Ratings based on 2,080 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from Raleigh

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Pros: loved that it was walkable to 5th ave. The food was amazing
Cons: seaweed- but nothing you can do about that.
Location: 5th ave. was walking distant and great for shopping and bar life. Many excursions come pick you up right at the hotel for a good price.
The hotel was absolutely beautiful. Food was delicious at every restaurant. Pelicanos had a great view. The Asian restaurant was amazing. The staff was very friendly. Turn down service was always beautiful with rose petals, champagne, and bubble bath. Always had activities by the pool. Didn't even need to leave the resort because there was always things to do.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Austin, TX

Friendliest staff, great included amenities/food!

Posted Aug 14, 2015
We absolutely LOVED our stay at The Royal. I cannot say enough great things about each and every employee there. The restaurant and sports and entertainment staff especially were kind and made us feel right at home (even remembering our drink orders and names!) The food at this resort is absolutely incredible. We loved all of the options, and tried every restaraunt at least once. (Definitely go to the tapas plave for lunch and go to the taco bar!!! Coming from austin texas (with amazing tacos), we thought it would be hard to beat. But they do it! We loved the staff there especially. They were all excellent. We also loved the restaraunts for dinner and all the specialty drink cocktails. The tequila bar was a great quiet spot with great bartenders at night. The activities were top notch too! We loved the entertainment staff. We did water aerobics, made bracelets, watched them make ceviche, salsa dancing, dancing at the dance party night in the hotel lobby, the bike tour and tons of other things! The staff was excellent. The location and facilities of the hotel are also amazing. It's right in the middle of downtown playa del Carmen so tons of shops and additional food options (not that we were ever tired of the food at the resort, but we were only there 5 nights!) The pool was fun, very lively but also some quiet spots. Tons of chairs that suit everyone-with shade, In the pool, etc. we also loved the beach cabanas Great hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Northern NJ

Great location

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Hotel is beautiful, reminded me of the Mediterranean. Customer service was impeccable, a staff member always available to assist and provide the best quality service. The beach was terrible, a lot of seaweed; locals stated that a certain time of year the beach usually gets like that. With all of the different options for activities and tours, the seaweed at the beach did not ruin my vacation. I would highly recommend visiting Playa del Carmen, I would go there again and again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Great stay!

Posted Jul 31, 2015
You will love all of the restaurants and staff. I was slightly disappointed with the room since you really could not see the ocean. Loved the proximity to 5th Ave. for shopping! Enjoyed the pools and the drinks were fantastic!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Kentucky

The food is fabulous!

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Pros: Food, spa, gym. There is also rooms in another corridor and another pool area that is quiet if you want a quiet area. The main pool area fun.
Cons: Not enough chairs at the pool. You have to save one at 7 a.m. to get one or you are out for the day.
Location: Location is perfect if you aren't looking for a secluded resort. I love the location.
This is a very very nice resort. We have stayed at several all inclusive hotels and this was among the best. The location is great, especially if you like to be near town and something to do. You walk outside the front and go half a block and you are on Playa del Carmen's Fifth Avenue with lots and lots of shopping. We shopped a little but really just liked to go out in the evenings and walk and it is someplace you can feel safe at night. The spa area is fantastic. There is a whirlpool (hot and cold plunge) and sauna and steam room that you can use as a hotel guest and even if you aren't purchasing something from the spa. The gym is also fantastic. Lots of cardio machines (this is not usually the case at all inclusives) and free pilates reformer classes! The food is the best we have had at an all inclusive hotel anywhere. The grounds are not as opulent as some places we stayed at but still is nice and the food makes up for any of that. Only bad part was the pool chair situation where you have to be up at 7 a.m. to save one. This was really a pain but the absolute only way you will get a chair. I have never had this problem before but this is how it works at this hotel. All in all a great experience at the resort. Nice/friendly/helpful staff too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from Chicago

Trip of a lifetime

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: The service is unbelievable. Each person greets you with a heartfelt hello as you pass them.
Cons: Perfection
Location: Mayan ruins on the beach at Tulum.
My wife and I went to celebrate our 25thth anniversary. Everything was breathtaking. I now understand what is meant by 5 diamond resort. The restaurants, the bars, the beach, it was all perfection.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from M.

Amazing Honeymoon

Posted May 29, 2015 on Expedia
We had a great time at Royal! Stuff are suuuuper nice food is very very good and room is amazing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from Racine

Very nice hotel and staff.

Posted May 28, 2015 on Expedia
Very nice hotel and staff! We stayed in the Presidential Suite and the service was really nice. The hotel facilities are excellent. The gym could be renovated. The hotel is close to Downtown and La Quinta Av. The Restaurants are really good, specially the Le Chef. The beach in front of the hotel is not the best one and there is no enough space for so many chairs. They should review it. The staff is great and a special thanks to Igor, Pedro and Arturo from Le Chef and also for a lady that was cleaning the glasses in the swimming pool area. Very nice people that make the hotel a 4.5 stars! Well done!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Posted May 28, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: The suite and the location of hotel. It's near 5th Avenue where all the stores, restuarants, etc. are located.
We turned a horrible situation to a wonderful experience with friends and family.
2 out of 5
by A traveler from asdf

Boring

Posted May 26, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: Staff was very nice.
Cons: entertainment
No night life, restaurants and bars closed by 10:45pm, lack of good entertainment, ocean was too rocky too swim in.