Ratings based on 126 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from Raleigh

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Pros: loved that it was walkable to 5th ave. The food was amazing
Cons: seaweed- but nothing you can do about that.
Location: 5th ave. was walking distant and great for shopping and bar life. Many excursions come pick you up right at the hotel for a good price.
The hotel was absolutely beautiful. Food was delicious at every restaurant. Pelicanos had a great view. The Asian restaurant was amazing. The staff was very friendly. Turn down service was always beautiful with rose petals, champagne, and bubble bath. Always had activities by the pool. Didn't even need to leave the resort because there was always things to do.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Austin, TX

Friendliest staff, great included amenities/food!

Posted Aug 14, 2015
We absolutely LOVED our stay at The Royal. I cannot say enough great things about each and every employee there. The restaurant and sports and entertainment staff especially were kind and made us feel right at home (even remembering our drink orders and names!) The food at this resort is absolutely incredible. We loved all of the options, and tried every restaraunt at least once. (Definitely go to the tapas plave for lunch and go to the taco bar!!! Coming from austin texas (with amazing tacos), we thought it would be hard to beat. But they do it! We loved the staff there especially. They were all excellent. We also loved the restaraunts for dinner and all the specialty drink cocktails. The tequila bar was a great quiet spot with great bartenders at night. The activities were top notch too! We loved the entertainment staff. We did water aerobics, made bracelets, watched them make ceviche, salsa dancing, dancing at the dance party night in the hotel lobby, the bike tour and tons of other things! The staff was excellent. The location and facilities of the hotel are also amazing. It's right in the middle of downtown playa del Carmen so tons of shops and additional food options (not that we were ever tired of the food at the resort, but we were only there 5 nights!) The pool was fun, very lively but also some quiet spots. Tons of chairs that suit everyone-with shade, In the pool, etc. we also loved the beach cabanas Great hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Northern NJ

Great location

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Hotel is beautiful, reminded me of the Mediterranean. Customer service was impeccable, a staff member always available to assist and provide the best quality service. The beach was terrible, a lot of seaweed; locals stated that a certain time of year the beach usually gets like that. With all of the different options for activities and tours, the seaweed at the beach did not ruin my vacation. I would highly recommend visiting Playa del Carmen, I would go there again and again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Great stay!

Posted Jul 31, 2015
You will love all of the restaurants and staff. I was slightly disappointed with the room since you really could not see the ocean. Loved the proximity to 5th Ave. for shopping! Enjoyed the pools and the drinks were fantastic!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Kentucky

The food is fabulous!

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Pros: Food, spa, gym. There is also rooms in another corridor and another pool area that is quiet if you want a quiet area. The main pool area fun.
Cons: Not enough chairs at the pool. You have to save one at 7 a.m. to get one or you are out for the day.
Location: Location is perfect if you aren't looking for a secluded resort. I love the location.
This is a very very nice resort. We have stayed at several all inclusive hotels and this was among the best. The location is great, especially if you like to be near town and something to do. You walk outside the front and go half a block and you are on Playa del Carmen's Fifth Avenue with lots and lots of shopping. We shopped a little but really just liked to go out in the evenings and walk and it is someplace you can feel safe at night. The spa area is fantastic. There is a whirlpool (hot and cold plunge) and sauna and steam room that you can use as a hotel guest and even if you aren't purchasing something from the spa. The gym is also fantastic. Lots of cardio machines (this is not usually the case at all inclusives) and free pilates reformer classes! The food is the best we have had at an all inclusive hotel anywhere. The grounds are not as opulent as some places we stayed at but still is nice and the food makes up for any of that. Only bad part was the pool chair situation where you have to be up at 7 a.m. to save one. This was really a pain but the absolute only way you will get a chair. I have never had this problem before but this is how it works at this hotel. All in all a great experience at the resort. Nice/friendly/helpful staff too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from Chicago

Trip of a lifetime

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: The service is unbelievable. Each person greets you with a heartfelt hello as you pass them.
Cons: Perfection
Location: Mayan ruins on the beach at Tulum.
My wife and I went to celebrate our 25thth anniversary. Everything was breathtaking. I now understand what is meant by 5 diamond resort. The restaurants, the bars, the beach, it was all perfection.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from W

Most expensive nap

Posted Mar 31, 2015
What should have been a relaxing, restful and a festive get-a-way was derailed by the construction of the hotel, right next door. At check-in, it was not made known that there was construction going on, first thing every single morning! The construction crew was loud, the equipment ran constantly. Even though The Royal's management cannot control the construction on another hotel, it would have been proactive on their part to alert me and my guests. It would have allowed me to change rooms. The only compensation offered - $100 voucher for dinner on the beach! This was offered late Saturday evening, via voicemail and after we had had dinner! All I wanted was an explanation as to why I was not told about the construction upon check-in!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Tex75219 from Dallas, TX

Great Value! Great vacation!

Posted Nov 5, 2013
Even though I was traveling alone I felt very safe & had no incident of uneasiness . Playa Royal was comfortable & the staff is wonderful. 
5 out of 5
Recommended
by OzyKip from Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Definitely worth the extra couple of $$

Posted Sep 23, 2013
We actually booked this from the foyer of another resort after a booking error - What a brilliant mistake! I have stayed at a few all inclusive resorts and this was hands down the best! Service was brilliant, food was excellent and the restaurants were open when you wanted them, we later spent a few nights at the Riu palace in Cancun and the difference was huge! The Riu was $50  a night cheaper but felt very second rate compared to the Royal. I would definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
by Arturojr78 from San Antonio, TX

Very clean and excellent customer service

Posted Sep 11, 2013
excellent staff, considering that it was an all inclusive hotel the food choices were good, the facility offered lots of activities and entertainment, would definitely recommend!