Ratings based on 138 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.8 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Seattle

Convenient to airport and downtown

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Convenient location, quiet and safe but within easy reach of downtown, airport, Point Loma and SeaWorld.
Cons: Put fridges in the rooms and communicate before arrival whether the room is in the Marina Tower or the Bay Tower.
Location: On Harbor Island, which closes down at night, so the only nighttime restaurants and bars within walking distance are in the two towers of the hotel.
The hotel is walking distance from the airport and easy biking distance to downtown, Point Loma and SeaWorld. Much of the hotel is really great, rooms are large and clean, staff friendly and helpful and there is a shuttle between the hotel and airport. A few minor annoyances - no fridge in the room, there is a sign saying you need to call to have one sent up if you need one. No soda machines on the floors, they want you to use the minibar fridge instead, which you are not allowed to use to store your own goods. Last, there are two separate towers to this hotel and while they are only a five minute walk apart, I had to walk to both to find which one I was staying in. Would have been nice to have them communicate that to me prior to arrival to save me that trouble. Would stay there again and will plan to as I am in San Diego at least once a year or so.
1 out of 5
by A traveler from California

Complete Rip Off - Hidden Fees After Check-In

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: NA
Cons: Being upfront about the true cost.
Location: NA
I thought I was getting an ok deal when I made the booking, then I find out after arriving that they want to charge an extra $30 a night for parking (when they had plenty of spaces available), plus $12 for internet, plus $25 if you happen to leave anything in the fridge. Then after checking out I get home to see an additional $87 "Resort Fee", even though when checking in they said I totally prepaid via Travelocity. It seems like they're just being greedy, worse than the airlines.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Oceanside, CA

Mesmerizing

Posted Oct 10, 2016
We stayed for our wedding and I can not tell you how beautiful the view of the marina was on the 11th floor. Guest services at front desk were very welcoming and accommodating. I was a bit sad to leave but would go back in a heart beat!
1 out of 5
by A traveler from Long Beach

The worst place that I have stayed

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: Very little. The room was not what we reserved, but the nice thing is that someone bought the correct towels. What I high point for a trip.
Cons: Everything I mentioned above. Everyone in a service business needs to be service oriented, their staff was not. General maintenance and cleaning.
Location: Kayaking and Zoo were exceptional!
The experience went south as soon as we entered the Lobby. There were over 50 people in line to register at about 3:30PM. The line dragged. We it was our turn, I gave my name and was told by Joseph at the counter that you had my King room on the first floor available, but we could be moved to a higher floor if we would like. We agreed and were booked into a room on the fourth floor with two double beds, not a King, with a view of the room. The room was pleasant. I went for ice, as there was no refrigerator in the room only to find the machine in my wing, room 410 was not in service and I had to walk to the other end of the hall to find a working machine. I saw an employee outside of the Executive office and mentioned the out of service machine, and asked if it could be fixed. The response was tepid, we will try to get it fixed sometime. I waited in the Lobby later in the day for my wife and went into the restroom on the Lobby floor. Two of the stalls had toilets that were backed up, and no staff to communicate with. The parking is hideous, part of it is actually a dirt lot. The resort fees, parking fees, and other items almost doubles the price you pay for the stay. The lack of concern by the staff was appalling. The exterior grounds on the entrance side of the building show the way the property is cared for. A pipe was leaking just south of the entrance in the parking lot, and had been for some very long time. The exterior walls and walkways were filthy.
3 out of 5
by A traveler

Could have been better

Posted Aug 31, 2016
First off parking or confirmation email said self parking was $19 per night at the desk they informed us it was $32 per night, I showed them the confirmation the agent checking us in wold not do anything about it. Also the first 6 rows were saved for valet parking the spots that were available were out in a dirt lot, made me mad because I just had my car washed when we got into town. After carrying our luggage with our 2 year old we waited almost 30 minutes in the check in line when another hotel guest who had not been waiting in line came up cut the line & wanted to talk about his room them when we finally got to the desk which was another 15 to 20 minutes later (45 to 50 minutes total)we were checked in to a room that did not match our reservation, I pointed this out & let them I felt we were being down graded but they said they were near capacity and nothing more could be done Our room key didn't work when we wanted to leave the parking lot, we were charged extra for leaving the parking lot and coming back, I made mention of this to the agent at the desk again nothing was done to resolve this Like I said it could have been better
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Despite recent reviews -gave it a try

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Didn't get adjoining rooms as requested, facilties are starting to show there age, parking very expensive and had a $5 candy bar from in room bar. Yikes. Complimentary yoga class was great and gym was pretty nice. Staff does the best with what they have. Didn't eat there.good location near airport and sea world. Wouldn't pay their regular price but for half off cyber deal was satisfied!
1 out of 5
by A traveler

Ok

Posted Jul 21, 2016
The only thing that made this stay nice is their house cleaning staff but there was a hidden charge of 200 dollars a night extra that we didn't know about my room I paid for ahead of time in full but still left owing 244 dollars unexpected terrible will never use Travelocity again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Los Angeles

Marina location San Diego

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Pros: Location, location, location......
Cons: Price
Very expensive. Add on charges jack up the cost: daily resort charge to access internet in room and daily parking charge of $29.00 in open lot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from chicago, il

Nice hotel clean close to sights and airport great

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Was wonderful this was our second time there. Had a bad experience at another hotel this trip and check out and call the Sheraton Hitel and Marina and they got us in and we enjoyed the rest of our stay
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Los Angeles

Not what I expected

Posted Nov 28, 2015
I booked a king bed with a view through the Travelocity and when I arrived at the room it was a double bed (studio style) bed with the pool view not on the tower and when I complained the next morning I have been told that this is what was assigned to me and that booking through Travelocity doesn't typically allow you to choose the room