Ratings based on 53 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from new york

Mix reviews at Barcelo bavaro beach resort

Posted Mar 17, 2017
First let me mention that the staff , especially the entertainment staff were super wonderful. Very friendly and accomidating. The management on the other hand , not so much. If you have an issue , don't expect for any management to see you , they have the poor staff go back and forth between you and manager. The grounds and rooms are kept clean but the rooms need so much work , the ceiling in the shower was falling and we had flooding . Some of the light bulbs were out , linens are cheap quality something you would find in a motel . I could only speak for the adult side of the hotel . The transfers we used was Blu . Worst company ever. Do not used them . If I begin to speak about my expierence with them it would be too long . I will finish with,, if the hotel management or CEO will invest in putting money into fixing the rooms this hotel could be easily a 5 star. At least in the Adult portion of the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Yonkers, NY

This hotel makes me happy

Posted Mar 6, 2017
I've been to this resort twice and I must say I will return for a third time. The location is wonderful, the resort is beautiful, and the staff is amazing. The only time we had a problem was our bathroom was not cleaned to our standards and after sending a housekeeper to clean we felt it still wasn't clean enough. So we spoke to someone at guest services and they had our room changed and we received a room upgrade because of it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Herndon,VA

Golf Trip with friends

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: Helpful Staff, Clean facilities. Food was awesome at the buffet and restaurants. Restricted options for vegans & vegetarians.
Cons: The all inclusive tagline usually attracts people to the bars. The quality of alcohol could be improved to include some of the top shelf brands.
Location: Lots of Golf!!
This was my first trip to Punta Cana. It happened to be a milestone birthday celebration with 15 other friends and Golf was the major agenda. The resort staff are awesome and very helpful. The grand resort has 2 main areas - Beach Adults only and the Palace. Amenities are nice at the Bavaro Beach, but most everything at the resort is happening at the Palace - shopping, shows, restaurants, casino, disco etc. The beach area is nice though I'd have expected it to be a little bigger and deeper in space allocated. It is not more than 100 yds from the buildings to the beach and the seating area is pretty congested. The Adults only area is nice if you're wanting a very quiet environment and you plan to just spend your time in the balcony or sitting on the beach listening to the waves all day. We had other plans and spent most of the day outside the resort on various golf courses. I would recommend this resort!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Barcelo Beach

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Everything was perfect. Only suggestion is to include the shuttle from airport. The cost is minimum. But would be a big help. The hotel provides arrangements at a cost. But they did not help much complicated and at the end a taxi for 2 passengers is about the same cost. Lost of time Everything else was 10!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Excellent hotel and amazing staff. The buffet is very varied
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler

Adults only

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: Nice resort for price
Cons: Adult drink service. Beach service should be offered along with snacks at the pool bar and beach.
Visited July 29-Aug 2. Upgraded to club premium. Kitti in club premium was a pleasure to work with. The rooms are good. Nothing spectacular but not horrible like other reviews. The food was typical all inclusive food. Some great and some not so much. La Brisa had the best lunch buffet. Cook to order fish, burgers, steaks, and pasta. Along with a variety of other foods. The beach had a lot of seaweed. The resort cleaned everyday but still lot of seaweed. The family side of the resort had more variety in drinks. Frozen mojitos were great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Nice resort but not as wonderful as people said

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Pros: Adults only, gorgeous beach and nice pool, free trolley ride to sister hotel (which had a casino, restaurants and shops), food wasn't bad.
Cons: RAN OUT OF HOT WATER on multiple mornings. Reservation was for king size bed we got two double beds, Waiting time for excursions too long
Location: The Runners Adventure zipline was GREAT and staff was friendly. Dolphin discovery nice, but I prefer dolphins in their natural habitat vs. a pool
Pros: ADULTS ONLY! Although, the first day we were disappointed to see a couple with small children on the beach.The grounds are kept very clean. There were pool tables & other games on site. Beautiful beach, nice pool (chairs at the pool and beaches were always available!), cute straw hut bars, resort was not too big, easy access to restaurants, access to the sister hotel which is nice and has a casino, stores, and restaurants. The food overall wasn’t terrible considering it was all included and there was quite a selection! The fresh salmon and capers, tropical fruits, coffee, and the omelet station for breakfast were the best! Free bottles of water included at the resort. The resort had entertainment by the pool during the day & a giant bubble maker that produced tons of bubble in the pool (fun!).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from South Bend, IN

This resort was amazing.

Posted Mar 29, 2016
Cons: Restaurant reservations are hard to get, so make all your reservations right after you check in.
Location: There is a lot to do at this resort and there are many excursions that the hotel is happy to book for you if you want to do something different.
This resort was so wonderful. We loved the workers, the location, the food, the beach, and the fact that we could go over to the Barcelo Palace Deluxe to eat at their restaurants, party in their nightclub, and use their workout facilities. Walking the beach walk between the two hotels is a magical experience. The grounds are immaculate. The drinks are made however you want them. We brought big reusable drink cups with straws that sealed so when we were on the beach we didn't have to go back to the bar so often. Don't think twice about going to this resort. Just do it and enjoy yourself!
4 out of 5
by A traveler from Chicago, IL

Clean and comfortable beach resort

Posted Jan 16, 2016
Pros: The layout of the adults only part of this resort was good. We were not all crammed together. The resort staff kept the beach very clean.
Cons: The food was mostly terrible. Almost every piece of meat was overcooked. Items that should have been warm at the buffet were cold, like pancakes.
This was our first trip to the Dominican Republic. We enjoyed our time here, but a few things could be improved. All in all, I think this was a nice hotel and resort for the price. We felt safe and respected. The room was clean but the bed was hard. Unfortunately, about 80% of the food was bad tasting. The French restaurant was the best by far. Because of the poor food we will not return to this resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 2, 2016 by Sandy, Hotel Management
Dear Guest,Thank you very much for sharing your experience with other customers and the on line community. Thank you very much for your good comments. We also appreciate your comments regarding our food offer and will discuss them with our chef. For us is very important the satisfaction of our customers because you are the main reason for our daily work.We will be honored to welcome you back. Do not hesitate to contact us prior your next visit. Best Regards, Sandy Pfeil Director
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Chicago

Luxury Hotel on the Ocean

Posted Nov 19, 2015
This was a lovely hotel with 3 high quality restaurants that required reservations. The other locations were buffet walkin ins. The food was great at all three testaurants. The staff was friendly and the room had a gorgeous Oceanview. I used the spa twice and had excellent body massage and body wrap. All in all a wonderful experience. I did ask to change rooms because I had a blocked ocean view. The hotel quickly made the change and sent someone to carry our bags and provide a new key. This is a beautiful property with gorgeous pools. We stayed in the Adult only section which was very peaceful.