Ratings based on 3,757 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Hear it directly from our travelers
3 out of 5
by A traveler from san frsncisco

Rioms not clean

Posted Aug 19, 2016
The property itself is beautiful very green and inviting. The cleanliness of the rooms did not match. The bathroom was dirty from the start spots on the mirror and faucets hadn't looked like they were cleaned. We had a late check in so started our day late. I called the front desk to request housekeeping which they said they would do. We came back to the room late that evening and no one has cleaned up. The next day We had spent the day at the beach and although we showered before leaving the beach we got sand in the bed. We again left for the day and upon our return there was still sand in the bed! On top of that my daughter showed me a spot on her pillow that looked like blood. When we checked out the next day I informed the staff of my disappointment in the cleanliness of the room. She did not even apologize but said she would talk to housekeeping!
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Nv


Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Everything
Location: Ocean, museums, Zoo
Arrived a bit before check in time - staff let us in early and were really nice. Beautiful grounds, awesome stay. Would stay again in a heart beat. Read a lot about extra charges in other reviews but it was basically California taxes.
5 out of 5
by Christopher from Beaumont, CA

Away From 8 Makes A Great Stay

Posted Jul 22, 2016 on Hotels
My wife and I vacationed here away from our 8 kids and our stay was wonderful. All the neighboring food was good; the hotel had an amazing concert and live music daily and the bay was beautiful. We enjoyed the nearby mall and SeaWorld and can't wait to return.
4 out of 5
by A traveler from R

Posted Jul 22, 2016 on Expedia
We enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it. The hotel had a relaxed atmosphere, the rooms were clean and spacious and the staff were friendly. We enjoyed the pool and breakfast was delicious with a perfect view.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Beautiful hotel on Shelter Island.

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Just the Kleenex and toilet paper quality.
Location: Hotel is right on Shelter Island across from North Island. Absolutely beautiful location.
We have stayed at this hotel a few times before and we have always enjoyed it. The rooms are clean and the grounds are beautiful. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. I only have 2 suggestions and they are very minor. The Kleenex and toilet paper are of very poor quality. Extremely thin. Also it would be really nice if there was some way to get a daily guide for the TV stations. There is a listing of all the stations available, but no way to tell what is on at what time. Can be very frustrating. I do highly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A traveler

Nice tropical feel in San Diego

Posted Jul 21, 2016 on Expedia
The hotel staff is great, very accomdating. The suite was beautiful, lots of space. The view from our balcony was incredible. Only complaint is room service arrived in cardboard paper containers with paper plates & plastic utensils. For $75.00 I would've expected better and the food was mediocre. We didn't try the restaurant so I can't comment on that. Poolside service at least had plastic outdoor type plates and a decent Caesar salad.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Super hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2016 on Expedia
Merveilleux sejour dans cet hotel une piscine au top accueil chaleureux ET ambiance musicale du Mardi soir avec concert organise Super !!!
4 out of 5
by J. Nabs

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
Clean room. Very spacious with a great view of the marina. The staff was courteous and helpful.
3 out of 5
by Randy from La Quinta

worn out.

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
room seems old and worn out. over priced, and no view at all. Lobby area has a dank smell. we had booked 3 nights, but left after one night and moved to the Andaz. Maybe more suited to a family judging by the pool area.
4 out of 5
by A traveler from Huntington Beach, CA

nice hotel, not clean sheets

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Expedia
I LOVED Humphreys. But, as soon as I got into bed my now fiancé and I moved the sheets and their was BLOOD on them. Immediately grossed out we called the front desk and took them 45 minutes to get someone down to change it. Besides that little hiccup the hotel is gorgeous and private and I'll return only because it's where my story is beginning - that night my fiancé proposed.