Ratings based on 34 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.4 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Lovely building and hotel

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: They seemed to think of everything... down to the umbrella hanging in the closet in the event of rain. As well as thick white robes & slippers.
Location: Gaslamp Quarter, restaurants (loved de Medici's!), shopping.
Not a lot to say mostly because I don't have a lot of time. The hotel was lovely, old but well kept, they seemed to think of everything one might need. I like water and free bottled water was always available at the desk. The restaurant/bar was super... with free combo music on Friday night. The bed was super comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from colorado

Nice hotel, close to downtown.

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Concierge was very helpful, gave us good ideas! Parking and hotel extras were pricy! Liked closeness to downtown, walking distance all
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Mobile AL

Nothing Luxurious

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Pros: Comfortable rooms
Cons: Better communication from front desk and better service in the restaurant
Location: It was all business
Checked in late, and I was assigned to room 601, which turned out to be room for handicaps. Receptionist did not tell me in advance. Restroom lights were not working (turned out to be a fuse that needed to be reset). They fixed it the next morning when I complained. Also, there was a bad odor outside the room. To get your coffee in the morning, you have to check-in into the restaurant. No one informed me about these details, I had to discover it on my own. On two different days, I came back from a long day to find the door to my room loosely closed. It got better after I complained. Nothing from my stuff was missing. Location is fine, the room view was good. Cleaning and maintenance staff are very friendly and willing to help.
5 out of 5
by Gail639 from San Diego, CA

Best Hospitality, Cleanliness and Dining

Posted Aug 23, 2013
The best stay, home away for home!  For over 30 days and nights, the hospitality, cleanliness and dining was absolutely impeccable....Steven, Clifford, Ed, Harry, Demi, Alberto, Anthony, Jamie, Roz, Oscar, Damian and Nicholas...thank you!
2 out of 5
by MichaelJB from Hawaii

Noisy!

Posted May 24, 2013
The room was comfortable. The service was excellent. But, the street noise coming through the old windows was miserable... If you need a quiet place - this is not it! Reglazing the windows with double-pane glass would make all the difference in the world.
1 out of 5
by SDBeltonTexas

Beware - Over Books

Posted Feb 2, 2013
Cons: you may not have a room when you get there
Beware of this hotel, as it overbooks rooms. My recent experience was that despite making reservations weeks in advance, my administrative assistant calling the day of travel and informing the hotel of my after 10pm arrival, when I arrived at 10:20 pm was informed that there were no rooms available and they had made arrangements for me to stay at a different hotel (of significantly lower quality) more than 20 minutes away. I was part of a group meeting being held at the hotel and happened to several others attending the meeting. For the 2nd and 3rd night of my trip I was able to stay at the hotel and, overall would rate it of "average" quality and service for the price.
5 out of 5
by MissBird from Orange County, CA

Fantastic! Would definitely stay here again.

Posted Dec 10, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet, great service
I really enjoyed this hotel. It has that old school 5-star treatment you'd expect from a 1910 historic landmark. The rooms were modern and luxurious. I didn't want to leave and extended my checkout!
5 out of 5
by JoJo7 from Pearland, TX

Deserving 5-Star Hotel

Posted Oct 31, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet
Cons: no pool or jauzzi
Ours was an excellent, excellent stay. Can't stay enough for the staff. From the moment we signed in 'til we left, they were asking if we needed water, ice, assistance, a cab, etc. And the food in the restaurant was a gourmet's paradise. Bed so comfortable that it was hard to leave.
5 out of 5
by WestTexans

The concierge staff made this hotel.

Posted Aug 29, 2012
Pros: concierge service, free morning coffee
Concierges Lee Ann and Albert were tremendous. They made our experience tremendously enjoyable. They are a major asset to this hotel and should be recognized for their abilities to direct guests in a direction most suitable to their individual tastes and interests. The staff at the Grant Grill, especially Elizabeth, made evening stops something to look forward to after a long day of sightseeing. Lindsay, an evening manager, was tremendously helpful, as well as friendly, and also one that interaction with was enjoyed. The hotel was clean, and although having that upper crust 'stuffy' feeling at times, was tempered by the friendly staff. Two not so flattering thoughts were that it appeared the staff were reluctant at times to interact freely with customers as though they were being watched and expected to be friendly but stuffy, also street noise and noise from the street people tended to filter into the room during the night. And both of these less than flattering thoughts are extremely overcome by the staff mentioned above. This hotel is a jewel and should be experienced while in San Diego. Excellent, clean, and friendly.
5 out of 5
by JodiS from Pittsburgh, PA

Best experience I've ever had with a hotel!

Posted Aug 15, 2012
Pros: Quiet
EVERYONE we came into contact with was friendly, welcoming and accommodating! Rooms are perfect - from the furnishings to the size. Also, very important to me, the room was very quiet. For being in downtown San Diego I never heard street noise from my room and was able to sleep in every day without hearing cleaning service etc. The food is delicious, drinks are poured to perfection, wait staff and bartenders are the best! Just an absolutely lovely experience all the way around!!