Ratings based on 2,079 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Santa Monica, CA

all around great experience

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: everything
Cons: the tipping situation, i over tipped a lot cause i felt bad. i gave many 20's and couple 100 dollar tips for room service
had a great time. food was good, beaches are beautiful
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Ft. Lauderdale

Great vacation with ocean views

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: Everything! Well groomed grounds, since it was nice walking everywhere. Please bring mosquito repellent. You are not in the city.
Cons: N/A
Location: You are there to relax and have fun. It's like your own compound. You can go to Playa Del Carmen for the day.
The property was well groomed. Everything was beautiful and clean. Huge main pool. They offered activities everyday. Lazy pool was beautiful and they brought you drinks there too.
5 out of 5
by A traveler from M

This was our 5th time to visit the Valentin

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Expedia
We have been 5 times and definitely going back. This is a great and affordable getaway for adults only. The staff is very tenative, the hotel is clean and beautiful, the food is great, and the shows are nice to see. My husband and I have noticed they have much of the same staff from year to year, I think that says alot as to how they treat their employees as well. There is a lot of walking, but I enjoy that part. They have beautiful pathways leading you to restaurants, the pools, and beaches. You can call for a golf cart pick up, but I have never done it therefore don't know how long you have to wait. The beach is always beautiful and they rake it every morning. Please note the beach is closed at night due to turtles coming on shore to lay their eggs. In the mornings when you watch the sunrise, you can see their tracks where they came on land.
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Denver, Colorado

We already want to go back!

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: It was absolutely beautiful! From the grounds to the food and rooms- absolutely impeccable service.
Location: There are tons of excursions all around. They're pricey, but I can't say enough about Akumel bay and the snorkling with turtles.
7 days in paradise! From the minute we arrived at the Valentin we were awestruck at the beauty and friendliness. Our room was absolutely wonderful, all staff were pleasant and helpful, and I couldn't imagine a more beautiful location. The food was delicious in the restaurants that we tried (French, Indonesian, Japanese and the steak and seafood restaurant). Our favorite breakfast place was La Marche (Juan at Mexican, Alfonso at french- amazing service!) , and they also had great lunch buffets. Pretty much anything you could need/want was available. We read a lot of complaints about the birds, but you're at a resort on the beach, not a stuffy 5-star hotel in a major metropolitan city. We loved the animals. The pools are incredible! Swim up bars full of great conversation and drinks! They go on for ages, and I stayed in one all day. Eduardo was our favorite bartender. The beach was lovely. While we were there (august) the water was forceful, but still beautiful and fun to jump the waves. Our first day at the beach was interesting- because a man in a hut ran over and yelled "No, No!" at us as we walked by. We couldn't figure out if we weren't allowed there because it didn't belong to our resort or...? It was very confusing. We spoke to others in the resort and they had zero clue what was going on either, and assured us we were allowed on the beach. That was our only negative issue, and a minor one.
4 out of 5
by A traveler from Kenilworth, NJ

Beautiful

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: The resort was beautiful, room was nice and clean and most of all--staff was wonderful and very helpful.
Cons: Please see above "about your experience."
Location: We never left the resort as we just wanted to relax on this trip.
The Valentin is absolutely beautiful, however, a little to Fufu for us. We like vacation time to be a little more laid back. The only breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet (dinner was not an actual buffet) was The Mar Restaurant, which is open air--no air conditioning at all. This was the only restaurant were gentlemen could wear shorts. Being it's outside--it was way to hot to dine there even wearing shorts and there were a lot of mosquitos. They should make La Marche Restaurant the buffet for all three seatings and still have gentlemen be able to wear shorts. While on vacation, everyone doesn't always want to "dress" for dinner. My only other issue was that they supply a coffee maker and coffee, but do not supply any type of milk or cremora or sugar. You need to drink it black. As I said before, the resort is absolutely beautiful and we had a good time--drinks were great--but I will look for something a little more laid back next trip.
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Dallas, TX

WOW! PARADISE!

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: EVERYTHING! The wildlife: birds, (saw 1 snake), koatis, iguanas, crabs, barracudas in the water! The snorkel trip w/ Barrakuda was great!
Cons: Nothing!
Location: We didn't leave the resort and didn't have to! Boat picked us up in the water to snorkel. Top notch hotel! We used USA-Travels for our transportation.
Everything was amazing! We weren't told no by any staff person and enjoyed everything about this place! Beautiful beaches, wonderful food at ALL restaurants. Wish we would've gone to the Thai food place more! Really enjoyed meeting the GO staff and all of the activities: Dora, Hector, Angel, Leonardo you made our stay so much fun! Miriam in Don Miguel was the nicest and most accommodating! What a blast!!
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Conyers, GA

Repeat stay

Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: Love the staff, friendliness and so accommodating. The pool is beautiful and fun, plus the beach is beautiful.
Cons: Timeliness of golf cart service. We had to wait in the heat for a good while for to take us to room and also late to pick us up to leave
Location: There is so much to do (or just do nothing and relax) that we never left the resort.
We were at the Valentin in June and were so impressed and had such a good time we decided to go back in August. We were not disappointed with our return. It was everything we remembered from our first stay and more. The staff is always so friendly and accommodating. The French restaurant was probably our favorite but they were all outstanding. The only negative I would say is we liked the room in bldg. 3 much better than bldg. 2. Not a fan of the curtain between the bedroom and bathroom. Not much privacy.
5 out of 5
by A traveler from NY

Couldn't be happier

Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Expedia
Stayed for 6 days with my boyfriend, my closest friend and her boyfriend. We all had an amazing experience. Every single staff member you come across is friendly and helpful. The restaurants were yummy, the entertainment was fun, the room was great, and you couldn't get a more beautiful ocean view anywhere! Will definitely come back next year!
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Fifth Year Stay

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Expedia
This was our 5th year and as the 4 yrs before, it was really enjoyable. The food, the Staff great, the value. We will be back.
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Texas

Outstanding rooms, restaurants and pools!

Posted Aug 25, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: The room service for breakfast was outstanding.
The resort was nothing less than spectacular and we had an awesome time. The staff were very friendly and we never wanted for anything very long. We had a golden room that was large and very well taken care of and it exceeded our expectations. We hung out at the quiet pool most days and never had to struggle for a seat and it was total rest and relaxation. We had good experiences at all the restaurants and found the food to be very good for an all inclusive. The drinks weren't too strong in the frozen drinks but I had many Crown and Sevens that were really full of alcohol. Top shelf, no problem, just ask. Order room service for breakfast, you wont be disappointed.