Ratings based on 2,084 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A traveler from California

Marina Accommodations Across from SeaWorld

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: The location to the beach and Sea World
Cons: The service around the pool!
Location: Sea World is basically across the street, love that we can water taxi in to the park!!! Belmont Park Beach is down the street.
Front desk check in was easy and fantastic- they really made me feel like they were there to help get me into my room quickly. The room was a bit musky smelling- to be expected. Overall room was nice- we had a marina suite. I like the separation from room and TV area. The pool is nice- has 2 waterslides for older kids and a smaller one for the younger kids and they do movie night in the pool also fun for the kids. The service around the pool on the other hand was by far the worst I've experienced at a hotel in a long time. Be patient knowing this will help your experience be a better one. I had to go to the bar to order food and drinks. The bartenders were all great and tried to be very accommodating but the servers were the worst. I had stopped one on her way in and asked if I could order and she said that she would be right back and we never saw her again. A lady sitting next to me had ordered food and beer - got the beer never the food. Seemed like that was just how it was with service around the pool across the board. So if you know that, you won't get frustrated. Once you get your food- it's good no disappointment there. The restaurant on site is a bit pricey and just OK - they need to be more kid friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A traveler from Hawaii

Excellent service but hotel needs a facelift.

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Pros: Service was outstanding.
Cons: Hotel needs a remodel. A childrens program would be easy and fun, with the pool and Sea World right there so parents can take advantage of the spa.
Location: Great location, right behind Sea World. Easy access to the zoo, great shopping, downtown San Diego, and airport. Legoland and Safari Park not too far.
My first impression of this hotel was not great. It is old and in great need of a renovation. The walk to our room smelled and the room itself was out of date and musty smelling. There was no balcony so it was closed up tight. If it were aired out it might have helped. My opinion changed very quickly as I interacted with the staff. They were all exceptional. They were friendly and very helpful. I was with my kids and they had a blast by the pool. The waterslides were a hit. I would have liked to put them in a day camp so I could take advantage of the spa but there was no child care options, which would have been nice. Also, the food and service at the restaurant was outstanding. The view of the marina was wonderful. Overall, we had a great time thanks to the staff at the hotel. Hyatt just needs to invest in a remodel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from San Diego

Every room has a view & little balcony.

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Beautiful room. Great view & staff was EXCELLENT. Even bell men John & Dwayne were 11 on scale to 10!!! Front desk also so pleasant & attentive! HOWEVER, the charge $22 for misc usages whether u use them or not & Travelocuty did NOT tell me. It did matter.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Gilbert,AZ

Fun resort for the family :)

Posted May 31, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: I love the pool and swim restaurant the resort was very beautiful!
Cons: Trying to keep an eye on the amount of drunk people around the pool area /restaurant. There are a lot of families that come here.
Location: San Diego is beautiful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Our family and I decided on a last minute trip to San Diego, Most hotels were already sold out due to the memorial day weekend holiday. We enjoyed our stay alot!
3 out of 5
by A traveler from G

Windy, loud, and not the Hyatt I expected.

Posted May 30, 2015 on Expedia
Got "upgraded" to a room for 20 bucks a night that was right over the loud music at the pool and smelled like cigarettes. Asked for a transfer and denied...then demanded a move and was eventually accommodated. Much better aside from the running toilet and food in the fridge. It was the only room available and right by the elevator. The shops have what you need but not owned by the hotel so they try to up sell everything. Relaxing trip and good location for what we did... Will not return though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Kids really enjoyed the pool

Posted May 29, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: Closed to the marina
Location: You can bike around, do some water activities.
We had a pleasant stay, the kids enjoyed much of it, the pool was nice and the bar at the pool is a great way to have a good time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Eric from Denver colorado

Thank you

Posted May 29, 2015 on Hotels
Was great stay. Would like to see more gluten-free options on the menu but all in all great stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Columbia, MD

Nice hotel, but has a lot of fees assoc. w/stay

Posted May 28, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: The staff are friendly and it is close to all the locations. The tower room was very nice
Cons: The Hotel needs to enforce the pool and hot tub rules. They need to rethink their resort fee of $20+ and $35 parking fee a day
Location: San Diego Zoo, Sea World
I stated that I would recommend, because there is no "Maybe" option. The fees would sway me to stay elsewhere. We enjoyed going to the pool/hot tub, but on 2 occasions, even though rules are posted, there were 8 kids under 8 yrs. old in the hot tub and no room for adults (signs posted saying no kids). Kids were also playing football in the pool and we almost got hit in the head by it ( again signs posted saying no ball playing). Hotel staff should enforce rules if they are going to post them. Not happy with MANDATORY resort fee, providing bike rental (which we do not use), and 2 bottles of water free a day. With CA water shortage they might want to rethink - we don't think a hotel should impose fees for things, you should just have the option to buy them if you want them!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Melbourne Australia

Quite, closest to Sea World

Posted May 27, 2015 on Expedia
Bit disappointed usual air conditioning towers as a view
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Maria J

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 27, 2015 on Hotels