Ratings based on 3,896 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

AWESOME PLACE

Posted Feb 13, 2018
Pros: Everything
Cons: Pools close at 6pm would like to see them open until 9 or 10 pm.
Location: Recommend Ecosafari full day trip.
Staff were great. Room clean. Plenty of things to do on or off site. Recommend Majestic, Dirty Monkey and Mini Beer for drinks. Would go back tomorrow if I could. Different show every night at theater.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2018 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, First of all, please allow me to thank you personally for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We thank you infinitely for sharing with us, and with future travelers, such wonderful comments about your recent experience in our property. It is a pleasure to know that we have exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed our beautiful facilities and excellent service from our entire team, who are always focused on providing the best care. However, we truly regret that you didn't find our pool schedule to your satisfaction. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We hope to see you many more times for even more excellent vacation experiences. Warm regards, Lisbeth Aponte Customer Care Majestic Resorts
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Indianapolis, IN

Relaxing and beautiful views!

Posted Feb 5, 2018
Pros: Beach, People, Food
Cons: In the remodel there seems to be a lot of putty still on walls. You forgot door handles on the outside of the door to get back in
Location: Monkeyland was so adorable! The dune buggies were fab if you don't mind getting muddy. It's hard to get the clay out of your clothes.
I read a lot of reviews before our trip and it was quite comparable to what most say. We stayed in the Colonial Club side (adults only), which was nice and quiet. BUTLER - Our butler Morla was AWESOME!!! We had a group of 8 (4 rooms). 2 of the rooms had Hector, he needs more training. Requests were delayed or seemed hard for him to fulfill. Morla was whatever you need...When we first got into the room, some smoker had it before us.Morla was able to get something to get the smoke out and lit up a scented candle. it was nice when we got back in for the evening. He was always pleasant and went above and beyond. We saw him everyday as he would check on us and give us goodies! So ask for Morla for your butler. Don't forget to tip your butlers too! As well as your maids. it may be all inclusive but the staff gets squat. Also for the maids, I would tip $5 daily instead of waiting till the end, that way the maid that does your room each day gets the tip.The butler we tipped generously at the end. Food. There is such a variety of food to choose from. The hibachi fills you up, it's just real noisy in there. The French restaurant, the duck and the sea bass (I think that's what it was) my family said was awesome. We tried the filet mignon, it was 2 flank steaks on top of each other, not a true American filet. There was also 3 different buffets that were awesome. I could never get up in time for breakfast, but my husband said it was great. We keep forgetting to bring sugar free syrup
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2018 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Dear Darlene, Thank you for selecting our hotel for your vacation and for sharing the impression of your stay at our resort. It thrills me to read that your stay was a relaxing experience and that you received a very friendly and attentive service from our team, especially Morla. Your kind words are truly encouraging us to keep delivering excellent service to our guests. However, we regret that you didn’t find all food choices to your satisfaction. Please be assured that I have specifically noted your comments and brought them to the immediate attention of the Executive Chef and Food & Beverage Manager for review and improvement. We would very much enjoy the opportunity of welcoming you back and making your next stay absolutely Majestic. Warm regards, Vanessa Mercedes Customer Care Majestic Resorts
2 out of 5
by A traveler from miami, florida

Not happy

Posted Jan 17, 2018
When you first arrive and see the beautiful lobby you’ll be so excited for your stay. But the second you enter the hallway where the rooms are the excitement will fade. Everything is so dirty. The rooms smell like mold the second you open the door. The humidity inside was the worst I’ve ever experienced (and i live in south Florida). Everything just felt moist all the time. We found hair on the sink and the shampoo bottle. There were old soap marks in the shower. And a friend of ours had a rat in their room! Also, the food is terrible! You would think they’d want the guests to experience great Dominican food but it wasn’t. So much of it wasn’t cooked properly and the rest just tasted awful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2018 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Dear Laura, We apologize for making you stay so unpleasant and want to assure you and future guests that all your comments we will be carefully analyzed to take the appropriate corrective actions in each case. I understand that we cannot undo your experience, however I would like to extend my sincere apologies, one more time for the shortfalls you experienced. Warm regards, Vanessa Mercedes Customer Care Majestic Resorts
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from omaha, ne

Upgraded room, I think?

