Ratings based on 72 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Location is the very best. Great place to explore

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Location. Great outdoor areas. Really nice service. Other guests were lively but polite.
Cons: Rooms are kind of rundown. Also, there is live music in the evening that you can hear very well from inside the room - didn't bother me.
Location: Beach, the Malecon, shopping, flea market, parks
Playa Los Arcos is a mixed bag, but ultimately, I think a very good place to stay. The location could not be beat. It is right in the middle of all the great restaurants and shopping, and also has beachfront access. That's amazing. The hotel grounds are beautiful - the lobby, the pool area, restaurants, beach area are all fantastic. The rooms themselves, at least the two I saw, were a little rundown. It was hard to believe based on how the common areas of the hotel looked. Our first room was pretty bad, it was dark, smelled like mildew and had no opening window or balcony access, so it felt like a dungeon. The nice thing was, when I asked for a new room the next day, (which I have never done in my life - I'm not a complainer, but we were going to there five days and the mildew smell was a killer), there was no argument. The staff didn't ask question or give me a hard time, they just moved me to a new room. Our next room was a kitchenette suite, much bigger and smelled better. It was still just sort of generally rundown and dated, but way more comfortable and the outside areas are so nice. And really, I didn't stay in downtown Puerto Vallarta to hang out in my room. Room was very clean and I could tell it got mopped every day. Also, there is an iguana family that lives on the roof of the lobby - on a hot day you see them sunning themselves. It's hilarious.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 26, 2017 by Antonio Robles Rojas Gerente General, Hotel Management
Dear Liz. We appreciate you feedback and your comments will be used to improve every point as mentioned We invite you to consider staying with us in your next visit to Puerto Vallarta, we are sure we will offer a better experience to comply with your expectations thank you for choosing us for your recent stay and for taking your time to share your opinion on our service and facilities. Cordially
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Nice hotel Good location

Posted Dec 9, 2016
The hotel is in good location Right in front of the beach
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 4, 2017 by Antonio Robles Rojas Gerente General, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous We are proud to know from your comments that we enjoy the location so excellent that we have, do not hesitate to have it in another of your trip to this holiday destination we hope to see you soon. Cordially
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Monument, Colorado

Sad Stay

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Location: Perfect location...restaurant perfect location overlooking the beach. Don't eat the buffet...order from the menu.
The hotel had such good reviews which apparently were from people who don't travel or stay at bad hotels all the time and aren't bothered by below standards accommodations. We were. The rooms were very old and dated, and what is sad is they could be so improved for very little money. The furniture is over the top wood carved Mexican artisan made, but are decorated in such a tacky manner with such cheap paint if any that it takes away fro the one thing that makes the hotel an original. I had chopped a lamp and shade in half, glued it to the wall beside a gorgeously carved wooded headboard...so sad. Besides the tacky décor, there was no ice. Its a hundred degrees outside and there is no ice or small fridge in the room, no microwave and no coffee. If your not all inclusive, you have to pay for coffee downstairs. The staff is nice but the front desk staff is very impersonal. You don't want to stay in a room that faces the pool as its noise with loud salsa music playing all the time and kids screaming. Ask for a room that doesn't face the pool.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Council Blufffs

Not what we expected

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: We liked being down town and able to walk around to all the different shops and the people working at the hotel were very friendly
Cons: The website needs to be more detail about the all inclusive and improve the meals better
Location: great place to walk around and shop close by a board walk to walk down
The staff was friendly but the locals were very rude, The all inclusive was only for the buffet that they don't tell you when you book and there is only one restaurant on the property. Rooms were very small and the building needs some updated.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from San Francisco bay area

Hotel with Mexican charm and lots of Kids

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Pros: Location, Mexican style décor and friendly staff
Cons: Do not sell day pool passes.
We enjoyed staying in Playa Los Arcos, but would not recommend it to grown ups traveling without kids. The location is perfect - right next to Muertos beach, Malecon promenade, Basilio Badillo. It is within walking distance to Guadalupe Church and all downtown attractions. We especially enjoyed strolling on Malecon in the evenings, Guadalupe Church and Paris cafe bakery on Basilio Badillo. We did NOT like that this hotel sells day passes, which makes pool area extremely crowded and noisy. Lots of screaming kids of all ages in the pool and most of them are not hotel residents. Rooms facing the pool area on the 1 and 2 floors get so much noise that you will need to close balcony door to be able to hear each other. Street facing rooms have poor view and get traffic noise and late night party noise. There is no room service, no coffee maker and thus no breakfast in bed. We appreciated having bottled water(2 per day) and refrigerator in the room. In general, Zona Romantica is not the peace and quiet kind of place, but it is has real authentic Mexican vibe and a lot of charm. For our next Puerto Vallarta get away, we would still stay in Zona Romantica but, perhaps, in a bit more upscale place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Great beach hotel in the Romantic Zone

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: The hotel is very comfortable, the staff are great, and the location is perfect. Plenty of restaurants and shopping nearby.
Cons: They should improve their internet access bandwidth and WiFi coverage throughout the property.
Location: Located in the Romantic Zone. Very quiet, but with plenty of stuff to do nearby. We took a day boat trip to Yelapa that was fun and worthwhile.
This was our second visit, and we were happy to see that they had made several improvements in the hotel facilities, the spa in particular. We upgraded to a second-floor beach-front room, which gave us a perfect view of the totally rebuilt Los Muertos pier nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Hawaii

Excellent location!! Nice homey friendly feeling.

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: The casual, easy-going attitude. Loved the location!
Cons: Room requests. Some of the rooms are extremely small, dark and windows that don't open. More room detail would be helpful.
At first impression I was a bit worried, but with the awesome conciege and being patient with staff made it all good. I was happy to stay in a more down-home hotel than the big, corporate hotels. I would definitely reccomend getting a room description when you book. The small rooms, are very small.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from mtl can

Perfect for the price

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Clean,efficient, perfectly located, and with a buffet that could rival wit a 5* hotel.
Cons: For the price it's perfect
Location: Perfectly located in the "Zona romantica" near all the bars, store the "Malecon"
Do not expect a 5* hotel, it's a 3*. We plan on making visit in PVR ant choose te same hotl for sur.
2 out of 5
by JPMinKCMO from Kansas City, MO, United States

Definitely for families

Posted Dec 7, 2013
Never been to PV before, so I relied on the web for hotel reviews. I read them here and have to admit that even after seeing reviews that this place was kid friendly I still made a reservation. Won't do that again. I had room 107, about as big as a glorified broom closet. The first night the room smelled of oily water. After the maid cleaned the next day, that odor disappeared. No chair(s) in the room, just a bed, dresser, and TV. Many many kids over the weekend. Check in was okay, but they kept my drivers license inadvertently. Had to go get it back. The AC had one setting - HIGH and it had to work to keep the room cool. Even then, it was humid. I chose the all inclusive package. The food is buffet style and mass produced. Can't say it was bad, but it wasn't great either. The staff was business like with those working evenings being more friendly in my opinion. I liked the hard beds, but that is a preference of mine. Pillows were a bit too soft. Internet service available in the lobby or bar area only and was sporadically fast and slow. The beach area is nice and they clean it overnight.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Mecalani from Lake Tahoe, Calif

loved it

Posted Jun 8, 2013
location was great... on the beach... wonderful service... I stayed here 4 years ago and am planning another trip in October.. Highly recommend paying a little extra for all inclusive. The breakfast is delicious & the cocktails were delicious