Ratings based on 49 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.6 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Los Angeles

Wonderful Experience!

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Pros: The staff and the cleanliness
Cons: Cannot think of anything that needs immediate attention
Location: Might be the only drawback if guests have plans to do excursions, it was a bit of a distance from the most popular ones
Stayed for a week, had a wonderful time, great staff, nice grounds, would stay here again, is it the Ritz Carlton, no but for the price I think you would be hard pressed to find a better value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Portland, OR

Great another Riu hotel!!

Posted Mar 30, 2016
Pros: food, beach, pools, night shows
Cons: wifi needs to be better, I have no problem pay for it but needs to be reliable. Kids club could use some Xbox or some electronics.
Location: location is good and safe
7 nights at the Riu Vallarta on spring break. great food, great beach, great shows at night. you really can't find better value. 2 things were not great 1- is the wifi, it's really not free but only cost $36.99 for a week and will run 4 devices, really not that much but not good signal :(. 2- is the kids club, we've seen way better kids club than this one. over all great vacation!! thank you Riu as always.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Denver, CO

nice resort worth the stay

Posted Dec 19, 2015
Pros: the staff was great. all were very friendly and on top of things.
Cons: they never restocked our fridge without us having to ask. our room key(actual key) was a pain to use. we had to fight with it every time
Location: the location is too far north of anything. theres nothing at all to do nearby the resort without a long bus ride or taxi. its 25mins north
overall it was a pleasant place. the pool area is nice. the beach is clean and nice. not enough chairs so get there early if you want one. the food actually wasnt too bad. the buffet was stocked and had decent food, especially breakfast. the only problem is the hours, between 2-630 theres no food open that we could find. the staff was really nice and worked their behinds off. we never had to wait long to get drinks and they made them strong. the resort is smaller so you are spending all of your time in the same area. which means seeing a lot of the same people. during my stay there was a few people i wish we could have avoided but no chance of that. the nightly shows were eh, 2 of the 6 were good but the rest were boring. unless you get a suite your 'partial' ocean view means theres no ocean view. the gym was decent, we didnt use the spa or anything. we felt very safe in the area. for the price, you should go. especially if you only plan on staying at the resort. or dont mind a taxi ride to downtown.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A traveler from Guadalajara Mexico

One of our best stays in Puerto Vallarta

Posted Sep 10, 2015
Pros: Food Selection, Exceptional Staff & Price Value
Cons: Could step up on the general pick up of used glasses and food around the pool beach areas. Few more waitstaff would be nice.
Location: Get up early or go to bed late - either way walk the beach in the dark to look for turtles laying eggs
Found a last minute deal on line and changed existing reservations from Barcelo to Riu. Great choice. We have stayed in many different resorts in Latin America and for our dollar found this to be one of the best. Good customer service and very accommodating when we wanted to pay for an upgrade to our room for the ocean view! Food selection was good
4 out of 5
Recommended
by iluv2rock from Canada

Excellent service staff

Posted Feb 2, 2013
Cons: No free Internet
Awesome staff, very clean well kept property. We were disappointed with the buffet, because everyday, every meal was exactly the same. I stayed at Riu in Cabo and the buffet there was much better. Lack of internet was a big disapointment for me, the price they want to receive internet in the room is ridiculous. Other than that. pretty much happy with the rest of the experience
3 out of 5
by Valueseeker1 from San Francisco, CA, USA

It's a good place if you want a fair to average value

Posted Jan 8, 2013
Pros: Free breakfast
Cons: Noisy, dirty towels, bad mattress, repetative foods
I didn't like it since their mattresses are not comfortable to sleep on. My mattress was as hard as a rock. The towels have visible dirty spot on them. They didn't clean our shower the whole time we were there and who knows how or if they cleaned the bathroom! The hotel is so noisy and it's hard to get some rest. Their all inclusive meals are fair to average quality, their free drinks are not good at all. But they have a good intertainment program and if you are young and don't want to sleep and have a lot of free drinks and don't care how they taste, this is the place for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Ballplayer14510 from Midland, MI, USA

Such an amazing experience

Posted Dec 20, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, entertainment
Everyone was amazing to us! They were willing to help with anything and the entertainment staff was the best ever! SO MUCH FUN!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by moose13 from Worden, IL 62097, USA

hotel was great

Posted Dec 7, 2012
this was our 3rd year staying here. we love this place. the staff and service is excellent.
2 out of 5
by Disappointedfromtheus from Chicago, IL, USA

room smelled like mold. There was mold in the shower

Posted Aug 10, 2012
Cons: Nothing close, No free Internet, Noisy
Way to many people to enjoy yourself. The food was ok. Staff was friendly. I would spend the extra money next time to upgrade to a better hotel. This hotel was cheaper, but attracted a much different range of people
1 out of 5
by Rose1White

Terrible

Posted Jul 12, 2012
Cons: Nothing close, Noisy, Poor breakfast
The food and customer service was terrible. Do not stay at this hotel.