Posted Jan 12, 2018
Pros: Beautiful layout and facility.
Cons: The higher you dealt with management, the more arrogant they got.
Location: Trips are narrow. Doesn't seem much to do, although I am OK with that.
Upon checkin, they moved us to the Majestic Excelance. More restaurant options, but a view overlooking the service road. Not sure of the trade offs, but it is an excellent facility in total. The service staff was excellent , but as their importance rose, they seemed more distant. They seem to promote people who think that they are a big deal. They will ask for someone to help you, even if it is something minor like some sauce. Just do it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2018 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Dear john, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are truly sorry to see that you didn't find some of the collaborators' service at Elegance to your satisfaction. Please, accept our apologies for any inconvenience you experience and be assured that we have brought your comments to the immediate attention of their Senior Management. Thank you for sharing your experiences with us. We appreciate any and every opportunity to re-evaluate and improve. Warm regards, Vanessa Mercedes Customer Care Majestic Resorts
3 out of 5
by A traveler from atlanta, Ga

Food is terrible!

Posted Dec 31, 2017
The hotel is super clean, well maintained, beautiful, and staff is super nice! Sometimes hard to communicate with them and It was hard to order drinks. They are not stingy with the alcohol which is great! The room was huge and jacuzzi was great! However, The food was terrible. We went to every single restaurant/buffet and were disappointed every time. Everything was bland, flavorless, soggy, and gross. We saw food including sushi and cheeses sitting out for hours. We both got sick from the food which put a huge damper on our honeymoon. They have foods like steak and lobster which sounds great but was inedible. The lobster was gooey and we were convinced it was made out of some imitation crab meat. We did not look forward to eating any meals...in fact we were hungry often because we could hardly eat the food. If you care about how your food tastes or don't want to have diarrhea your whole trip do not stay at this resort! If you don't mind eating bad food and many trips to the bathroom then it's a great resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2018 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Dear Lauren, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed our resort and that you appreciated our staff during your time with us. We have specifically noted your comments regarding your food experience. Please be assured that we take this matter very seriously and is of paramount importance to us as we strive to offer a wide option of restaurants with different variety for our guest’s satisfaction. We have brought this incident to the immediate attention of the Executive Chef and Food & Beverage Manager for review and improvement. We would like to assure you that we follow a rigorous health, safety and quality control program when it comes to our food and beverage preparation and presentation. We have regular external and internal inspectors and monitors assessing our operations to maintain the integrity of our food safety. I understand that we cannot undo your experience, however I would like to extend my sincere apologies for the shortfalls you experienced. Warm regards, Vanessa Mercedes Customer Care Majestic Resorts
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from woodstock, IL.

Second trip

Posted Dec 29, 2017
Pros: The amount variety and quality of entertainment was great, the food choices and quality was very good. The beach is great, the bars are a plenty!
Cons: Response time to correcting of issues by guest services.
Location: 20 minutes from airport, many amazing excursions close by to sign up for.
This was our second trip to Majestic Colonial. Our first trip was a stay in colonial club, this one was in the family section. The first trip was amazing in all aspects. For this one, I will start off saying it was amazing and I will be going back, however, I was a bit displeased with the response to issues we had with our room. Remote for tv didn't work, talked to three different customer service agents, none took care of the issue. Our deadbolt was broke, again we asked three service agents, two days later still not fixed. We ran into our butler from first stay, colonial club, he remembered us, I told him about deadbolt. He made one phone call and within 30 minutes it was fixed. Guest services should be able to do the same thing, but they didn't. We did have one other major issue that guest services did resolve in a manner to our satisfaction.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2018 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Dear Tom, We are so grateful that you took the time to write about your recent experience at our resort. We appreciate your kind comments towards our amazing entertainment, beautiful beach bars and we are happy to see that you enjoyed our food choices. However, we truly regret that you didn't find the maintenance in your room and some of the staff service to your satisfaction. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We hope you will give us another chance to do all in our power to make it up to you on your next visit. We would very much enjoy the opportunity of welcoming you back and making your next stay absolutely Majestic. Warm regards, Vanessa Mercedes Customer Care Majestic Resorts
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from California

