Ratings based on 2,768 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
2 out of 5
by A traveler

good beach, poor dining

Posted Feb 7, 2016
First it took 2 1/2 hours to check in. Supposedly, they were overbooked and trying to shuffle people around, but no one was telling us anything. Had to keep asking how long before we could check in, and couldn't ever get a straight answer. Beach was great views and was clean, didn't have much for wait staff though - pretty much had to plan on getting your own drinks, water, etc. Pool areas were nice as well. Biggest disappointment was the food. Japanese restaurant was good, French was ok. Buffets weren't good at all for either breakfast or lunch. Had lobster one night, that tasted like leather. Went to "sports bar" one night to watch a game. They had one basket ball game showing on a small TV, and a movie playing on the two big projection screens. Bartender couldn't figure out how to change the channel to the basketball game. will not be going back. Would go to Cancun again, less money, better service, 100 x better food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Washington DC

Majestic Colonial is the place to stay at!

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Pros: Loved the pool, entertainment, friendly staff, spacious room, wonderful service and the wide variety of food. All was fabulous.
Cons: Give the poor parrots a larger enclosure so they wouldn't be so miserable.
Location: We didn't leave the resort during our stay, but travelled around Bayahibe before coming to Majestic. It's a beautiful place too.
We had a fantastic time, the beach is beautiful, water warm and inside the resort there were plenty fun activities to keep us and our young kids entertained. For all those, who give bad reviews to this place because of complaints about staff: if you have a bad exp. with a few, remember there are hundreds of people serving you with a genuine smile, working non stop and fast (no slacking), so if someone is not to your standards, he is a human too and maybe is having a bad day for various reasons. We enjoyed the food, drinks, staff, entertainment, pool, beach, basically everything. The only negative comment I have is for keeping two beautiful pairs of parrots encaged in a small area. They were obviously miserable and suffering and all for just a few minutes of looking at them per visitor. They don't deserve such life. If they can't be release, at least build them a larger enclosure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Ohio

Great vacation

Posted Dec 26, 2015
The hotel and staff were amazing! Weather was gorgeous and it never rained during the day, maybe once at night when we were sleeping. Plenty of restaurants there, food was so-so, but the reservation restaurants were AMAZING! Staff was super friendly and nice. Plenty of things to do there. Overall great vacation
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Miami, Fl

Nice Experience

Posted Nov 14, 2015 on Expedia
Staff is vey attentive, everyone looks out for you. The only challenges my husband and I encountered was the room and jacuzzi not being cleaned as well as we would have liked, and not having enough towels in our room when service was provided. With all the water activities around the property having only two towels in the room impact our experience negatively. However, whenever asked they were to quick to help with our requests. Just beware of any companies soliciting discounted tours when coming from the airport and be sure to bring cash for tips....you'll need it. Everything is in US money and taxis are expensive. Otherwise, you won't need anything else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Very nice smaller resort.

Posted Nov 13, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: Nice room, good internet everywhere, nice clean pool, good beachfront with enough lounge chairs and palapas. restaurants were good for an AI.
Cons: Tennis pro should offer to arrange matches or offer drills for exercise.
Our stay 10/27/15 to 11/01/15 was great. Our stay 10/27/2015-11/01/2015 was a great vacation. Jr. suite was large and modern. Internet was good and worked everywhere on the resort grounds and on the beach, and was free! No charge safe and nice flat screen TV were nice, the pools clean and not too deep. Covered walkways were nice, even though we didn't really get any rain.Food was good and lobby bar drinks were better than at the beach bar. No problem getting ala carte reservations to restaurants. Overall one of the better 4 star rated resorts we have visited and almost as nice as its more expensive sister resort next door. There was a kids water park also.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A traveler

Nice Hotel with all you need for a great vacation

Posted Nov 13, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: Rooms are huge, clean and comfortable, check in process was fast, internet was good; food was good and drinks too. Many activities to do
Cons: Service was just Ok: you need to walk and ask for your drinks as there are just a few waiters to attend you and you would wait too much
Location: There are plenty of activities nearby, we only left the hotel to do snorkeling, but there are many options and different prices
We went in a low season and experience was great. We were looking for a relaxing time and we found it. The hotel is big with a huge pool and many different places to eat and stay. It has day and night activities for different ages, we have 4 teenagers and they has a great family time. The local company to support expedia customers, Blue, is not good, we used them to book the travel back to the airport and the service was not good and more expensive than the airport services
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Got What We Paid For

Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Expedia
This was 1/3 the price of our first all inclusive experience two years ago, so I realize I can't compare if fairly to that experience. The food is what really brings down this place. We definitely made good use of the club room with 24hr snacks. There was a giant bug in our pillows when we arrived, but we never saw another one. Butler service was great - we loved Francisco! We also loved our swim up bartender, Carlos. Facilities were nice, constantly being tended to and repaired. Definitely recommend upgrading to a club level of you can.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Hanna from Huntington Beach

Amazing beach and great service!

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Hotels
Loved almost everything about this resort!! Beach was gorgeous, pools were great, drinks were great, the service was amazing (shout out to our butler Frandy!) and the food was decent. They really made our honeymoon special with lots of little perks. The only downside was that the room was constantly damp!! I think the vent in the bathroom may be too small, no matter what we did, all our stuff was damp and even our sheets were damp. Thought it was the humidity but we stayed at two other resorts and the rooms were not damp. Weird. But still awesome and would definitely recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by keyla

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from san diego, ca

Nice hotel close to the beach and have nice pools

Posted Nov 8, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: big room, nice restaurant and buffet, helpful agents in lobby, nice entertainment.
Cons: no idea, i like all
Location: on nice beach, good place to relax.
We have good experience on this island and hotel. everything was excellent.