Ratings based on 121 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from seattle

Beautiful view!

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Pros: Very comfortable staff was extremely friendly and helpful
Cons: Refrigerator in the rooms, they did get one for us though
Location: Yummy food, lots of things to do close to the hotel
Staff is amazing, very helpful and friendly! Awesome vacation spot!!
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Chicago

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Rooms need to be updated did not look like room from the pictures on web. Cobwebs Ceiling had water marks. View from room horrible. There was a charge for ever thing even wifi.parking was over priced $30 a night which could of been disclosed before booking room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from san diego

AMAZING

Posted Aug 1, 2015
This hotel has so much to offer. The staff is amazing day or night, and the shuttle is so reliable to get you to the airport. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who's either staying for a while or even just a night in San Diego. This area is one of the best kept secrets of San Diego. I would be there for three years and have never spent much time over there. But it is amazing with the views and services. Perfect hotel and spa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Atlanta

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted May 26, 2015
around stay at the hotel was a very comfortable and relaxing experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Oregon

Cinco de Mayo in Sunny San Diego

Posted May 4, 2015
The Sheraton at the Marina was a perfect base for a perfect weekend. It is extremely close to the airport, but airplane noise wasn't noticable in an annoying way at all. Car rental sites were extremely close, as was entrance to I-5 North and South, Old Town, Balboa Park and every other fun thing to do in San Diego. The Cinco de Mayo celebration in Old Town was so much fun, well managed and safe. San Diego was nice because I never wanted for parking, and usually there wasn't a charge. Loved the Sheraton and loved San Diego.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Great views that make up for plain rooms

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: The views.
Cons: Room cleanliness. Room and bathrooms are small.
Location: Visit the zoo or safari park, explore Balboa park, watch sunset from Sunset Cliffs, and have dinner at C-Level down the street. Rent kayaks.
When we first got to the hotel we were greeted by Nancy who was super friendly and BEYOND helpful! She gave us our room options, and based on her recommendation we chose a room in the Bay Tower. The Bay Tower is a 30 second drive from the main tower and has it's own separate parking and entrance, and the hotel has shuttles to drive you between the towers. The view from our room was gorgeous! Waking up to water views, people on boats, the navy boats, etc. was pretty wonderful! Unfortunately, our room wasn't in the best shape. A lot of lights were left unplugged. Finding an outlet to charge our phones was difficult. Our mattress had been pulled away from the wall and left a gap where the pillows fell so we had to push the mattress up. There were dirty room-service dishes outside our door, and a mini fridge had been left in the room (which was actually to our advantage). It felt like that hadn't cleaned it very well after the previous occupants. The room was probably average sized, but the bathroom were very undesirable. Small, lack of counter space, crappy pressure from the shower head, and toilets that sounded like plane-toilets when flushed. Food at the breakfast buffet was ordinary and left me feeling kind of gross. Overall I liked my stay.
1 out of 5
by EJH4 from California

Poor Customer Service & Bad Housekeeping

Posted Sep 19, 2013
My husband & I booked our room for our stay over after returning from Hawaii because we live 3 hours from SD.  Our flight was delayed 3 hours which put us in at 1 am, past the hotel shuttle pick up time, but we were told to call them & someone would pick us up.  We called three times and waited an hour before the front desk person Terri told us no one was coming to pick us up.  We had to take a taxi.  They had our reservation, but were "SOLD OUT" so they tried to put us in a dog kennel room in the basement instead of in the Marina Tower.  My husband went to 2 rooms that smelled like wet dog and we finally cancelled and drove all the way home at 2:30 am.  Cheri was our front desk person & Tina was the MGR that night and both were far from courteous and understanding & knew nothing about Customer Service.  When you book a reservation and tell them you are going to be in after midnight, they should still hold your room!   Just an FYI, for people with dog/cat allergies like me, this hotel is pet friendly and they do not have rooms that are for pets only.  It doesn't make sense to me because when people were allowed to smoke in their rooms they had smoking/ non-smoking.  But I guess they don't realize that allergies to pets are as bad or worse than smoke. Bottom line, we are Starwood Preferred members & we will never stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2014 by Austin, Hotel Management
Your recent stay and thoughtful review is extremely valuable to our ongoing efforts here at the Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina. Thank you, again, for your review and we are hopeful for the opportunity to host you when your travel plans permit. Warm Regards,
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 26, 2014
Your recent stay and thoughtful review is extremely valuable to our ongoing efforts here at the Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina. Thank you, again, for your review and we are hopeful for the opportunity to host you when your travel plans permit. Warm Regards,
1 out of 5
by agh22702 from Texas

Over Rated with Poor Customer Service

Posted Sep 10, 2013
I was so looking forward to my stay here, but my experience was shot down by the poor customer service I received from the front desk.  I had to wait several hours for my room to be made ready and this was even after the regular check in time. I was told that housekeeping would call me when my room was ready. After waiting 2+ hours I called the front desk to check status and was told housekeeping had called me. Housekeeping NEVER called me. I was with 4 other friends and they, along with me, never heard my phone ring. Also, I didn't have any missed calls on my cell phone. Once I went down to the front desk I inquired again and they insisted I was WRONG and they were RIGHT. Even the manager stated the same. I WAS HIGHLY INCONVENIENCED AND TREATED RUDELY. I'll never stay there again nor would I recommend it to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2014 by Austin, Hotel Management
Your recent stay and thoughtful review is extremely valuable to our ongoing efforts here at the Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina. Thank you, again, for your review and we are hopeful for the opportunity to host you when your travel plans permit. Warm Regards,
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 26, 2014
Your recent stay and thoughtful review is extremely valuable to our ongoing efforts here at the Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina. Thank you, again, for your review and we are hopeful for the opportunity to host you when your travel plans permit. Warm Regards,
1 out of 5
by FormerSheratonCustomer from Dallas, TX

Avoid this Dump

Posted Jun 19, 2013
Wow. This was a bad choice. Got placed in the Lanai part of hotel. Was dirty, dingy, noisy. Had hallway doors that were open into the parking lot (so anyone could walk in). Just not what you would expect from Sheraton. We asked to be moved but were told hotel was full and that the Lanai rooms were the same as the tower rooms -- therefore the same price (Ha! - I have been in the tower rooms and no camparison). Next time, I'll just stay at a Budget Inn. Seriously, I should have booked the Hilton just a little ways away. I know I booked a hotel near the airport (deliberately), but Sheraton has gone way down hill recently. Can't trust that you're going to get a good experience with them or a crummy one like I had. Time to turn in the SPG card and just go with a chain that actually has some standards for its properties. I will say the shuttle to the airport was good. So, way to go Sheraton!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2014 by Austin, Hotel Management
Your recent stay and thoughtful review is extremely valuable to our ongoing efforts here at the Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina. Thank you, again, for your review and we are hopeful for the opportunity to host you when your travel plans permit. Warm Regards,
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 26, 2014
Your recent stay and thoughtful review is extremely valuable to our ongoing efforts here at the Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina. Thank you, again, for your review and we are hopeful for the opportunity to host you when your travel plans permit. Warm Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Raquel56 from Los Angeles, CA

Great hotel

Posted May 23, 2013
The employees are nice, explain all the hotel facilities also the hotel is very clean
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2014 by Austin, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for your recent stay. We are disappointed to hear your experience at our hotel was less than satisfactory. It is never our intention to misrepresent our facilities and we apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. We are deeply disappointed to hear that you did not receive the high level of service that we are known for. Your comments will be forwarded to the appropriate leadership and addressed immediately. Thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back for another opportunity to demonstrate the potential of our hotel. Warm Regards,