Ratings based on 71 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.0 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
1.3 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
1 out of 5
by A traveler from Jilla

It should be named as Hostel not hotel

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Hotel rooms are really terrible. Description is not proper while choosing the room. I asked for a room with 2 guests, the room i got is a single bed where even one heavy person cant fit completely. Common restrooms, no attached rest room, no AC , no parking. Even the Elevator is making lot of noise and lights on floor number will not be on and u wont be able to know if u are going to right floor or not.
2 out of 5
by A traveler

The "hotel" is not a hotel. It's a hostel.

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Group bathrooms. Not TV or fridge in your room. The room was probably 10x8'. The walls were paper thin
1 out of 5
by A traveler from o

Youth hostel not hotel

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Not a hotel, it is a youth hostel. Walked into lobby which was kind of dingy. One elevator was not working with dirty broken bottoms. Inside elevator was worse. Hallways and carpet was even dirtier and dingier. Room was closet size with hallway communal bathroom. Requested refund, which they immediately approved.
1 out of 5
by A traveler from New York

Misleading

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Pros: Nice staff, beautiful lobby.
Cons: Consider at the very least changing the carpeting to hard floor or laminate.
Location: I didn't stay long enough to find out.
Although I didn't expect "posh" surroundings, I was shocked at how dirty and bare the actually room was. No AC, filthy carpeting that had obviously been the original carpeting. I expected "transient", yet, based on the description and pictures, I expected much better. The elevator was frightening. I checked in, stayed long enough to find another room, and checked out. If you are looking for a place to get a few hours of sleep for a low rate, this is it, but not exactly intended to be a vacation spot.
1 out of 5
by A traveler from Seattle

Hostel. It's a hostel... not a hotel, as listed.

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Great for backpackers traveling across San Diego. That's about it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Good but it is more of a hostel

Posted Mar 24, 2015
More of a hostel setting good for traveling on a budget :) very close to everything downtown and close to coranado
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Julie84 from central California

Great for Comic-Con

Posted Aug 2, 2013
I booked this hotel for Comic-Con 2013, and I was very happy with it. It was about a 3 minute walk from the train station and was right next to one of the Con's shuttle stops. The convention center was also within walking distance as was the Gaslamp Quarter (city blocks in San Diego are much smaller than other cities). They have a restaurant onsite that we had breakfast at every morning and the food was yummy. There's a 7-11 around the corner, and a bagel place and Italian restaurant across the street. The staff at the restaurant and the front desk were very friendly. Having shared bathrooms was not a problem, and they would only open with your room key, so we never had to worry about people walking in from the street to use the restroom. Also, each bathroom is lockable, so if someone puts their key in while you're inside, it won't open. Some bathrooms are full baths while others only have a toilet and sink. We stayed on the 3rd floor and counted about 12 bathrooms total. Be warned that the showers are a little dingy, but decent. As for the rooms, they are small and the carpets definitely need to be replaced. It's quite noisy with all the traffic outside. But if you're going for Comic-Con, you aren't going to spend a lot of time in the room anyway! The bedding was clean and there were no bedbugs as some other people mentioned. Towels were given to us every day, but we didn't always get washcloths. Our room was at the corner of the building, so we had 2 windows that opened to let fresh air in, as there is no A/C. Our room also had a small desk, a wardrobe with a few hangers, a folding chair, a fridge, a celing fan, and small TV that had a lot of channels. It was the perfect size for myself and my niece. I would love to stay here again next year!
2 out of 5
Recommended
by MaxEffort from Davenport, IA

You get what you pay for.

Posted Jul 20, 2012
Pros: location
Cons: Noisy
This hotel has the basics and that is about all. For a low price (for San Diego!) it provides a place to sleep and clean-up. The "public" restrooms were not a problem- ther was always a free one available, although wash clothes were hard to come by. The location was outstanding howver, easy access to the Embarcadero and downtown. It was noisy at night on the west side, east side seemed better. Staff was helpful and friendly. If youa re looking for cheap and accessable this pplcae works fine- just don't expect too much!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by ComicGirl from New York, NY, USA

Get what you pay for

Posted Jul 20, 2012
Pros: Free Internet, cheap/ good location
Cons: Noisy, very old rooms, no ac
I went for a convention. It is in walking distance. Think dorm room. If you want a place to hang your hat and walk to the convention center this is it. No AC but frige. is available.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by WizardsRealm from York Haven, PA, USA

Not a Hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, right next to 2 train lines, convenience store next door, ups store right across street, 5 minutes by train to convention center
Cons: Noisy
You should know, this is not a traditional hotel. It is really a hostel. No bathrooms in the rooms, no AC. 1-2 beds depending on number of guests, free standing clothes cabinet closet, desk and chair, small (18 inches maybe) TV (like a computer monitor). Bathrooms are community but individual and lockable with only key access to get in (so no no guests wondering in, but they do seem to wander the halls a little with the lax security). Bathrooms consist of sink, toilet and shower. Liquid soap and shampoo provided and wash clothes (not many) also. You get one clean towel a day. Culture shock from traditional US hotels but for the money paid, it was not too bad. If it was somewhere other than San Diego, I don't know if I could deal with no AC, but it works for them there. Overall, I would recommend, just be aware of what you are getting. Free WiFi in room works fine and they have pay internet (35 cents a minute) in the lobby if you need to print something. American Plaza and Santa Fe trolly (train) stations are just the next block over and very convenient to walk to. If you have never taken the SD trolley system, it is super easy to use with nice clean, heavily protected trains and cars with transit police very visible and helpful.