Posted Dec 8, 2017
From the moment we arrived to check in they started to take care of my wife and I helping with our luggage offering drinks felt very welcomed food and service was great. Entertainment group was awesome and energetic they have different daily activities to enjoy your stay and they do very well to accommodate you. It's close to airport and beach is less than a 5 min walk away from resort I will most definitely return again soon.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2017 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Dear Ismael, Greetings from Majestic Colonial and thank you very much for taking the time to share your review here on Expedia. We are so happy to hear that your expectations were exceeded from the moment you stepped foot at the resort up until your departure. It is truly a pleasure for us to receive your impressions of this trip and we are so pleased to hear that you found it to be an enjoyable experience. Thank you very much for your praises toward our staff, especially the entertainment team. We take such pride in our resort and our staff and it is very important to us that every guest receives this star treatment from our staff. We hope to welcome you back soon for another memorable vacation we hope you will cherish forever. With warm regards, Yessica Marte Customer Care Majestic Resorts
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2017 on Expedia
Amazing Resort. Definitely recommend. They have everything in the resort, performances, restaurants, adult night club, spa, pool and beach of course. its clean. Great service. Great music and entertainment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2017 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, We are so grateful that you took the time to write about your recent experience at our resort. We are thankful for all your praises towards our resort, entertainment, Spa, food options and we are so happy to know that you enjoyed our beach and pool areas. We hope to see you many more times for even more excellent vacation experiences. Warm regards, Vanessa Mercedes Customer Care Majestic Resorts
2 out of 5
by A traveler

Just OK Hotel.

Posted Oct 24, 2017 on Expedia
Pros: On the beach/
Cons: Service attitude.
Location: Buggies by Terracross Adventrue Boogies. The dune buggies kept braking down. And on our snorkeling trip we snorkeled 30 minutes.
Very disappointed with the staff at this hotel. Traveled with 3 other couples, we all would never come back. I booked dinner on the beach for our 29th anniversary and was told to confirm upon arrival. No one, not ever our butler knew what we were talking about. So the hotel did nothing. The restaurants were extremely rude about reservations. The entire week we were there not one of the restaurants was full by any means, ever. On our anniversary we were having cocktails in the Rodeo Grill. We asked if we could stay for dinner. The wait staff said sure. The manager came over and told us we had to leave. We told him what happened with our reservations for our anniversary, It's like 4:30 in the afternoon. We've all had one cocktail. He was rude and finally said he would give us the table but we had to go to the bar while he set up. My friends got engaged that night at dinner. The whole down on one knee and ring. Never once did anyone from this hotel even acknowledge our 29th anniversary or our friends engagement. I was lied to at the spa. They told me that the room I booked the service in was broken. I asked how come my friend is coming in for the same service behind me? They then said someone else was in the room and could do the service 4 hours later....Between myself and hubby we spent $750 in the spa and they did what they wanted and not what we asked for. Disappointing. Food sucked.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 30, 2017 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Dear Valuable Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We would like to extend to you our apology for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay due to the level of service you received from our staff members. We strive to provide for our guests an exceptional experience in our resort through the hard work and know-how of our associates. It is very important to us that every guest receives this star treatment from our staff and we are sorry to hear you didn't feel you were treated in this manner. We have specifically noted your comments regarding your food experience. Please be assured that we take this matter very seriously and is of paramount importance to us as we strive to offer a wide option of restaurants with different variety for our guest’s satisfaction. We have forwarded your comments to the immediate attention of our Food & Beverage Manager, Executive Chef and General Manager, for review and improvement. Once again, we are very sorry if we failed to meet your expectations. However, I sincerely hope that you will provide us with an opportunity to redeem ourselves, and prove to you that this experience does not correspond to our service standards, by visiting us again in the not too distant future. Sincerely, Yessica Marte Customer Care Majestic Resorts
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Best Vacation !!

Posted Sep 6, 2017 on Expedia
Cons: food
Hotel was great. Staff was so fun and nice. Food was ok but everything else was amazing and I can't wait to go back !!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Greetings from Majestic Colonial, and thank for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed our fine resort. We appreciate you taking time to acknowledge our fantastic staff services. Please, be assured that we have noted your comment regarding your food experience and we have brought it to the immediate attention of the Executive Chef for review and improvement. We hope to see you many more times for even more excellent vacation experiences. Warm regards, Vanessa Mercedes Customer Care Majestic Resorts