Ratings based on 2,396 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from Richmond, VA

Outstanding hotel on the beach. Great staff.

Posted Dec 8, 2015
Pros: Location to beach, self contained.
Location: Lots of day trips available to explore the history of Mexico and take part in water activities, zip lines, etc.
Excellent selection of restaurants on the resort. Walking distance to 5th street shopping in Playa del Carmen. Variety of activities during the day, volleyball, etc. Good entertainment in the evening.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Huntington Beach, Ca

Amazing All Inclusive Resort

Posted Dec 5, 2015
Pros: Everything
This was our 2nd vacation to Royal Playa Del Carmen, and we would/will return again. The resort in amazing with wonderful restaurants our favorite is Maria Marie and their waiter Jorge Para is amazing. The resort bar facilities are great and the pools are great too. House keeping's Theresa A. made our room experience special. Their evening shows are a great wind down dancers are amazing. It is also really nice to be able to walk into town for a local experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Kansas City

On the beach

Posted Dec 2, 2015
Pros: Restaurants, and proximity to night life.
Cons: The beach and the number of chairs at the beach and the pool.
This hotel has very nice accommodations and super restaurants. The hotel is right on the beach. I enjoyed my stay here. I have stayed at many hotels in Cancun and Playa del Carmen. This is one of the best. I do have 2 complaints. First, as per most hotels, it is always difficult to find chairs at the pool or the beach if you get to the pool or beach after 9 AM. Second, the seaweed washes up on the beach, as usual at most hotels in Mexico. The staff did a great job of cleaning this up, but they dug huge holes in the beach to bury the seaweed. They did this every day. When the staff dug up the beach, it smelled like a sewerage plant. HORRIBLE! I had to go back to the pool to get away from the smell. And then when I got to the pool, a few hundred feet from the beach, there were no chairs! I would go back to this hotel. But I would reserve a cabana at the pool to keep to myself and my friends for the whole day!
3 out of 5
by A traveler

Quite a change from my 2012 visit.

Posted Nov 15, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: Room Service
Cons: Better music at the pool.
The music at the pool is not loud enough to hear at the far end of the pool. They don't allow smoking at the pool anymore (especially for an all adult pool). The food in the 24 hour bar hardly ever changes. Room service was great. Better food than at the restaurants. I heard that 3 months ago, Hyatt Regency bought them out and they are trying to get a better class of guests. For the price of a supposedly 5 star hotel, it shouldn't matter who stays there. I don't like the idea of people putting towels on several chairs at once at 6am to say them. When we came back from a horseback ride at noon, there were no places at the pool, so we had to go to the beach. It should be first come, first serve.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Great hotel in town with safe offsite shopping.

Posted Nov 15, 2015 on Expedia
Incredible week including great food, great weather and a phenomenon staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Gorgeous Hotel with wonderful service!

Posted Nov 14, 2015 on Expedia
The hotel was beautiful, located right on the beach and by 5th avenue for shopping. The service was amazing, the food was wonderful, and the view was beautiful! They have several restaurants to choose from and own the property next door so we were allowed to go over there and try theirs as well. If you go, try Asiana's, and ask to sit in Victors section....this is by far the best restaurant (although, all are great) and Victor knew exactly what to recommend. We ate there three times!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler

Lovely stay at the Royal

Posted Nov 12, 2015 on Hotels
Awesome spot. There were a few problems with the room but they were quickly put to rights. There was one serious issue with the air-conditioning dripping water on the floor and one of us slipped badly hurting our arm. The hotel did fix this immediately and addressed the incident to my satisfaction. I mention this to encourage you to check your room and ensure all is in order. It's a very good experience. Enjoy if you go - you should!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by SERGIO

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 12, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Stratham, NH

Great adult All-Inclusive resort

Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: We loved everything about this resort from all the room amenities to the food, the staff, the faucilites, entertainment, and don't forget the drinks!
Cons: I would have some sort of snack bar near the pool. more comfortable lounge chairs.
Location: The location was great, centrally located one block from 5th avenue loaded with shops and resturants. Most other attractions were basically a day trip
Overall great experience. More then we expected. Very attentive staff. Great food choices. Good resturants with many food choices and well presented when food arrives. Beach was poor but it was due to seaweed issue affecting whole Carribean. Great pools and plenty of towels available. Resort only a block from 5th avenue which is loades with shops and resturants. Only thing we wish they had was a snack bar of some kind near the pool area. We enjoyed the entertainment which was much better then we have seen at other resorts. Resort did not feel crowed, probably because we were there off season. We will definitely return for another stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from New Jersey

Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: Everything from start to finish. The location, the staff, the room, the food... All were great
Cons: Nothing!
Location: The hotel was perfectly located on the beach and in the center of town. Nightlife, shopping, and everything else were all within walking distance.
The staff at the Royal Playa del Carmen were absolutely amazing. I have traveled all over the world and I have never encountered friendlier, welcoming, or more professional people anywhere. From the moment we arrived to the day we left everyone was great. I would give the hotel a 5 star rating based solely on the staff, it's just a bonus that the hotel itself is also top notch!