Ratings based on 2,731 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
by A traveler from new york

beyond best expectations. excellent in all areas

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: everything and everybody
Cons: i don't see any area that needs improvement.
Location: walk to shops, stores, safe and very clean. very large area
i book this based on other reviews. i was so impressed with the hotel. it was clean, beautiful, and the staff was like no other. they couldn't do enough for us. they were prompt, friendly, and they were always willing to help, and not make you feel like a problem. food was excellent, beautiful beach, all the amenities. i can't stop talking about it and will recommend this hotel to others. it was paradise.
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Sonoma County CA

Beautiful hotel on the beach. Romantic stay

Posted Sep 10, 2016
This hotel and it's staff are incredible. From the moment we checked in to departure, they were available to our every need. The staff gave excellent service. I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else. The food was delicious, healthy and great presentation. I felt extremely comfortable and safe. Great location to the beach and shops.
4 out of 5
by A traveler

Great place!

Posted Aug 17, 2016
The staff were amazing! Top shelf tequila included at no upgrade cost!! Super cute things they did in the rooms are each cleaning like leaving rose petals or snails made out of towels. Only down fall was the food. Not impressed bUT it's close enough to down town that you can get whatever you are craving :) overall great stay
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Macon, Ga

Dont look for shade on the beach

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: The architecture
Cons: Beach situation and chairs at pool
Location: Location is good but we didnt do anything outside the resort.
We like a resort that has shade on the beach, be it umbrella, tiki hut or cabana. This resort has only cabanas. I saw that when I booked. What I didnt realize is they are reserved for certain suites. Had I known that I would certainly have booked one with a cabana. They are a few that had flat tops on them that werent reserved but they basically provided no shade at all. Not to mention that they were all taken with towels on them at 7:00 in the morning. Only other option was to be in the sun. So we wound up staying at the other pool nearer to the lobby every day. The pool by the beach was filled with a lot of drunk partying people. Came to Playa del Carmen to see the beautiful Carribean and wound up seeing very little of it. The food was pretty good most of the time and every employee was very polite. The entertainment that we saw was very good! Its a beautiful place but I wouldnt go back. Its too big. Prefer a much smaller resort. The big kicker is I booked and paid for an oceanview room thru Travelocity and when we arrived we were given a street view room and was told no way to get oceanview without moving every two days. So we had to settle for the only available room which turned out to be fine since we spent very little time in there. But not what I paid for.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Very nice hotel and the best staff

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Expedia
The hotel is very nice. Located next to Playa de Carmen shops and clubs but very quiet. They have the best service, staff was always willing to help you. Food and drinks were excellent. Many choices of food to choose from and all delicious.
4 out of 5
by A traveler from Boston

Luxurious hotel with amazing staff and location

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: - restaurant choices; - Best (restaurant, bar, pool) staff ever; - location by the 5th avenue
Cons: - Do not allocate problematic (smell, noise) rooms to clients; - Clean algae more promptly; - Regulate noise level (use of personal radios);
Location: - Shopping
- Luxurious hotel; - Amazing staff; - Great location; - Some restaurant with excellent food; - The hotel is in the middle of renovations, which means we had to move three rooms: the first had a musty smell, the second did not have the view we paid for and the third had AC noise from the roof.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Worth every penny!

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Expedia
Beautiful very clean hotel. Staff were above and beyond my expectations. Very close to the beach. The amenties were exceptional. We will definitely come back.
5 out of 5
by A traveler from MD

Excellent Resort

Posted Jul 24, 2016 on Expedia
My husband and I had an amazing experience at the ROYAL! We were celebrating our anniversary. The room was beautiful, housekeeping did a wonderful job cleaning every day, turndown service every night, and they even had different floral arrangements on our bed. The concierge people, and BD travel we're extremely helpful in planning/ booking excursions, answering questions, making dinner reservations. Will definitely go back!
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Houston

Great location! This hotel is a hidden gem!!

Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Expedia
This was our 4 trip to Playa del Carmen and The Royal was our first time! It takes 1st place!
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Incredible hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2016 on Expedia
The best hotel i have ever stayed in, the most amazing friendly professional staff I have ever encounter