Ratings based on 49 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Excellent hotel and amazing staff. The buffet is very varied
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler

Adults only

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: Nice resort for price
Cons: Adult drink service. Beach service should be offered along with snacks at the pool bar and beach.
Visited July 29-Aug 2. Upgraded to club premium. Kitti in club premium was a pleasure to work with. The rooms are good. Nothing spectacular but not horrible like other reviews. The food was typical all inclusive food. Some great and some not so much. La Brisa had the best lunch buffet. Cook to order fish, burgers, steaks, and pasta. Along with a variety of other foods. The beach had a lot of seaweed. The resort cleaned everyday but still lot of seaweed. The family side of the resort had more variety in drinks. Frozen mojitos were great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Nice resort but not as wonderful as people said

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Pros: Adults only, gorgeous beach and nice pool, free trolley ride to sister hotel (which had a casino, restaurants and shops), food wasn't bad.
Cons: RAN OUT OF HOT WATER on multiple mornings. Reservation was for king size bed we got two double beds, Waiting time for excursions too long
Location: The Runners Adventure zipline was GREAT and staff was friendly. Dolphin discovery nice, but I prefer dolphins in their natural habitat vs. a pool
Pros: ADULTS ONLY! Although, the first day we were disappointed to see a couple with small children on the beach.The grounds are kept very clean. There were pool tables & other games on site. Beautiful beach, nice pool (chairs at the pool and beaches were always available!), cute straw hut bars, resort was not too big, easy access to restaurants, access to the sister hotel which is nice and has a casino, stores, and restaurants. The food overall wasn’t terrible considering it was all included and there was quite a selection! The fresh salmon and capers, tropical fruits, coffee, and the omelet station for breakfast were the best! Free bottles of water included at the resort. The resort had entertainment by the pool during the day & a giant bubble maker that produced tons of bubble in the pool (fun!).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from South Bend, IN

This resort was amazing.

Posted Mar 29, 2016
Cons: Restaurant reservations are hard to get, so make all your reservations right after you check in.
Location: There is a lot to do at this resort and there are many excursions that the hotel is happy to book for you if you want to do something different.
This resort was so wonderful. We loved the workers, the location, the food, the beach, and the fact that we could go over to the Barcelo Palace Deluxe to eat at their restaurants, party in their nightclub, and use their workout facilities. Walking the beach walk between the two hotels is a magical experience. The grounds are immaculate. The drinks are made however you want them. We brought big reusable drink cups with straws that sealed so when we were on the beach we didn't have to go back to the bar so often. Don't think twice about going to this resort. Just do it and enjoy yourself!
4 out of 5
by A traveler from Chicago, IL

Clean and comfortable beach resort

Posted Jan 16, 2016
Pros: The layout of the adults only part of this resort was good. We were not all crammed together. The resort staff kept the beach very clean.
Cons: The food was mostly terrible. Almost every piece of meat was overcooked. Items that should have been warm at the buffet were cold, like pancakes.
This was our first trip to the Dominican Republic. We enjoyed our time here, but a few things could be improved. All in all, I think this was a nice hotel and resort for the price. We felt safe and respected. The room was clean but the bed was hard. Unfortunately, about 80% of the food was bad tasting. The French restaurant was the best by far. Because of the poor food we will not return to this resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 2, 2016 by Sandy, Hotel Management
Dear Guest,Thank you very much for sharing your experience with other customers and the on line community. Thank you very much for your good comments. We also appreciate your comments regarding our food offer and will discuss them with our chef. For us is very important the satisfaction of our customers because you are the main reason for our daily work.We will be honored to welcome you back. Do not hesitate to contact us prior your next visit. Best Regards, Sandy Pfeil Director
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Chicago

Luxury Hotel on the Ocean

Posted Nov 19, 2015
This was a lovely hotel with 3 high quality restaurants that required reservations. The other locations were buffet walkin ins. The food was great at all three testaurants. The staff was friendly and the room had a gorgeous Oceanview. I used the spa twice and had excellent body massage and body wrap. All in all a wonderful experience. I did ask to change rooms because I had a blocked ocean view. The hotel quickly made the change and sent someone to carry our bags and provide a new key. This is a beautiful property with gorgeous pools. We stayed in the Adult only section which was very peaceful.
1 out of 5
by A traveler

Not impressed at all...

Posted Nov 4, 2015
Pros: Train going between adults only section and family section was convenient. Although there was only one, it was nice to have at least one 24-hour place
Cons: Food, service, wait staff attitude, scheduling of events to the guests, and notification of dress code to guests prior to arrival.
Location: Coco Bongo (Vegas-type place) recently opened and the staff was walking around trying to get people to go. Just don't leave the resort...
Compared to several other all-inclusive resorts that we have stayed at, the amenities/service were completely unsatisfying. The only customer service that was satisfactory was at check-in. Food was mediocre at best, wait staff was inconsistent and at times rude. To call this an "all-inclusive" would be a lie, upgrades of drinks were not include, room service were not included, and certain restaurants were not included. Wait staff around the beach/bar areas were non-existent and often made getting drinks difficult at the bar as everyone at the resort needed to approach only a few select bars during the day. The Adults-Only section did not have a swim-up bar, but the Family section did which makes no sense. Nearly every restaurant at this resort had a dress code which requires the men to wear long pants which made this very inconvenient since we thought we didn't need long pants and had to buy long pants at a ridiculous price. We went on the "Jeep" Safari which included a ride to the parking lot and included a Suzuki Jimny (not a Jeep) and every place we went we were urged to purchase something we went to. Due to our experience at this resort, we will never visit the Dominican Republic again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from SC

Great views close to the beach.

Posted Oct 31, 2015
Pros: Proximity to the beach & the wonderful staff.
Cons: The shower/bathroom area in the room. It was almost like it was an afterthought. If it were me, I'd increase the size of the shower & bathroom area.
Location: We never left the resort, with no plan to do so either. A week of relaxation.
We had a great time at Barcelo Bavaro Beach. The staff was absolutely wonderful, and very friendly the whole time. We had the Club Premium option and the employee's in there were great with all of our questions and requests. The room was clean, and for the most part, always restocked in the mini-bar. We had a very relaxing time on the beach, which was about 100' from the room. The employee's did great about cleaning the seaweed, not sure why some people complain about things like that, it's not like the resort ordered the seaweed. The restaurants were terrific, the Mexican restaurant was our least favorite, but that applies when we're at home too. The steakhouse was perfect, and I highly recommend the Beef Medallion steak. FANTASTIC. We brought cash to tip, otherwise, everything was included, including room service (alcohol & romantic breakfast not included) and was easy to order drinks and food. I wish men could wear flip-flops during dinner, we are at the beach after-all, but it wasn't bad.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Atlanta

Best hotel ever!

Posted Oct 24, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Everything we needed was on the property
This hotel resort was top drawer. Beautiful, best staff, attentive to your every need.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Excellent. Great !!!!

Posted Sep 8, 2015
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Aire conditioner.
Very good. The view front the room, beautiful.The staff were very pleasant.