Ratings based on 870 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Los Angeles

Wonderful Experience!

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Pros: The staff and the cleanliness
Cons: Cannot think of anything that needs immediate attention
Location: Might be the only drawback if guests have plans to do excursions, it was a bit of a distance from the most popular ones
Stayed for a week, had a wonderful time, great staff, nice grounds, would stay here again, is it the Ritz Carlton, no but for the price I think you would be hard pressed to find a better value.
4 out of 5
by A traveler from Seattle, WA

Family friendly

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Expedia
There was a group of 21 of us, we thoroughly enjoyed our one week stay and the staff was AMAZING! They were on it, friendly, very honest and attentive. Would stay again;)
5 out of 5
by A traveler from mi

a miracle 17 days in riu again

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: This resort is the most amazing place we have ever stayed. You will fall in love with as we did.
Cons: the toilet do not flush right you have to raise the top to flush every thing we stay at room 5073
Location: the hotel is fare you have to take a taxi every where you go which is not bad this is for all the hotel around because its tourist aria
We chose this hotel after reading other reviews and we are so happy we did. Like all properties there were negative reviews but we attributed those to simply difficult travelers. Why anyone could write a bad review is a mystery? Every guest we talked to during our stay was also 100% satisfied. The location, ease of check-in, the room layout and decor, the room service, the bar and wait staff and the meals at the upscale restaurant were all outstanding. Our waitress at buffet was delightful, she was polite, always greeted us with a smile and took the little steps such as knowing our drink order in advance and holding some "hard to get Vanilla Ice-Cream" for us when the supply was low. That's excellent attention to detail! I've been to many All-Inclusive resorts and have not always been happy, especially with the food. Not this time, this riu does it right in all areas. We did use the adult pools every day and its cleaned every day as were the entire grounds. Excellent sea views from elevator, we were on 5floor, and we enjoyed the sun set from our balcony every night and never found a problem, r it was entertaining.The bathrooms and the overhead rain shower were nice and clean and the toilet doesn't flush right unless you raise the top that the only thing i do not like but its no big deal
3 out of 5
by A traveler

Buen hotel

Posted Apr 24, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: Las instalaciones
Cons: La comida
Bien pero la comida es muy norteamericana, poca variedad y poco sason mexicano
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Washington state

Quick vacation

Posted Apr 24, 2016 on Expedia
The staff was wonderful, but it did take a long time to get a drink in the main outside bar that is located inbetween the entertainment stage and buffet. Food was average - nothing special, hard to find lounge chairs by the pool that didn't already have towels laid out across them and the beds are very very HARD! Entertainment was okay, they mainly lip sync while dancing! A small resort but good for its size. It was just me and my husband both 43 yrs, met great people there but will probably not go back to this resort mainly due to the very HARD beds. Other people we talked to there also complained about the HARD beds. My back still hurts a little and we were there only 5 days/4 nights. So just beware unless you really like HARD beds to sleep on!
5 out of 5
by Oscar from Guadalajara

Posted Apr 23, 2016 on Hotels
El hotel en general es maravilloso. Es muy importante reconocer el esfuerzo que en general se nota que todos hacen por brindarle una agradable experiencia a los clienes. Las habitaciones están bien, la comida muy rica, el hotel en sí de primera, las albercas con muy buen mtto. En verdad felicidades!!!! Tengo solo 1 queja que Si considero muy importante porque daña el excelente trabajo que el equipo del hotel hace en general. La persona que atiende el bar "La Plaza", específicamente la persona (hombre) que atendió el turno del martes 19 de abril a las 18hrs, es un despota, grosero. Ignoró a mi esposa que caminó cerca de 200 metros para solicitarle una bebida a pesar de percatarse de que está embarazada.... El servicio en este Bar específicamente deja bastante que desear por actitudes como las de este tipo.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from san diego

Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Expedia
They gave me a different room than what I have on my reservation I had a 2 room & One king bed on each one I got one room with tow king bed lol
5 out of 5
by A traveler from lax

Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: Everything
Cons: Is perfect
Location: Close to down town
I lake the food entretament, pool show peaple, rooms very clean, front desk, peaple very freanly
4 out of 5
by A traveler

Puerto Vallarta

Posted Apr 16, 2016 on Hotels
If I had to hand out bouquets, the people who deserve them are the bartenders,had to make drinks for ten waiting thirsty tourists at one time. The bell boys they protected your luggage like it was their own. and of course the maid service,they couldn't do enough for you.
5 out of 5
by A traveler from vancouver wa

Great time

Posted Apr 15, 2016 on Expedia
Second time at Riu Vallarta even better than I remember. Reservations at the sushi restaurant were easy to get. The nightly shows were entertaining. We were disappointed to see they now charge for the catamarans. We have also stayed at Riu mazatlan twice, Jalisco once and Santa Fe twice and find the value is hard to beat!