Ratings based on 286 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Tips and tricks

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Hotel clean. Pool clean. Drinks good and live shows/entertainment so so.... here is the rub. For females it is great. They can wear whatever they want when they want. Guys, even if you dress well (like I do), wear expensive watches and colonge (like I do), have great hair ( yup, me too) they make you wear shoes to 95% of the restaurants. Now I understand why this rule might be in place for the everyday "broseph" but if you are rockin' a nicely pressed shirt and pair of pants, this should be exceptable. Hence the workaround, bring a small packpack to put flip-flops in. Swap out halfway through dinner and walk out with the toes blazin. Trust me, if you are going to spend the rest of the night walking with your girl (or guy) you want to be comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Rancho Cucamonga, CA

Beautiful hotel right on the beach!

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Everything!
My husband and I just got back from our trip 2 days ago, and it was nothing but amazing. The staff was beyond friendly and went above and beyond on customer service. The ground of the hotel are beautiful, full of trees and huge swimming pools. The food was delicious, and there were so many options to choose from, including room service. I would definitely return to this resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Union, NJ

Luxurious Experience

Posted Jul 16, 2017
We compared over thirty resorts for our 10th year Wedding Anniversary and we fell in love with the Valentin Imperial. Upon arrival the staff were very courteous. Check in was quick and easy. The amenities were endless, the food options were endless. This resort was beautiful and luxurious.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Dear Recent VIRM Guest, On behalf of our management, we would like to take this chance to thank you for having chosen Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya, it is a pleasure to be entrusted with your faith and belief, rest assured that we very much value your preference and will continue having as a commitment your satisfaction. We are delighted to hear you will be planning to come back in the future, your words are very encouraging for us to keep the promise to always create memorable and wonderful travel experiences.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Amazing

Posted May 26, 2017
Went for our honeymoon!! Had a blast. And felt just like family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from Taylors, SC

Best resort in all of Riviera Maya! VIM we love u!

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: The landscaping is beautiful. The staff is so nice and friendly. Grey goose at most all the bars!
Cons: Foot baths for the Emerald suites would cut down on all the sand being tracked in. Stop with the $100 CASH DEPOSIT to take out a Hobie Cat sail boat.
Location: We never leave the resort and why? They have everything you need right there!
Another great stay at VIM. Gilberto, Melina, Diana, Blaney, Angel, Abelardo, Manuel, - all these folks are like family and make up a wonderful staff. Everyone bent over backward to make our stay just wonderful. Best beach ever! Emerald suites are fantastic - a great view and right on the beach. This was our 8th visit and we will defintiely return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Posted Feb 23, 2017
We used this resort for our honeymoon and it was perfect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 25, 2017 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Dear Recent VIM Guest, Thank you for having taken the time to post your review, we very much appreciate the opportunity provided to be at your disposal. We will be delighted to serve you again, receive all our appreciation and best regards.
3 out of 5
by A traveler

