Ratings based on 2,387 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from Richmond, VA

Outstanding hotel on the beach. Great staff.

Posted Dec 8, 2015
Pros: Location to beach, self contained.
Location: Lots of day trips available to explore the history of Mexico and take part in water activities, zip lines, etc.
Excellent selection of restaurants on the resort. Walking distance to 5th street shopping in Playa del Carmen. Variety of activities during the day, volleyball, etc. Good entertainment in the evening.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Huntington Beach, Ca

Amazing All Inclusive Resort

Posted Dec 5, 2015
Pros: Everything
This was our 2nd vacation to Royal Playa Del Carmen, and we would/will return again. The resort in amazing with wonderful restaurants our favorite is Maria Marie and their waiter Jorge Para is amazing. The resort bar facilities are great and the pools are great too. House keeping's Theresa A. made our room experience special. Their evening shows are a great wind down dancers are amazing. It is also really nice to be able to walk into town for a local experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Kansas City

On the beach

Posted Dec 2, 2015
Pros: Restaurants, and proximity to night life.
Cons: The beach and the number of chairs at the beach and the pool.
This hotel has very nice accommodations and super restaurants. The hotel is right on the beach. I enjoyed my stay here. I have stayed at many hotels in Cancun and Playa del Carmen. This is one of the best. I do have 2 complaints. First, as per most hotels, it is always difficult to find chairs at the pool or the beach if you get to the pool or beach after 9 AM. Second, the seaweed washes up on the beach, as usual at most hotels in Mexico. The staff did a great job of cleaning this up, but they dug huge holes in the beach to bury the seaweed. They did this every day. When the staff dug up the beach, it smelled like a sewerage plant. HORRIBLE! I had to go back to the pool to get away from the smell. And then when I got to the pool, a few hundred feet from the beach, there were no chairs! I would go back to this hotel. But I would reserve a cabana at the pool to keep to myself and my friends for the whole day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Ecuador

Mejores vacaciones ,excelente ubicacion.

Posted Nov 5, 2015 on Expedia
Nos encanto el hotel, la ubicaciòn ! Y lo mejor los huevos rancheros de Viridiana!! Siempre con una herrmosa sonrisa y tambien la atenciòn de Ale Collazo muy gentil!!! La habitaciòn super grande y còmoda! Todo muy recomendable!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Nice pools and friendly service

Posted Nov 5, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: Close to town and you could walk without getting a cab. Rooms were clean, food was good.
Cons: Chairs with umbrellas.
Location: Close to town which was an asset. It was close enough that you could walk to.
The hotel was very pretty and staff was very accommodating and very helpful. The only drawback was the chairs at the pool were not very comfortable. Did not have umbrellas around the pool which was needed for he ones of us who likes the sun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from Oklahoma

Perfect for wife's birthday and our 41st Ann.

Posted Nov 5, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: Cleanliness, location and staff.
Location: Location, location, location they say it is everything. It is true in this case. On the beach, yet walk to best shopping in the town.
This hotel was recommended to us by a friend. It did not disappoint. Staff was friendly and helpful. Great location for beach and walk to local shopping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from Delaware

Posted Nov 4, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: We loved the service and the cleanliness.
Cons: I know its the sales reps to be aggressive, but to teach them when to back off.
Location: There were plenty of shopping areas walking distance and there were enough activities to do on the resort where you did not need to leave.
The hotel and staff was GREAT. The food options were perfect, lots to choose from-very tasty . I been to lots of hotel in the caribbean: Sandals, Beaches, Iberostar, and more; this is on my #1 list...The only problem I had was with the sales people that were trying to sell their packages that they call their PLATINUM SERVICE, they are very aggressive, made me feel very uncomfortable. We was going out (Andre) was very inquisitive, he wanted to know where we were going, who we were going to see, and when we were coming back. Thought that was information was not needed for him and he was very RUDE. For that reason, I would not visit that hotel if he is there . I would encourage family and friends to visit because the hotel and service was great . I am going to let family and friends know about these sales people and to stay clear of Andre.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from new jersey

Great hotel, excellent food and fantastic staff

Posted Nov 3, 2015 on Expedia
My boyfriend and I recently went for a little getaway at this resort. We are both foodies and we're very pleased with the restaurants and food, particularly Marie Marie. The staff was all fantastic and facilites all very clean. We were very pleased with this resort
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from Arkansas

nice hotel

Posted Nov 3, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: Food was good.
Location: Location was great for shopping.
Nice hotel, but beach area not so great. Rocks rocks and more rocks. Friend that went with me cut her foot on them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Houston, Texas

Good overall experience.

Posted Nov 2, 2015 on Expedia
Basically a good overall experience. Three thing though: 1. Requested a 2 hour late checked due to a later flight, but they charged me for it. The Facility is not inexpensive. That Is pretty weak!!! 2. The pool should remain open later than 8pm. That is rather early. 3. The minute we got there they tried selling us additional Stays/packages. Let us relax for awhile & enjoy the facility.