Ratings based on 901 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Hear it directly from our travelers
3 out of 5
by Christopher from Framingham MA USA

Terrific Beach.

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
Riu Vallarta is a very comfortable all inclusive with a great beach. The water is balmy; some waves, no seaweed. The buffets are pretty good. The french restaurant is great. The hotel is in great condition. The lobby is vast. The rooms are comfortable. Staff is excellent. When we booked they didn't charge extra for our 11-year old daughter. Many of the other hotels would have. The hotel is far from anything - but it's an all-inclusive, so that might not matter, but there's nothing to walk to. The only issue I saw was the space the hotel has is limited. It's 10 stories tall because there wasn't room to spread out. No tennis courts. This effects pool space as well. One pool is restricted to 18 and over meaning there's only one pool for families. No problem, the beach is fantastic!
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Expedia
overall my family had a great time. planing to go back next summer.
4 out of 5
by A traveler

Hotel familiar en zona tranquila

Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Expedia
Las habitaciones cómodas, los bufettes muy completos y los eventos muy agradables.
4 out of 5

La comida no ta buena, deben mejorar el menú

Posted Jul 15, 2016 on Hotels
Deben mejorar la comida, el servicio muy bien,. Albercas, instalaciones... Bebidas solo alimentos muy repetidos y aburren.
4 out of 5
by A traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 9, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A traveler

Cuba 1970's

Posted Jul 9, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel really needs a face lift badly! Cool concept hotel, great hotel lobby and free wifi! Pools are in good shape, nice beach. However, rooms are so outdated my grandmother would be uncomfortable! Beds are hard, pillows really pretty cheapy! I have lived in Mexico for 10 plus years, never get sick...well that changed eating in the buffet. Great Buffet ambiance, attentive waiters/waitresses but the food really pretty bland. The flamigos buffet even worse that is open in the afternoon, really really bland. underground parking lot smelled of sewage. free parking is nice come and go as you please. sorry but won't stay here again!
4 out of 5
by Thomas from Manchester, CT

Rui Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta

Posted Jul 8, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice all inclusive resort.
1 out of 5
by A traveler from San Diego, CA

Don't book it! There are many better options!

Posted Jul 7, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: I didn't like anything about this hotel.
Cons: The building needs a complete remodel. Need to hire additional staff for each bar. Stop serving alcohol to customers who are already intoxicated.
Location: If you are in this area, go to Bucerias and eat at Mark's bar and grill - the lobster was great.
Everything about this hotel was horrible. From Check-In, to our experience at the bar, to our experience at the buffet -- it was a nightmare. Nothing at this hotel appears to work right, the furnishings are out-of date, the beach is littered with all sorts of debris including used condoms, etc. The pool is disgusting without adequate filtration, nearby bathrooms, and includes people drinking non-stop, misbehaving without any policing by staff whatsoever. The area surrounding the pool frequently smelled of vomit. The buffets were like feeding time at your local kennel with guests shoulder-to-shoulder loading their plates full of very poor quality food. Most of the food is returned uneaten by all guests as the quality is so sub-par. Those who did eat their fill would wind up sick. They have converted all restaurants into buffets -- same terrible food at all of them. I've been to many other all inclusive hotels and would never return to Riu. It was horrible. They use the worst liquors available and only have ultra-cheap red / white wines in the $5 per bottle range. Not to mention that service at the bar will take quite some time as staff is overworked. This hotel is NOT a 3.5 star (it decreased from over 4 when I booked it.) It's maybe a 2 star and is just not worth it.
3 out of 5
by A traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2016 on Expedia
No me dieron lo que ofrecieron y el personal fue grosero, El cuarto olía a drenaje
4 out of 5
by Ruben

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 30, 2016 on Hotels