Ratings based on 154 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Texas

Would Absolutely Return to this Resort!

Posted Jan 10, 2017
From the welcome we received upon our arrival to our departure...we enjoyed our entire stay at the Royal!. The staff were accommodating, kind, helpful and very friendly. The dining experiences we had were very enjoyable, the Chef's Plate was our favorite, with Maria Marie in second. However we also liked the Japanese restaurant and Rincon Mexico...fabulous authentic taco bar and delicious scallop ceviche. The drinks were wonderful, not watered down like in some other "all inclusive" resorts I have been to...loved our vacation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Second time this year

Posted Dec 31, 2016
We love the location of this hotel and the attentive staff. We noticed a deterioration in quality of the food and housekeeping since our first visit last April, noting we were there during peak season over Christmas. Small things like the lack of towels in the gym because "yesterday was Christmas so no one was working". As we neared the end of our stay, housekeeping missed standard turn down service on our last night. All in all a good but not great return visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Return to The Royal

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: The staff is excellent !
Cons: 1)This resort needs more swimming pools! They have the room for it and its long overdue A lazy river would also be a good addition.
Location: You are right in the middle of Playa del Carmen, plenty of shopping minutes from the front door
This was our second stay at The Royal and it was very nice. Some things naturally change over time, ( some restaurants not as good as you remembered, other restaurants are better now). We have been travelling to this area of Mexico for many years ( every site all-inclusive). I would still recommend The Royal, but there are many other resorts which are just as good! Negatives a) the aggressive and sly time-share group which hangs out near the front desk.You are always watched. after you check-in. Avoid the front desk! b) Rooms facing the street are subject to continuous carbon monoxide from buses,at all times of the day! Our first morning we were awakened at 7am .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from Carmel, Indiana

Hotel Stay

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Above
Cons: NO
We visited Playa Del Carmen for our first time & our honeymoon. From the moment we checked in everything and everyone was simply amazing!!! We loved the fact that not only was it "all inclusive & adults only. But, we appreciated the daily activities that were available and the shows at night. Every restaurant and even the room service was excellent. We Spent the majority of our time at the pool. You have exceptional staff. Edwardo, Paco, and all of the pool activity staff were amazing. Truly have no complaints. The spa and their services were professional and top notch. We actually are looking forward to making a reservation to visit again during this very same time either next December 2017 or 2018!!!! You should be proud of your hotel and your staff... THANK YOU form the bottom of our hearts Kim and James Clark
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Wonderful Resort

Posted Oct 24, 2016
This resort was amazing. The rooms were beautiful. The resort was very clean and every staff member was friendly. The food was great. We loved every restaurant at the resort. My only con would be the ocean...I would have liked the water to be more blue/clear. This is nothing the resort can fix though. It would definitely not stop me from going back. My husband and I went with three other couples and everyone had fun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from new york

beyond best expectations. excellent in all areas

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: everything and everybody
Cons: i don't see any area that needs improvement.
Location: walk to shops, stores, safe and very clean. very large area
i book this based on other reviews. i was so impressed with the hotel. it was clean, beautiful, and the staff was like no other. they couldn't do enough for us. they were prompt, friendly, and they were always willing to help, and not make you feel like a problem. food was excellent, beautiful beach, all the amenities. i can't stop talking about it and will recommend this hotel to others. it was paradise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Sonoma County CA

Beautiful hotel on the beach. Romantic stay

Posted Sep 10, 2016
This hotel and it's staff are incredible. From the moment we checked in to departure, they were available to our every need. The staff gave excellent service. I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else. The food was delicious, healthy and great presentation. I felt extremely comfortable and safe. Great location to the beach and shops.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Great place!

Posted Aug 17, 2016
The staff were amazing! Top shelf tequila included at no upgrade cost!! Super cute things they did in the rooms are each cleaning like leaving rose petals or snails made out of towels. Only down fall was the food. Not impressed bUT it's close enough to down town that you can get whatever you are craving :) overall great stay
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Macon, Ga

Dont look for shade on the beach

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: The architecture
Cons: Beach situation and chairs at pool
Location: Location is good but we didnt do anything outside the resort.
We like a resort that has shade on the beach, be it umbrella, tiki hut or cabana. This resort has only cabanas. I saw that when I booked. What I didnt realize is they are reserved for certain suites. Had I known that I would certainly have booked one with a cabana. They are a few that had flat tops on them that werent reserved but they basically provided no shade at all. Not to mention that they were all taken with towels on them at 7:00 in the morning. Only other option was to be in the sun. So we wound up staying at the other pool nearer to the lobby every day. The pool by the beach was filled with a lot of drunk partying people. Came to Playa del Carmen to see the beautiful Carribean and wound up seeing very little of it. The food was pretty good most of the time and every employee was very polite. The entertainment that we saw was very good! Its a beautiful place but I wouldnt go back. Its too big. Prefer a much smaller resort. The big kicker is I booked and paid for an oceanview room thru Travelocity and when we arrived we were given a street view room and was told no way to get oceanview without moving every two days. So we had to settle for the only available room which turned out to be fine since we spent very little time in there. But not what I paid for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Wonderful experience: Will be back!

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Pros: Clean, spacious room; pools are nice and decent sized; pretty beach; excellent service; hotel employees are friendly and professional
Cons: Cons: the food varied greatly; great in some spots (Chef's Plate); just fair in others; beach was calm but had a lot of rocks and seaweed
Location: Close to a lot of shops, bars and clubs; local shuttle to Cozumel is near; the resort is isolated enough if you want to relax
I stayed at The Royal Playa del Carmen for 4 days and nights in mid-July. Amazing resort, close to the beach. Top-notch amenities and the service was exceptional. I really have no complaints as my boyfriend and I had a sublime time there.