Ratings based on 2,738 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Wonderful Resort

Posted Oct 24, 2016
This resort was amazing. The rooms were beautiful. The resort was very clean and every staff member was friendly. The food was great. We loved every restaurant at the resort. My only con would be the ocean...I would have liked the water to be more blue/clear. This is nothing the resort can fix though. It would definitely not stop me from going back. My husband and I went with three other couples and everyone had fun.
5 out of 5
by A traveler from new york

beyond best expectations. excellent in all areas

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: everything and everybody
Cons: i don't see any area that needs improvement.
Location: walk to shops, stores, safe and very clean. very large area
i book this based on other reviews. i was so impressed with the hotel. it was clean, beautiful, and the staff was like no other. they couldn't do enough for us. they were prompt, friendly, and they were always willing to help, and not make you feel like a problem. food was excellent, beautiful beach, all the amenities. i can't stop talking about it and will recommend this hotel to others. it was paradise.
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Sonoma County CA

Beautiful hotel on the beach. Romantic stay

Posted Sep 10, 2016
This hotel and it's staff are incredible. From the moment we checked in to departure, they were available to our every need. The staff gave excellent service. I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else. The food was delicious, healthy and great presentation. I felt extremely comfortable and safe. Great location to the beach and shops.
4 out of 5
by A traveler

Great place!

Posted Aug 17, 2016
The staff were amazing! Top shelf tequila included at no upgrade cost!! Super cute things they did in the rooms are each cleaning like leaving rose petals or snails made out of towels. Only down fall was the food. Not impressed bUT it's close enough to down town that you can get whatever you are craving :) overall great stay
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Macon, Ga

Dont look for shade on the beach

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: The architecture
Cons: Beach situation and chairs at pool
Location: Location is good but we didnt do anything outside the resort.
We like a resort that has shade on the beach, be it umbrella, tiki hut or cabana. This resort has only cabanas. I saw that when I booked. What I didnt realize is they are reserved for certain suites. Had I known that I would certainly have booked one with a cabana. They are a few that had flat tops on them that werent reserved but they basically provided no shade at all. Not to mention that they were all taken with towels on them at 7:00 in the morning. Only other option was to be in the sun. So we wound up staying at the other pool nearer to the lobby every day. The pool by the beach was filled with a lot of drunk partying people. Came to Playa del Carmen to see the beautiful Carribean and wound up seeing very little of it. The food was pretty good most of the time and every employee was very polite. The entertainment that we saw was very good! Its a beautiful place but I wouldnt go back. Its too big. Prefer a much smaller resort. The big kicker is I booked and paid for an oceanview room thru Travelocity and when we arrived we were given a street view room and was told no way to get oceanview without moving every two days. So we had to settle for the only available room which turned out to be fine since we spent very little time in there. But not what I paid for.
5 out of 5
by Camilla from Curitiba


Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Hotels
Nós ficamos extremamente satisfeitos com a estadia no The Royal . A equipe foi muito gentil e solícita, comida e bebida excelentes, o quarto era muito espaçoso e confortável. Gostamos também da loja dentro do hotel , há várias opções de souvernirs e com um preço razoável. O check-in e check-out foram muito agradáveis e foi ótimo que pudemos usar o serviço do hotel (comida, bebida) até 18:00 no último dia. A única sugestão é em relação ao entretenimento de noite, nós pensamos que poderia ser um pouco mais tarde e com mais opções.
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Georgetown TX

The most thoughtful and caring staff

Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Expedia
The Royal is a beautiful resort with delicious food and drinks but most importantly is filled with the most attentive staff, they make you feel very welcome at all times and they provide an excellent service. We will continue to make the royal our preferred travel destination.
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Boston, MA

Fantastic Hotel in a Perfect Location

Posted Jul 27, 2016 on Expedia
Can't say enough good things about this hotel. It was an absolutely beautiful hotel, and the staff are wonderful; they keep the resort gorgeous and were so incredibly friendly. The food was the best I've ever had at an all-inclusive. I have stayed at a handful of all-inclusive resorts, and this was my favorite to date. Really enjoyed operations here: no reservations for beach chairs and beds, great food and a la carte restaurants did not need reservations (except for 1 or 2 of the fancier places). Room service was great, room was huge and had a large hammock on the deck. Pool was beautiful and very large. Had no trouble finding shade at either the pool or beach. Drink service was very prompt everywhere, and staff went above and beyond to pamper you. The beach was very nice, and the water was amazingly warm. The beach is a bit more rocky and narrow than some of the beaches further down South in PDC (we walked a large portion of the beach and also went to beaches in Tulum), but it was still a great beach. The Royal is also only a block away from 5th Avenue where there's seemingly endless amounts of shopping, restaurants amd bars. We went out walking in this street just about every night. The resorts in Playacar, Akumal and Tulum were much more removed from everything (which we noticed during our pick-ups and drop-offs for excursions). I would highly suggest this area for both the beautiful beach, but having off-resort options just steps away, especially at night.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2016 on Expedia
Best ever in my live driver super nice Bell boy nice
5 out of 5
by A traveler from houston

A hidden gem of a hotel

Posted Jul 27, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: Everything!
Cons: N/A
Location: Walking distance to shopping, restaurants and nightlife
The Royal is perfectly located on the beach and walking distance to the center of Playa del Carmen. The food, drink and staff are all first rate! Highly recommend!