Ratings based on 764 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Salt Lake City

Nice hotel. Wifi not as expected.

Posted Nov 8, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: The staff was great! The grounds are well kept and the pools great.
Cons: Wifi! I know many of you will say unplug while you are on vacation...however it is nice to have the ability to checked in with friends and family.
Location: The location is great. It is about a 30 minute bus/taxi ride into Playa Del Carmen. Once in Playa Del Carmen it is a 35 minute ferry ride to Cozumel.
We stayed in Bahia Principe Coba, which is somewhat removed from the beach. There are golf cart trains that run about every 5-10 minutes that will take you just about anywhere on the property. There is wifi available in the lobby, which you get 60 minutes free on every device every day. However, getting connected to the wifi is a hit and a miss. The staff made the experience, they are friendly and willing to help with any and all inquiries. Overall this is a wonderful hotel that I would recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

unexpectedly wonderful

Posted Oct 26, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: The staff was very friendly and helpful, beautiful grounds, lots to do.
Cons: The smell in our room the last two days of our stay, softer mattress.
Location: Loacation was not near a "big city" so if you want non resort restaurants, city clubs and bars you have to travel about 30 min to playa del carmen.
We stayed here for 6 days and were very pleased. The food is average to very good, pretty good for an all inclusive buffet. The drinks were very good, never a very long wait. The staff was always friendly and helpful. Our room was ok, the mattress was very firm, and by the end of our stay the room started to smell of mold. AC worked very well, mini fridge always stocked, bottled water every day, beach was very nice, grounds were kept very clean, pools werent crowded. This resort has its own dolphinarium where you can swim with the dolphins. Lots of excursions available: zip lining, scuba, snorkel, hiking, ruin climbing, swim with the turtles, all the standard activities you can pay for. Lots of on site shopping with fair prices, and restaurants with delicious food, although you need to make reservations right when arriving or they fill up.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from New Jersey, USA

I would not recommend this resort.

Posted Oct 26, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: pool cleanses, food
Cons: this resort needs a lot of updates. Building steps are falling apart, there is mold in the bathrooms. Floors are EXTREMELY SLIPPERY!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Location: Swimming with Delphinus.
We stayed at Coba - over all it was ok but I would not recommend - or we won't go back there. Staff was not friendly at all - even though my husband kept on tipping them all the time - they didn't appreciate it - only few individuals. The resort is very old. We stayed from Oct 14- Oct 24, 2015. Here are the things we liked if you think it's worth it - entertainment was good, food was good. Drinks we didn't have variety at all - only local vodka and smirnoff. Only one type of beer/wine... Pool was clean compared to the Tulum (their next door sister resort). Kids Club was good when it was a sunny day - however on the rainy days that we were there - they didn't have much for the kids. ( for the Hotel owners: I would recommend you invest in a game room/ play a movie/ offer other types of activities). our 10 day stay was 6 rainy days that we spend in the lobby - and 4 beach/pool days. Internet sucks in this resort - you're only limited to 1hr a day per device of free internet. We've stayed in Oct2013 in Punta Cana @ Melia in a Royal Service Option & it was much better.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Chicago

Not as good as I had hoped from reading about it.

Posted Oct 25, 2015 on Expedia
Room want ready when told, we were hit and tired after traveling and they were rude. The room we got had black mills all around the ventilation system, had to wait until next afternoon for new room And had to check out in between not having any of our stuff. Promised a bottle of champagne for the inconvenience, never got it. Our much needed umbrella broke, never got a new one. All staff was great other then front desk. Noone told us we had to make reservations for dinner early, so when we did it on day two, everything was booked for the next three nights. The beach was far away from the hotel, could not walk and full of rocks. You were only able to go in water in a few places, but only waist high. No snorkeling to be found? Was supposeto be incuded. Tulum, the sister hotel was much better, the entertainment and pool there was great so we spent our days there.
2 out of 5
by A traveler

No es un 5estrellas

Posted Oct 23, 2015 on Expedia
Las instalaciones del hotel en si estan bien. Pero: - la comida es bastante igual cada dia. Si queréis quedaros muchos dias aburre. Y la calidad...normalita. - el transporte dentro del hotel con los carritos que te llevan es un poco lioso, tienes que esperar bastante depende de donde estés y donde quieres ir - la playa que tienen...bueno, normal. - nosotros tuvimos un problema en la habitación con los bichos: hormigas, arañas...bichos pequeños...que nos dijeron que iban a solucionar y no lo hicieron. Por eso nos cambiamos de hotel antes de tiempo. A parte, habia un ruido en el exterior, como de motor toda la noche muy molesto para dormir. Eso si, el personal es muy amable y atento. Pero sientiendolo mucho no lo recomendaria, a no ser que solo quieras un todo incluido para beber y ir a la playa/piscina. Les queda mucho para ser un 5 estrellas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from miami

Nice resort witb all inclusive

Posted Oct 12, 2015 on Expedia
It was our second stay at Bahia principe-Coba, it is really all inclusive hotel, buffet is outstanding, rooms clean, you have to take little train to beach , it is comming offten , Only problem was internet conection , it is hard to get , limited to 1 hour a day, and you always need front des. help to log in , so leave your phone home. ! and enyoy your time
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Hotel great some restaurants closed others full

Posted Sep 25, 2015 on Expedia
staff was great beach is so so. food was very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Beautiful Resort

Posted Sep 19, 2015 on Expedia
I stayed at this hotel with my mother and 2 aunts from 9/10-9/15 and overall we had a great time. What made it extra special was the people we met at the resort, including the friendly staff who were always attentive and ensuring we were having a pleasant stay. Special thanks to Hector the restaurant supervisor and Rafael from Best Day travel. Both were super friendly and available to assist us with anything we needed. If you haven't gone to Xcaret Park, I highly recommend it as I've been twice and absolutely love it!!! But if you do go, you need to stay for the Mexico Espectacular Show, it's the best part of it all in my opinion.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from BC Canada

Location close to Coba

Posted Sep 13, 2015 on Expedia
Close to Coba by local shuttle bus. Golf carts run on fuel - stand upwind of the exhaust, short meal times - get up early for breakfast or wait until lunch around 12noon for next meal service. Beach has manmade breakwaters to make it easier for swimming and docks for entry. Dolphins are beautiful. Multiple pools. Remember your card for your pool towel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Toronto, Canada

Nice place to relax

Posted Sep 8, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: Overall good experience. Not too crowded (Early September), no need to fight for beach/pool chairs.
Cons: Less bureaucratic. More informative when at check-in.
Location: We took a tour to Chichen itza with Xcaret tours. It was good.
Three of us, my wife, our undergrad son and myself spent 5 nights in Coba villas. Overall good experience. Nice beach specially if you walk over to the Exclusive area, lot of fish calm water. Received 2 dinners in à la carte restaurants. La Gourmet was excellent fine dinning, excellent server. Mediterranean was terrible, it is not really à la carte (just the main course) had a salad and dessert bar for the rest. We were served by a 'don't care' server. We went to both buffets at Coba and Tullum. Good selection but basically the same stuff every day. My recommendation is, instead of eating little bit of everything, pick few things per meal. This way, you will not get tired of eating the same everyday. Mexican food was very basic. If you plan to spend a lot of days on the beach better book Tulum. Either Coba or Tulum, if you have a choice of villa number, check the map and ask for one closer to the lobby. Except for a odd person, staff is excellent, friendly and helpful. By the way, if you book through Expedia your check-in is at Premier lobby even if you stay in Coba.