Very Poor Customer Service from Front Desk Staff a

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: Landscaping was beautiful. Beach nicely maintained. Pools were clean. Entertainment staff exceptional.
Cons: Customer service. Quality of food. Housekeeping services. Pools staying open later. Security on the beach.
Location: Not much to do nearby unless travel a distance into Playa del Carmen.
Resort is beautiful. However, poor customer service really dampened our experience. Since there were three of us and needed two beds, we were put in a handicapped accessible room. Not a problem except for the large open shower that when used, flooded the remainder of the bathroom. Would literally be standing in inches of water while drying hair (safety issue), attempting to get ready to go to dinner. Floor was also very slippery. Put down beach towels to try to absorb water and not fall. Went to front desk the first full day and were told this would be taken care of immediately. Nothing!! Called the next day - guess what - told the same thing. Nothing!! Third day went up and talked to a supervisor who said he would write up a report for management and someone would call us the next day at 9:30. No call. So we called and were told all they would do for us having these safety issues was to give us an upgrade on next visit. Like we would return - NO!. When I said it was dangerous and we could have slipped and been hurt, all the response we got was "Well, you didn't". After much "discussion" back and forth, they finally removed a $42 charge for a cabana rental. Housekeeping also poor. Food was just okay. Waiters in restaurants seemed overworked - not staffed sufficiently. Entertainment staff were awesome! The foam party was a blast. Met a lot of nice guests also escaping the cold.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 24, 2016 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Dear Recent VIM Guest, Even when we highly value the opportunity you gave us to serve, we regret to hear that we were not able to fulfill your expectations. However we would like to clarify the following. It was yourself the one who expected to be credited for 100 USD and no one from our staff made this offering, this amount was established by you and we did not understand where you took that amount. Certainly you were informed that no credit could be considered as there was no reason to offer it. Our Customer Care staff did apologize for any wrong perception and explained you that our rooms are perfectly conditioned to fulfill the safety measures required by the municipality and that in fact, we were glad that no inconveniences occurred. Please note it was because of the insistence in obtaining something from the resort that the cabana was condoned and not for admitting lack of attention or service from our end.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Ft. Lauderdale

Great vacation with ocean views

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: Everything! Well groomed grounds, since it was nice walking everywhere. Please bring mosquito repellent. You are not in the city.
Cons: N/A
Location: You are there to relax and have fun. It's like your own compound. You can go to Playa Del Carmen for the day.
The property was well groomed. Everything was beautiful and clean. Huge main pool. They offered activities everyday. Lazy pool was beautiful and they brought you drinks there too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from Dallas, TX

Absolutely Outstanding!!!!!!

Posted May 10, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing I can think of.
Was sooooo happy. Have been to other more expensive resorts because good food and great customer service is very important to me. This is now my favorite resort! Every dinner meal was outstanding, and every buffet beat others or matched much more expensive resorts. The staff was amazing, courteous, and accommodating in every way. So, not only did this resort do a great job, but in value it stands out above everyone. For the same experience I've paid 2X the room rate. All I had to ask for was extra pillows as the normal ones are a bit flat. One phone call and that was taken care of before I got back to my room. Will definitely be back here the next time I book an adults only vacation for me and my wife.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from Nebraska

Great place for beach and pool!

Posted Feb 16, 2016
Pros: Large sandy beach with no corral or rocks. Spacious resort with "Jungle" areas. Enthusiastic and helpful Entertainment staff. Nigel was great!
Cons: Add a regular evening dinner buffet.
Location: Cirque du Soleil Theater across the highway. Croco Cun Zoo - 10 mi.
Our trip to the Valentin Rivera Maya was great! We arrived at 3:30 and the check-in was fast and easy. We only waited for about 2 minutes plus they brought us a glass of wine while we waited. We booked the Deluxe Jr. Suite which is their low end room but it was quiet and comfortable. It had a sofa and elegant tile flooring. They have one large “Party” pool with two bars and a lunch buffet next to it. There are a lot of chairs there and many activities are in or near the pool area. I think it closed at 6:00 P.M. The other is the “Quite” pool which was nice for sitting next to or for floating around. The beach area was large, smooth and well maintained. There are plenty of shade cabanas but get there early or you will have to walk a ways. We did not notice any seaweed problems. For restaurants, the Japanese restaurant Ginger was the best. You will need a reservation for the Tepanyaki Grill part, where they do the traditional Japanese cooking in front of you. Otherwise, no reservations are needed at any restaurant. There is no buffet for the dinner meals but the breakfast and lunch buffets are delicious and well stocked. The Mexican restaurant La Hacienda was also a favorite. There is a variety of entertainment throughout the day. Try to take the helpful Bike Tour on your first day. We went to the “Elvis” and “Michael Jackson” impersonator shows. Both were very good. There are other varied shows in the evening near the main building that are quite entertaining.