Ratings based on 158 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Iowa

Excellent Resort

Posted Jun 12, 2017
Pros: Hotel was clean and again could not have asked for a better staff.
Cons: Really would have liked to have had a Budwiser. Only had Coors for American beers. I do jest a little.
Would definitely return. Staff was friendly and helpful. Food was great and a good selection of choices. We enjoyed that is was close to the shopping area, yes the individuals trying to sell were typical but not overly pushy. We enjoyed the selection of meal options.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Fantastic All Inclusive!

Posted Mar 21, 2017
An A+! Great food & service. Beautiful pools & landscaping. So close to shopping & ferry pier to Cozumel Island. Loved the coffee shop. The evening entertainment shows were full of unbelievable talent. Our rm was always clean & restocked with more amenities than we could ever want. Loved the slippers, robes, jet tub and patio hammock in our rm. Only one negative, the bed was too hard for our liking. Can't wait to go back again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from Staten Island, NY

Perfect location for a trip to Playa del Carmen

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: Beautiful building and grounds well maintained. Friendly, polite and professional staff eager to ensure a great experience. On premises restaurants!
Cons: Entertainment and karaoke until at least Midnight, rather than 11 PM. Entertainment to begin on schedule so dinner can be planned before or after.
Location: Hotel is a short walk to town if shopping is in your interest. Worthwhile to see the local shops one afternoon (5th Ave).
Hotel staff and locals in Playa del Carmen are very friendly and welcoming. Restaurants on premises are excellent and no need to try the off premises restaurants that are included in the plan. Top shelf alcohol is included and the included house wines are a good offering. Chef cooking shows at the pool are fun and the well prepared food offered to all at the pool. Pools are clean and well maintained but not heated ... just a bit cool. Beach is clean and ocean is fun. Servers offer drinks all day at the pools and beach. Bartenders at all the bars are attentive. Evening entertainment is local.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from new jersey

beautiful location, relaxing week

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Resort is well maintained
Cons: room issue
Location: Location to local shopping was perfecto.
Staye done wek. The hotel staff did a fantastic job helping with every request. pool bar staff was awesome, namely Erick,Luis and Chi. Housekeeping was great, Great food as well
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Texas

Would Absolutely Return to this Resort!

Posted Jan 10, 2017
From the welcome we received upon our arrival to our departure...we enjoyed our entire stay at the Royal!. The staff were accommodating, kind, helpful and very friendly. The dining experiences we had were very enjoyable, the Chef's Plate was our favorite, with Maria Marie in second. However we also liked the Japanese restaurant and Rincon Mexico...fabulous authentic taco bar and delicious scallop ceviche. The drinks were wonderful, not watered down like in some other "all inclusive" resorts I have been to...loved our vacation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Second time this year

Posted Dec 31, 2016
We love the location of this hotel and the attentive staff. We noticed a deterioration in quality of the food and housekeeping since our first visit last April, noting we were there during peak season over Christmas. Small things like the lack of towels in the gym because "yesterday was Christmas so no one was working". As we neared the end of our stay, housekeeping missed standard turn down service on our last night. All in all a good but not great return visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Return to The Royal

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: The staff is excellent !
Cons: 1)This resort needs more swimming pools! They have the room for it and its long overdue A lazy river would also be a good addition.
Location: You are right in the middle of Playa del Carmen, plenty of shopping minutes from the front door
This was our second stay at The Royal and it was very nice. Some things naturally change over time, ( some restaurants not as good as you remembered, other restaurants are better now). We have been travelling to this area of Mexico for many years ( every site all-inclusive). I would still recommend The Royal, but there are many other resorts which are just as good! Negatives a) the aggressive and sly time-share group which hangs out near the front desk.You are always watched. after you check-in. Avoid the front desk! b) Rooms facing the street are subject to continuous carbon monoxide from buses,at all times of the day! Our first morning we were awakened at 7am .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from Carmel, Indiana

Hotel Stay

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Above
Cons: NO
We visited Playa Del Carmen for our first time & our honeymoon. From the moment we checked in everything and everyone was simply amazing!!! We loved the fact that not only was it "all inclusive & adults only. But, we appreciated the daily activities that were available and the shows at night. Every restaurant and even the room service was excellent. We Spent the majority of our time at the pool. You have exceptional staff. Edwardo, Paco, and all of the pool activity staff were amazing. Truly have no complaints. The spa and their services were professional and top notch. We actually are looking forward to making a reservation to visit again during this very same time either next December 2017 or 2018!!!! You should be proud of your hotel and your staff... THANK YOU form the bottom of our hearts Kim and James Clark
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Wonderful Resort

Posted Oct 24, 2016
This resort was amazing. The rooms were beautiful. The resort was very clean and every staff member was friendly. The food was great. We loved every restaurant at the resort. My only con would be the ocean...I would have liked the water to be more blue/clear. This is nothing the resort can fix though. It would definitely not stop me from going back. My husband and I went with three other couples and everyone had fun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from new york

beyond best expectations. excellent in all areas

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: everything and everybody
Cons: i don't see any area that needs improvement.
Location: walk to shops, stores, safe and very clean. very large area
i book this based on other reviews. i was so impressed with the hotel. it was clean, beautiful, and the staff was like no other. they couldn't do enough for us. they were prompt, friendly, and they were always willing to help, and not make you feel like a problem. food was excellent, beautiful beach, all the amenities. i can't stop talking about it and will recommend this hotel to others. it was paradise.