Ratings based on 961 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Best food and variety of any all inclusive.

Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Expedia
Stayed 5 days, food and entertainment excellent, beautiful beach, very clean facility and exceptional staff.
2 out of 5
by A traveler

Mal servicio y atención al cliente

Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels
Mal, caminando por la playa a pocos kilómetros del hotel en pico una mantarraya. Mi esposo por el celular pidió dos veces ayuda y nunca llegaron. Cuando logre llegar al hotel pedí nuevamente ayuda y tampoco la obtuve.
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Los Angeles

You get what you pay for

Posted Nov 22, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: The pools were the only things that were OK.
Cons: Add room service and/or have food available after 10:30pm (not just microwavable food). Replace the mattress so guests can have a good night sleep.
We decided to go on this vacation on a low budget. You get what you pay for with this resort. The hotel is really outdated, in general. The beds were very stiff, felt like we were sleeping on springs, not on a mattress. All night we would toss-&-turn because the beds were very uncomfortable. All buffets and restaurants close at 10:30pm. There is no room service. There was no food available after 10:30pm!!! For anyone who is hungry after 10:30pm, the only option within the resort is to get a hamburger or hot dog from a refrigerator in the Sportsbar and heat it in the microwave. It was nasty. Some of the staff were very nice, while others were very rude. We were promised a bottle of champagne (from the front desk) for the birthday boy, but later when we went to pick it up, were told that no such promises could be made or granted. When we went to eat at the "steakhouse", we were told that they were completed booked even though half the restaurant was empty. They told us that it was empty at the moment because the people on the waiting list weren't there yet. We later found out from another staff member that the "steakhouse" is allowed only 85 guests per night. Overall, we were disappointed with the resort and learned a hard lesson: if your going to go on vacation on a budget, it's better to not go instead. Hope this helps someone avoid going to this resort and the disappointment they would feel.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
If you want royalty service , this is your place !
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
Yea very good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Chicago, IL

Great resort, great views, great food, relaxing

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Expedia
Came to Riu Vallarta stayed for 5 nights, overall I was very impressed with the amount of luxury this resort offered to their lobby and rooms. Everything worked in the room and bathroom no complaints what so ever. The outdoor pools (3) were huge and spacious for everyone, many bars throughout the resort inside and outside you never waited a line for a drink. Great fully inclusive restaurants and buffets always top notch fresh made food. the beach was always clean, with the best sunsets you could imagine. Disco dance club at night kept the fun going. Overall my experience at Riu Vallarta was great, staff was friendly and always cheerful ready to serve. Wifi free in the lobby with gift shop and mini mart.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from woodridge, United States of America

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Expedia
It was a great hotel. The beach always had chairs available. The entertainment staff was always upbeat and fun to work with.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Well maintained, a great place to vacation.

Posted Nov 17, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: That they provided great entertainment every night.
Cons: I didn't think that some of the employees were trained properly in massage therapy.
Great evening entertainment. Food was excellent. Service was great
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Mexico City

Nueva Vallarta es hermoso

Posted Nov 9, 2016 on Expedia
Location: Puerto Vallarta es precioso, muy pintoresco, limpio y con un centro muy lindo para recorrer. Las playas de Nuevo Vallarta son increibles!
El hotel esta muy bueno. Las habitaciones lindas y comodas. La comida deliciosa y de muchisima variedad. Solo los horarios de los restaurantes son algo que podrian extenderse un poco mas, pero aun asi todo super. El personal del hotel es excelente
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from US

Too Big

Posted Nov 8, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: All inclusive and location
Cons: The mattress and lounge chairs.
Location: You can walk to Riu sister hotels, but other then that you need a taxi or bus to get anywhere.
Rooms were very nice and big and staff did an excellent job cleaning rooms. What we didn't like was the mattress. It was really hard and you could feel the springs. We padded it with bath towels each night. The grounds were lovely and the hotel is beautiful, but it is so large that everything was a long walk with stairs. The pools were great, but it was difficult to find chairs at pool side. Usually had to go to the beach to get a lounge chair. Pool area and lounge chairs needed a good cleaning. The hotel seemed to be very family friendly with so many families having a good time. That was nice. Food was very good with big variety and beautifully displayed. Even had a kids buffet.