Ratings based on 806 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Denver, CO

nice resort worth the stay

Posted Dec 19, 2015
Pros: the staff was great. all were very friendly and on top of things.
Cons: they never restocked our fridge without us having to ask. our room key(actual key) was a pain to use. we had to fight with it every time
Location: the location is too far north of anything. theres nothing at all to do nearby the resort without a long bus ride or taxi. its 25mins north
overall it was a pleasant place. the pool area is nice. the beach is clean and nice. not enough chairs so get there early if you want one. the food actually wasnt too bad. the buffet was stocked and had decent food, especially breakfast. the only problem is the hours, between 2-630 theres no food open that we could find. the staff was really nice and worked their behinds off. we never had to wait long to get drinks and they made them strong. the resort is smaller so you are spending all of your time in the same area. which means seeing a lot of the same people. during my stay there was a few people i wish we could have avoided but no chance of that. the nightly shows were eh, 2 of the 6 were good but the rest were boring. unless you get a suite your 'partial' ocean view means theres no ocean view. the gym was decent, we didnt use the spa or anything. we felt very safe in the area. for the price, you should go. especially if you only plan on staying at the resort. or dont mind a taxi ride to downtown.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Fidel from Southern California

Disappointed

Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel had nice appearance from outside and the lobby is fancy but thats where it stops. My room had a humid smell, and one of the beds had several long strands of hair scattered theoughout. The beds were terrible. I've slept more comfortably in a Walmart inflatable mattress while camping than in those beds. Very stiff mattress with no cushion. I could practically feel every spring. No wifi included in the room, that was extra (pricey cost). Worst of all was their pool and the bar at the pool. The bar closer at 6:30p and the beach & pool closed at 7p each day. The pool needs major restoration. I noticed tile pieces missing, discoloration, and rust. Pool floor had a lot of debris and several bugs in the water. Their cleaning process included adding chemicals to the water daily and that's it. Ive stayed in several resorts througout Mexico and a pool/beach closing that early is unheard of. After 7p your options for fun basically ended. They had "entertainment" starting at 9p but nothing stellar. My expectations of a 4 star hotel were not met with this hotel and I would not stay here again. The only positive thing about this place was the friendly and attentive staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from leon

perfecto

Posted Nov 6, 2015 on Expedia
La relación costo beneficio es perfecta, debe uno entender que es un hotel no un resort y eso no me había quedado muy claro al principio hay 3 RIU juntos tampoco sabía bien cuál me correspondía, nada que no tenga solución (pero que se puede evitar) la atención en general es muy buena las habitaciones son de tamaño estándar, limpias, cómodas, solo para dormir no más amplias, pero por lo que pagas es excelente recomendación
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Kennewick WA

Wonderful vacation, fantastic hotel staff!

Posted Nov 3, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: Location, staff, quality of food and drinks
Cons: Mattresses a bit softer.
Location: Vallarta Adventures has great excursions, Bucerias is nearby (45 min walk on the beach) 15 minute by cab.
we will definitely stay at a Riu Vallarta again! Ignore any negative reviews, this hotel had great bang for the buck. The hotel is slightly dated but still beautiful and well maintained. The staff were constantly cleaning, and were always pleasant and eager to serve with a smile...everyone from the front desk to the maids and cleaning crews to the towel girl. The entertainment crew (Joshua, Pepe, Javier, Nani, etc) and bartenders (Pedro, Diego, Sebastian, Israel, the cute female gal that delivered drinks poolside who's name I didn't get) were all enthusiastic, upbeat and so friendly...they went out of their way. The food...great variety, good flavor and absolutely no health issues. The rooms were exactly as described (clean, great AC, well stocked mini bar), the mattresses a little too firm but considering all the positives, we can't complain. The rooms can be a little bit noisy due to the open layout of the hotel, so stick to exterior rooms if you need quiet. Thank you Riu Vallarta and staff for making our vacation so memorable (not including the hurricane) and fun!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Awesome place. Hard bed.

Posted Nov 2, 2015 on Expedia
I loved it. Awesome staff nice beach, great pool. Only downer was that the bed was kinda too hard for me but all in all this place was awesome!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Boston, Ma

Nice hotel, very clean and organized.

Posted Oct 27, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: everything.
Cons: I don't think anything I loved everything about the place
Location: the resort have everything, we don't have chance to go any where my husband doesn't want to leave the resort, was a short vacations, maybe next time
what we like the most was the stuff, they're very happy people work to please people and they get it, our special thanks to Pedro and Teresa, they're the best, the entertainment team was amazing, high energy and also friendly, the food was very good no complaints, the only negative comments we have was about the hurricane Patricia, but wasn't the hotel fault that could happened any where even at our home, and we thank the management for they help and taking care all the guess they at the hotel, I did feel protect all the time, I know have some people wants some compensations because they lost a day and night, that is ridiculous my question to these people is if you was at your home what you do? who's you going to blame for, god? I'll go back to this resort again and bring some friends and family. thank you all of you for the great job.. again five star place and people.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 21, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Sameer

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 20, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A traveler

Buen hotel

Posted Oct 19, 2015 on Hotels
Solo tuvimos que pagar cambio de cuarto ya que nos alojaron en un cuarto escondido