Ratings based on 114 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Arizona

Great Place to Stay

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Everything, nothing was there that we didn't like.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: There are some good eating places near by, Like Pizza Nova and Miguel's Cocina.
Upon entering the lobby, we were greeted right away. Gary checked us in and he was very nice. The room was right across from the pool and jacuzzi. It was quiet, during the day and night. The room was large enough for the 2 of us. We will stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Dawn Sullivan, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your feedback. Our staff is happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you on your next visit to San Diego! Mahalo,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from California

Charming, clean, and quiet

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Loved our room, loved the grounds, loved the restaurant!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Humphreys

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Wish they hadn't started charging a "resort fee" as there is no concrete reason to justify it in my opinion. (No frills, no newspaper, no free breakfast or drinks. Modest room, very basic lobby, small grounds). Also think there should not be a parking fee.
3 out of 5
by A traveler

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Location - close to where others were that we were meeting.
Cons: Not very many places to eat close by that were reasonably priced. The room was dark. I always look for bed bugs upon check-in. I have never found any in every other place we have stayed, however, there were small black specks around the edges of the mattress which still has me concerned.
Location: Look at the water. Travel to other areas of San Diego for places to eat and explore.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from san frsncisco

Rioms not clean

Posted Aug 19, 2016
The property itself is beautiful very green and inviting. The cleanliness of the rooms did not match. The bathroom was dirty from the start spots on the mirror and faucets hadn't looked like they were cleaned. We had a late check in so started our day late. I called the front desk to request housekeeping which they said they would do. We came back to the room late that evening and no one has cleaned up. The next day We had spent the day at the beach and although we showered before leaving the beach we got sand in the bed. We again left for the day and upon our return there was still sand in the bed! On top of that my daughter showed me a spot on her pillow that looked like blood. When we checked out the next day I informed the staff of my disappointment in the cleanliness of the room. She did not even apologize but said she would talk to housekeeping!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A traveler from Nv

humphries

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Everything
Location: Ocean, museums, Zoo
Arrived a bit before check in time - staff let us in early and were really nice. Beautiful grounds, awesome stay. Would stay again in a heart beat. Read a lot about extra charges in other reviews but it was basically California taxes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Beautiful hotel on Shelter Island.

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Just the Kleenex and toilet paper quality.
Location: Hotel is right on Shelter Island across from North Island. Absolutely beautiful location.
We have stayed at this hotel a few times before and we have always enjoyed it. The rooms are clean and the grounds are beautiful. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. I only have 2 suggestions and they are very minor. The Kleenex and toilet paper are of very poor quality. Extremely thin. Also it would be really nice if there was some way to get a daily guide for the TV stations. There is a listing of all the stations available, but no way to tell what is on at what time. Can be very frustrating. I do highly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A traveler from Northern California

Nice hotel. The view was spectacular.

Posted Jan 11, 2016
Pros: The location and the view
Cons: Needs more towel racks in the bathroom and a grab bar for getting out of the shower/tub. They should put some sort of weather strip under the door.
Location: Take the harbor cruise, enjoyable. Loved the San Diego Zoo. Best restaurants: The Fish Market, next to the Midway. Bali Hai on Shelter Island
We arrived rather late, after midnight. The desk clerk was very nice and helpful. Then drove down the parking lot and went up to our room. There is no elevator so we had to climb the stairs to our second floor room. The room was nice, very large with plenty of seating and places for your luggage. The door was a bit hard to close. The bed was OK, a bit too firm for my taste. Everything was very clean and well kept. The next morning we looked out the sliding glass door to a beautiful view of the beach and the San Diego skyline in the distance. We had plenty of towels in the bathroom but no towel racks other than the one over the shower. There were also no hooks to hang items of clothing. There should also be a grab bar when getting out of the tub/shower. Our room was in a strange location, right next to a door that went into the interior hallway. Sometimes this door was propped open, blocking our door. This also meant that when people came and went from the hallway door we often got a lot of noise and our bed was right on the other side of the wall. We were woken up a couple of times at night by folks banging about and slamming the hallway door.. The door to our room had a gap under it and cold air came in at night. The bed was right in the path of the cold air. A few problems here but we did enjoy our stay and had a pleasant trip to San Diego.
3 out of 5
by A traveler

poor restaurant

Posted Nov 9, 2015
$48 steak was tough, round steak cut and potatoes were soggy
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Greenbrae Ca

Late arrival-perfect accomodation.

Posted Aug 18, 2015
I arrived 10 hours behind schedule due to airplane problems. Desk staff put me in best room at the resort. Fantastic, beautiful suite. Exceptional service. It was a business trip. Wish I could have stayed more than one night.