the room. Very small and a tight fit, but having read previous reviews, we were aware and just fine with that. The room was very clean and the towels are seriously some of the best hotel towels ever!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Excellent

Posted Apr 13, 2016
Great staff, fabulous accomadations. Just what I needed for my business trip. Glad to bring my family next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Nice hotel.

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Great location. Hotel convenient to major freeways and key attractions. Clean rooms great staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Los Angeles

Nice boutique hotel walking distance from Gaslamp

Posted Jan 2, 2016
This boutique hotel has charm and great appeal. I am used to staying in luxury resorts but needed a last minute stay for NYE ans this little small gem did not disappoint. The only thing I can say was a little pricey for this small place was the parking/valet at $36 per night (yikes). However, the staff was friendly and the amenities were great! Gym/yoga studio, free wifi, 2 bottles of water per day, nice! The rooms are small but thats what you expect at a boutique hotel. The rooms were clean minus the thin layer of dust on the table and tv stand, but it's certainly not a deal-breaker. I would definitely stay here again. Oh, it's also walking distance from all the fun, bars, restaurants, and shoppes in the Gaslamp!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Winston-Salem, NC

Wonderful boutique hotel

Posted Oct 11, 2015
The Sofia is extremely charming and welcoming. The staff is accommodating, the facilities are very comfortable, and the location is close to the harbor and to Gaslamp. Be sure to snag a corner room, city facing....the extra windows make the small room feel more open.